A notice at La Guardia Airport in New York | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 August 2012

A notice at La Guardia Airport in New York

A LIB reader noticed it at the La Guardia Airport in NYC, took a picture and sent it in. If this is real, then it's truly sad!

107 comments:

Blunt Queen said...

Linda it is not truly sad. It is the truth. The aviation measures in Nigeria are haphazard

Amanda Reginald said...

Lmfao is all I kin say. Nuffin concern me cos I nor dey travel out before..lol. Wetin concern Agbero with overload. I haf talk my own.

They said JFk and you are saying La Guardia. Which one is it?

The American TSA and Nigerian NCAA have refuted this.

I quote someone else "all the authorities have denied it. I used that airport (JFK) last week, went to about three terminals including all d terminals of the airlines flying to Nigeria where they are supposed to paste this. I didn't see it, I interviewed people if anyone has seen anything like that they would have spoken up. Haba! This i'm sure is Photoshop"

Rita said...

*Determined tho*. This is Laughable but then it hurts cause it's true.
Http//:ifeperita.com

willow said...

Corruption has finshed us in this country,there's no hiding the facts.Our Airport security is laughable and please no one should say it's not true unless we are deceiving ourselves. But are they trying to say that out of all the hundreds of countries in the whole,wide world, our Airport is the only unsafe one? Mscheew!!*walking off*

Na real wa

Abi said...

OMG, this is so embarassing but its the bitter truth or do we want to deny it?

Nimma said...

Na true na

This is just sad:(

Aviya said...

Wow!!!!

AJ said...

Serves us right! We like falling our hands in Nigeria... What will it take us to have airports and airplanes and every other thing that meets world class standards? Nothing. We have the money... You shud see Portharcourt intl airport Omagwa, its like an old lorry stop that was built in 1914...#rubbish!!!

Mayo said...

I am definitely not surprised. Nigeria has the worst Aviation service and transportation I have ever come across.

Shame is not in our leaders dictionary. Even this can't touch them. We the masses have to do something o...with people flying back and forth on a daily :'(

Hmmmm It hurts seeing my dear country subjected to such ridicule,anyway I don't blame them coz they're only caring for their own in expense of our carelessness.~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

Sad but true? Those hungry custom officials will allow u to sneak a bomb thru if you settle them. No scanners. Nothing. I mean what civilized country uses hand and those dirty overused gloves to search through lugages?

9jadeltapikin... I =))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​=))  =))˚°◦hehehehe . -
_\\_ in vernacular ahhhahhh ahhhhh

Its not true, i dont belive....look at d graphics of d murtala int airport....its unreal

No, linda, they're renovating MMA, that's the reason its not safe atm.
--Zaynab

Sad but the truth is a bitter pill....make we swallow am , naija created this mess and we should deal with it . PEROID

Odikwa egwu! It can't be dat bad na. *amrra*

Well, they're not lying...

BaWahala. said...

The Aviation minister has asked all to disregard it..it is a picture taken in 2000 and currently being circulated on the web by mischief makers. The US authorities have since explained to the minister in a phone chat and subsequently the DG of NCAA, Harold Demuren, has released a statement regarding the matter since 3-4weeks ago. It can be found under most dailies by doing a simnple google search for the terms: "Lagos Airport(MMAI) not blacklisted" Thanks!

floxy said...

Wow.... This shd b like a wake-up call for us. Min of aviation n all other related stakeholders should take that into consideration n work towards a beta system. I dnt blame these guys for alerting their citizens.#SoSad!

Yes, I saw it there also.

All of you that have taken M.I.A know its true. No need to act surprised about it.

-Your Father

Yes, this a good discussion to have - why is it that nigeria does nothing well? Let me suggest that until nigerians learn to reason properly, everything we do will continue to have major flaws.

Yep they're right, aren't they?

Christopher Onovae-Ekeh said...

No comment

*tears in my eyes*..we are totally slain..dey shoulda also written dat "terrorists have nutn 2 fear as dey can pass tru security wit dia armored vehicles witout being seen and stopped""..onlY Nigeria cha..smh...NEKS

I wouldn't be surprised. Failed government

GREAT! I LOVE IT!....IT'S MY COUNTRY BUT THE COUNTRY IS WACK! IT'S HIGH TIME WE CALL A SPADE "A SPADE"!!!!!!!

THERE SHOULD BE MORE HEADLINE LIKE IT THAT SHOULD GO INTERNATIONAL, "NIGERIA HAS FAILED IT'S PEOPLE AND THE WORLD!"

USELESS COUNTRY! THEY SHOULD NOT LET GOD'S ANGER DESCEND ON THEM.......THEN THEY WILL TRULY CHANGE THEIR WAYS!

IF GOD CAN DESTROY SODOM AND GOMORRAH WITH BOTH THE RIGHTEOUS AND THE WICKED, THEN WHO IS NIGERIA???

pearl said...

Whts d meaning of that,#sad face

AAS said...

This sounds like trash to me. I have been to airports that are extremely bad and not worthy to be called airports yet the so-called US airport authorities insult us this way. Fine, our airports have problems but not the way this foolish authorities claim.

It is the same way western media portray Nigeria any time. I get shocked sometimes when foreigners tell me about the things they hear about Nigeria. It makes me feel as if I have never been to Nigeria.

But isnt it the truth they just putting it out there wat we know already

Sad but soo true

Yes!.... My laptop and phones was stolen at MMIA as well.
9ja is finished

Belinda said...

Wow! I think this is a real embarrassment to Nigeria. Why would know say such a thing so publicly???

http://zoharous.blogspot.com
http://thewritingsofaghanaiangirl.blogspot.com

Its the truth.our international airport is a hot mess.they shld start with changing the name first.I hate dt murtala tn!so tacky!!!(Feel free to attack me)...

biz.ethos said...

It isnt sad.i actually like it. A good wake up call.

Chic Therapy said...

Sentiments aside, is it a lie?

Ahmed said...

Truth hurts?

They stated the truth.
I can get anything through any airport in Nigeria. Fact.

Adebola said...

Why bother putting the 'S'in bracket? I don't see any other country there.
I don't blame them sha Nigeria, is really messed up with a lot of things. Airport security is one of them. The way those custom officers beg for money and 'madam wetin u bring will make one believe anyone cld pay their way out of a major security issue. Nigeria is sleeping and Linda its truly sad. I weep for this nation. It hurts!!!

Na dem sabi, always bad mouthing other nations.....the truth is dat crime rate in new York is higher than the whole of naija....let them park well....Tunde

ONOME says......
Linda quit already with the victim role.
Is the assertion TRUE or FALSE?
You have travelled so far to the US and England.Perhaps you may want to compare and contrast and tell us your findings.

THE DIFFERENCE IS CLEAR.

They are very stupid!!!!!

Sis linda u know its true.Security at our airpots is lax....

(((Ewelebilityyy)))

JP said...

That's really bad!! Hard time for naija our beloveth country

kelly said...

Havnt seen it there before,are you sure this wasn't in response to yvonne nelsea twitter ranting?

If it is real, truth be told am nt surprised. A month ago I was @ MMIA to pick my brother while waiting to find him you wouldn't believe the number of people complaining of their luggages being tampered with and the most pathetic thing about it was that no1 was listening, absolutely no1 cared.people had stuffs stolen from their bagges and they could swear it had to be between the plan and d baggage pick up area. It was really sad to hear them complain so bitterly. And after a week in naija my brother asked me why domestic airport MMA2 was better than an INT'L Airport.what was I to say to that.some people neva even get to use any other airport and leave our country with the worst airport experience ever.

@ Linda wat is sad here ? Truth be told abeg . these are people that value life, and don't take bribe's to cover up evil.the tell u the way it is, not the way it was. Since the people in aviation sector don't want to step up there game. Its about time...now oyibo don open up 9ja nyash we all are acting surprised ? A beg update us with hot gossip, am off work today so I need activity. Lol.

Naija, abeg true bitter
The Government must wake up to the task
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Na lie?

johnnie said...

Why sad?its the truth

WE AL HAV A ROLE TO PLAY IN DIS SHAMEFUL.....SCENARIO.....UNTIL WE STOP POINTING ACCUSING FINGERS ....AND LOOK AT OUR OWN INDIVIDUAL DEFIENCIES.

CHOI!!!! 9ja z finishd

They are damn right! Shame on Nigeria!

Hausa don finish this country.

KENOKACHI said...

what embarrassement photoshop sucks if real naija no lose hope

Dats bad...

Sad

wow thats a bad one http://thenigerianjeweler.blogspot.com/2012/08/how-to-correct-8-common-beauty-mistakes.html

I am beginning to suspect that there is more to the DANA investigation, something the Nigerian Aviation Ministry is covering up- This is Huge and it is in our best interest to find out what is truly going on so we can right the wrong abi??

Emi said...

Na lie b4 linda,y a u sounding patriotic?

Lindiway, its "An LIB reader" the 'L' albeit a consonant has a phonetic pronunciation as "el" as such carries the An definitive which goes with all vowel letters.

BTW: We deserve what is printed thr, if we don't value d life n property of our Citizens, oyinbo pipu do not equate human being to crayfish!

*** Mufasa said

at least it is displayed on what seems to be a fancy marble stone. . . kudos to the designer.

Naming and shaming at its best. When our pot bellied politicians take their girlfriends or wives and families to New York, hopefully this will give them something to think about.
You know what Linda, buy ad space and a billboard and let the whole of Lagos see it.

That's been there for twenty years oh! My mum said she first noticed it in 1996.

Well, you can thank Muslims and boko haram.

Hehehehe i dey and am not suprise.

The truth is bitter.

Omg,are you serious! Naijas image is already socked up i tell .

Chai!!!! See Naija.....

KASS

I doubt if it's real.

Linda.. Though we have a rickety and shambolic atmosphere at MIA but it is not as bad as they potrayed us which i believe that we can also do better. America itself has their own problem they are facing and it is not platter of gold as it has bn shown to us by the media. One thing i noticed about them is that they like to paint Nigeria bad all the time as if nothing good atall come out of that country in order to make black people more inferior with their low self esteem bcos Nigeria has the largest black population, so if they succeded in painting Nigeria bad, they have already acquired their aims, that is why i just dont listen to all those CNN and BBC bcos they are more biased towards Black people and we ourselves love to use derogatory message to rundown ourselves.

I think it is high time to make them believe that we are all fine even if we are not fine bcos that is the keyword that keeps them moving by brainwashing people thru the media. There are so many stinking places in USA as well even in New York.

Naija onibaje, Obaje ti!

Are you kidding! This aint funny .

George_O said...

Them with their level of aviation security measures don't they lose planes to accidents too, withing the last decade planes lost between us are almost even. Pathetic.

George_O said...

http://www.ntsb.gov/investigations/reports_aviation.html

Please tell me who has had safer aviation btw us over the last decade relative to number of airlines; lots of the crashes listed there were total fatalities. Its bad we know, but these things happen, when your 40,000 ft above sea level all you can do is hope and pray, so don't make us feel inferior. Nonsense secretary of transportation.

Awwwwwwwwwww! 4 Real...Like Seriously.

I think the question here is not "is it real"..... But "... Is it true"
The answer is for all to ponder as we collectively hang our heads in shame. Our national airport is at best 'a garrage' fit for parking tractors and combined harvesters. And honestly, thats what our aircraft remind me of anyway...shame

Very sad but probably very true.

Chika said...

Wow, this is pathetic. Pls, we need to help ourselves, me included. This is just too embarrassing and scary for those who want to come to Nigeria.

sad but very true

Jesus Disciple said...

Not again!

just came thru la Guardia and did not notice it but i was not exactly looking either, if true then not good news for naija.

It is real. Saw it bout a month ago

God go punish then

Truly sad!

Richieboi said...

Naija, I thee

Mhen!!! This just the height of ridicule :( :( :(

Bpumpin

buzz said...

SAD!!!!!

Chei! Na wa ooo! This is an international embarassment! P.E.

Ooooo well!are they lying on us?

Warri Girl said...

9ja oooo,see the way we blacklisted internationally.

NSG Admin said...

This is the kind of news that spoils ones day but then is it not the bitter truth? Nothing pains me like getting off an international flight and facing the MMIA immigration desk that looks more like a motor park desk.
http://naijasportsgists.wordpress.com/

So so sad nd a bad name 2 our great country. Buh RICK ROSS see am still come. Via Alomo

Wow its really sad#poor nigeria

IykMezu said...

Please my sister, check very well, this does not seem to be a current notice. Inquiry carried out on this looks like it was a 2003 notice, which has since been removed.

Truly truly sad!

it is sad indeed! i don't blame them cos it's really true.i used that Airport sometime ago and i was just happy to be leaving dis God forsaken country called Nigeria.

this cannot be right and i hope minister of avation has been sent this. that is what happens when you put somebody as a minister who does not know or have a clue as to how to run avaiton any way it is only don in a country like naija ssmdh very very sad

Str8FrmDaHips said...

And then u criticize Yvonne..is this not worse??..or we let it slide cos Oyinbo people put this up??...and for the record its not all that safe..in accordance with Airport security procedures!!..the new Local Aiport makes MIA look like an dilapidated antique!!

Lol. Abi now,at least its not written on cardboard. Embarrassment everywhere we turn. It is well

NIJA IS BEING BOMBARDED FROM ALL ANGLES WITH ATTACKS...WE HAVE BEEN SINGLED OUT OF ALL THE NATIONS IN THE WORLD....SOMEHOW I DONT BELIEVE THAT PIC....

U need to be more liberal, bro

I am Nigerian and I travel in and out and I must say, Murtala Mohammed airport is the WORST in the world! If there was anything below worst, I'd give it to MMA. Very shameful. First and foremost, the customs agents are the most vile and disgusting creatures on earth. They are a shame to the country. Imagine as a foreigner the first thing you are greeted by is a smelly scallywag hassling you for bribe. DISGUSTING. When you finally manage to get out, you have a bunch of touts harrasing you for bribe again. EWWW.. Naija customs are the most disgusting! I won't even get into infrastructure until the renovation is complete. It's the animals in uniforms that make the airport horrible!.

linda this statement is very very correct. I just got back from Nigeria last night and i've been bitching to my friends how frustrating, insecured, dangerous and embarrassing this so called international airport is . No body wants to do their job without bribe. You can take anything pass through that airport. Every single person you encounter at the airport want bribe. They are all like beggers in uniform. What I saw was very embarrassing. That airport is very unsafe to travel through. Infrastructures are in mess. No water at the restrooms, no tissues. Staffs are angry and bitchy. It is difficult to get information from anyone. I can't believe our so called government officials travel through that airport. It is very shameful.