Russian troops land in Egypt for first ever bilateral military drill in Africa (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 16 October 2016

Russian troops land in Egypt for first ever bilateral military drill in Africa (photos)

In a first-of-its-kind move, Russian airborne units have arrived Egypt where they will participate in a joint military drill with the host country. The drill, codenamed “Defenders of Friendship 2016” kicked off yesterday and will last till October 26.

Both nations will practice joint anti-terrorist actions and representatives of 30 countries will monitor the wargames. According to the Russian Defense Ministry: “International [military] exercises of the Russian and Egyptian Airborne forces on the African continent are being conducted for the first time.

The Russian-Egyptian exercises involving units of airborne troops of the Russian Federation and the airborne troops of the Arab Republic of Egypt will develop common approaches to locate and destroy illegal armed groups in a desert environment."

100 tons of military hardware will be delivered to Egypt for use in the drills, these include: airborne combat vehicles, armored personnel carriers and quad bikes. The joint drills are based on earlier agreements between Moscow and Cairo.

33 comments:

This is nice

Wow dis russia is becoming more interesting lately bt scary most often

Nna na wa o! Linda take note!

THEY BETTER TAKE IT TO THEIR COUNTRY

God bless Russia for standing up for the weak against America‎

BROTHER NDUBISI said...

I so much love dis country and its military strength

Russians should fuck off Africa soil,we don't like them we don't need them

BROTHER NDUBISI said...

Agent of death. Its all your military hardware dat will distort your country

hmmm

Na waoh... #Scary

K

OK.

D president is damn serious

We need to do same here too in Nigeria

Nonso Pascal said...

They are getting ready for WW III

Read this World War III In Sight As Us-russia Relationship Worsen

Ok,seen

Ikeh Chibuike said...

anywhere I see Russian am seriously scared. I hope dey aren't trying to train and lure nations against America country #NOworldWAR

Yipeeeeee!!! In ur face Yankees. Lol new world order

Russia is becoming a treat to the world and Putin is gradually metamorphosizing into modern hitla

Prince lexton said...

Russia and Putin am watching you!!!

Prince lexton said...

Russia and Putin am watching you!!!

USA normally gives the Egyptian military $30million or thereabouts annually. Russia is now encroaching on USA sphere of influence, whilst doing everything it can to keep USA out of Syria. This is Egyptian disloyalty to USA and a big challenge of USA influence by Putin. It'll sure be interesting to see how this plays out.

Prince lexton said...

Russia expanding global influence

Russia 'lord of war' go away from Africa.

Mumu Shut up America Is d problem

Idiot shut up, Funny why you not supporting ISIS to take over Syria. Anon at 2:50 AM

thank you for this comment

kfc said...

Making Africa the new middle east.... Russian and American presence