"My wife's function is to look after me" - Pres. Buhari tells reporter asking about his "kitchen, & the other room" statement | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 16 October 2016

"My wife's function is to look after me" - Pres. Buhari tells reporter asking about his "kitchen, & the other room" statement

In an interview with Deutsche Welle (DW) - Germany's public international broadcaster, President Buhari insisted that his wife's job is to look after him. When asked to clarify on his statement that his wife belongs to his kitchen, Buhari said:
"I am sure you have a house.. You know where your kitchen is, you know where your living room is, and I believe your wife looks after all of that even if she is working."
When asked again if that was his wife - Aisha's function, Mr President replied in the affirmative, saying: "Yes. To look after me." Watch the video after the cut...

81 comments:

sunny chuks said...

Why do you continue to lament why some of your mates and contemporaries and smart guys are smiling to bank daily.

Some of us buy data daily browsing our future away while opportunities were lying fallow awaiting to be tapped by smart and eagle eyed fellows.

Check out this for a start and sooner it will be your turn to cash out your money through western union or any medium that will be suitable for you

http://dollarcell.com/?ref=581690

Saying d same thing in a different way

Buhari looks clueless

Incredible India

Genny's Blog said...

His headache!

Dats the duty of every good wife even if she is working. Linda take note!

ASHANKA said...

SAI BABA

Ew so na humans vote for this man huh? Apc Fools this one na joke again huh?HE IS STILL DISGRACING HIM SEE AGAIN EW.
please guys interview him well i need him to disgrace him self and nigerians again.
SO U WANT TO TELL ME THAT A SANE PERSON VOTE FOR TERRORIST BUHARI HUH? TUAH SPIT.
Freeborn laugh,laugh,laugh and laugh and dancing i concur now.APC COME CARRY UNA PRESIDENT OO

Ew so na humans vote for this man huh? Apc Fools this one na joke again huh?HE IS STILL DISGRACING HIM SEE AGAIN EW.
please guys interview him well i need him to disgrace him self and nigerians again.
SO U WANT TO TELL ME THAT A SANE PERSON VOTE FOR TERRORIST BUHARI HUH? TUAH SPIT.
Freeborn laugh,laugh,laugh and laugh and dancing i concur now.APC COME CARRY UNA PRESIDENT OO

Any man dat doesn't respect a lady is not worthy to b called a man

Final said...

what an absolute idiot, they mine lots of them in Nigeria

I feel sorry for your level of understanding and your thinking. I need to know if you are educated to university level because if you are, your thinking will be far different. And stop this tribalism issue. What did Jonathan did during is tenure than to make corruption order of the day.

This man is utterly dumb...nxt time we will take the issue of secondary school certificate seriously.

Long Live LIB

My able president

Simple, but this man Don old oh, see him face

THIS MAN IS STILL TALKING RUBBISH?

As honest as he can be! He's making reference to his wife only not women in general.We all know PMB never deprive his wife to hustle even with the way he picture his wife to be. Let's call a spade a spade,Aisha Buhari is not a politician,we didn't vote for her. We voted for her husband become our president so media and wailers continue spinning it issue PMB no send atall. I'm proud to have Muhammad Buhari as my president yes! Sai baba all the way🙌🏾💯

stylish braid hair African said...

Who mention Jonathan to this, there is no tribalism or politics here. Nigerian are talking of buhari's perception about his own wife. Jonathan is man who respect women and the role of women in the nation economy... people that voted this mumu should come and carry himooooo. We no want this kind of presido.

Wise son. said...

Women lik Senator Oluremi Tinubu, Oshiomhole's wife & all women in APC should bow their heads in shame to hear a man they supported as change agent saying these things about women even in the international community.

To all women in support of APC, this is ur position under this change era.

So u folks should better retire to the kitchen, living room & the other room until this govt is over.

Loool. I'm just laughing in swahili!!

The next time u all remember the name "Muhammadu Buhari" during any election, u'll agree that age matters in choosing a leader.

Its even a bigger shame to read some people's comment here still justifying their support for this Buhari.

LMFAO!!!

Why going anonymous under one comment u must b a coward not to reveal ur true identity.

That is the mentality of mallams.

Preshnext said...

I just had to laugh. Baba just ended up confusing DW when he said "I'm sure you have a house and you know where your kitchen is".. The look on the guy's face though... Lol

Anonymous i feel you don't mind all this dumb ass/heads that keep commenting them no get job. go on my able president.

Ladun Liadi said...

Where is Garba Shehu? Is this the epilogue to the joke?

Surprised at the way Nigerians are taking this , a woman's duty even if she is the president of world bank, is to take care of the house and family. Let's channel our thinking to the right thing and look forward to make Nigeria a better place and stop making a fuss out of nothing!

He meant she should have his back which she clearly doesnt.

Really surprised at the way Nigerians are taking this thing, as a wife, even if you are the president of world bank, your duty us still to take care of the house and family. Nigerians let's channel our thinking to the right thing and stop making a fuss out of nothing!!

Ayo said...

THE WIFE OF THE OONI OF IFE SAID THE SAME THING BUHARI IS SAYING. She said that women are INFERIOR to men. That women should "take several seats" and stay in the place God and Nature alloted to them. That's beside their husbands to SERVE and take care of them and his stomach and the other thing...

So the wife of the ooni of Ife and Buhari ARE OF THE SAME VIEWS as it regards women. INFERIOR TO MEN and with their NATURAL places being in the kitchen and in the bedroom.

So wetin be the problem ?

Fulani Herdsman said...

Livingstone Chibuike u re such a big fool,So bcus he told u the no 1function of a woman,means he does not respect her. I wonder the kind of husband u will make.A PUPPET .and ur wife will call u a mugu nd even fuck real men behind u,cus from ur comment it shows u a very weak man nd dats why u try so hard not to speak out the truth. Shame on u

My brother oooo,I wonda y some weak men will b takling whn the ril men re talking. So for a woman to take care of her husband nd home is now a sign of disrespect. ? Some men re olodos

Who said this idiot was joking ... dele momodu is an idiot

I wonder if you're married n if u take good care of ur husband, cuz if u do, u wud not have so much tym to be mkn senseless comments here

Incredible India

He's right tho. But that in anyway shouldn't undermine her opinion as a citizen of Nigeria and a human being

Can't someone shut dis old man up temporarily until he's in a good mental state?

Why is every reporter trying to get a shot at dis kitchen and oda room nonsense. Pls does his wife have to be a member of d FEC because he is d President? Abi is Obama's wife a member of his cabinet? Pls we should concentrate on how all dis so called countries would return our money dat was looted and stashed with dem and stop trying to distract us. If we use d same energy we use in screaming bring back our girls to scream give us our money, dey would have been forced to pay. Instead dey are offering us loans and grants from dis our same money dey are refusing to release to us and we are happy. But because Jonathan foolishly accepted such loans doesn't mean Buhari should accept it.

For a partrichial society as ours, expect nothing other than what he said!Gender equality has been a serious issue here like for ages... #BitterTruth

anonymous before u go further. .pls did u finish school because ur own grammar is shameful..pot calling kettle black...smh

Every Nigerian man believes his wife is meant to take care of him ... like women expect good husbands do the same for them. Many voted Buhari for his ideologies against indiscipline and corruption. However, we are aware he is a product of the very conservative North and also of a certain age. Many irresponsible men take that belief to mean nurse,housegirl, cook, washerman,sex slave, baby factory etc.

However, Buhari should have advisers on gender sensitive and liberal matters so as to stay in touch with the present times values and reality. Co's this just ain't cool, your excellency. You are in fact promoting sexism, the same as those who promoted/promote racism.

Every Nigerian man believes his wife is meant to take care of him ... like women expect good husbands do the same for them. Many voted Buhari for his ideologies against indiscipline and corruption. However, we are aware he is a product of the very conservative North and also of a certain age. Many irresponsible men take that belief to mean nurse,housegirl, cook, washerman,sex slave, baby factory etc.

However, Buhari should have advisers on gender sensitive and liberal matters so as to stay in touch with the present times values and reality. Co's this just ain't cool, your excellency. You are in fact promoting sexism, the same as those who promoted/promote racism.

HONOURABLE DINO MELAYE WROTE:

Dear Umaru Musa Yar'Adua, when you were around we called you: The BAD one. The SLOW ONE. The SICK ONE.

Yes, you were sick, in fact, sick all through your administration. We all cried for your resignation at the height of your sickness. Cursing you, your first lady and your supporters (The first set of Cabals).

Asking you to die if you want to die and allow the man with all the Goodluck in this world to lead us.

We forgot that even though you were sick, you were the first Governor to have ever declared his assets publicly and you remained the only President in the history of Nigeria to have ever declare his assets publicly.

We conveniently forgot that even though you were gravely sick you were the first president to ever reduced the price of petrol in Nigeria, (From N75 to N70 and later from N70 to N65) and the economy did not collapse like the present leaders are making us believe. You even reversed the sale of our refineries.

We forgot that you didn't afflict yourself with your sickness and so could do very little about it. But we still insisted that you just have to go, so that Nigeria can finally have her chance with Goodluck.

We forgot that even though you were terminally ill, you still succeeded in solving the Niger Delta crisis which you didn't cause, but you found a solution. And even crushed d first Boko Haram uprising and caught its leader.

You gave us rule of Law, Ameachi reclaimed his mandate as Rivers governor, Andy Uba lost in court and was removed as Anambra State's Governor. Oni lost in Ekiti and was removed, Agagu lost in Ondo and was removed, Osunbor lost in Edo and was removed even though they are all
members of your party
(PDP).

Now we have seen what a healthy president has done with the country.

His Excellency President Umaru Musa Yar'Adua, may your Soul Rest in Perfect Peace.

We will forever remember you and your leadership.

Sincerely, share Around If you sincerely Care for the New Change IN Nigeria.

e don do people, respect ur leader

Hahhahahhahahahhajajajja,i laugh in Germany language, this man called buhari go kill person o.

I really do not understand people these days, do a man marry a woman to be his rival or competitor? ‎ A man goes and marry because he wants to have a family, and his duty as a man by nature is to provide for his family,defend them and protect them. So if he goes out to look for daily bread, who will watch the house when he his not around, take care of the kids and cook something for him? The woman of course. So if buhari say his wife is to take care of him, he is not wrong in anyway, it is because we have lost the true meaning of marriage, lost the meaning of family and allow western culture to influence our action, that is why he see issue with what he said. I see no reason marry if it is just for sex, rival me, cheat along as I do, challenge, I shud just remain a bachelor instead

from a leaders perspective he has failed. from the eye of a husband. fact said.

I really do not understand people these days, do a man marry a woman to be his rival or competitor? ‎ A man goes and marry because he wants to have a family, and his duty as a man by nature is to provide for his family,defend them and protect them. So if he goes out to look for daily bread, who will watch the house when he his not around, take care of the kids and cook something for him? The woman of course. So if buhari say his wife is to take care of him, he is not wrong in anyway, it is because we have lost the true meaning of marriage, lost the meaning of family and allow western culture to influence our action, that is why he see issue with what he said. I see no reason marry if it is just for sex, rival me, cheat along as I do, challenge, I shud just remain a bachelor instead

Her function is to look after u?.. Are u a toddler?.. Just negodu this funny man, he's trying to rephrase his earlier statement because he has realized the magnitude of those words and the damage it has caused.. He's simply doing damage country and hence still using another wrong choice of words.. How come most Nigerian men find it so hard to tell the world they're sorry?... If I was Trump now or any other white guy, he would called a press conference, address the intensed situation and apologize.. Stupid old man.. Come let us give u feeding bottle since you're looking for a woman who will look after u.. Idiaaaaaaat😁

All you guys praising Aisha thinking that she actually cares about the Masses .
Obviously her entourage is not getting the positions which she wants them to get .
Her and her people are not chopping as expected so she is personally pained .
In her interview when she said he doesnt know 45/50 of them which is bad because SHE has to work with them , why didnt alarm bells go off in you people's mind . This is obviously very personal .
What kind of woman goes on to disgrace her husband on such an international scale
even going on to say she wont support him in 2019 .
As a wife she is supposed to give her husband emotional support and handle the rest of her charities and woman empowerment movements .
She has been married to the man for 27 years does that then put her automatically on the same footing in regards to political matters?
Aisha we elected your husband not you . WE have already seen how hot headed you can be on twitter , dishing out insults and reminding us that your husband is old and he might not have the energy to do the job .
Nigerians open your eyes , the person you should be praising i s Buhari for not succumbing to his wife's personal interests .

That is my wife's function too.I look after her and the kids too and that is my function. However she has no business telling me how to run my company. The day she tries it is the day our relationship will turn sour.

Too much hypocrisy these days.

Had a discussion with some forks about this issue today and I can literally see their hypocrisy saying Buhari was wrong for saying it on the international podium even though this is actually the mentality of men in the country and Africa at large.

I think he's not wrong per se but the Nigeria culture itself is the problem.

If his comment is wrong, then African view on the role of wife is wrong at last. And this will help put a spot light on the issue of equality in responsibility in Nigeria and Africa context.

Feel sorry for yourself educated teacher,500 is a dollar and what else are you teaching,plz accept middle finger up..FUCK

Na u be the next target on DSS list with all ur stupid comment . Thank God your pictures r on ur profile

Mr Garba Shehu,do you have anything to say?

<< LIB Addict >>

Gbenga Popoola said...

u pple here are so shadowed by ethnicity, which is so sad despite d graduation from higher institutions. Even Michelle Obama sole work is to look after his Husband, makin sure things like dis don't happen. bt since d downfall of ur president is the cure for ur recession. it's all good.

Ashley said...

Your grammatical errors tho.

To change your pampers and help put the spoon in your mouthouse since your hands are so frail and shaky from your advanced age? You can pay a nanny to do that. She is your chief advisor if you don't know. Know that so that you can live longer oh, also rock or not

sholetoga said...

So your wife doesn't have a life but to live her life looking after a grown man like you. Why does this clueless man yan opata all over the place.....

Feeling sorry for someone and you also need Jesus to help you with your English...😂😂😂😂😂.....am sure you were hungry while typing your reply...my question to you is that, where you this hungry during Jonathan's regime????

gbenga popoola said...

It's really clear ya'll mothers don't look after ya'll dads

lovina said...

This is so so wrong in every way.

Emy said...

Mr. President, is famically correct. These your interviwers already knows that she is your wife and looks after you, by way of the kitchen, room and other room. But they are still capitalising on your ignorance of the times we are by continuing asking that you elaborate on your statement.Mr President what if you had told your interviewers, 'that your wife supports you' and leave it at that. Dont you think, it is more diplomatic and mature?

Buhari is sick he needs bed rest

why do we need to sugarcoat it, he said it the way it is. if your wife does not take care of you,who will? all the men here screaming,if they get home and didn't find anything to eat na war.

And he is too old to rule the whole Nigeria maybe they should give him to rule only north people or the cows self if him go fit this man is weak 85 years old that's is real age

I think u are dumb. President said my wife looks after the kitchen and the living room even if she's working (meaning Aisha got a careeer_beautician) yet she still looks after his wellbeing. So what is the noise about?

Jonah was the wife na while pepe was the husband...das why Jonah couldn't call her to order and she ended up ruining him.

FRESH said...

When you get married, do not look after your husband. You hear? You will either end up back in your father's house,or another woman will help you do it.

INFO POINT said...

My dear all those things u listed are also not the primary purpose....so ur also wrong

Lol.
Buhari is an ol Elf. A very wise Man.
Jst look at the mischievous smirk on his wrinkled face as he threw subtle punches on the Journalist who almost went off balance.
Of course it's common sense that a wife have 2 look after the Kitchen n Other rooms even though the Husbands are not exempted from such Chores.
Only a FOOLISH BASTARD will criticize this view of El Presidente'.

Lol.
Buhari is an ol Elf. A very wise Man.
Jst look at the mischievous smirk on his wrinkled face as he threw subtle punches on the Journalist who almost went off balance.
Of course it's common sense that a wife have 2 look after the Kitchen n Other rooms even though the Husbands are not exempted from such Chores.
Only a FOOLISH BASTARD will criticize this view of El Presidente'.

afekhade said...

Are igbos really stupid?? I think so

Mr Anonymous ur level of reasoning is very sad! Cuz watt u mean is that when u go to any office it's only men dat should be dere, u go to d hospital only men, music industry only men, School only men, both staff and students, u put in the TV to watch a movie only men in the movie, really? Since women don't have brains and shouldn't have careers! Mtcheeeeeew! Use ur head before u blab

His wife or your wife.?...that's his own opinion about his wife....its not a must your own wife look after you

Bloody idiot ,talking nonsense. Of course dss has no job but to act like armed robbers fighting enemies instead of protecting the country. Let them go and face Boko haram now. Idiot

Mr president is talking about his wife and not all the women in Nigeria. every good wife must take good of her husband and children, if he continues to listen and do everything his wife says, he might end up like Jonathan that allows Patience his wife, Alison Madueke and Ngozi Okonjo-iweala to controls Nigeria resources and wasted it on their personal interests.

WHY R PEOPLE ACTING SO SHOCKED. PRETENDERS! this is the mindset of over 90% of african males whether they admit it or not. just what we gotta accept. its up to us to train our sons better

Buhari is very correct her. Aisha is his wife. Her duty is first to her husband, knowing fully well that there is no official status/provision in the constitution or portfolio for Wife of the President. The interview she granted must have been miscontrued and at the same time shows her naivety of the political scheme.