According to Osaze, footballers now joke with the incident but he feels he was hard done by West Brom and even though he admits the video of him talking out of his car window like then QPR coach Harry Redknapp was a "big mistake", his honesty cost him.
He said to Sun UK on Sunday:
"It gave me negative publicity but in the three clubs since I have laughed about it with my teammates. If someone at one of my other clubs left, we would call it an ‘Odemwingie’."
“I was too honest, which was my downfall, and I have paid the price for that ever since. I wanted the move, everyone knew my intentions and I thought the deal was going to happen. It was a big mistake by me to go in front of a camera, but I definitely feel hard done by. West Brom felt I was forcing their hand, but it was not my call and it was partly their fault.
“I got all the publicity and had to answer all the questions, but there were lots of other people involved in the deal. The idea at the time was from one of the agents, and I can say 100 per cent I would never have done it otherwise. Have they, or anyone from West Brom given their side? No. They hung me out to dry. The terms were all of West Brom’s, none of mine. I accepted them, and then I drove down after saying my goodbyes assuming the move would happen only to look like a fool on camera.”After the deal collapsed, he fell out with then West Brom owner Jeremy Peace and became a bench warmer– but says his reputation as a troublemaker is unfair.
He added:
“Steve Clarke (then West Brom coach) admitted the next day he thought it was going through, but I didn’t know at the time Junior Hoilett at QPR was going to go the other way, which muddied the water without my knowledge – so when he said it was ‘lunacy’ the next day, he knew the whole story. It was an odd atmosphere going back, as I promised my West Brom teammates to take them out for a meal to thank them for being supportive as I was a success at the club."
31 comments:
Alright
HMMMMMM....
My man I always liked u, am no gay sha...but that year u fucked up big time. It notin sha
One love......WATCH OUT
It's good to be honest despite whatever!
He should move on
tough luck one may say, thank God for life
Shit happens, man. Shit happens, u know? I'm glad u have learnt a lesson from it.
That's in the past. I suppose he has learnt from that.
Sorry bro
Signed
LibBadBoy
Does Odemwingie not have an agent? He made a joke of himself, honestly speaking!
Issokey.
He learnt the hard way. Linda take note!
Always b honest lik me bro
Am pretty sure he has already learnt his lesson...
Kindly visit my tech blog For Latest Tech News And Free Browsingyomitech.com
Ehyaaaa! Touching! But he'll hopefully get back up!
Heheheh u chopped ur yam before e don. My bros my bros.
Honesty always pays
Am still crushing on u bro
aww
Even before now, we sees u to be a hero, not because you are good but because you are whom God want you to be!
It has already happened so move on
Ok.. but remain honest
Yea. Shit happens. More here
Omo na ya destiny Freda dey use expand her spa business dey go so,u better ask her for ya tin back before she decide to use am buy ya football club n sack ya
After serving West Brom so well, they paid him back with a bad coin. He was gonna help QPR out of relegation that season, make a lot of money and become a Hero. I have always been angry of West Brom's action against Odemwingie.
Eyahhhhh
@Linda,can you stop enabling all these adverts comments on your blog?
Its really irritating and discourages people from reading comments.