'A woman's place is in the home' - See the misogynistic note a waitress got from an elderly Christian couple | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 October 2016

'A woman's place is in the home' - See the misogynistic note a waitress got from an elderly Christian couple

A waitress at a Cracker Barrel restaurant in South Carolina named Renee was shocked to get this note from a couple who appeared to be in their mid 50s instead of a tip. The note basically told her that as a woman, her place is her home, taking care of her household duties. A co-worker, Elizabeth Laurel Neal, shared a picture of the note on Facebooke. It read;

"Dear Renee,Thank you for your excellent service today -- you're a good waitress.Here's your tip:The woman's place is in the home. Your place is in the home. It even says so in the Bible. You may think that you're contributing to your household by coming into work, but you're not. While you're in here 'working' this is the reason your husband must see another woman on his way home from a long day at his work.
Because you should be home taking care of the household duties, you may think what you are doing 'working' is right, it is really essentially a disgrace to his manhood and to the American family. So instead of coming to your 'job' and looking for handouts to feed your family, how's about going home and cleaning your house and cooking a hot meal for your husband and children, the way your husband and God intended, and help make America great again. Praying for families and our nation. 
Love, The Watley's"

"They were a couple, mid-50s I would guess," the server said in a written note that her friend shared with WYFF News 4.

"I am not sure if they were local, having never served them before, but they did sound as though they were from this area."

A mortified Renee said the couple made some incorrect assumptions about her life.
. I have never been married, and have no children. I have a very loving and supportive boyfriend who has been by my side as I have been working and trying to further my education," Renee wrote. 
The guests were very friendly and polite while I served them, which made this come as an even bigger surprise. They got up to pay, and I thought they had left. I bused off their table, and was taking an order for another nearby table of guests when I observed them come back, slip the napkin on the table, and dart out the door. 
'' I felt mortified, embarrassed, humiliated even. I felt hurt, and a bit heartbroken. It is a bit disheartening and discouraging that things like this happen at this day and age
One of the friends who posted the napkin letter on their Facebook page, offered her own reply:
"Dear lovely guest, You cannot demean a worker that provides a service that you enjoy. Without my coworker, myself, and the countless others females in the service industry, you and others with your same mindset would not enjoy the 'excellent service' that we provide. May I ask why you were eating out, instead of eating the nice meal that your wife obviously must have prepared for you at home? 
"Do you write this lovely note to every female server you have? Every woman who is a single mom supporting her children? Every woman whose husband has passed away and is struggling to make ends meet? Every military wife who is trying to pay bills while her husband is away? And God-forbid, every woman who enjoys working? How dare they, what an outrage! Your server makes $2.13 an hour, and deserved to be paid for the service she provided for you. To someone who comes from a generation that often complains that those younger than him have everything handed to them, you seem awfully entitled. Sir, you have no idea about the life your server lives. The server you wrote this to, for example, does her job because she enjoys it, does indeed cook dinner for her boyfriend, and keeps her house immaculate. And if she didn't? There would be nothing wrong with it. So how's about instead of writing demeaning and hurtful notes to your servers in lieu of a tip, you stay at home and save us all from the experience of waiting on you. 
"Sincerely, 
A female server who loves her job, and doesn't give a rat's furry behind if you think it's 'appropriate' for me to work."

26 comments:

Hmm

nawa

Some people are their poor mentality though

I wonder wat people achieve involving dem selves towards issues dat doesn't concern dem..it sucks

***yawns*** who read am? I no sabi read this kind gist!

Ngwanu! No be only Buhari talk am. Linda take note!

I reserve my comment for now..

Can you beat that? #Sic

Buhari's cousins

Buhari generation kind of people.who believe a woman's place is in the kitchen and zi oza room.

Na waoo

******************************will definitely not allow my eyes be stretched for Nothing dax not worth d stress ***********Koro nu gaa one side ************

Phew! So when she goes home to take care of her family, she will be using bible verses to pay for goods and services.
They are seriously sick.

Women Rule said...

To The Server, couldn't have said it better myself!! Well done. Women will continue to thrive to the point that these chauvinistic men will bow their heads in shame. Thank you darling.

So, our PMB is very right. Long live President Buhari... God bless Nigeria.

Thanks for this humble reply

NA WAH!

Amazing Stretch Marks and Scar removal cream. Call 08101866047
Remove stubborn stretch marks. 100% Natural, No side effects.
Call 08101866047. Nationwide delivery.

Magical Teeth whitening device. Call 08101866047
Whiten your Teeth within 10 minutes. No side effects.
Call 08101866047. Nationwide delivery.

Useless set of people......

Neeta said...

Buhari in America! smh

Hopeless Trump supporters ignorant like their leader. Good response

Lol... quite a misappropriated gesture!

Is it in this economic recession that you will say only a man should work while his wife sits at home? Fine, a very wealthy man can afford to work alone while his wife sits at home but an average or poor man cannot afford to work alone. His wife has to assist. Also, a widow or single mother cannot afford to sit at home without working. Do you want them to die of hunger? It was in the days of old that only men go to the farm while women sit at home. Times have changed, economy has changed, technology has changed. The couple are living in the past if you ask me. Even God understands that women need to work sometimes

So she should sit at home and use her teeth to pay for bills abi?. Stmcheew