Why suspects beg judges to remand them in our cells -EFCC shares interior of their holding cell (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 August 2016

Why suspects beg judges to remand them in our cells -EFCC shares interior of their holding cell (photos)

Press statement from antigraft agency EFCC.
A certain kind of drama almost always plays out when EFCC arraigns an accused person in court. The defence counsel would immediately apply for court bail. However, if the court temporarily denies the application, the counsel would again rise in open court and passionately plead with the trial judge to allow his client remain in EFCC holding facility, pending the determination of bail, or, where his application was granted, pending fulfilment of bail conditions.
Notwithstanding this, some people with ulterior motives have continuously sponsored false stories likening detention in EFCC facilities to being held in dungeons where torture and other forms of human rights abuses are commonplace.

The Commission however prides itself as meeting the highest possible professional standards in all its operations. Such unprofessional practices are not only outlawed in EFCC, they are regarded as criminal and anyone who engages in them, risks severe sanctions, including administrative reprimand and criminal prosecution.
EFCC has arguably, the best holding facilities of all law enforcement and security agencies in Nigeria. To prove this to sceptics, Commission on Thursday, 25th August, 2016, threw its facilities in Abuja, open for inspection by journalists from all media persuasions, including those who had unwittingly helped to propagate false notions about detention in the EFCC.
The media men saw things firsthand and freely interacted and conducted interview with suspects of their own choosing. They also toured the clinic attached to the cells, fully manned and run 24 hours round-the-clock by two qualified medical doctors, nurses and other health professionals. Among the other medical and diagnostic facilities, is a dedicated ambulance. The journalists also saw the meals served the suspects, which are sourced from the EFCC Staff Canteen. Those who prefer relatives to bring their meals from home, are so obliged. At the end of the tour, one reporter described the detention facilities as ‘A guest house for the big boys’.
Acting Chairman, Ibrahim Magu, however threw a challenge to the reporters:
"If anyone of you think all these have been arranged, you are welcome to come at anytime you chose, to spend time with us and see for yourself (you can even spend some days in the cell); see how EFCC carries out investigation, arrest, interrogation and if you want, be detained as long as you say, in any of our facilities across the country. You don't need to give us prior notice of your coming. You can even arrange it as a group of reporters if you don't want to come alone."
He must be truly confident in EFCC's detention facilities. The over 30 journalists drawn from print, electronic and online platforms, said they would seriously consider the offer.

34 comments:

Hammer head of horror (STEEL BLISS) said...

Aliens will invade earth on 01/01/2025 an American astronomer cries out An American astronomer have revealed this mourning on American times that according to his astronomical

Hmmm interesting. Jus watching una

Thomas said...

would they listen to them

So we should start clapping 4u guys huh?
Signed
LibBadBoy

LoL. Smile to the bank this weekend..get your extraordinary soccer prediction tips for Saturday & Sunday August 27th& 28th 2016 @ www.fortunatusblog.com  

chei Nigeria is finished. so na where efcc dey keep people na him be Nigeria problem this administration na coconut head full am an to think that they are bragging about it. can't buhari just die so that we go get peace

You see am! Linda take note!

They fear for their life.

Interesting. I don't blame them

Cell na cell bikonu
Freedom is de best

Linda don't take note!

Lol thunder fire you. If I enter nails today, come arrest me na. Shebi we go put all of una for to to tell us ur status. U and ur sister... Red nation. 😜

APPLELIPX said...

So neat cells are for politicians while the scattered ones are for yahoo boys... Moni sha....

U lack sense with your 100 cheap data

Ode

Ask these questions, why now u are showing us ur facilities, if that ur captives are dieing after few hours of detention. Your time will soon come. Where is Lamode.

Lol. See comfort!

Seen..... #Lindatakenote

No wonder

They should be sending them to kuje prison, that's wat these thieves deserve

Long Live LIB

WHATEVER DAWGS

interesting.

This explains why people die carelessly in your custody. The facilities are nothing to boast of!!!

And see as that Bastard Fani Kayode was complaining about EFCC. Seems the Bastard is begging to go to Kuja.

Cell is cell Mr Magu u shud put buhari there idiots

Lwkm efcc sef

Interesting
Linda take note

Miss Dee said...

Lol, so dis where FFK lived for lyk 3months? Dasuki, Dogara, Dokpesi n co.....lol

TO BE SINCERE THIS CELL IS TOO ROUGH...I STAND TO BE CORRECTED.. EFCC DOESN'T GO AFTER BROKE ASS. BEFORE YOU CAN BE ARRESTED BY EFCC YOU MUST HAVE GOTTEN SOME MILLIONS IN YOUR ACCOUNT. IMAGINE THE CELL IS TOO OPEN FOR MOSQUITOES..THE CELL SUPPOSE TO BE LIKE SELF CONTAINED ROOM AND WELL FURNISHED WITH AC. LOOK AT THE MATTRESS ON THE FLOOR THE PILLOW CASE ARE TOO DIRTY. EFCC CELL SHOULD BE RUN LIKE 5 START HOTEL.

David Iyke said...

I see you oooooo!

Asin eeh.. Biased fuckstards

@ Hammer head of horror don't worry Nigeria is not on earth but near hell.

This is a big lie, go to their office at Okotie Eboh in Ikoyi and see how the masses there are suffering. No decent meal nor water and the inmates treated as animals!

What is so fantastic about it?... Double your hustle