Wait, did Sterling Bank shade the heck out of Diamond Bank on twitter? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 23 May 2016

Wait, did Sterling Bank shade the heck out of Diamond Bank on twitter?

This morning, Diamond Bank tweeted something about customers meeting their personal targets..and used abbreviations to send out their message (i.e U instead of You) and got major shade from Sterling Bank. If they weren't competitors, I would have sworn this was a publicity stunt...lol

68 comments:

Lols! its no more Pdp and Apc, now it's bank shading the heck outa each other๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Drama

Eyea...lol #Sorry

Macbeth said...

Lol! I understand it is just banter but it's about time, we start seeing some balls in the advertisement space. Hopefully more to come!

Childish on the part of sterling bank, but y will diamond bank use abbreviation when they know they are corporate body.

Lol! I understand it is just banter but it's about time, we start seeing some balls in the advertisement space. Hopefully more to come!

Chuks Bruno said...

Let the game begin

THE LIMITATION IN TWITTER MAKES IT INGENEOUS TO COME UP WITH WRITING STYLES THAT STILL CONVEYS A MESSAGE WITHOUT LOSING ITS MEANING. IT'S A RATHER CARELESS SHADE IN A PRIVATE BUSINESS. I BET IT WON'T WIN THEM CUSTOMERS.

Lolzzzzzzzz

Beezy said...

Sterling Bank should fuck d fuck off!! It's a social website for heck's sake. Shortening of words are frequent. It's a tradition. Do they expect every bdy to be d Formal-obsessed type. Mtcheeew!

La face said...

It's not a big deal for the bank to use abbreviations after all sometimes they use native languages to reach to their uneducated customers. So sterling bank should stop hating

Hahahahhahahah,shading everywhere,banks,politicians,celebrities nd even bleachers

Banks re talking SterlinG bank too will be talking. They shud nt goan fix their netwrk issues dey shud be tweeting upandan. Dead bank. Sterling bank dat cannot do simple transfers or help u check ur acc bal without hving netwrk failure. Dat bank shud be illegal!!!.

peaceful said...

Is it their business?

Someone has lost his job ....jeez ,
That was a nice slam by sterling Bank

That's modern marketing, it happens in UK.

Why look for trouble. Abeg sterling bank stay on your lane. We do not want bank drama, Nigeria has alot on her hands already. E.g subsidy issue

hmmm...

SCARFACE

best opinion said...

Shame on who ever handles diamond account. U! Really?

Godwin said...

No be only PDP and APC sabi fight

*NWA 042*

Goldmine said...

People should know when to use informal spellings. Definitely not on corporate posts.

Lol.
Lol lol.

Chichi said...

Nothing works at sterling bank and I mean ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.Yet they have the nerve to come and shade another bank. Mscheeeeeeew!!! Very useless bank. I REGRET opening an account with them.

Lol. They should start writing in full

Mtcheewww next pls

so sterling bank is teaching grammar too?

but diamond passed the message, didnt they?

oben said...

Next

I LOVE THE SHADE........ WHY SHOULD DIAMOND BANK ABBREVIATE WORDS SMH...

I rep sterling bank we have major customers and we don't compete with any bank,we are one customer bank google us.

Lolz...linda..how on earth do ur contributors follow everything and anitin....more greese to ur elbows...#meanwile dasb me one of ur bags let me sell...men d economy is telling on me

this is a petty shade as can b seen d add was speaking to a target audience i.e d youths, so it was speaking d language of d youths which is spelling abbreviations.It was deliberate not an error.

sterling should go and look for their 1 customer and stop looking for gbagaun up and down

Na dem sabi

Diamond bank is milea ahead of dem...

There's nothing wrong with Diamond Bank using abbreviations in twitter. its better they use abbreviations than miss some parts of their advert cause twitter doesn't allow for too long write up. Sterling Bank, 'face-me-i-face-you bank' what is their problem? are they now waiting for other banks downfall to make them rise?? "One customer" wey we never understand till tomorrow...Lol

*hic* people, its no biggie

There's nothing wrong with Diamond Bank using abbreviations in twitter. its better they use abbreviations than miss some parts of their advert cause twitter doesn't allow for too long write up. Sterling Bank, 'face-me-i-face-you bank' what is their problem? are they now waiting for other banks downfall to make them rise?? "One customer" wey we never understand till tomorrow...Lol

Lolipop said...

It looks like Sterling wants to be acquired looking at the rate at which they are looking for trouble. they don't have enough customer's complains to attend to so they have enough time to pick on bigger banks...smh!

they have not resolved our issues and complaints since forever!..they are busy looking for trouble.

flexfelix said...

In as much as the message that they passed its well understand by there customers, abeg who sterling bank correction EPP Mtchewwwwwww.

Lolipop said...

Maybe when Diamond bank acquires Sterling bank they will learn to pick their shades!

At anon 1:01pm God bless you. They should respond to customers issues and not tweeting up and down. Rubbish @maunne

I never knew sterling bank responds swiftly after they have debited ones account and you complain about they will keep giving empty promises. Slow to respond to customer issues but swift in shading. You guys should better sit up else u fold up. @maunne

Wahala dey everywhere. Hehehe! Linda take note!

nnejis said...

What is sterling bank problem,they should go and sit down jo

Wahala dey! Linda take note!

one customer bank.....one trouble maker!!

Abuja BoredGirl said...

Hahahahaha. I laugh in different shades. This shade is epic.
www.memoirsofanabujaboredgirl.blogspot.com

thanks sterling bank for making Diamond esusu more popular

Adaejyk said...

hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!! See mgbeke feeling funky...Hian! Sterling bank kwa? Sure Diamond Bank abbreviated cos of the nature of the advert. Is it only 'U' they saw? They shld look at the way the Esusu is even spelt, mixing capital and small letters. Abeg Sterling bank shld take several seats. Otu afusibero ndi kwu oto obuluzia ndi no ana.

Good. I don't like Diamondbank. Greedy, mean bank.

The abbreviations are just wrong, social media or not. Corporate bodies should show corporate examples!

Benkzee said...

Sterling Bank has got it wrong. The best way to easily reach your customers is to behave the way they do, talk the way they talk and also spell/write the way they Spell/write. However, is no big issue, because many of us now know Diamond esusu. All thanks to Sterling Bank!

sterling banK is so right biko, nomatter what u should not use such abbreviation when u are representing a co-operate organisation,d English is so wrong am with sterling bank.

Hi Linda, can you add a feature that allows people "like" or "dislike" comments? Some things here are insanely funny.. Someones comment up there just made my day!

GOC said...

Thanks to sterling bank for giving Diamond eSUSU free advert. I rep Diamond bank jare. #knowing your target audience.

GOC said...

Thanks to sterling bank for giving Diamond eSUSU free advert. I rep Diamond bank jare. #knowing your target audience.

fulloption said...

i think the essence of the tweet is to get attention, obviously,if they wanted it official,they would ve done it the official way. At least,now, we are talking about it and u ll probably want to know more about the so called "personal account" .

@chichi come and open account in stanbic IBTC buzz me if ur interested

Tilda said...

It is social media not formal letter

Lmao. Sterling bank,,,, where am the only customer. *grinning.

#Linda'spal

Sterling Bank tryin to diss Diamond Bank is like Ikorodu Utd trying to rub shoulders with Barca. @DiamondBank has nothing to prove in this matter. and they did exactly what i expected them to do. NOTHING!

When sterling can fix their smelling branches that always leave you with a smell or their fcukery network issues, then we can give them listening ears.

PS! I would still choose to see Ikododu UTD vs BARCA ove this nonsense stunt sterling is trying to pull.

#SterlingShite

when they only have 1 customer, why wont they focus on trying to disrespect their elders on monday morning. Thanks to dem though, i now know how to get to complete rent. Esusu on point. Never would have figured.

Yetty k said...

Lol.polite shade

@steering bank( i hope my spell check works).You should listen to a track on MI's Album ...Bad belle. Mind your work o.