Congo Presidential elections: Telephone, internet and SMS services shut down for 48hours | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 20 March 2016

Congo Presidential elections: Telephone, internet and SMS services shut down for 48hours

All forms of media and communication have been shut down for 48 hours in Congo's presidential election as President Denis Sassou Nguesso aims to prolong his 32-year rule over the oil-rich but economically poor African nation.
Interior Minister Raymond Mboulou wrote to telecommunication companies urging them to shut off telephone, internet and SMS services for 48 hours for "reasons of security and national safety".

AFP News agency said a government source told them that the media blackout was to ensure there was no 'illegal' publication of Sunday's results.

The president, Sassou Nguesso  has said he has no doubt he will beat his eight rivals, describing election day as a "penalty kick and then victory".

Majority of Congolese citizens want a change of government but the efforts of the opposition were hampered when a public referendum backed removing a two-term limit that would have kept 72-year-old Sassou Ngeusso from power. The vote also removed a 70-year age limit for the presidency ensuring he could contest in this year's elections.

35 comments:

That's serious

Noted

Na waoo!

GHOSTFACE said...

I hope it will work for dem

Gud...
Blockin every means of communication..

hehe osetio

I hope OBASANJO THE KING OF CORRUPTION isn't gona conduct this election? Is it until thunder strike thay 72 years old man for that seat he will hand over to the younger ones or what

It's not OK, but its alright.

Deris God in patience voice

They should emulate this in Nigeria too. Everybody should go out and vote instead of sleeping on twitter and blogs fighting each other.

Jonathan Could have done this,And this Useless and clueless President we have today,would have been seating with his cows at the ranch,Not in Aso Rock!

whatever works for dem.

How can Africa grow? With hungry fool like this at the helm of affairs. 32 years what else can he give? Oh mama Africa why.

PrettyChi said...

Noted

I luv dis

Pearlie said...

Power intoxicates
He sure wants to become a life president

Africans! We are cursed with useless leaders yet we do nothing about it,i pray God will bless us with courage to stand up to these rogues portraying themselves as leaders,thieves and murderers ,may it not end well with them all,Africa should be one of the greatest continents in the world yet we are a joke abroad,even South Africa is going down hill,is something wrong with us? Is it that we cant taste power & move on in peace,the greed is mind boggling o

Congo Brazzaville.

That's good

chommy said...

Seen. Linda observe!

This can't happen in Nigeria....

Nna na wa o! Mama why nah??? Linda take note!

Toh I wish them well

Jude Akinwole said...

What length will people not go to just to retain/assume power! Crazy man! Can you just imagine?!?! National security my foot! Mtshew

chyyy said...

They kwn what is best 4 them. I pray a better president ll emerge to push una Economy forward.

32years as president and still wants to continue to rule,u wan die for their?OK o.

Na wah OoO

#reeshahr

That's wat i want in Nigeria

Africa are Africa's problem ,black man with black sense,

they citizen should gang and kill him nonsense.

the citizen should just gang and kill him nonsense .

Useless people