Nigerians come for Al Jazeera over a headline that seemingly tagged Nigerian women as prostitutes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 25 March 2016

Nigerians come for Al Jazeera over a headline that seemingly tagged Nigerian women as prostitutes

Earlier today, International news channel, Al Jazeera, published an article on their twitter handle with the headline above. The article was written to celebrate a Nigerian female mechanic. However many Nigerians on twitter felt the story title was inappropriate as it kinda portrayed all Nigerian women as prostitutes. See their reactions after the cut..

116 comments:

obiora said...

No thanks to the Nigeria girl that sang the pus.sy shit!

*****************Dat was an epic shade ************ slap on our faces************ its not entirely true but it is not totally incorrect !!!!!!!!!

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

They are very stupid, clueless for that statement.

#Lol
.Linda Take note!

Just imagine! Even a big international media house like aljazeera doesn't know about Nigerians well. They think all our women are prostitutes

Kayode Odusanya said...

Yea people will come and shout now because an outsider is saying what we say causally about our ladies. Guys, and even girls in Naija, once they see a successful lady, all they can think of to say is that she slept her way to the top. Even Linda, with how clear her source of income is, people still say she is doing high class runs. SMH! Some people are just ridiculous. Now, the way you hate on and abuse your Nigerian girls have come back to hunt you. These people only pick up what you put out on the world wide web.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Whoever is the head of that AL Jazeera should be SUED ASAP. Not only is this an embarrassment to our society, it's also a big disgrace and insult to all Nigerian women. Let them go there and see hardworking entrepreneurs for themselves. I DON'T THINK I CAN STAND ONE OTHER USELESS PERSON FROM ANOTHER COUNTRY TALK TRASH ABOUT MINE. I'LL WASH YOU DOWN STRAIGHT UP.

I Love naija we go defend ourselves nie Sha... Stupid people

Damolia.DEW

NnekaOchu Blog said...

thunder fire AL JEZBEL OR WHATEVER THEY RE CALLED

They r mad for such a misleading headline

POPULAR LIB READER!

They should take down the headline Asap. Its an insult to Nigerian women

That's bad nah.

What does the Nija babe like? Money Money and Money.That makes them what? You answer.

BARCA4LIFE said...

It's what the president has portrait us in the foreign world so blame Buhari. This what we will be seeing and hearing. Useless buhari went to UK and called us criminals so aljezeera calling our women prostitutes. As long as buhari is there as a president Nigerians will be insulted and degraded. So Nigerians stop complaining.

we need our media to give our narrative and tell our story the way it is, else this is just what you get when you allow other people to tell your story.

They are so STUPID! Al Jazeera your mothers, daughters and sisters are prostitutes.

Lol. I trust Nigerians. No chill at all

sheba olamipo said...

So who says Nigerian prostitutes don't have other jobs they do. No offence she for be mechanic during d day and prostitutes for night. So how the fuck is that a way out of prostitution. Al-Jazeera u better watch it make una headline no run una down.

Lol.. They crazy... MA momma ain't no prostitute... Do this people have any idea what they implying... Stupid dummies... Their editor is screwed...

Free credit.... Awoof... No cheat... Its official....

Download sliide airtime app from play store...
Register your number first.... Then enter promo and use CHRIST as your invitation code.... After that, craft good own code and share.... If Antoine use your code too... You'll be awarded 100 Naira... Each time someone uses your code.... You can get as much as possible.... Their are other offers their too...
This stuff s real... Auntie Linda.... Share this for me please.... Your boy needs credit...

Imagine this yeye terrorist station,they better correct it now or else.

Sonma said...

Femi Oke, is of Nigerian background ... Is she a Prostitute??? Such a demeaning headline!

They are all stupid for saying naija women are prostitutes...😬😬😬

Honorable Dan said...

but its true now why the unneccessary para!!

Beecy said...

This headline wasn't called for....

May be it was said in the hotel room, sorry bedroom, now it has landed on TV!!!
There is NOTHING HIDDEN UNDER THE SUN, the saying goes!!!
No SMOKE without Fire!!!
Let's find out, why it was said!!!

That's a very stupid headline.Stereotypical assumption is what is killing journalism.Responsible journalism should draw no blood with their stories literally

Honorable Dan said...

come to think of it its so true now!!

Admin said...

This is nonsense. If the don't know the right caption to use, the should better leave it blank. Check this out http://goo.gl/d16Loq

Instagram....@just_j_shoes

So your mama be ashawo? Chai

Douson said...

Take it down!

God punish these people...

NaijaMadeEasy said...

Planning to do something this weekend? Visit www.naijamadeeasy.com for places to chill, relax and dine!

Please let us stop the protest. We haven't seen anything! Don't forget that Al Jazeera is going to be, if not already engaged to train Nigerian journalists. We in for a lot of suprises I tell you all. KOLAQ

Loool
Ask the nigeria pus.y girl

Who is going to bless me with 5k for the easter,I don't have a hope of feeding that day at all.still struggling with life.happy good Friday to you all.
Petsuri@yahoo.com

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Useless terrorist media house writing jargon as an headline..
This is d kind of news that mofo dick head mr common sense Ben Bruce should see to as Twitter president he made himself but instead he stays on twitter criticising the current administration..
A fool for life!

OMIDAN ABBY said...

U lack manners!
U lack knowledge!
Meaning ur mother is part and ur sisters, wife, cousins provided u have any of those!
Ashiere!

Nigerian women are very the reoporter should be careful

Not surprising though, their views about an African society is always perverted.

chommy said...

Dis people r crazy, afican women esp naija women r very hardworking wen compared to oda women in d world. Linda observe!

you guys should calm down na!!!!! it is not this pple fault o! it was this lady that said it with her own mouth o! if you guys watched the documentary you will understand what am saying! and una sabi oyinbo pple na wethin you tell them na wethin them go believe on... am not supporting their headline here too but if you have watched the documentary those ladies too over talk and you will be really pissed with them...

It's true to some certain extent. Even Ooni married a prostitute who has been selling her body for years. No profession or trade to show us.

I follow Baba Iyabo dey ask, whatwhat kind of nonsense is dis??? Linda take note!

WHY LINDA IS STILL UNMARRIED said...

Yeah, when we (home bred hustlers who know how difficult it is to make ends meet) belittle our stars with the name calling, what should we expect from foreigners? It is time to respect those who have paid the price and not call the kettle black when we are pots ourselves. It's just a Nigerian mentality that has overstayed the test of time and it's really not working as it constantly comes crashing down on us. Let's forget all those who are arguing to defend Nigeria now on Linda Ikeji's blog, they are also guilty of this name calling syndrome that is rocking the Nigerian boat.

Love world school are not showing example as a Xtian school.teacher attend to only children whose parents drop dough. Is it not supposed to be a Xtian school?

Gbam!!!!!!!!

Nawa o. Na there mama and sisters

anonymous said...

Nigerians don't even know how to fire back. Al Jazeera, the media arm of the worst terrorist group the world has ever known,ISIS. They that are the propaganda arm of this group still have the Temerity and Audacity to talk about people they don't know. I won't really blame them though when the so called president that was elected by who knows whom goes around the world to tarnish Nigeria image. Buhari is the only president in nigeria history that goes to foreign land and denigrate his own people. IBB and even Abacha didn't do that.

eka said...

That statement should be reconstructed
Cos d generalisation is really insulting 2 d pride of d Nigerian woman
"Nigeria first female mechanic makes a way for FEMALE PROSTITUTES in Nigeria" 😜 (That sounds & feels much better)

Pls don't use nigerian gals in Italy as a yardstick to judge other hardworking Niger lady's o

This same media output investigates everything on D surface of the earth but will never investigate the fact it's owners are the sponsors of Terrorism across the world.

But to be honest, many of these girls are low-key prostitutes.

They offer sex and you pay them.

Many give sex to just any guy, so far you can pay.

You certainly hit the nail on the head with this response. Therein lies the problem and albeit solution too. QED@atm

Alright like someone said no smoke without fire there must be reason besides good number of our girls are into what they see as Runs...couldn't that be classified as prostitution?

FRESH said...

But na lie? You guys screaming upandan don't seem to know how widespread prostitution is in Nigeria. Students?youth Corpers? Job seekers? Low & high class working ladies? Some married women? Female artiste? The army of Nigerian women willing to sleep with a man for financial favours are more than the North Korean army.if you didn't know,you must be a LEARNER!

Tuitiontinz said...

@ honourable Dan, I don't want to believe u are Nigerian, cus if u are and u agree with AJZenglish headline, that means both ur mum and sisters are prostitutes!

Wetin them be before? Forget all this una pepper bodi, Aljazeera is insinuating an open secret. She because no be all of them dey stand for road? The percentage of prostitute high pass normal humanbeing na!

Duru Victor said...

that statement showed they are foolish

To d low lifers dat keep hatin on Buhari on all issues, save ur souls frm destruction n positive for ur single life

Some thoughts.
Words are too fragile and the urgent need to use em carefully cannot be overemphasize.

Don't be such an illiterate. Do you mean you don't like money? Or does that make you a prostitute? Is your mother one?

Of course it's absolutely inappropriate to have referred to those girls trying to feed their families and better their own lives without depending on a man like that. How more low can an internationally recognized News Television like prostituting Aljazeera go in reducing the sheer efforts of Nigerian women to succeed in areas previously known to be totally dominated by men by generalizing it? Sometimes I feel they actually do this to gather the kind of attention they yearn for as they say bad publicity is good publicity but honestly big organisations that other budding ones look up to must not make themselves a part of things like these. As a Nigerian man, I'm totally disappointed with them especially because before now, there has been existing several other female mechanics so Aljazeera is a learner.

Hmm,what goes round comes around!! Even here in 9ja, don't most of us call any woman who has made it to the top a RUNS GIRL??

They just murdered our girls, both guilty and innocent. R.I.P to Nigerian girls... Lol
But these shitty people must apologize

Long Live LIb!!!

I'm a scientist n I've neva Bern a prostitute! I'm a Nigerian woman n I'm proud of being one! Dweebs!!!

Exactly My thought

That channel should be totally removed from the channels gotten in africa

Dont blame them jare. It is the few Nigerian girls that are disgracing us abroad doing prostitution over there that is making them generalise that all Nigerian women are thesame.

Al jazeera has stated the obvious. Have we forgotten the Italian connection?

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

That Nigerian pussy girl should have been brought back to Nigeria for lashing since last week. Na she cause all this confusion.

Lolol! They are all prostitutes!!!!!!!!!!!! Hahahahahaha

The other day i went to Dubai. I stayed in a hotel and was waiting in the lobby for my sisters to come downstairs so that we can go shopping when the managers of the hotel came to embarrass me. When my sisters and their children now came downstairs, they now knew that we all came together as a family. They now apologised and said that it is because some Nigerian prostitutes come to that hotel to hang around to embarrass their guests asking the guess if they wanted sex for the night. They thought i was pretending to wear decent clothes so that they wont suspect that i am a prostitute. They really apologised and even offered me free hotel taxi to go for shopping throughout that day as compensation. I forgave them but i dont blame them. It is our girls that portray us as prostitutes that i blame although it is wrong for them to generalise and assume that every Nigerian woman is like that.

@Honorable Dan so you are agreeing that your mother and sisters are prostitutes? Omashe oh!

@BARCA4LIFE please leave Buhari out of this. He has nothing to do with this. Buhari has a wife, a mother and daughters and can never call all Nigerian women prostitutes. Blame our few girls that travel abroad especially to Italy to do prostitution. Aljazeera people must have witnessed it. They wont just open their mouths anyhow if they didnt see some of our ladies in their country doing it. So abeg free Buhari. Any little opportunity given to talk or comment, all you people do is find a way to attack Buhari. The Buhari guy must really be giving you people heart ache for winning elections that u cannot leave him alone for one second. Stmcheew

@Anonymous 1:27PM your mama no like money? Does that make your mother a prostitute? Oya answer?

Yetty k said...

Very funny

@kayode odusanya you are very correct. Anytime Nigerians see a successful lady in Nigeria, they will say she is sleeping with a politician or somebody rich. They always assume. Now that foreigners are also assuming because they see just a few Naija girls doing prostition abroad, they are angry. We are hypocrites. This is the bitter truth. Stmcheew.

What!!! Shey oro ni yen!??... fti I'm a scientist a proud one at that I'm a Nigerian woman!!! Bloody rasist!

Because your sisters fuck for a living makes it true abi?

@kayode Ur so right...u couldn't have said it any better!

got okoro? said...

@iyoha. scientist wey no fit spell. "BLOODY RASIST". oya take two apparatus!

'A big international media house', Onyx focus on your studies especially use of English. When you started your diploma, you seemed to have been focused cos you were not here 247 but now it seems you know how to sort lecturers hence no more concentration in school. Change your ways

So why not go ahead and wash let's see if it will go beyond your phone and your room. Mumu talk. Toothless bull dog

Go and take it down now. Mumu talk

Barca mumu, if BuBu is the reason why your are called prostitutes then be ready to be called that for the next 8 years otherwise drink 2 litres of kerosene. Mumu talk

It can't run them down, na today. They write senseless things about USA them no run them down na Naija where GEJ and Co have destroyed that will have the power. mumu talk

Or else what??? Mumu talk

Blame Edo girls that won't stop going to Italy

A girl sleeps with a guy (boyfriend) for money (for upkeep). If he doesn't give, she says her guy is stingy and is ready to dump him. What are you? Most girls on this blog when replying to chronicles advise girls with 'stingy' partners to dump them ASAP. so what are those set of girls called??? Mtcheew

Well,if you listen to the mechanic lady very well,she sounds like an Edo lady and may be she came back from Italy where their headquarters is base and recruited other deported ones. Am sure she told ajazere her past for them to use that heading. Maybe she be retired ashawo for italo....

Same thing am thinking. Maybe she was ones an ashawo ok n italo.... See her Accent sef na Edo madame

emeka4rl said...

IDiotism in Aljazerric places! It is not even a close stereotype..

E no go better for this people 👹

#reeshahr

What sort of rubbish is that,they should better correct that headline..Nonsense..

Not only Edo girls. Even Igbo girls hang around Dubai to do prostitution. All tribes do it.

@Anonymous 9:04PM you too that is sleeping with her for free, what are you trying to achieve? When pregnancy mistakenly comes up, you will frawn your face and deny her. Why not wait till after marraige. By so doing, you wont have to give her money and there would be no unwanted pregnancy. Condoms can burst. The bible says fornication is a sin. Be warned!

Aljazeera is always making mistakes about Nigeria. This is not the first time. The other day, they showed Zambia on their screen and called it Nigeria. Even CNN makes thesame mistakes. Any country in Africa is Nigeria to them. I dont know why. Maybe its because Nigeria is one of the most popular countries in Africa or maybe its publicity stunts because Nigeria is always on the news these days because of boko haram.

Therealdoroboss said...

Disgraceful from Aljazeera!! lacking imagination, foresight, and intellectual insight.

Scientists did you study science in Uni??? Stop this mumu talk

lmaoooooooo!!!!

Okay Mr kayode, we don hear you. Why not go to CNN to announce it because LIB is not enough. My dear even if you slap your brother for inside your house, if person slap am for you outside, you no go gree. Every country protects their people. Every person protects its own. Protect your own.

Ehyah, what kind of home where you brought up in,, mother prostitute, sister prostitute, now your gf prostitute, then you give birth, your daughter prostitute. God is your refuge

Nice one kayode

Yes i studied a science course in university. I am a scientist. What is paining you now.

Vela said...

thats not true that Nigerian women are all prostitutes

@got okoro? Free the babe. Na typo error with these touch screen phones we have around these days. It happens to me too.