Another building collapses in Lagos killing 1 person and several others injured | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 20 March 2016

Another building collapses in Lagos killing 1 person and several others injured

Tragedy struck again in Lagos yesterday, when a building  at No 9, Alli Close, Mile 12, partially collapsed and killed a 47-year-old woman with several other residents injured, According to an eyewitness, a part of the balcony in the building had caved in, but the residents of the building refused to vacate the place.

Mr. Michael Akindele, General Manager, Lagos State Emergency Management Authority, LASEMA, said preliminary investigation confirmed the death of the woman, and that no other fatal casualty was recorded.

He added that the residents of the 18-room-building had been evacuated and the site sealed off. The owner of the building has been summoned to the state Secretariat, Alausa Ikeja for questioning.

62 comments:

Mehn whts really wrong wit these houses..
God pls have mercy on ur children..

Fan Emmanuel said...

Lagosians have incurred the anger of God,God don provoke for una head so you guys should ask for forgiveness and repent from your evil ways or else,more building collapse....

*Linda's best friend*

PrettyChi said...

Nawaoooo! May her soul rest in peace

Oh my God!

God of mercy and graCe.....have mercy on Nigeria....all these calamiTies

OMG! Not again

May her soul rest in peace, and I wish injured people quick recovery

#reeshahr

linda's bestie said...

Na wa ooooooo.RIP to d dead

Rip Rip to the dead

Strict measures should be taken and severe punishment meted out to offenders this issue is becoming too much

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

Lots of buildings in Lagos need to be demolished, when I see how bad the state of some buildings are I cant help but wonder the people still living in the houses...most of these houses are cheap and overly populated.....ProudlyDeltan

spin said...

na wao, may the persons soul rest in peace. we need to know what the real cause of these incessant building callapses in lagos is. an inquiry should be carried out by the concerned agencies to determine if its structural issues? rusty reinforcements? effects of the lagos environment on the concrete curing process? outdated buildings? inapropriate foundation for said building type? unadherence to building codes? we the public need to know.

I wonder why they'd choose to stay there even when its obvious the building was taking its last breath on earth.Not even homelessness or poverty can make me endanger my life like this.RIP to the woman

Ozo kwa!

Nawaoo rip

God help us all o! Linda take note!

Very sad that gods are angry 😠..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY

Officialmrssam said...

Signs of the last days

RIP to the dead. We are still in the begining of the year and so many deaths have been recorded already..God save his people

The building looks worn out alrdy
Renovation o
Kai
Money makin peopl play with people's life

Oh not again

Is that the new trend hmmmmm

God help us

bukky said...

Hian what is happening in lagos?

Please authorities should check No. Aiyetoro street, Aguda. The building is a danger

Unfortunately, this is becoming regular, it's a pity. RIP Mam

ndubeans said...

is this d new trend in Lagos nw....mak god help him pple o

Anointed said...

Gush ,this is serious,rip to the dead,and may God grant them quick recovery.

chyyy said...

All these stories of building collapse in Lagos. People too will not hear eeeh the building hv craved still tenants are their. Infact poverty hv collected some peoples brain.

chommy said...

May her soul rest in peace. Linda observe!

Hmm make we see if Ambode go arrest again

Beauty Fables said...

This is a wake up call for everyone.

www.beautifullyjune.blogspot.com‎ 

Eeyah ... 47year old woman chai Rip Ma

Is like the authority that is meant to check fit and unfit building in lagos is not doing anything at all.

Yeah, sleep on to the dead

Na wao oo, something is wrong some where, rip to dead person,

Chioma said...

Look at the building, its even weak MUST READ: I Meet Him And My Life Changed

First image is wrong🙅

ELAFANTASY said...

Some of dis houses were built wit substandard matte rials so dey can spend less and make profit endangering the lives of innocent tenants /occupants
We need to change our mentality
Though most of the houses are old

ELAFANTASY said...

We need to help ourselves. U knw a building is old find a way and move out

Nawa o,may her soul rip.

Hmmmmm.....na wa oooooo! God av mercy!

Why collapse buildings ....

Mr man biko mechionu there.

Pearlie said...

Lagos and building collapse
What's happening?

Eeeeeh! Na wa ooo. God will console d family of d woman

Why are you so stupid??? You really think talking like an illiterate that you are on a blog will make you popular abi. Local birthday pix on 1 blog, rubbish talk on another blog. Sorry o

Bush girl, if you've ever left that your village to visit Lagos you'll understand what houses in some parts of Lagos look like

Secondry school Girls pulls Off clothes while partying

Ihe nka kaririziri n'obodo nka bikonu. O gini neme.

#igbowoman

Oh nooo! Not again

These building are very old n they need renovating

Gideon E said...

How many times ar u going 2 show dis building LINDA ?, try 2 show d real building 4 piple 2 biliv ur story pls, bcos when TB-JOSHUA's Guest house collapse, u show dis building, two oda building dat collapse last time in Lagos too, u also show dis building too, enof of dis inhousination.

Am I surprised? Our value system in many areas have been long thrown into the bin. Anyway, kindly view this lovely topic and also post your comments on the blog too https://disqourse.wordpress.com/2016/03/20/family-finance-2-the-man/

Nigerians will blame God when they want to use 20 naira to construct a three story building. This is the work of greed and irresponsibility. Don't blame God.

Rip to d dead

hmmm

MAY Linda's banana island home live long o

May God save his children

Fan Emmanuel said...

Anonymous 1:30PM Chukwu kpo gi okwu! The comment box on my phone is ment for my opinions and not yours.I shouldn't voice it out so you will not think am trying to be popular? Inukwa popular for faceless people! My birthday pictures are local, who foreign birthday pictures help?? Anya kpokwa gi ebe ina agu my comments!

*Linda's best friend*

Vela said...

may the dead rest in peace.