Trial begins for teen accused of murder over Air Jordans, victim's mother also blames Nike for son's death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 7 February 2016

Trial begins for teen accused of murder over Air Jordans, victim's mother also blames Nike for son's death

It has been two years since a Houston man was killed over a pair of Air Jordan shoes. The trial for one of those accused of killing Joshua Woods is now underway. When Air Jordan shoes were released two years ago, Joshua Woods picked up a pair and that night, he was killed for those shoes by two teenagers.
Neal Bland's trial started yesterday. Before the trial started, Joshua Woods' family and friends gathered outside the courtroom to pray and and to ask for justice.

Woods' mother has started an organization called "Life over Fashion" to try to get makers of these shoes to have a much wider release of their products rather than limited releases in order to stop the overwhelming demand for Air Jordans that may drive some to violence.
"Nike, they have a responsibility in this, and they have to do something and if nothing happens we will see more cases like this, you will see more mothers and fathers like me," Dazie Williams says. "You will see more mothers and fathers like the accused killers, so we have to do something."
Woods' mother said she was able to contact Nike after her sons death but characterized it as more of a courtesy than anything else.

She did also say that Nike did not commit this crime.

Source: ABC News

31 comments:

Hmmm Nawaooo

Na wa o, shi!s happen everywhere.

Na wa o, shi!s happens everywhere.

Tilda said...

Kids these days

Owk

PEPSI ADDICT

HUMBLE EVE said...

Phew! But I don't get the place of Nike in this, is it an offence to produce a shoe loved by many.

zizi said...

Hmmmm it is well
#nwanne linda

This is kind of funny..

The mother is funny

Whic kind case persn no go dey hear .

Damolia.DEW

Sofi said...

Nonsense. Me wee no get am, i don die?

Linda's daughter aka Nwa Linda said...

Oh seeeen

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE.. ahh so sad hmm anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohhh

No reason is enough to take someone's life

Hmm

Hmm

Golda Awosika said...

Aiming ur bullet at d wrong kill, instead of teaching ur kids to be content with what dey have, must u ve air jordan.

Justice must prevail

I beg make she forget that one. I'm sure she has Nigerian blood. Always looking for who to blame for misfortunes

Mufliat said...

nawa oo

#Hajia Mufliat

Hmmmmmmmmmm it is well

I hope dey get justice. Linda take note!

They will get justice

Hmmmmm,nawa o...

Hmmm.. Nawa oo.
Na nike kill am?

gold said...

Chaii bcos of shoe

Oloriawhy

JaCkSoN said...

Imagine if it was just 1 suya spot in abuja...

Every young n*ggas dreams to put on a pair of Jordans