Dear LIB readers: who should get my tithe - The Church or the poor? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 27 September 2015

Dear LIB readers: who should get my tithe - The Church or the poor?

From a female LIB reader
Good day LIBers, please I need advice on this. ‎About two months ago, it suddenly entered my mind to give my tithe to disabled people on the road. I gave part to a blind man and the rest to a deformed person, and though their gratitude at such an amount made me self conscious, it felt so right giving it to them.The Bible says we should give it to the Church, but these less fortunate are God's children, right? And as the song goes, "whatsoever you do, to the least of my brothers, you do onto me". I asked my boyfriend and he said my tithe should go no where else but straight to Church. Please advise.

252 comments:

1 – 200 of 252   Newer›   Newest»
aproko manager said...

Bible say na God store house...church

I fink itt shld go to d less privileged..it goes a long way

God has commanded us to pay our tithe in the church, if u want to give money to the poor, that should be from another source and not from your tithe!

for me the poor!

Aunty linda.....

Mehnnnnnnnnn. Linda the church wey dey get your tithe ehn? Whew!

I'll give to the poor. I hardly give the church

Delta Truth said...

The poor!

Service to Humanity is the GREATEST ACT OF WORSHIP!!!

Praise Master Jesus!!!

)Repeat mood(*****

Give to the poor. the poor is the church meant.

Pls continue giving to d poor, churches these days aint so genuine with d way they collect money for ppl αи∂ just pocket it. Have had same thought myself, anytime I wanna go for thanksgiving, I usually do so in an orphanage, feels better giving it directly to d poor abeg......

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Solid post!

bella said...

The church Plz. U can give alms to whomever u want to but ur tithe must go to d church nd not any church Plz; make sure d pastor there is a tither too to avoid story that touches. Read malachi 3 : 8 - 12.

Pls continue giving to d poor, churches these days aint so genuine with d way they collect money for ppl αи∂ just pocket it. Have had same thought myself, anytime I wanna go for thanksgiving, I usually do so in an orphanage, feels better giving it directly to d poor abeg......

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Go and read your bible well u wl knw who to give.

Ladun Liadi said...

My sister, U just had an epiphany. In d present age, there's no one-size-fits-all rule to this, U've had a conviction, go with it.

Seriously i hv asked my sef dis question dis morning
Left 4 me i think de poor
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

You don't need any advice my dear, follow the bible. #GodCannotBeMocked. You can give arms to the poor, u can give dem gifts Y do u want to give them that same 1 the bible has instructed to give in church. Scenario; when you get home, open the door and go into the room. (i.e 2ru the door) Then you get home and decide that since the window is opened, you can also go into the same room 2ru the window....May we be properly guided. The bible is a standard for every child of God. #shalom

Ideally, the poor. My opinion though.

I am with you on this! I made up my mind that I would give my tithe to the less fortunate in the society, to orphanage homes and the likes. I already give offerings and sow seeds of faith to the church. Moreover if we are to go by the teaching of the bible, the body is the true church, that building we call 'church' is but a grand edifice of worship! So why give tithes to the church while people rot in the street who need but a fraction of that sum to survive?!

yea ur bf is ryt....ur tithe is Gods...and u re entitled to do dat if not u rubbing God...God won't spend dat money remember so whateva d people in d church decide to use ur tithe for is dia business...ur obligation is to take dat tithe straight to d church den after doing dat u can now choose to help d poor outta wots remaining... we we're in church someday and a person prophesyin scolded d pastor I min d head dat he does not give im dat is God is share out of d offerings afta service dat he should always remove iz own dats d tithe bfor distributin d money to d less priveledged in d church cos dats wot we do wit our offerin...I hope u understand now

Tithing is a commandment from God and it is for the house of God which is the church. If u want to give to d less privileged do dat with any Oda money but ur tithe, if not u might not enjoy the benefits in tithing.

Tayo said...

What a wonderful gesture, that is very awesome. But, the Bible said that we should bring it to the "his house" so that there will be food in his house, who are the people in his house? Pastors and workers, so that they too can feed. If you didn't take it to the house of the lord. You have not fulfilled God's commandment on tithing. But you have given to the poor, is a display of love for less privileged. Only that now, you have to pay your tithe.

UR TITHES SHOULD GO THE CHURCH..THE BIBLE SAID IN MALAKI 3 VS 9 -12.. ALMS SHOULD BE GIVEN TO THE POOR.

www.glowyshoe.com said...

You must give your tithe to church which does not also stop you from giving to the poor

Glowyshoe blog

God owns every of ur 1/10 so give it to him... dee

Ma friend go nd read malachi 3:8 ni nd gerrarahia.

i stoped paying my tith in church many years agoooo. i pay my tith in orphanage homes, buy food stuffs and cloth for prisoners, visit home of destitutes in lagos and give them few items i know they need.

to be honest, Nigerian pastors are too rich to recieve my tith. And the way Nigeriaan pastors go about sleeping with married women and lavishing money on prostitutes and also living extravergant life style i dont think they need 1kobo from me.

please pay your tith to poor people cus they need it morethan our bollioners pastors.

Thanks

THE Don have spoken

If you go to church then ur tithe must be given to your pastor. The one that feed you with the word. So that when ever he speaks you can received revelational knowledge. The bible says bring ye all the tithe into my store house that their may be meat (food, revelation, insight) for you in his house.

anita W said...

Hello dear. Your tithe should go straight to the church. Tithe is different from alms giving. You can pay your tithe and still give to the poor. Don't ever let anyone deceive you.

There are different types of giving and its wrong to get it mixed up. We have Offering, Tithe, alms, seed etc. what you give to beggars are alms and not your tithe.

I don't have to think twice, the poor anytime any day.

1royaldon said...

Your tithe should go straight to the church. Then with what is remaining with u or whatever u posses, out of a Benevolent heart, share with the poor. It may not necessary be cash but anything that can take of their physical and psychological needs. I.e. give to ceasar what beloings to ceasar and to God what belongs to God. Do not use excuse of giving tithe to church as an excuse to give to d poor, they are different entities that still give thanks to the almighty God.

I come here everyday but never comment but I must say this today. Christianity as a "religion" is rapidly evolving to a huge gathering of saboteurs, hypocrites and sentiment.. I believe what we do to others we unconsciously do to God. Pastors now own private jets while their members trek under the rain and sun. Imams getting fatter, while their members beg. Even the greatest commandment of all says, "Love ur neighbour as yourself. My dear, U know that feeling u felt?. is called "Love". Forgive my fowl language but "fuck it, and keep doing it".

We now have corrupt leaders in churches / mosque! I had rather give it to the poor.

Olawale said...

anyone can get ur tithe.. it depends on u tho.. with today's world, mehn d beggar can jor

DO YOU KNOW THAT PEOPLE NOW MAKE DAILY INCOME WITH THEIR PHONES.. WITH LITTLE WORK. NO MARKETING, NO REFERRALS, NO PRODUCT SELLING. CLICK HERE AND SEE .

YOU CAN NOW MAKE SOME EXTRA DAILY MONEY ON THE SIDE TOO FROM ANY IDEA YOU HAVE.. REGARDLESS OF HOW IRRELEVANT U THINK YOUR IDEA IS.. EVEN SECONDARY SCHOOL STUDENTS MAKE MONEY FROM THIS TOO.. IT IS THAT EASY. CLICK HERE AND SEE HOW.

We now have corrupt leaders in churches / mosque! I had rather give it to the poor.

Follow what the bible says Ouch! Denrele Edun falls off stage while dancing to Masterkraft’s song ‘Indomie’ with his abnormal heels (Photos, Videos)

acid man said...

Oh oh oh......u even get bf......my dear who is deceiving who.....plzzzzzzz go n slip....he who wants to serve GOD,shld serve him in spirit & in truth.......obrigado

Tithes for God.
Offerings for the Poor.
Give to both.

MaMa said...

Giving to the poor is called "offering" "giving alms"... Your tithe is specifically meant for your church. It is for the furtherance of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.
I believe God will not recognise giving to the disabled or poor as you paying your tithes. You will miss the blessings of tithing as you did not follow the instructions.
My car needs petrol to move but I like the smell of orange juice... Is orange juice good? Yes! Is it meant for my car? No! If I go ahead and put it in my car, will the car move? No! Why? Because I did not follow the instructions of the car manufacturers... This is the sane principal applied to what you've done!!
I hop this blesses you!

This is no female liber,this is Linda herself abeg!

Jamb question

Sunday LiB super story...

Dis verse of d bible answer and settle dis question:
Malachi 3:10
Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. And thereby put me to the test, says the Lord of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.

Ur tithe is to b paid strictly 2d church and any other place outside d church is not acceptable. Is just lik taking ur cheque 2d market to withdraw money which is not possiblem same tin appplies to tithe.
My people ensure dat ur 10% tithe is frm ur gross salary (b4 deduction of tax/other deeduction) not frm ur net salary (after deduction of tax/other deduction).

Anything otherwise ur tithe coming frm ur salaries is far frm proper payment of tithe and mind u d 10% belongs 2d one and only God and is act of reverance to him.

Pls note, God does need our money we r d one's dat need God for replenishing of physical and spiritual wealths.

Those who hav ears let them hear and a word is enough 4d wise.

MaMa said...

Giving to the poor is called "offering" or "giving alms"... Your tithe is specifically meant for your church. It is for the furtherance of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

I believe God will not recognise giving to the disabled or poor as you paying your tithes. You will miss the blessings of tithing as you did not follow the instructions.

My car needs petrol to move but I like the smell of orange juice... Is orange juice good? Yes! Is it meant for my car? No! If I go ahead and put it in my car, will the car move? No! Why? Because I did not follow the instructions of the car manufacturers... This is the same principal applied to what you've done!!

I hope this blesses you!

The church of course. I believe u r a Christian n the bible should be ur standard in that regards, not ur mind.

Attah said...

I think ur TITHE should go to the poor and give ALMS to the poor. In that way u would have fulfilled your obligations to both God and man. Remember also the poor aren't all those on the streets, do not forget ur loved ones who are struggling to make ends meet. How have you helped them? It is not enough to go on the street giving out freebies to those in need and making generous donations in church, whilst ur uncles, aunties, brothers, sisters, nephews, nieces, cousins and parents are naked, unfed, sick, helpless and untouched by ur show of public display of generosity.

In fact don't waste your time thinking about it. You did the right thing... The church is the body of christ, so if you give it to the poor you made no mistake. Churches are always twisting the bible yo soothe them... in fact dump your boyfriend and find someone else. Be open minded at all times and accept everyone for who they are and not what church they attend or religion they practice. Even the Pope washed the feet of a Muslim prisoner lady... This life should have been very simple but for some selfish pastors and imams who see themselves as God on earth rubbish... o support you 100%

you're not serious. The tithe is Gods designated portion incase you didn't know. also if you've forgotten, you should give unto Caesar what belongs to Caesar. Madam, dont give unto the poor what belongs to God. Its common sense haba! dont be stupid na.

DADDYSWIFE said...

To both my dear,cos for church it also meant to be use to build God's church n also help d needy,but d case is now different in most of our recent churches,men of God use it to enrich themselves.nothwithstanding its still not an excuse to use and defend urself to God on judgememnt day
#nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

BLUNT said...

Jesus did not tell you to give it to the Church! Forget Malachi 3. It was solely for Israelites. Don't allow any criminal that calls himself "pastor" extort you in the name of tithe. If tithing was so important, why didn't Jesus Christ preach about it even once! We claim to be Christians(christ-like), yet, we bury ourselves in the Old testament in order to look for verses to use and extort money from people. Every Christian(follower of Christ) should concentrate on the New testament. That is where you really find Christ's sojourn in the world, and also his teachings. Tithing is illegal and criminal. Take it to the poor my dear. They need it! Don't allow any thief tell you "you're robbing God"! Na lie! Na him you dey "rob".

Y NT GIV DE POOR OR NEEDY UR OTHER PROCEEDS??MST IT B TITHE???AM ASKIN U BCK CUZ I GOT NO ANS...TOMJERRYSWIT

BLUNT said...

Jesus did not tell you to give it to the Church! Forget Malachi 3. It was solely for Israelites. Don't allow any criminal that calls himself "pastor" extort you in the name of tithe. If tithing was so important, why didn't Jesus Christ preach about it even once! We claim to be Christians(christ-like), yet, we bury ourselves in the Old testament in order to look for verses to use and extort money from people. Every Christian(follower of Christ) should concentrate on the New testament. That is where you really find Christ's sojourn in the world, and also his teachings. Tithing is illegal and criminal. Take it to the poor my dear. They need it! Don't allow any thief tell you "you're robbing God"! Na lie! Na him you dey "rob".

And what's your definition of church? If u think its the physical building where Christians go to worship ,then you're wrong.Else the bible wont tell us about our bodies being the temple of God
To the best of my knowledge a church is anywhere.You weren't wrong @ all.You are so on track.Giving your tithe to the needy is like giving it to God coz he said whatsoever we do to our fellow humans,we do it to him

I have also asked the same question once( was thinking of giving my tithe to the old) and I was told to do according to what the bible instructed, which is, to give it to the church.

Your tithe belongs to God and should be dropped wherever you get your spiritual food from (Church), its not subject to your discretion. If you're led to give to the poor you can do that from the remaining 90%.

Obedience is better than sacrifice. God said u shld bring him ur tithe. Its best u obey his instruction than face his wrath. Nothing stops u frm paying ur tithe n still helping the poor.

Ayodele Jay said...

Tithe is 10% percent of whatever u earn or get...its for God..it should definately be given to the church..U cn read malachi 3 vs 8-10 Given to a blind man or deformed person should come from the oda 90%, of what you earned or get... Pay your tithe first and see God opens the window of blessings on your life given you the chance to bless others .if you don't pay your tithe, then you are robbing God...

#Blessed child

Rescinded in giving mine to the Church. It now goes to the less priviledged. They need our love and care the most.

The bible says bring all the tithe into the store house of God, that there may be meat in my house. The tithe is for spreading the gospel. So, do what the bible says shine a!

The poor!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Exactly.. Nowhere else but straight to church!!

tolex said...

Your tithe is to maintain God's church. Anything you give to the poor is extra offering. Don't mix it up. Read all scriptural references to tithe in the bible. The answer to your question is right there.

Your tithe should go to the poor. And you well be truly blessed.

Give your tithe to the church and use your personal money to give to who ever you want to give to

Confused myself....

Shawncrack said...

Am also confused about this and the way the thing is going i think the poor needs it more..... I rili dnt wish to go contrary to the word of GOD

hero said...

Give to the church who are mandated through missionary work to reach the poor, and when they do not do their job it's not your problem. If it's done this way. The poor wood benefit far greater good than your money could buy.

What so ever you do to the least of my brother, that you do unto me... The poor is also the church, God bless you as you help the poor.

Ahyanfe said...

Your tithes should go to the church and sincerely, you are quite less concern about how d church decides to spend it cos they are answerable to God n not man..... then. you can decide to give to d less privilege from what you av left but definitely not from your tithes..... paying our tithes is obeying God's words

It is high time the people stopped giving their hard earned cash to fraudulent religious leaders who end up using them to lead Hollywood stars life styles, flying private planes and making no contributions socially whatsoever. These monies must be given to well deserved people who are really in need of them.

Hello dear, pls be wise now, even the bible said give 10% of your income to me, so your tithe shld go to were u worship, on your own, you can give the less privilege what ever comes from your mind.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

4llow ur heart

Tilda said...

From the bible, tithe is different from d seed to the less privileged. Der r different blessings for each. Its easy for people not to tithe bcos dey bliv the pastors lavish it. That's an immature attitude. Give ur tithe and receive the blessings and leave God 2 church d pastors.
Whether dey lavish d money or not, it doesnt stop ur blessings. Afterall, we still pay tax even if d government misappropriate d funds and use it for selfish needs.
Seed to the poor and tithe are different. Dont mix it up

cee said...

Tithes are strictly for God because but the Bible instructs us to give 10% of our earnings to God also instructs us to give to the poor, this is known as alms giving. Tithes to God, alms to the poor. I must also add that God is not money hungry, but from what I have learnt and experienced about tithes, opens doors for more of God's blessings. See 2Chor 9:7, Malachi 3:10, proverbs 11:24, Proverbs 3:9, leviticus 27:30...hope it helps

Dina said...

Yes ur boy friend is right. y most it be God's money that is ment for the poor ? you gave God 10% and you hv 90% , u can give the poor from the 90% u hv.

Dear. ur boyfriend is right. ur tithe should go to church, so there can b meat in d house. God knew there will b beggers in our midst, So He couldn't made mistake whn He said we should pay our tithes at d church. If u wanna help d poor, pls do. But not with ur tithes. The rewards r diff.Tithe is a mystery. Leave d judgement/acct of whatever d pastors do with it to God. God is d Judge of all.

Your boyfriend is right. Tithes belong in the church of God according to Scriptures. Paying tithes is however not a substitute for giving to the poor. You must also give alms outside your tithe.

Dear. ur boyfriend is right. ur tithe should go to church, so there can b meat in d house. God knew there will b beggers in our midst, So He couldn't made mistake whn He said we should pay our tithes at d church. If u wanna help d poor, pls do. But not with ur tithes. The rewards r diff.Tithe is a mystery. Leave d judgement/acct of whatever d pastors do with it to God. God is d Judge of all.

I think u did the right thing,cus I don't see any reason giving it to a well established church while people are outside begging for food.

Church Church.. most church gives it to the poor.. so it's not left for u to decide.

LIB, please pray about it first before taking any step..kunle ola ...myandkunle@yahoo.com

Get it right,its in the bible and believe it or not the bible is complete,I will advice you to follow the word of God,giving to the poor and less privilege is what Is expected from you. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

It does not matter were u give it,it depends on de heart of de giver, forget wot ur boyfriend said

If you give your tithe, nothing will stop you from GIVING to the poor and the lest privilege.

Don't help God to do his work. if you are a Christian, you should know what the bible says about tithing.

If you don't want to give it. Stop. And start giving to the poor. But don't call it tithe. Call it whatever you want....

God Bless you.

Tithes are to go to the storehouse of God which is the church according to Malachi 3:10, however, there is a place for alms which is given to the poor, to be done discretely, otherwise it brings no rewards. Therefore Tithe is different from alms.

Ikechukwu Anumudu said...

You just said that the bible says you give ur tithes to the church. Do as told. As for the beggars, u still still av to give to them too, but it won't be ur tithe. Obedience is better than sacrifice.

Every mallam to him kettle

prettiyz said...

Your tithe should go to the church but not to ur pastor,the bible said it should be dropped at tha alter but u can sow ur seed into the life of those beggers

I WON'T TELL YOU WHOM TO GIVE IT, BUT DEFINITELY GONNA TELL YOU THE POOR NEED MINE. Back in the days, we used to say as Poor As Church Rat. That was then, Church rat is now the richest and most fed rats in the world. The house rats are the hungry ones now because all food stuffs at home have been packed to church. Let me tell you more, Abundance is sometimes a disease... Do you know the church rats are no longer interested in food stuffs? There's abundant of food stuffs in the packing store. They are now biting and eating pounds, dollars, euros and managing Naira. I am not here to argue with anyone but the church is not gonna be having my tithe. It isn't even the poor people who turn begging to everyday job.. yes, it won't be them though, I will still give... But my tithe goes to poor neighbours, needy, brothers, and the marginal ones within and outside my social density. Thanks.

Didn't you read "I asked my boyfriend"? Ask yourself, Linda get boyfriend?

One thing I can sense here is your desire to give which in no doubt is good. Having said that, the bible clearly instructs you to pay your tithe to the house of God.
You would be surprised that when you do as you told, you would be richly blessed to have enough to give to the poor.
A word is enough for the wise

True talk..

We should get to the point where the Bible is our guide not people. I'm sure without Mincing words, God would have stated clearly to pay 10% to the poor... so you are to help the poor but not from your Tithe. Please, all you have to bother yourself with is OBEDIENCE... however the tithe is spent isn't your business, God who sees and is the one who blesses will do as He has promised. He will reward your obedience. it's not the Pastor that blesses!!! Let the Word be your guide!!

Sunday LiB super story...

Dis verse of d bible answer and settle dis question:
Malachi 3:10
Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. And thereby put me to the test, says the Lord of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.

Ur tithe is to b paid strictly 2d church and any other place outside d church is not acceptable. Is just lik taking ur cheque 2d market to withdraw money which is not possiblem same tin appplies to tithe.
My people ensure dat ur 10% tithe is frm ur gross salary (b4 deduction of tax/other deeduction) not frm ur net salary (after deduction of tax/other deduction).

Anything otherwise ur tithe coming frm ur salaries is far frm proper payment of tithe and mind u d 10% belongs 2d one and only God and is act of reverance to him.

Pls note, God does need our money we r d one's dat need God for replenishing of physical and spiritual wealths.

Those who hav ears let them hear and a word is enough 4d wise.

The bible says you should bring in your tithe to the store house not to the poor.

The tithe is instructed to be given to d Levites(church) bt make sure u are attending a church d Spirit of God tells u, u are in a right place. And, ur givings should not be limited to tithes only! U still have d 90% with you. U can still do the voluntary givings for d poor, it's also a good foundation for charity! Bt d tithes are compulsory in d church, and d church shall report that to God!

I think your desire is to help the less privileges in the street. since this is where your heart is keep giving to them.

Yh I agree with sum of us. Ur tithe shd go to d church. If u wana help d poor it shdnt be with ur tithe bt u can giv dm wt u v

louis Yanks said...

Your boyfriend's right. If u r a Christian, u must believe in the word because the word is our guide. Read Malachi 3 vs 8 down. It does not stop u from giving to the poor too. Remain blessed

Joshua Emeka K. said...

They are completely two different things. Let's not get them mixed up. Your tithe, which is definite and calculable goes to the house of God. On the other hand giving to charity is necessary, and no specific quantity or amount is mentioned. It can be water, food, clothing, money, your approach to people, etc. It is about showing love to who is in need.
Therefore, it is important you do the two for your spiritual growth.

The church! U can then give alms frm ur 90%. If u r not convinced u read ur bible. Do not rob God.! D right tin should be done my dear.

Alms for the poor or less privilege, and tithes (cumpolsory) for d church! I now reason why some because they give their tithes to church, it will now be so difficult to render help to some people in d time of their needs! Hmmmnn!

teegrl said...

Ur tithe should be paid to the church of God while anything given to the less priviledge can be ur offerings. God bless you!!!

Joshua Emeka K. said...

They are completely two different things. Let's not get them mixed up. Your tithe, which is definite and calculable goes to the house of God. On the other hand giving to charity is necessary, and no specific quantity or amount is mentioned. It can be water, food, clothing, money, your approach to people, etc. It is about showing love to who is in need.
Therefore, it is important you do the two for your spiritual growth.

i will go with the poor because the churches are thieves and greedy money making houses.

Neo said...

How come no pastor preaches about deut 12:11 where the bible instructs we dwell together with the poor and eat our tithe? How come its only the one that says you should leave it in Gods house that people quote? Do you know what the tithe was meant to be for originally? I get tired of nigerians alot, The catholics who were first christians dont have instruction to pay tithe,see the life of the pope? dont we all love him and yet their is meat in his house. Even peter abi na paul said we should not give any money out of necessity or forcefully,give wen u feel like or want to cos god loves a cheerful giver!

You give it to the church, pastors use it and buy private jets.. All those fake pastors won't make heaven because they have received their own rewards on earth. I don't know which pastor to trust any more. Church is now a franchise run by greedy men. If you feel right and peaceful giving to to the poor.. Then ride on sister..👍

complete!

Na wa oh na only pastors know the road to go give God the money abi? u give them money they buy private jet and live a lavish life style while the poor gets poorer. They even own private universities were children of the poor can NEVER attend.

My dear the joy u felt after give that money to the poor I can tell you that you have NEVER felt that kind of joy after given to ur pastors. Do what gives you joy.

James Olorunosebi said...

I really hope you get to read this comment of mine because I am about to tell you what nobody has ever told you about tithes. Everything you have heard about tithe has been full of half lies, half truth. I can only hope you are able to find this comment. If not, it will really be sad. Linda, pls help me find this girl and let her get this comment. I humbly ask.

First, tithe is both for God, the Levites, and you. According to Moses in Deuteronomy, tithe is meant for people who farm. No where is tithe money. Once in Deut 14:23-27 he said convert it to money if the agric produce is too much, and he says when you get to God's house you should eat it, and share with the Levites, not that you should give it all to the Levites. He said Share with them.

There are people according to the law of tithing who are excluded, anybody who is not a farmer. Meaning bricklayers, artisans, soldiers, craftsmen, tax collectors, fishermen, you are ot expected to tithe, but pastors wont tell you this because most people are too lazy to read on their own.

Kindly download this ebook from this link. Oh on second thought, since Linda has your email, I will forward it to her, and she can send it to you.

It is an in depth study of tithe and why you should stop paying it, carried out by Bible scholars who have discovered that people have been doing the wrong things all these years. Get ready to be freed from unnecessary guilty conscience.

"That there may be meat in mine house"

Dlp said...

The tithe belongs to God (10% of your earnings). It is for the management of his temple (house & workers). It is not negotiable. It is a test of faith. Give to the poor from the other 90% to have to yourself. May the holy spirit direct you.

Give your tithe to the church and offer any amount as you wish to the poor. Giving shouldn't be limited to just the church, or even just the poor. Give all you have like you're going to leave the earth today, and God will reward you abundantly.

Tosin said...

I think it would be better to help u find the answer as opposed to telling u the answer. I'm not saying I know it but i think it's better than just telling u what to do.

If u have an e-bible preferably KJV or ESV, search for the word "tithe". Study all the places it is mentioned in the bible (don't worry it's only mentioned a few times). As you study, u should see a pattern about tithes - who it belongs to, how and to whom it is offered - that should help answer your question. From my studies Malachi 3:10 seems to be the summary of that pattern. Keep an open mind as u study and pray to God for understanding and guidance.

Everyone is just shouting Malachi 3.thought u guys are supposed to be Christians. malachi is in d old testament. and i think a lot changed when jesus came. My people just do right and God will bless u. giving to the poor is far better... cus dr r many lying pastors getting richer everyday.

Give your tithes to the church, any church you attend, and give any amount as u deem fit to the less privileged. Giving shouldn't be limited to just material substances, it could be intellectual. It shouldn't also be limited to just the poor, or church. Widows, orphans, friends, family members, etc., give to them like today is your last day on earth. God will bless you abundantly.

Why do you assume the storehouse is the church

What u did was arms giving not paying ur tithes,

My dear,it is in the Scriptures.Please go to James 1:27 and read it for yourself.Also,let's remember that the Book of James is in the New Testament and Malachi,the Old Testament.

Mike Afolabi said...

As a Christian, your tithe belongs to God. Take it to your church! because you are a Christian and the Bible tells you to do so.

Give alms, gifts, donations, or whatever else, to the poor and less privileged.

Good to know you attend your Church

My dear,it is in the Scriptures.Please go to James 1:27 and read it for yourself.Also,let's remember that the Book of James is in the New Testament and Malachi,the Old Testament.

Royal preist hoid try reading the book of deturonomy chp 14 vs22 down and see what God also commands us to do with our tihtes he said we shld buy whatever u like.read d bible.

Church is good, less privileged is good, given direct to the poor make sense bcos not all churches make good use of them, they rather live luxurious life with it and still tell u to do lunching for the church needs.

Pls I am not here to condemn any one Bt to ask one question and it goes to everybody. who are the poor? bc from my little research poverty is actually a state of mind, I rest my case

I do agreed with you-we are so focused on the old-testament whilst the pastor used it against the congregation to enriched themselves and their family.

When mind is filled with sins ,the nest is fined a way of condeming the church nd the world of GOD ,ur tithe is for the church while ur arms giving is for d poor.that is world of GOD if u believe in the bible as a christia ,and pls leave GOD to judge his church okay

Read deuteronomy 26v12 and tell me what it says...pple are quoting malachi 3v10 God said bring the tithe to my storehouse...
1. Where is the storehouse of God? Before you conclude it's the church, abraham gave his tithe to mechizedez a priest not church as a building
2. Deuteronomy 26v12 says you can give your tithe to the orphans, poor etc but churches won't tell you this...the choice is yours...

femojie said...

I love this. God bless u

MATILDA said...

Whether u give d church or give d poor, either way ur still giving to God...God made us in his image n I see God in Everybody.. personally I tink d pastors n workers in d church DO NOT need to be fed or kept..dey r already mega rich

PLS TI TO END THIS ARGUMENT EVERY ONE IS TALKING ABT THE BOOK OF MALACHI WHY DONT U READ DETURONOMY CHP 14vs22 DOWN TO 26.THE BIBLE CLEARLY INSTRUCTS US TO CONVERT AND BUY WHAT EVER WE WANT.PLS PPL READ THAT PASSAGE

The one u give to the poor is called charity..... tithes and offerings belong in GoD's house......

Hello beloved, tithe has been clearly defined for either of these categories of persons levites not pastors Leviticus defines it, use ur Bible apps n search for tithes ur findings will shock u. It says for the fatherless, widows, strangers n levites. Deut.26:12 even in malachai is church mentioned there?
But honestly, they re all old doctrine of old testament. But CHRIST and grace is passed all that Edo Jerome Kojo.

Hello, ur tithe shld be frm d net cos for a business person u av to. Calculate ur expenses. It's called wisdom my brother. Either frm gross or net is the peace (inner man) that we receive after given it is wat matters . God doesn't judge. As we judge. It's God acceptance to it that matters. May God give us understanding.

Give it To the less privileged, the body of man is the temple of The Lord...

We re so fast to abolish the mosaic laws but when we see the ones we can use to our advantages, we use it against our congregations. Edo Jerome Kojo.

you are to take it to the place where God has choosen to be worshipped and eat it with you families. In the third year, you are to give it to the levites(pastors who do not own properties), orphans, foreigners and widows. The bible in Deutronony chapter 14 from verse 22 to 29 will tell you exactly what you are supposed to do with your tithe. Don't allow your pastor limit you to only malachi 3 vs 10. deutronomy clearly tells us what the lord wants to happen to the tithe when it gets into his storehouse and the type of pastors to benefit from it in the third year...............you all will thank me later.

mama ejima

Please Note: You dont give tithe, you pay tithe while you give offering.paying has to do with something that is mandatory and fixed while giving is by choice..so your tithe is already in its fixed form, 10% of your income while you can decide to give whatever to whoever depending your how bouyant you are. pls dont let us be sentimental about this you pay your tithe to the church while you can give to the less priviledge at your own convenience. It musnt be your tihte you can give them other things like food, clothing e.t.c. if you are not on cash

Church o

my dear poster, giving to the poor is almsgiving and dat shudnt b from your tithe purse. You can decide not to give tithe if you don't want to but you can't refer to what you give the poor as tithe. That is a seperate donation. Who ever misuses the tithe in church is no concern of yours, the most important thing is you kept your covenant with God. You can still do almsgiving(gifting to the poor) and pay tithe to the church after receipt of your monthly income but note that your tithe money is solely for the church

You don't make up your mind, you follow God's instructions even if you feel like it or not. The church is the gathering of Saints for edification and a place for disciplined worship. Your body is the temple of the Lord where you co habit with the holy spirit when you are born again.

Reading through the various comments made on this issue, i have a question, Why will you as a genuine christian attend a church lead by people you either think are corrupt, thieves or criminals? Are our service and salvation so unimportant? Or are these just excuses by people to derive God of his 10%? I cant imagine worshipping in a church i myself will characterise as what some people are. If you think your pastor or church leader is corrupt, then what are you still doing there? find a place you believe is in line with God. With the amount of people saying they give theirs to the poor and less fortunate, i even had to check back to be sure it were nigerians, as if they were really faithful, our orphanages, shelters and poor will be in a better state than they are else we're guilty of using them ae excuses.

If you were a real member of a body of christ, there should be outreach ministries or restoration ministries to join to excersise thisdesire in you, but the instructions of the bible should not be tampered with for your desires, it is the Basic Instruction Before Leaving Earth.

Your tithe is a different issue entirely,it goes a long way in helping the movement of the kingdom of God on earth and genuine churches use such money for development,evangelism,charity nd so on.but if u r complied to give to the poor,give them money separate from your tithe but be wise about it,let the holy spirit guide you,sometimes we think we are helping but we don't know that we are causing more harm. E.g this beggar begs all d time but what does he use the money for,to smoke ,to drink ,not helping his children.dear,tithe n giving to the poor are diff things,unless God directs you to give it elsewhere but pray and be sure .God bless n v a lovely Sunday and week.......linda pls post this

A million likes for ds comment

Then he said to them, "So give back to Caesar what is Caesar's, and to God what is God's." - matt 21:22

Tithe belongs to God
Welfare/Alms belongs to the poor

My dear poster.. Yes the bible does say give to the church but who is indeed the church? The buliding or the people in it??. Whenever u read ur bible pray for understanding cuz we as humans make up the church of Christ so by all means if you want to give ur tithe to yourself please do because u are also a part of th church. I pray God grants us all wisdom to do his will.. Amen.

Then he said to them, "So give back to Caesar what is Caesar's, and to God what is God's." - matt 21:22

Tithe belongs to God
Welfare/Alms belongs to the poor

lovelyify said...

But d bible says dat our body is d temple of the holyspirit...so d poor are also d house of God.

Pls pay your title to the church

Who should you pay your tax to?

Just as you can not just decide to use your tax for community service, you can not decide to pay your tithe outside church.

It was ordered by God that all tithes be brought to church. A very simple instruction.

Taaa! Shut dat ur mouth! Chrch ko skul ni!

had it been the Church of nowadays feeds the poor or in 1 way or the other help the poor with its resources, the society will see less of poor people. rather the Church extorts aggressively from the poor. checkout Church schools nd the fee they pay no pity from the Church ooo. to be frank I feel extremely good giving the poor. its still God work. DE good thing about it is Dat am reaching out to dem my self. certified

To the church because that is where God asks us to deposit it. chikena.

It's not about the "ideal". It's about PRINCIPLE. Don't choose which part of the Bible to obey please. Either follow principles it ideals.

You may also read Deutronomy 26: 8 - 19...

You may read Deutronomy 26: 8 - 19...

God is not against given to the poor and helping the poor He expects us to do that but not with your tithe your tithe is for God and He said to take it straight to Church and not to the poor. After you have given your tithe in church then go ahead and give to the need with what ever else you want to give them the amount you decide to give the poor can be higher or less than your tithe thats up to you, God does not mind but your tithe most never be given to any one else not your brother,mother dad, poor no one but God in Gods House the Church Alter. The bible is explicitly clear on this matter dont get it twisted.

The tithe is meant for the church to help the poor but the way so called men of God use tithe to enrich themselves nowadays has made me to be giving to the poor. We must believe and have faith with reason. This Bible was written by human being like us under God's inspiration.

Your tithe which is 10% of ur earnings should go to ur church, but dat doesn't stop u from helping those in need. I used to think same way b4, God help us.

do not seek for justification from this forum, do what you conscience tells you is right, if you do not want to tithe then thats fine, but do not deceive God. the poor will always be here with us unless efforts are put in place to reduce/eliminate the same, and for sure that is not through giving alms....

Whoever says it should go to the poor is very very wrong, Weda he/she is convinced abt it... Let God be true & all man be a lier. Is it soo hard to obey God? It's very clear, the bible says my storehouse(church). He won't rebuke the devourer for u if u take ur tithe to were he didn't send u, bcos u feel it's right!

Babe what you have done is giving of alms o. Those you gave it to are lucky but the painful truth is: you are still owing God your tithe! I advice you pay up ASAP! D poor will always be in our midst! Give ur 10% to God and watch him bless d 90% left and then you can give alms from that 90%. I have gone through this phase before so I understand!

Man of the people said...

Well every one hv spoken their mind, but firstly d bible says PAY Ur tithe NOT GIVE. If U want to fulfill d scripture pay to d church, and from Ur upkeep gv to d poor dats sacrifice; tithe is not a sacrifice but a debt. Pay it where U receive spiritual food. Pls if U feel d church is not worthy of Ur tithe then U are not worthy of d blessing U get there.

My dear, spiritual matters re quite personal md sensitive this days, however since u believe in the bible then u might want to read d post of royal priest hood. If u believe d bubble Pls pay ur tithe to the Chrch and that shouldn't stop ur doing good for the poor. obey His words and ignore what u or the world thnk about what d pastor is doing with it, let His promise be fulfilled in ur life.

Honestly, I feel its better to give it to the poor.

My dear don't be deceived by d devil & ignorant men. Take ur tithe to church. If u doubt do a 3 months experiment of both givings & see d diffrnce in ur life. Note: if u start losing tins, sickness starts making u spend ur money, or u get robbed, just know the devourer hasn't been rebuked bcos u took ur tithe to d wrong place.

Sincerely, u cannot twist d Bible to suit modern trends.. d command is simple bring ur tithes.. if u wanna du other wise, ur decision, buh on d last day of d judgement' u go sabi..

The point is that there is nowhere New Testament believers are commanded to pay tithe. Jesus never preached it, Peter never taught it, nowhere were we told the early apostles practice it. But it was a commandment in the Old Testament. If you must pay tithe you should also do animal sacrifices and observe seasons and times. Nigerian and American pastors make heavy duty out of this just for the money and out of greed. The only thing Paul said was that there be "collections" for the believers.

For me I will continue to give o the poor. I don't listen to any crap about tithe which belongs to the Old Testament. But if you don't know your Bible you will be intimidated. Not me, by a long shot.

HUzzay said...

The commandment says love thy neighbor as their self. as for me i prefer the tithe go to the poor, disable, even our pastors sef they live luxury more than Jesus, jesus waka die for scriptures and he work hard but now private jet here and there, after you pay tithe, they build university and at the end of the day you that contributed to building the church, school and other project will not be recognized but the current rich wealthy people, talk plenty sha but for me Not bad if it goes to the poor

Babe it's church ooooo, that God's store house. U can give alms out of ur remaining 90%, Kapish

Okey Nwosu said...

Am no theologian but with my little knowledge of the bible and what is written there, the idea of tithe as God instructed was because in the mosaic law the levities - they're the priest's - doesn't work. God instructed them not to work so as to man the temple of the Lord. So for there to be food for them, God instructed the other Israelites to give ten percent of their crop so that the levities will have abundance of food. Is it the same as of today? My opinion: you followed your heart and keep it up. God will not stop blessing you or take you to hell because you gave to the poor.

God is not mocked, whatever we think we have, he gave to us, so I wonder why we will be debating on where to pay our tithe, always remember that once you pay your tithe, the devourer is rebuked for your self, no unnecessary expenses whatsoever, we cant cheat God, we cant deceive him, we cant bring God to our level, he is the Almighty God. Pay your tithe, do your charity work and see God do his own... tasted it n it worked for me. his throne is at stake so he can't lie.

God bless u
That's the answer
May I also add that there is a huge difference between tithe and charity
Tithe goes to the store house of God while charity is for the less privileged or poor
It's not right to give ur tithe to the poor
Lexira

Gbam!

Money given to the poor is just an act of charity, your tithe should be paid in the church

Malachi 3:10 settles evrytin, abi babe u knw deydey read ur bible hahaha! I laf at u, dis ur question shows u ar an unbeliever, pls madam render ur tithe to d church n giv arms to d poor nd needy.. Go read ur bible mydear!

Jugu said...

Tithe goes to the storehouse (church). Of the 90% remaining of your income, there is enough to give the poor if you really care

Ur tithe is to go to the church of God not negotiable. Since ur heart yens for charity, do it from ur own pocket not God's tithe. Only when u give dem from ur own which after tithe, it can be right. Do not let ur senses tell u what to do on this matter but the word Of God.

Your tithe is for d church as mal 3:8-13 says..it is also good to cultivate the habit of giving to d less privilege for the commandment that covers all commandment says "Love your Neighbour as you love thyself"..i hope dis answers your question

*cute bree*

Sublime said...

Okay,as rightly quoted in d book of Malachi...we supposed to pay our tithes to the church...simple example: You Owing Your Landlord House rent,instead of paying when due.....you used your house rent to fix a problem in the house....even while that was done,he didn't send you....you still owe your house rent

So on point! You have said it all.

*alms*

Moyinoluwa fadoju said...

Tithe is for the church

Give to the church. Dont worry about What they do with your tithe, its not your business but GOD'S. HE is in control.

NNE its wondaful and xo nice of u to help de poor and the needy which is also keeping to God's word.BT giving ur tithe to dem is wrong.As stipulated in de Bible ur tithe is strictly fr God and his work and hence should be given in Church.GIVING UR TITHE TO THE POOR ND NEEDY IS BASICALLY ROBBING GOD.

Deuteronomy 14:22-29New International Version (NIV)
Tithes
22 Be sure to set aside a tenth of all that your fields produce each year. 23 Eat the tithe of your grain, new wine and olive oil, and the firstborn of your herds and flocks in the presence of the Lord your God at the place he will choose as a dwelling for his Name, so that you may learn to revere the Lord your God always. 24 But if that place is too distant and you have been blessed by the Lord your God and cannot carry your tithe (because the place where the Lord will choose to put his Name is so far away), 25 then exchange your tithe for silver, and take the silver with you and go to the place the Lord your God will choose.26 Use the silver to buy whatever you like: cattle, sheep, wine or other fermented drink, or anything you wish. Then you and your household shall eat there in the presence of the Lord your God and rejoice. 27 And do not neglect the Levites living in your towns, for they have no allotment or inheritance of their own.
28 At the end of every three years, bring all the tithes of that year’s produce and store it in your towns, 29 so that the Levites (who have no allotment or inheritance of their own) and the foreigners, the fatherless and the widows who live in your towns may come and eat and be satisfied, and so that the Lordyour God may bless you in all the work of your hands.

coldstunts said...

Deuteronomy 14:22-29New International Version (NIV)
Tithes
22 Be sure to set aside a tenth of all that your fields produce each year. 23 Eat the tithe of your grain, new wine and olive oil, and the firstborn of your herds and flocks in the presence of the Lord your God at the place he will choose as a dwelling for his Name, so that you may learn to revere the Lord your God always. 24 But if that place is too distant and you have been blessed by the Lord your God and cannot carry your tithe (because the place where the Lord will choose to put his Name is so far away), 25 then exchange your tithe for silver, and take the silver with you and go to the place the Lord your God will choose.26 Use the silver to buy whatever you like: cattle, sheep, wine or other fermented drink, or anything you wish. Then you and your household shall eat there in the presence of the Lord your God and rejoice. 27 And do not neglect the Levites living in your towns, for they have no allotment or inheritance of their own.
28 At the end of every three years, bring all the tithes of that year’s produce and store it in your towns, 29 so that the Levites (who have no allotment or inheritance of their own) and the foreigners, the fatherless and the widows who live in your towns may come and eat and be satisfied, and so that the Lordyour God may bless you in all the work of your hands.

DEAR, YOU NEED UNDERSTANDING!

I AM TYPING THIS PART IN CAPS SO THAT IT IS MORE CLEARLY VISIBLE. DO NOT BE CONFUSED, YOUR TITHE ISN'T THE SAME AS YOUR GIVING TO THE POOR!!! THEY ARE 2 SEPARATE THINGS.

I have read the comments section, and so many people are quoting Malachi 3:10, They are correct in doing so. TITHE MEANS THE FIRST 10th!!! Not just the 10th, but the FIRST 10th.

It is what you give to God through His storehouse, as commanded in the verse above. Your 'Storehouse' is a place where you go to get nourished. A place where you go to get replenishment when running dry. A place of supply. If you are a believer in Christ, this clearly symbolizes your local church.

Firstly Note the fact that I said 'if you are a believer in Christ' ... if you aren't, please accept Jesus' sacrifice on the cross, and His Love towards you today. Your eternity depends on it. If you exercise your choice not to, then this does NOT apply to you & you shouldn't bother replying.

Back to the matter... Your tithe is your 1st 10% of ALL YOUR INCOME that is GIVEN TO GOD in honor of Him for giving you the Grace and Ability to make the 100%. It is a matter of giving as a symbol of Honor and gratitude ACKNOWLEDGING that He gave the ability for you to make the 100%. If you have a job, not everyone has one, if you do business, not everyone has the health or mental capacity to do business, if you received free income, many have not gotten that in years! Your tithe is away of acknowledging God, and recognizing that everything comes from Him, and that It was Him that allowed it to come your way!

Simple question to the poster? WHY must you limit ALL your giving to 10%? Can you not bless poor people outside of your tithe?

Question 2... Did your resources come from the poor? Or do you think it came by your own power? Never misplace the place of giving honor to God for all He has done for you, no matter how big or small.

I have taken the time to type all this because the mere mention of the Tithe in your question leads me to believe you believe in the principle of giving, or at least you desire to know more about it.

Your tithe is not to be given to the poor. It is to honor God. It is ALSO VERY IMPORTANT TO GIVE TO THE POOR AS THE BIBLE COMMANDS... he that give the to the poor lendeth to God. Other important types of giving found in the bible, giving to your Parents, supporting projects that advance the Kingdom of God and the preaching of the gospel.

All the best. Go beyond mere 10% and encounter a fuller richer experience in your finances. Personally I am a living testimony. Truly, GIVERS NEVER LACK.

Love you.

In Leviticus, the Bible says pay your tithe to the levites, or to the widows or the less privileged. You can pay to any of these. My dear you're right in paying to the less privileged. They need it more.

So many are ignorant. Bible say bring your tithes to the store house of Lord. simple. My people perish because of lack of knowledge, I don't think this question is necessary, bible made it clear.

Deutronomy 26:12 specifies you pay to the levites, the fatherless, the widow or the stranger.

Dabras said...

Give the poor your seed and not your tithe. So your tithe should be given to the church as commanded by GOD.

Blunt (Sept 15; 1:54pm) certainly has my vote! Where in the new testament is tithe spoken about? Why is it convenient for the so-called pastors to pick verses from the old testament that suit them and their pockets and discard the rest? LIB reader, wise up!

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 252   Newer› Newest»