Photos: Eko Atlantic workers protest over unpaid salaries | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 July 2015

Photos: Eko Atlantic workers protest over unpaid salaries

Construction workers working at Eko Atlantic, a planned city in Lagos State being constructed on land reclaimed from the Atlantic Ocean, are protesting in front of bar beach this morning against N900 pay for casual workers. They are saying 'no more casual workers, we want change". They are protesting over unpaid salaries and are demanding for higher pay. More pics after the cut...

43 comments:

Angelhil said...

KOSI OWO

This is bad o,they should pay their workers biko.

IN LAGOS DRES CONTINUITY N NT CHANGE, MYN U GUYS....TOMJERRYSWIT

Workers are suffering in naija though

Please gguysvisit my blog Www.trendwithgloria.blogspot.com

Whats all these with non-payment of salaries?

May God see them tru

#900?? Dis is not fair.

na wa o

Mak una pay my people well jo!

No be small thing o! I hope the matter is resolved soon. Linda take note!

N900 a day is small now.

Dnt gve laborer their money and you know what they are capable of.

Wind of change must blow everywhere.The protest is spot on

I hope dey get wat they want

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Na wah for this change matter ohhhh. well make them try sha. Nigeria My country is it well.

Too many people are suffering

A land is sold there for up to a million dollars if not more yet they can't pay their workers smh.

hmmm

Mihearty said...

Lagos state governor over to u. I so miss fashola. Though am nt frm lagos state but i love the man.

Wahala really dey i swear.....

Pay them what you owe dem....

Hmmmmmm. Its well wit them, and I pray dis issue of salaries b resolve. For those passing thru issues dat need help, and crying for help may God divinely provide 4u IJN.

Ok. May their needs be met ASAP...labourers deserve their wages

This lagos state salaries issue is getting outta hand

Dis shii is everywhere

emmysags said...

Tanks linda for this post.i just hope this get to the government of lagos state and federal as wholew and even to Mr Donald chaguary.

Hmmmmmm. Its well wit them, and I pray dis issue of salaries b resolve. For those passing thru issues dat need help, and crying for help may God divinely provide 4u IJN.

FRESH said...

But they went there themselves looking for work,were told they would be casual workers,knew the wages when they took up the jobs.I hate blackmail from employees.Nigerian workers are fond of that & it's a very bad thing.You employ someone who came crying that he badly needs the job,after two months he starts to complain & bad mouth his employers.

Oluwatoyosi Agbaje said...

Na wa ooo!after all the money they have received from sales from the yet to be completed place

I don't know what to call this one whether foolishness or greed. you even have a work that you're been paid 900box daily in lagos and not Abuja and you're they complaining.

If they're protesting because of the money they're being owed, no problem, but protesting for pay rise in a country that is in deep shit. after we'll be complaining of some leaders, even we ourselves are greedy and we really need GOD

Linda the management is not owing them salaries....they want increment..

Actually u at wrong. There are guidelines on staff welfare and paying them 900 a day means you are taking advantage of their vulnerability . It's like saying cos u are already poor 900 should be enough for you. Workers pay should be tied to manhours as well as performance. It is right for them to complain. Imagine the exorbitance in profit the foreign guy is going to make while paying 900 a day. Guy fear God o

Abeg shut up. If all was well with him, will he come looking for a job. When u are emplyed in any organisation, u sef shud make a small change

They should be paid more than thay. haba !

Na ur type no dey like pay workers ...gerarahere

They're not owed salaries. pls investigate linda

Errr....try 2mill. And this was pre-construction price...

PMB would please extend the bail out to them.

The protest of workers at Eko Atlantic City is not entirely about non payment of salaries. What the workers of South Energyx Nig Ltd and other workers within the Chaugori Group are protesting about bother more on the poor condition of service, workers' casualization, militarisation of the project site, inhumane treatment of workers by the so-called Lebanese expertraites who are either stack illiterates, unskilled personnel who are without requisite immigration papers and work permit, bullying and inhumane treatments of workers by the complex-ridden and racism infested South African expertraites, hijacking and manipulation of the Union by the management, imposition of Union leaders by the management, outright ouster of the Admin Director who was formerly the Financial Controller of the Company, increment of daily rates of workers from N900 to what the NJIC stipulated, recall and reinstatement of the suspended (sacked) Vice Chairman of the Union, among several other things...