The Netherlands have done the same thing in the past. Brazil has done the same thing. I think this is just a momentary reaction, and this will be settled within the diplomatic sphere. What we are doing is carrying out the court decision. Every case should have an end.”
Speaking Wednesday morning to a group of journalists after inspecting the execution site with the national police chief, Commissioner General Badrodin Haiti, Prasetyo offered his condolences to the families of the eight men executed but said the executions were necessary.
I would like to say that an execution is not a pleasant thing. It is not a fun job. But we must do it in order to save the nation from the dangers of drugs. We are not making enemies of the country from which the executed last night came from. What we are fighting against are drug related crimes.
Therefore, I would like to offer my condolences, on the execution of those who were on the death row, to their families, to their home countries. Once again, we are not against the countries, but we are fighting a war against the horrible drug crimes that threaten our nation’s survival.
Culled from The Guardian
82 comments:
wat of NIgeria
lets wait to here of African Giant
Rubbish! Wat is d apology for?
I don't blame Indonesia, people should respect their law. Linda take note!
All legal forms of killing should b banned.
Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer
Nigeria should do the same... life in jail is better but not firing.. its arhaic
Foreigners going in and out of countries should know their laws and abide by them. May their souls RIP.
http://www.kaymu.com.ng/seller/missnbn/
Who re you to take people's lives! If Man was God.....#problem
No dey carry drugs go indonesia ...simple! why is that so hard for ppl to understand ?
What a pity,RIP to d executed souls,thank God its over,the wait was enough torture and death itself
Hmmmmmm execution aint the best way to solve drug crime! They shud beta look for an alternative solution!
Errmmm... Owk, lindodo paste winners na
Now everybody knows they have zero tolérance for drug trafficking.
I align ;however they should have been given life imprisonment. Drug couriers pls learn from this...
Respect the laws of the land and do not take drugs there.drug kill and destroy families so i don't really blame them. we should have stricter laws on corruption in Nigeria...take note Buhari.
With the plea, it would had been converted to imprisonment. What about wrong conviction as the country is also very corrupt and false allegations are placed on Visitors to make them spend money.
Ok noted
dem no serious @ all.whn u get 2 Indonesia airport,by d time u walk up 2 100metres n every oda 100 metres,u go dey see signs clearly written dt drug offence na death penatly.dey shd educate dere citizens very well.i no dey support mago-mago.RIP 2 d dead.make God 4giv dem.
They should do the needful. Every crime deserves a penalty.
Truth is bitter............ May their soul rest well........#IndonesiaUpholdItsLaw #ZeroToleranceToDrugSmuggling
How many Indonesians were on death row?....how may have been killed?..
Why were there no US citizens?...or British citizens.....The crime in Indonesia is terrible beyond words, the smugglers sell to people, were are those people?...
Lol, in other words, if u must do drugs, stay in your country
How do people with jobs like this sleep at night
This country serious... People will still be doing the biz
Ikponwa
RIP TO THEM.......
LAW IS LAW GBAM!
Fuck dem and there condolences
Execution is the worst punishment for any crime and it's absolutely inhuman so I think Australia did what every right thinking government should do
You have no right to take someone's life which u cannot create. There are other punishments u can give.
Must u kill dem? Its jst wicked. Why nt give dem the chance 2 decide dia faith while in prison? But dis will sound as warning 2 others tht are planing 2 push drug in this country.
Make dem go rest jhoor...after all d beg ...una just derive pleasure killing......u hv made enemies with oda countires involved but Nigeria will only be too glad ..cos after all..just bribe d Government...dey won't question u guys for d killings..
Jeeez! So finally dis ppl had d heart 2 do dis? D family doesn't nid ur condolences plss. We shud allow God ae b d judge.
I know we are not the givers of life so we shouldn't take one.
However,I implore us to look at this from another angle.first,the country has its laws.Please endeavor not break them in the first instance.
Drug dealers/pushers in the long run kill more than just the person or groups of persons they sell it to.drug addiction has a rippling effect on the life of its user.
In the end,it not only destroys one person,it destroys the persons family and sooner rather than later,it destroys the community and country.Eg Colombia.
Hard measures are taken against such crimes not because the country is blood thirsty but in the hope that a death penalty would deter people or at the very least,reduce the number of perpetrators.
May their souls RIP.
Australia did the right thing
Nawa oo this Guy's R Not Joking
The Top Cop is Right.
Dats barbaric #indonesia
And what is Nigerian govt waiting for biko?
Well? Shebi u av killed the.....................Your eye don clear
"Every case should have an end." But the end of every case should not necessarily have to be death or execution.
D deed as bn done alrdy, all country can't b lyk Nigeria dat is lawless. RIP 2 d dead
sad. May their souls rest in peace
Seriously I hate such constitution. Very bad
Sad and painful.
He seems so sure, almost cocky even.
Execution for drug is just so wrong.
Awww. I understand. Both countries
Indonesians are very strict and wicked.
Keep your condolence....No one needs it
A lesson. f̶̲̥̅̊ọ̥я. Drug traffickers... RIP to. Dem
this is wickedness............
So when people know this,why break their laws?.
There should ve been another punishment and not this. Maybe life imprison
It's clearly stated on Indonesia,malaysia visas...Death penalty for drug offenders. RIP to the Dead Though!
Indonesia are vry wick...dey should have given them live in prison...the deed has been done,I wonder what Nigerian government are waiting for
People should leave Indonesia alone. They have a strict penalty against drug peddlers cos they know the dangers those drugs pose to their society. Y'all were crying and cursing out Indonesia but did any of you stop to ask yourself how you'd react if someone close to you died as a result of drug use. Indonesia their stance about drugs clear to the world, at least something works for them, their judicial system is effective. To those that were executed, I pray you find forgiveness in the sight of God.
I dont blame them, this execution is too much of a punishment
Now...I salute this country...This is a country that has taken the bold step to rid itself of a particular thing which is a canker worm eating deep into d fabric of its existence as a peaceful and decent country guided by laws...Illegal Drugs. It may look so cruel and heartless given pleas from d countries of persons who were executed...But I understand dat dis had to be dne. To show its seriousness to go all out in dis war against illegal drugs. This... I believe had to be dne to serve as a huge deterrent to dose who commit dis crime. May d souls of dose executed find rest. Nigeria sud really take a cue 4rm dis, step up and tackle lawlessness.
They simply close their eyes and sleep
Wow they really followed thier zero policy 4 drugs up ooo oda Nigerians dere better pakwell ooo.
We wont do nothing.
So many discrepancies in ur self comment.u had rather keep mute than this trash.Thank God for Abike Dabiri in ur life for the little u said
I love such law. May others learn their lesson.you can't eat your cake and have it. I also weep for the family that these boys have destroyed with drugs. Our boys abroad most of them nor de hear word. They already know the risk involved in the business they venture into.RIP
My love
Drug traffickers Will stay away from Indonesia now .
Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.
"but we are fighting a war against the
horrible drug crimes that threaten our
nation’s survival".
Drug traffickers take note
Indonesia takes no sense from you all
Where is the safest to carry drugs to then? Just kidding. Dont worry you know me.
Maybe if you and your family sleep in hunger for 2weeks you will understand why it is had for this people to understand
As a Nigerian na OYO. D govt couldn't care less about their citizens. Selfish, greedy and corrupt govt year after yar
OMG!!! I still dnt believe any sin deserves death.#tears#
Is their law if u can't abide by it abeg stop going there wt d drugs.
Tief na who dem catch..so all u guys dishn trash aren't better off...so kip yah mouth up..,RIP
I really feels pity 4 dem ooo, execution is nt a penalty 4 drug trafficking, may their soul rest in peace
It's a pity, what a law!
I love dat. Naija, let's hear Urs please
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *
If no be say u self jez won talk, i knw b4 dem born u naija don dey like dis so gbe enu e saun
Crimes deserve punishment but killing a human is so hard to take in. Criminal or not. Smh
9ja we dey wait ooo
they need to change their laws