Police arrest three teenage stowaways at Lagos airport | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 October 2013

Police arrest three teenage stowaways at Lagos airport

The only disadvantage of celebrating and giving scholarship to Daniel Oikhena is this - copy cats.
Apparently impressed by the national recognition Daniel got for beating airport security and successfully flying in the tyre hole of a Lagos-bound Arik plane from Benin, three teenage boys have attempted to do the same. Lateef Popolla, 13 (from Ogun State) Amadi Joshua, 14 (from Ebonyi state) and Ukpabio Onyedikachi, 14 (from Abia State) were arrested at different times at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport, Ikeja by the Airport Command of the Nigeria Police Force for allegedly attempting to illegally board some international flights in Lagos, Punch reports.

The commissioner of police at the airport command said the boys were found at different times at the airport with the aim of getting into any plane and travel out of Nigeria. The boys deny they were attempting to board any plane...

The teenagers gave different reasons for their actions. Lateef who is a Primary 3 dropout who resides with his grandmother said he went to the tarmac to see the planes and thereafter decide on where he would travel to. he was arrested after he came out from one of the airport apron buses. he said " I actually wanted to travel but I have not yet decided where I will go. So, I just went to the tarmac to see the aeroplanes.”

Lateef’s grandmother, Adunni, said she had no idea that her grandson was nursing the idea of travelling out of the country. She said she had been responsible for his upkeep  since his mother abandoned him at infancy. I did not know that he wanted to travel. I just did not  see him last week and I started looking for him all over the place. It was on Saturday that I finally found out that he had been arrested,” she said.

Onyedikachi and Joshua were said to have been arrested after asking some security agents where Malaysia flights were boarding. Onyedikachi who has a brother that resides in malaysia nursed the intention of travelling to see him. After being questioned, the boys, who were both in SS1, said they had no travel documents and were immediately arrested.

Onyedikachi, however said, “We were at the departure area of the airport. We did not attempt to travel out. We were just loitering and wanted to see the aeroplanes. We did not want to travel out on that day.”Onyedikachi’s mother berated her son for his escapade. She said she had warned him and Joshua to be well behaved at all times. She said, “I had no knowledge of what they did. Onyedikachi is well taken care of and is not suffering. I don’t know what pushed him to do this.”

91 comments:

Editor said...

for this idependent? na wa o > A similar story here here

SLASTYLES: whats happening to the kids of this generation

na wa o >> A similar story here here

Mtxheewww ...linda abeg if ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥A̶̲̥̅♏ d first Ɣ☺ΰ knw wat tu do...

NUVI HONEY said...

LOL! Maybe they should put these ones in welfare homes for sometime, to discourage others.

they should send these guys to rehab

Patrick Obahiagbon and Afrocandy attack Jim iyke over his act at SCOAN

I thought as much. Mtcheew... Children, lil advice to u, read, read n read! Reading maketh a man! Oneday, u shall travel to any continent of ya choice freely wen u must hav done d necessary things.

These ones re unlucky: juvenile prison straight (ie if dat exists here.)

Rotfl. Only Malaysia? #jaybeyblu

hmmmm time to nip this ugly trend in the bud.

Serious copy cats,they should discipline them so that others won't follow suit. *flips hair and walks away*

Up naija! Not surprised!

That is 9ja for you...

Their parents told them to do it so that they can also get scholarships

Na. Waooo they were jst making an enquiry on how to travel , soon they were arrested cos they had no travelling documents with them plsssssss that's nt enough to arrest them cos they did nt even get close to d plane abeg!!!!!!!!!!! Next

Rough Diamond said...

When d first boy was awarded, what do u expect?
Let's expect more of dis!
But its a pity on d part of their parents for sending their kids to do dis all for scholarship! Poverty na disease!!

Illiteracy is all i can say. our Children need enlightenment. Well ther are several Matured Nigerians who has never seen a plane before...

Mich said...

Unfortunately,these three young men are gonna be made Scapegoats where another kid became a victor.
Irony of life.

Hmmm parents are pushing their kids not minding the dangers involve

Handsome but mischievious copy cats....go home and behave yourselves!

Bettyblue Anyiman said...

Lol,kai,this laugh wan kill me die,ROTFLMFAO. Why on earth will Naija not stop carrying 1st in things lik this. Chai?OMG!!!. Oya my only honourable analytic Mich,pls analyze ooooo.

Hehehe, 2mao now dem go call dem terrorist 4 anoda country,who are dis kids role models sef, dey wnt mimic d gud ones its d bad ones, nawa oooo....kids of now adays dey fear me

That Edo kid(Daniel) must have inspired them, hehe! This has to be checked by the authorities more often now.

Hmmmm wat if sometin happened to dem?wat wil dier parent say nw y is dis children dis worrisome if I may use dat word.its too bad kids nw tink of travelling in dis manner,I pray d Gvmt wil av mercy on dem.

xdonsq said...

Gud 4 dem

Now we all can see the repercussions. Scholarships are supposed to be given to people who deserve. Schplarships are earned. Those boys should be dealt with so that this should serve as a deterrent to others who are bearing such opinions in mind.

Lmaoo...said e no wan travel that day.na which day you wan travel?? Ahhahahha.

Na real wa!!

A way has to be devised to prevent further occurrence if not, it will persist n when it does, it becomes a serious problem.

Make dem kip dem 4 ground in national stadium, call all the press in 9ja n den flog dz boys 50strokes of canes each...so dey wil learn...nonsense!!
~me~

Children will always be Chidren!!!!!

ChincoBee said...

Ofcaus this was gonna happen the moment the first boy that did dis was placed on scholarship

Did I not say it???

I said it! Commending him by granting him scholarship and all of that will encourage others..

Ngwanu....

What are they arresting these ones for? Abeg make dem give dem scholarship jor! Call am glucose, call am glucoden all na the same.

Hehehehe lwkm! Clearly Joshua don get many followers and disciples #teamgreenerpasturestinz

Ehennnn, only God knows wat children of dis days are turning to,must dey copy some else for christ sake?. wat if dey are nt lucky like oikhene, and die in d process ? Pls children be careful.life is nt two, neither does it have a photocopy!

Hian! Smh.

this is interesting. very funny kids. nice job linda.

Click here to Discover how to make daily cool cash online

Everybody need Government help lili 1st to comment ooOoo

i can't blame them just because they have no hope for Naija...

Daniel O. inspired!!! Way to go! HmMm I v gotten some kind of inspiration *America on mind* I must not get caught. Lolz

Naija no dey carry last.I luv my country we av Daring pple. Chai ds boys drew deir inspiration frm Daniel. Daniel u bu Man!!! Pacesetter

Dis is getting out of hand d government should knw wht to do to checkmate this b4 one of them will kill his or herself in unusual copycat. Its very unfortunate dt we don't learn good acts here except d bad ones...SMH.

D'ambassador say so

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

oh dear!

This children no go kill me with laugh! Can u imagine this?? See their heads, lmao.

Joyan said...

Hian! Na wah o.

Dr. Frank said...

I knew these will follow

IkwerreBoy said...

The fear of Boko Haram hahahahahahahahahahaha

its a big liee by naija police

Diz kid nid ŧº get their ass whooped b4 d get enlighten on d dangers of their act

YE$ BO$$. Oboy to fly from lagso to malayisa na good 18hours no be beans. no be lagso to benin 35minutes. Lol cause if to say you fly you no go even reach dubia transit you don die for air. But come this 9ja airport security them be fool oooooo.

Photocopy kho easy! Nobi d same head taiwo bring come world na hin kehinde too bring come! Una see oooooo! 9aija pikin nawa oooo

You said is all,we adult don't have hope here in Naija,celebrating Nigeria at 53 in darkness...and u want d children to remain were dey don't have hope,make dem travel any where we no say e go beta pass Naija

Hmmmmn @53.....well God bless Nigeria

If only dem knw say dance wen ola dance dem spre am money if dimeji dance na stone he go collect

If this child could get to the tarmac and an apron bus unnoticed lord knows which other evil intentioned people can as well is there no airside security at this airport?

hahahah.ok ooo

Copy copy children

mary said...

chei, laff wan kill me, why am i having the feeling that their parents are the ones sending them to take this risk, after the first kid was commended for his bravery act and was rewarded with a scholarship,this is just the beginning, a lot of kids are warming up to go and see aeroplane. which way Nigeria

These boys shoul be fioged and their parents given serious warning. Or else many will do so.

Lol They should give these ones scholarship too now, after all don't they deserve an equal opportunity? Mcheeew shameless Government for even giving that Daniel boy anything. The only country where criminals are rewarded. I am DONE with Nigeria. There's NO HOPE!!

Lady G said...

It's a shame they even gave Daniel a scholarship in the first place. Scholarships are for deserving people, not law breakers. They might as well do the same for these poor kids since that's the message their sending.

Ebonyi no dey bear Amadi abeg

Didn't u guys see what the children said? So it's wrong to visit the airport now abi? Because they questioned the effectiveness of airport security, they want to make every child they see around the airport a scapegoat to make up for their stupid mistake.....

Opeedo said...

So escaping is now a culture?!

when you click HERE you'll see the best sex scandal

Rabiya said...

LOL 9ja,,,,new form of bizness, new talents

cowboy said...

Wat a life.

hur said...

i'm soooo laughing here...

I don't understand dat a child leaves the house for days with the state of security in the country,the parents didn't go to the police unless ofcourse the are the ones pushing their kids.

What is good for the goose is also good for the gander. They should also be compensated by way of scholarship

Djaguar said...

Its so glearing that d security at the airport is very poor if not this kids won't get their way thru to d tarmac.themself they find scholarship.LMAO.

They arrest their parents and throw them in d cell!

I love saggybellzin

Lol,I tire ooooo

True talk said...

Nobody should blame dem oooo!!after all dis country ain't helpin us,d rich only gets richer while d poor gets poorer,errbody now wants to be an extremist in everytin dey do...I guess nigeria is heading to only GOD knows in d next 5 to 6yr....tinkin og where to run to sef

They should be beaten to serve as a deterrent to others. Nonsense!!

sweetie said...

Wat nonsense is dis? Dis is totally wrong.it der parents dat pushed dem to dis jst to gain scholarship.govt use dem as a scape goat

APRIL said...

GOD HELP US

Hahahaha! Please give them scholarship. All this hardwork for nothing?

THE MAN said...

WHICH ONE BE, this - ''...copy cats.'' NA ENGLISH BE THAT?

Gbam! They were told to do it, they want to go to Malaysia and sell their their not yet matured kidneys...lol

U just spoke my mind.

lil missi sunshyn said...

oh plzzz whu no wan win scholarship

nawa oooo dey also ra away fvrm home inoda to b given a a scholarssship also

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

Mcheew! And Their parents sent dem

Wat do ui expect wen Daniel Ohikhena dat started it was handsomely rewarded. Watch out wat happens 2 dis ones, maybe their parents will be d ones 2 be rewarded, den parents will start encouraging their children 2 do same

Richiesfx said...

The boy that stays with his Grandma, said he he is just thinking of where to travel, that he is not trying to board the plan that day. He don't have a travel document, and the ticket.

i refuse to agree what the police said.Me think they want to show that they are working.Nija police can lie.

Hmmmmm!Govt can do justice like dey did to Daniel, by sending them abroad to study, not only scholarship dis time.At least they celebrated Daniel for his criminal act why arresting dis ones.pls encourage more dnt discourage.rubbish

9ja teens na bomb......lol