Dangote set to build world’s best 1000-bed capacity hospital in Kano | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 October 2013

Dangote set to build world’s best 1000-bed capacity hospital in Kano

The richest man in Africa Aliko Dangote is set to build the world's best 1000-bed capacity hospital in Kano via his Dangote Foundation. The 1,000 bed capacity ultramodern medical theatre complex will be constructed within the Murtala Muhammad Specialist Hospital in Kano and will cost N2billion to build. It has been named Mariya Sanusi Dantata.

The hospital would comprise of a diagnostic laboratory, 10 operating theatres, 3 intensive care units, patients’ wards and administrative/service rooms for doctors and nurses. On Tuesday October 1st Aliko Dangote explained why he's building the hospital...
“It is not just about building a best in class medical facility in Kano state, it is about fulfilling our commitment to sustainably improving the health and well-being of Nigerians. We believe that every Nigerian has a right to quality healthcare, we also believe that it is our collective duty to rally our resources to improve health infrastructure, support the development of health care professionals and improve preventive health measures in Nigeria,"

136 comments:

Wow...nice one!

Nice for him to invest in his state

All the great things are simple, and many can be expressed in a single word: freedom, justice, honor, duty, mercy, hope. Great decision.

IkwerreBoy said...

Yes this is how you spend the money... but I hope Boko Haram won't disrupt this project sha.

He has always been my mentor well done sir.

To build is not the issue , how about maintenance ?

God bless u as u do so.

This is good news!!!! At Least someone is doing something useful 4 His Country not Flaunting his latest acquisitions like our Immature Artistes. More grease 2 ur Elbow Dangote!!!!.
Mz Beckhy

Dat is if BH will nt bomb d place later any way gd luk to him

Commendable!

Gbaze said...

Hmm that's Nice for them... Keep blasting money when people are dieing... First to Comment Noni

This man is buying this country little by little. very soon we will be enslaved. capitalist system

Thank u very much sir,that's why u will keep on prospering. First to comment

And that's how to spend ur money,I tap into ur kinda blessing so as I can help the society too one day

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Way forward.

Immaculate said...

Commendable but Linda this is old news

awwww! quite thoughtful of him.

Where will he get doctors to man this? Surely, not the jokers we presently have in the country.

Hmmmm another opportunity to kill innocent people. Rubbish

God bless u Sir

A great man indeed

Mekus

A great man indeed.

Mekus

Tumigbe said...

Now that the way to go Aliko. I am proud of you!

Beautiful Oyinye said...

Yes, Boko Haram will need the medical hospital. Jokers!!!!

Dear dangote, igbaliala! Realy, and what a sweet location, kano state, the capacity itself, just perfect, so that when boko haram strikes, there'l b homes for the injured. And no I don't think am being sarcastic, I think 1st erradicate d boko haram threat completely or one day they'l blow up that structure, jx sayin

Ehhhhhh how many bambiala(beggers) wld that accomodate. Good thing its over there in the north where it's much needed considering their rate of poverty and the palarising irony where most president have emerged from the north, yet the rate of Abject poverty is alarming. Roll ma eyes, his and say' good ridance'. So for dangotes mind 1 bloody thousand bed is his idea of worlds best hospital...s..p...a...r...e me jareeee. Abegi! These so called rich and their attention seeking agenda in the Name or pretext of being charitable. Plzzzzz gimme a break.

Good job! God bless hum for his efforts. The government should stay there and allow another person do their job smh shame on our government.

Opeedo said...

Thumbs up you are doing a great work

when you click HERE you'll see the best sex scandal

Where is the 'like' button? I want to like this so bad. Not sure about the location though. Insecurity in the north is a major cause for concern.

With the alarming rate of child rape.. Sorry uh young bride marriage, it is in our best interest to provide nigerians(notherners) with the best health care with up to date tech facilities to match up the worlds elite hospital(india) which is a civic right to every citezen of this united peaceful nation.
I'm barack hussein obama and I approve this message.

Its about Time...

in that boko haram area

Story, waste of resources. building for Boko haram. Anyway they are your people

GOD will continue 2 bless u

Nice....I'll work there when I graduate as a Doctor

At least your family will patronise the hospital

its Good but God won't let those useless animals( book haram) to destroy it.

B4 u know it now...boko haram wil bomb the place...hmm, that. name gives me sleepless nights

BH please don't bomb it after completion oooo

Ammy said...

Weldone sir,oh Allah also make me very wealthy and influential so I can b of help 2d oda pole nd d country @ large. Amin

Good gesture Mr Aliko Dangote, we need more of these in other region of the country because with the current state of things in north nobody would like to go there for treatment. So we need more kind hearted nigerians to build same capacity and structure in west and east. God Bless us Nigerians *ThatFunctionGuy*

This is what am talking about. God bless you Dangote but do not forget to make it "affordable".

good job aliko keep it up. Where are those musicians who buys exotic car. Abeg linda post my comment

He will build it in Kano and then BH will pull it down. If I were him I will advise myself and build it in the south where it will be appreciated. Who will work there for Kano joker

Good thinking Aliko Dangote but this would have been much better and useful in Abuja or Lagos. Still its a good gesture others should emulate.

Let em start building.

Good news! He is such a noble man

Interestn, a welcome Idea, keep d good work brother, and May Allah grant u d energy to fulfil it.

A man wu want grt changes for nigeria nt d greedy ones wu looted our moni and buy private jet of 2billion naira . D moni their generation have neva wrked 4,(ex militant), d same amt he'll use 2 build d hospital. God will continue 2 bless u dangote!!! Amin

Dangote will soon take over nigeria oo.good stuff mehn!good stuff!!!

Bettyblue said...

Money making things. Gud for u Dangote

I respect this man a lot, God continue to bless you and provide for you

That's's really great...at least by the time I'm done with med school,the hospital would have been completely built,and I'll get to WORK der*BIG GRIN*.....but kano shaaaaa.....Till that time though*lol

Dangote God bless u oo...pls do wat the govt has not done for the past 53yrs. Cuz its dis responsibility to provide all these. But at the end wat will b d use of that big hospital when dey r no qualified or educated medical personel...#AsuuStrike.

lakes said...

more of such gestures.....2bn cn go a long way in improving d quality of life of a whole lot of people......

Thanks Dangote omo Dantata ni ilu Kano!

lakes said...

......if only every rich nigerian clould make half tht effort

Kudos sir,may Allah reward u

Good idea bt I no support Kano Boko Haram will bomb d place ohhh pls telll him linda pls bring it to my state

We don't want too much beds all we want is gud health facilities.

human being said...

God bless you baba

well this is some good and welcomed news. The only question to be asked is; who will work there. with all these insurgency, it will be a tough sell to get doctors from around Nigeria to work there. I hope it will not be a wasted investment.

MAY THE ALMIGHTY GOD KEEP BLESSING U ALIKO DANGOTE,AMEN !!!

vip said...

Not only he is adding to the health care system in the country he is also creating massive job opportunity for the people ....he's such a role model.

Wow!! This man wants to take over!!!

About time !! Bill Gates, Warren Buffet already do so much faith their wealth especially, for Africans. It is about time an African did same for their own people.

Too much money

A great contribution to our society.. The question is if, after completion, it would be used to benefit the less previleged nigerians as stated..ish

Hope its " bomb proof" ...... 2thpick

DR KHENINE said...

Pls don't build it in any state accessible to boko haram

That would be awesome, pls let's hav other rich dudes do same.....

I love dis man, God bless u @ list we ar seeing wat ur money is doin. More grace tanx

skimpy. said...

Mallam Dangote, God bless u. Naija artists abeg mak una try learn frm dis old man o bcos una own no pass bling bling and motor. I rest my case

dyzle said...

nw dats wat I kal givin back to d society nice one alhaji

Onyi said...

I tap frm ur blessings Dangote

Linda That aluu 4 guys tribute is today is like u forgot 1year today.

well thought out Dangote, at least we don't have to travel out anymore for medical treatment anymore

I am shocked that I am seeing hateful comments towards this good gesture, it seems Nigeria's problem is the Nigerians themselves. Anyway in other matters, dangote might soon buy up this country, he already has 10% of the nation's gdp.

All you idiots praising him, has he told you its for free? Mtschew.....ignoramuses. RME

OliviaSilk said...

I luv d effort tho buh m jst imagining hausa doctors n nurses dat will b working der..... 1000 z nt enof for all d sick n paralysed pple in Kano alone.. Poverty stricken state.

Anon 10 50, der is sumtin wromg wit u,, y did u mention lagos, so dat 1 day fani kayode will ask him 2 leave, dat lagos is nt his father land, good work aliko, let everybody build in his home state,.

I have always respected Mr. Dangote. He has done well for himself and his country.

However, I think the N2billion amount must be a typo, perhaps, $2billion. N2billion is hardly enough to do a meaningful renovation to an existing hospital and definitely insufficient to last up to ground-breaking for a significant hospital project anywhere. If you do a Google search for hospital construction cost, you will find that 300 bed hospitals are being constructed at the cost of $900million or more.

Well done. God will bless you. For every dime you invest in the lives of common men, may he grant you a 10k fold return. Very soon those imbeciles called leaders in the south will start heading to Kano to treat their complicated veneral diseases, AIDs and incurable hepatitis. Useless imbeciles called leaders. Nonsense.

Igbos should learn from this and stop 'developing' other people land!

One is too small. He should make it 4 so it can go around the geopolitical zones

BTW, N2billion is no more than sixteen million dollars ($16million). There is this hospital in San Antonio, TX, where Linda stayed not long ago that is undertaking an $899 million capital improvement to an existing hospital (see here http://www.universityhealthsystem.com/our-vision).

In any case, it is high time that Nigerians stopped what has come to be known as medical tourism. If we apply ourselves, we can build the civilization at home that we pursue outside Nigeria.

We just need a culture change - a different way of thinking. It is possible to have a university system that is comparable to the best universities anywhere in the world - we just need to be determined to do it. We are capable of manufacturing products that compare to those made in America; we just need to be determined to do it. Yes, we can and we can build a credible healthcare system and stop looking stupid chasing healthcare services all over the world. Much gratitude to Mr. Dangote.

A hospital is like a hotel. It is a hospital based on the staff especially. With the north difficult to live in, will it attract doctors. Unless they will all be northerners, which I don't think they are many doctors...might be wrong.

TWITS said...

Kinda sorry placin my remark here, but Lin u too like superlatives! Best, largest, biggest, latest!! Ah ah...Since when has "best-in-class" become "world's best" like u put it. Naaaa#just asking#*smh*

In kano??? Don't think its a gud idea. But serious, dis man is contributing to every sector in nigeria, he makes our government look poor. Shame on the federal govt n gej :P

And why build it in kano? Okay...... I get d gist, so as to enable boko haram get up to a thousand target @ a time

In so far as na north e dey, na waste! First of all them go use tribalism pick most of the staff, who in turn go use truancy and chua, chua mess up the reputation of the hospital. Then if riot start, him enemies go just send some illiterate boys high on hard drugs to go burn am down! That's just the circle of life in the north.

Abeg make him build am for all state he has the money

Ony said...

very commendable

May God reward u on all de gud tins u ar doing,pple are complaining of de developmt he brings to his state,person dat is not using gov't moni,if anybody think is not fair'if u hv urs go to ur state n spend ur moni,bad belle.

Wtf is wrong with you?
How is "to build" not the issue? How many world class medical facilities do we have in this country? It is true that Nigeria has zero-maintenance culture, but yes, to build IS the issue!

World best hospital? I hear u,in naija abi,I give it 3yrs,u will knw,buh I pray he's successful sha o,and Boko will nt reach there too o

Dangote is my Hero mehhhn! God bless you sir! So the cost of building a nice hospital is 2 Billion, money those bastards are using to throw parties in Abuja! God will punish looters!

What a senseless comment. Are all the doctors in this country jokers?

e bonto said...

Hmmmm! If only we have like 10or 20people like Dangote,thinking in his direction,nigeria will b a better place 2 live. God bless Dangote.

Where should he build it? In your village or in front of your fathers house?? Or in Abuja or Lagos where they already have everything. Puhllleezzzz enough with the negativity already.

Why Kano? This guy makes 70% of his money from south west and south east. He will build in Kano where the Majority northerners are still ignorant and refuse to take adequate medical care.

He should give back to the appropriate society. Anyways..Still good work.!

See as Naija people mumu reach. BH will not touch his hospital. That hospital will be filled with Eastern doctors because the ones in the East are rotting. Our wealthy men are too interested in chasing skirts and building 3-4 mansions of nothingness. Abeg Kudos to Dangote. He is fixing the problem of poverty in the North. The DELSU hospital is helping the South South. The SW is living on past glory of UI Teaching Hospital and OAU them and looking to Fashola and that Osun man for restoration of glory. Easterners...what are we doing? Nothing, just always attacking everyone else and playing the victim card. Our talented doctors and professionals are going abroad and not coming back (you think they want to come back and become Kidnappers and Armed Robbers meal ticket). Make we dey dia and pant will be wearing us.

For all those posting negative comments, this is to you; we cannot let the ongoing unrest in the nothern regions stifle our development as a whole. Because this would lead to even more ecomonical backwardness. There is no society that is completely free from crisis but this does not stop them from growing. Any form of infrastructural development is a wellcome development.

Sane Mind said...

Dr. mike adenuga,oba otudeko,bola tinubu,subomi balogun,deji adeleke,ifeanyi uba,jimoh ibrahim,deinde fernadez..and the list goes on,hope you guys are learning a lesson from a wise humble man(dangote)...

Nothing like boko haram coming near his structure. These ppl ar pals

Naija babe said...

Why waste money setting up a 1000-bed capacity hospital? Why not invest in upgrading already existing government hospitals? We know hw these woks now, In a few years time, dey wont me able to run/maintain d hospital, den it will become one of many abandoned government projects. eg, those towers around d passport office in Ikoyi.

Hello hater!.. he is building a medical center to save lives.....

This man will not finish one project before moving to another? Abeg make we hear word last month same man promise to invest 400 million usd in Kenya 4months ago he promise to do same in Tanzania. Then promise Nigerians Refinery that will cost him 9billion usd. Name him don come again why can't he just go ahead and do cos talk his cheap. Same man tha promise zambia to build a cement factory going to 4years now.

With the number of people ur trucks kill on weekly basis, am sure u have enof money 2 build even all states. Dangote is part of our problems in this country. Repent from ur blood money things.

If this man was to be our finance minister or CBN governor, God knws where we'll be

U people keep praising Dangote..... well maybe u don't know, only him has d license to important major needs in naija.... he pays government outrageous amount of money every now and then, am not saying building hospital is bad but come think of it, this same man offered to rebuild our refinery! what do u guys think his doing. His a fucking business man...with the government behind him. I rest my case

Abeg dangote u fit build that hospital somewhere else. Boko haram is still on the loose oh. Make them no target ur good work finish all the patients and medical professionals there oh. I'm not trying to be negative but use ur wise mind here to avoid future disaster.

Dangote is just one of the greatest men our country has ever had.

OH MY GOD, MONEY MAKING MEDIUM MADE EASY. AS THE SAYING GOES THAT IF YOUR FRIEND IS MAKING IT AND YOU ARE NOT, IT MEANS HE PROBABLY KNOWS SOMETHING THAT YOU DON'T KNOW.CLICKING THIS LINK MAKES YOU STAND OUT AMONGST YOUR PEERS. http://Fun4Days.com/sms/sms.php?share=201372

MAY GOD HELP HIM WITH IT IN JESUS NAME,AMEN

Its nice of him but its not abt building hospital its abt making it accessible to people d poor and d needy and also abt developing a fully functional health care system. But den again he's made his contribution lets pray others follow suit and dat d govt sits up ASAP

I'm disgusted! There's no pleasing Nigerians!

He did it late after gathering all dat money dat his 10th generation cant finish.hw many contract does he hold in Niger dat he couldnt do dat since.Aunty linda are we quareling dat u cant post my comment
.....Miss Nomic

momoh's gist said...

Dangote is too much, well done

Maybe Mr. Dangote's suggesting the terrorism in the North cld stop with more resources there. BH members won't blow up the hospital if it employs them or if they built it. Community buy-in to stop the madness.

Hope it won't be most expensive hospital in d world

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Dangote..
Me likey..
Wish one day to win this rich man's legal representation..
I don hammer!

Make the money from South/West and develop the North with it.. Now, that's TRUE patriotism!

If he makes Boko Haram d security,maybe they won't kill d dream!

What a retarded comment. You should hide your face in shame!

TruelyTopaz said...

good one dangote; the cost of medical bills nko? is this for the masses or elite?

Just Me said...

What took him so long!!!

If FGN wants to build this same hospital .........its gonna cost 20billion N and wldn't be completed till 2020

If FGN wants to build this same hospital its gonna cost 20bilion N and wld still under constructio in 2020

U seee,God blss u Bro

U 2 much.... Go on charity begins at home.

No our money wey dem keep 4 him hand. If u like do am if u no like no do am

well done, but why not go to already existing hospitals and clinics and help make them more functioning. supply needed infrastructures and equipments. pay staffs, employ excellent staffs(docs, nurses etc..)better to have few reliable hospitals than bunch of..
had a friend, back in d days..got admitted into medical school in Lagos, started classes for a couple of weeks and had to quit. i asked her why? and her reason was that, those students are not being thought well and to her it as just like they where there playing and wasting their time and also lack of modern equipments and other factors. so she told her mum, if she could not be sent out of the country to study medicine, she should forget about that option for her and she went with her other admission into the university.
Another one got a bsc in nigeria, now she is in medical school in ghana.
moral of the story- education in nigeria has declined and as "delicate" as medicine is you cant and should not afford to produce wrong doctors.
imagine Osun state governor sending students to some european country to study medicine. #pathetic

Didi said...

Over to u Mrs Alakija..... We dey wait......

P.s still can't get over d fact that she's rich in oil that her village does not hv and no Ibo woman or even man from d oil producing states can even near her wealth....??
Na waco

Mere losers like u talk trash