Deputy Governor of Lagos State Mrs Sarah Sosan is also the Commissioner for Education, Lagos State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 23 March 2011

Deputy Governor of Lagos State Mrs Sarah Sosan is also the Commissioner for Education, Lagos State

Watching the live broadcast of the Governorship debate on LTV and Gov. Fashola is being criticized by other candidates of not taking the education sector seriously, otherwise why is there no commissioner for education in Lagos State?

I love Fashola and I think he's done well for Lagos State, but how can a deputy Governor of a state have time to also be a commissioner? How does that work?

21 comments:

Adebola said...

What qualifies her to be the commissioner for Education?? Ams sure there are other credible candidates.
I take 'there is no Commissioner for Education', he had to cover himself.
Its 2011, we are not Joking, Nigerians are going to start asking questions, we must make our Politicians accountable. Vote wisely People!!!

Surprise said...

Deputy Gov. are usually functioning in the capacity that the gov. want them to function. If BRF put the port-folio of educaation ministry under his deputy, then it shows the importance the gov. attached to the ministry.

http://www.surprisebaba.blogspot.com/husbands for sale.

Wild Boy said...

Well she did a damn good job with Lagos educational sector, whooping everybody's asses into line. Making sure lagos students stay outta the streets, track their academic records, develop/review their curriculum, reined in international support. Dat's why they hate her so much and instigated BRF to drop her. She has issues though but she's not as bad as they paint her.

MissNikie said...

is she getting paid for two postions too, just curious...since both job have different description, hey nothing wrong in asking we know anything is possible in nigeria.

His excellency must be appreciated for delegating responsibiliting to his dep, others wont but they will rather have them idle so that they wont have any political or economic relevance/ ambition beyond that of their present office.
In some states we hear more of the first lady's name to that of the state's dep,pls tell me ,what constitutional role is there for the wife of the gov?
In all fairness, i think she did performed wonderfully well with that ministry via improved working condition of the staff atleast i know of BRAND NEW cars given to the secondary school's PRINCIPALS as official car, pls ask the school principals and teachers if theyve had it this good in the past.
May i also bring it to your notice that Lagos state is one of the few (if any) in the country that her secondary and primary school staff did not downed tools in the last 4 yrs.
I was born in this lagos and have lived all my life in this lagos , i know what it was before and i know what it is now(apology to Dagrin)...fine we deserve more but understandably we all know Rome was not built in a day,we are not there yet but obviously with his good intentions and his charisma, we are sure moving in the right direction. i just wish that his efforts can be complimented by the FG only if they will stop playing politics with the welfare of the people.

LINDA...Stop your campaign agaist ACN, it is not going to work, i understand that your mum is one of the women leader in PDP,that does not give you the gut to critisise Fashola...but i still love you!!lol!!

ola said...

she is a teacher by qualification

The woman is a seasoned educationist. She played her role as the commissioner for education. u will all observed the renonvation works going on in most dilapidated schools + the schools bags, textbooks etc distributed to all public school students. Even in the area of discipline in public schools, the woman tried. we are humans and as such we are not perfect.

na wah for this world o....linda talk about GEJ....people will say she's be paid by ACN. she talk about Sosan....u talk say she's PDP agent...how the hell can you satisfy this world o...

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon 10;14...abi? i don tire...lol

@anon 8:32...me campaign against ACN? hmmm, i just asked a question. i'm a huge Fashola supporter o...

Chilling said...

Anon March 24, 2011 8:32 AM: Really, is Linda campaigning against the ACN? Prove it please! So what if her mum is a PDP leader? She is an adult and can support whoever she likes and did you not read a previous post where she said she doesn't know who to vote for but she'll definitely not vote for the PDP.

Moving on: what work do Deputies do anyway? They have too much time on their hands so give them roles to get them off their backsides. Wasn't the OBJ Minister of Petroleum at one time (or was it UMY?) I wonder if she will retain the role when she is dropped as Deputy Governor in the next dispensation. If she has done well, why not? (subject to Asiwaju’s approval of course)

Linda, in all honesty, the woman has done well. She's a seasoned educationist and she' s done good. ( I can say that because I hve a cousin in a public secondary school). I suppose flog sef; so na yesterday u just dey know say she be the education commisioner? where u dey since? If to say I give u exam for Tuesday make u tell me the commissioner for education in Lagos State, na so u for fail am? Olodo! Olori lanko lanko!

Leo said...

But this is a stale news...since the inception of their administration four years ago & moreover it is not a new thing; Obasanjo as the president between 1999 & 2007 was also the Petroleum Minister, Jonathan as the President is the Minister for Power....remember Sarah Sosan is a teacher.

Amebo1 said...

Linda, have not heard that Mrs Sosan will not be Fashola's deputy in the next election? That is more important that what you are on about.

Sosan will be replaced by a female commissioner that has a lot of English problems like the Dame Pat. Se Eko oni baje? Sosan should drag ACN to court.

Shakara said...

Amebo1- Sosan should drag ACN to court? You are joking right? Rather you mean BAT because he’s ACN. It was an inside arrangement and he sacked her for being disloyal to him and loyal to BRF. She has taken the sacking in good faith. Good thing, because she said it’s not do or die. Obviously, the new Deputy Governor is his stooge. She will be there to check on BRF and will send a report card to her boss. Lucky woman, from Local Government official to Commissioner to Deputy Governor with her bad English. I wonder what other favours she renders to Tinubu!!!!!!!!!!!

yhurmie said...

It is worrisome that we are a nation that is fast to screech, choose wisely and vote the right candidate, yet even 'educated' people never make the effort to research to know enough about pertinent issues in the state and the respective campaign strategies employed by all parties.

If we REALLY want to make this election process count, the bandwagon mentality expressed by the majority has to be binned.

What does it take to google the feasibility of Sosan holding a dual role in the Lagos state cabinet as being claimed instead of immediately jumping on the band wagon of "she is Deputy Governor and therefore cannot also be Commissioner of Education"

5 minutes research people(hint: google news is free), that's all it takes for you to know for yourself that Sosan indeed holds that portfolio and has done a remarkable job in the educational sector of the state.

Learn to ask questions and form opinions based on the research you have conducted for yourself... Mental laziness is a killer o!

LINDA...I was just pulling your legs,i wanted to make sure that Jonathan biscuit you eat has not changed your stand....good to hear you are still with Fashola...good girl!!!!

HEDG did a damn good job in the education sector. She is also a silent worker. I learn she was from SUBEB (seasoned teacher etc) You need to go visit some of these schools to see what she did. Apart from renovating a large % of dilapidated schools, she also sourced funds out of the ministry/govt to put up functional state of the arts libraries / media centers in most. You need to see the faces of the kids light up when they walk into the libraries. Pray God will give her the heart to continue to give her all to LASG education sector, even out of service. She also doesn't take bribes in any form!!!! Qudus to that

No be the same woman when dey direct all them D'Banj videos? No be me talk am o lol...

Its not unusual..same in the western world to hold 2 portfolios in office.

Amebo1 said...

@Shakara, thanks for the information. She cannot successfully sue BAT because he will deny it due to lack of evidence.

It is better to sue the party she belongs to. It was a collective decision to push her out.

As you said, she took it in good faith so there is no point in going to court.