Good news as first sickle cell patient gets cured with gene therapy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 7 March 2017

Good news as first sickle cell patient gets cured with gene therapy

This is indeed good news for the world and especially for those living with sickle cell anaemia. A 13-year-old has been cured of sickle cell anemia with the aid of gene therapy which allowed complete remission of clinical symptoms of disease and correction of biological signs. Gene therapy is the introduction of normal genes into cells in place of defective or missing genes in order to correct genetic disorders.
According to the result of a study published in the New England Journal of Medicine, when the gene therapy is fully deployed, the patient would no longer have to battle the complications and pain resulting from the disease.

A team led by Pr. Marina Cavazzana in collaboration with Dr. Philippe Leboulch in October 2014 carried out gene therapy in the context of a phase I clinical trial/II in a 13-year-old patient with severe sickle cell disease. In September, scientists reported that gene therapy for sickle cell disease passed key preclinical test.

20 comments:

This very one goes out to all those who wish to money online

=Do you seek a chance to give your life a turn-around?!"
=Are you highly passionate and hardworking?!"
=ITS YOUR CHANCE?!"

This is what you've been searching and waiting for all along! To be part of this mind blowing experience,this work for all countries,you can also chat with them any time to know how to]\4]invest with them.simply check it out.
m c d a v e f u n d s . c o m

Wow!

Wow great news indeed

Yayyy....finally

Good news

Thank God

Good to hear

Please how can we get to them

Real good news

Please how can we get to dem, am so overwhelmed

This is fantastic news and in myblife time i thank God that we now have a solution.. How can we make this treatment cheap for common man

@Ifeoma, cure was discovered in France so therefore, they reside in France. Look up the internet for further answers

Chukwumezie Immaculate said...

Gene therapy final works on sickle cell. God is great

Best news ever!

Love said...

Thanks to God

WOW

Why are some Naijas ever so ready to look for foreign solutions to local challenges, like sickle cell, malaria & others? Upon all the best medical doctors, researchers, scientists, plus babalawos ati juju why have there not been verifiable, proven and viable remedies/interventions to these innumerable local challenges? Even more, what is stopping Naijas from all walks of life demanding more resources from their leaders & relevant budgets for sustained research into finding these types of cures? Yet, nah to heap mountains of empty prayers when the cure has been found elsewhere. Una mumu neva do? QED@atm