Transwomen are transwomen..' - Chimamanda Adichie says in new interview and Nigerians react! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 11 March 2017

Transwomen are transwomen..' - Chimamanda Adichie says in new interview and Nigerians react!

In an interview with UK's Channel 4 to promote her new book, 'Dear Ijeawele Or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, famed Nigerian author Chimamanda Adichie shared her thoughts on Trans-woman, saying trans-women are trans-women, and it's not fair that people who had previously enjoyed the privileges that comes with living as a man now what to compare their experiences with people have lived all their lives as women
"I think the whole problem of gender in the world is about our experiences. It's not about how we wear our hair or whether we have a vagina or a penis. It's about the way the world treats us. And I think if you've lived in the world as a man with the privileges that the world accords to men and then sort of change gender, it's difficult for me to accept that then we can equate your experience with the experience of a woman who has lived from the beginning as a woman" - Watch the video and people's reactions after the cut...

28 comments:

Rollup.com.ng is celebrity 10 back to back winning best prediction site rollup.com.ng and also you can get your free bet code on rollu.com.ng. stop lose and join the winning team.....

Thank u. Just cos u now live as a woman doesn't make u a woman!!!

I'm 100% with her on dis....

OK

Nneka said...

Trans woman is trans woman. They can't menstrate they can't give birth. There is so much difference. They are in fact half a woman

Love me some chimamanda

https://bitzilla.io/?ref=sheddy

Tayo said...

Transwomen are males... born males pretending to be women.
Get a Bigger Penis Using Penis Exercises That Works at www.PenisEnlargementGym.com

Chinedu said...

She's right... I don't know how people who are against her comment understand it... Just because you act and dress like a woman does not make you a woman and vise visa....

Sister you are correct.

Feminist not my business....

Me too. And later I get asked why I'm her biggest fan. My Chimamanda ----C21

Bruce Jenner aka Caitlyn, pls take note!!! Lol

Long live LIB

You are wrong. Trans- woman is not a woman .trans-woman is a sex toy . let world know the full meaning of transwoman. (Sex toy)..........anike

Bruce Jenner abi catylin jenner comes to mind

This is not for ma and my generation, therefore, I jump and pass!!!

yettiebetty said...

I tire oo how does this simple, straight forward and truthful opinion means she isnt FEMINIST?

Hian... dee

The truth about it all is that the world is already transphobic in nature, sexism/ mysogeny is what I call hatred or prejudice against women, but transphobia is that experienced by transman/woman. Cisgender and transgenders have their gulf like female and males have theirs in a stereotype world. We shouldn't confuse it. Chimamanda was on point. Someone who has been a male for years with all the "privileges" of being a male who transitioned into a transwoman should not see his own stereotype as anti-feminist.

The Aficionado

Lord Socrates said...

Very correct

She is 100% right

I'm a gay man and I agree with Chimamanda. Trans people need to take their issues elsewhere.

They just piggy back on everybody's issues and cause confusion.

She's not saying Trans people don't have their own issues, but that it is not the same as those born biologically as women.

Truth is a trans women are their own specific gender, just as gay men are their own sexuality. As a gay man, I can't advice straight men in marital issues as if I'm a professional.

tayo said...

For the first time,chimamanda is talking sense....bravo!

I concur with chimamanda pls let's tell ourself the truth, transwomen are simply transwomen, we share nothing in common, apart from the physical attributes they bought for themselves.

optimisticlady said...

I luuuuuurrrv Chimamanda!
I'm as opinionated as she is.

Spot on TRUTH Chimamanda

Vic said...

I've always felt the same way about this issue of transgenders... She's right... However, a lot of people still seem to misunderstand her statement. Transgenders should be left to be in their own end and allowed to make their own choices. However, as she said the issue of a transgender should not be placed in the same box/manner with that of a male/female.

Yasir said...

The danger of a single story, Linda at least publish miss saHHara 's response to make the story balanced

But this is an undiluted TRUTH. KUDOS TO AMANDA