Ministry of Foreign Affairs to investigate claims of some Nigerians being denied entry into the US despite valid visas | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 March 2017

Ministry of Foreign Affairs to investigate claims of some Nigerians being denied entry into the US despite valid visas

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama who had earlier denied reports of Nigerians being denied entry into the US despite having valid visas, yesterday tweeted that the Federal government will begin investigations into claims of entry denial made by some Nigerians with valid US Visas. Onyeama stated this in a tweet he shared but has since deleted. The tweet reads.

"Nigeria is not on US travel ban; so, we are investigating airport maltreatment and entry denial reports from some Nigerians with valid visas".
 See a screenshot of the tweet below.

18 comments:

I need to remind Onyeama about one thing. It is not the policy of South Africa to kill and maim Nigerians but they do. Before you investigate United States go and investigate South Africa first. You will have better luck over there. Good luck to u.

Immaculate said...

I said it earlier that onyeama is just playing politics by countering Abikes claim that Nigeria were been deported from US.

Lol.
Abike don hold dis one 4 blocose.

Immaculate said...

I said it earlier that onyeama is just playing politics by countering Abikes claim that Nigeria were been deported from US.

MOFA is a confused man.

His office is surrounded by women. Elderly Igbo women. He has like 100 personal assistants. Light skinned,dark skinned, midlife, ... It's like Onitsha main market in there or Ogbete market. They look like angry gladiators. How can the man focus on his job. Too much ofe onugbu and okpa can confuse somebody if the women are competing with each other and everyone else for this fine older man.
Oga minister, take a break and actually do your job. Don't be a woman wrapper. Buhari is back oooo.
His best act so far is to appoint and faya and appoint another person and faya again. Osibanjo and Abike just showed Nigeria how work is done. Abike has been doing this since her days on Television and Osibanjo is a very practical man.

Invite those rejected. Make sure it is resolved. Get a log of travellers and those denied. Create a fantastic legacy of helping Nigerians instead of dismissing their claims.
Fold your shirts, weae that UGG boots and hit the runway. Time to work .
The estrogen in your office is too much. Or siddon there and be speaking English.

It is about time Nigerian government hold American government responsible for treating every Nigerian like a criminal. Nigeria government should tell American government to stop searching Nigerians phones at immigration or Nigeria will do the same to Americans who come to Nigeria especially the oyinbo ones. When Nigerian immigration start frustrating Americans who come to Nigeria,things will change.

Well very soon even d politicians that loot our money will be denied entering US let be wash an see

Apaookagi said...

This is what you get,when you're not in charge. Abike is grassroot,Onyeama is office boss that does not get street happenings.

years before Donald Trump's policies, people were being sent back where they arrived with insufficient funds or if the reasons given during visa interviews become different from what is given on arrival. Visas are privileges and not rights and many reasons could give rise to a denial of entry even though a person has arrived the destination of any country.

The trending thing now is to have babies in the USA and many get their visas for tourism, then want to go have babies without medical insurance and with funds not even enough for a week's stay in the USA. There are millions of Dollars of unpaid medical bills racked up by these medical tourists, these are the reason people are getting turned back. Not less than one thousand Nigerians enter the US daily, the few turned back or complaining must have erred in some way.

Where you are fully compliant to the rules, Nigeria is not among the countries listed banned, you should proceed with your trip.

My name: Chika

The Bible said it all. It says the heart of men is evil. NO matter what the policy is, man do what they want to do sometimes regardless of the policy or its consequence. Onyeama u need to learn what is going on in the world. It seems that u do not know.

SunShyne said...

MOFA is clueless...

HMM

Idiot what happen to Nigerian being killed in South Africa?

citee said...

Chika has said it all. Having a valid visa is not enough reason to be granted entry into a country. The onus is on the visa holder to satisfy the officers at the point of entry.

Rosie Said........Anonymous 16:19 you are hilarious!

You are very correct.It will be very hard for CBP to turn travellers back with no genuine reason I read that man's story it did not add up, thousands of Nigerians enter daily.