Photos: 52-year-old Filipino widow loses millions to Nigerian fraudsters in Malaysia, five arrested | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 March 2017

Photos: 52-year-old Filipino widow loses millions to Nigerian fraudsters in Malaysia, five arrested

A Malaysia-based Nigerian man identified as Ogba Peter Amawhe, posed as an American in an oil-related business in Malaysia and duped a 52-year-old widow of P30 millions.
The victim, Loida (not her real name) met “Stephen Desmond Nelson” in an online dating site in March 2016. He told Loida that he was an American based in Chicago.

The two continued their online liaison until the relationship became romantic. Nelson soon convinced Loida, based on Guimaras Island, to partner in an expansion venture in the Philippines.
The venture would require capitalization amounting to P500 million which he promised to deposit in Loida’s bank accounts.
Loida gave him details of her six bank accounts including that of her automated teller machine cards which had total deposits reaching about P10 million, mostly joint earnings with her deceased British husband.
When Loida followed up the transfer of funds, Nelson told her to send P260,000 to Malaysia to cover processing and other expenses.
After two months and upon Loida’s prodding, Nelson told her he was having difficulties transferring the funds and had hired an agency to facilitate the transaction. But he again asked Loida to send a total of P7 million to defray the expenses.
This was again repeated several times and in January, until Loida discovered that her six bank accounts were almost empty.
Since they met in March last year, Loida sent about P20 million through money transfer companies. These didn’t include the P10 million that was withdrawn from her account.
She sold or pawned two vehicles, a resort, boarding houses in Mindanao and Manila and other properties so she could send money to Malaysia.
Realizing that she was duped, she sought the help of the National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) in Western Visayas.
The NBI agents subsequently set three entrapment operations at a shopping mall here last week for five persons allegedly sent by Nelson to receive another P8 million from Loida.
The NBI first arrested Filipino Rosalyn Ibarra on Feb. 21 and then Malaysian nationals Sitti Faridah Binti Abdul Hamid and Ishamah Binti Sheck Dawood, and Nigerian national Francis Onyebuchi Amadi in the second operation on Feb. 23. Amadi is the common-law husband of Ibarra. Also on Feb. 23, NBI agents arrested Nigerian national Chukwudi Ugwu.
They have been detained at the NBI regional office as complaint of syndicated estafa in relation to the Cybercrime Prevention Act has been filed against them at the Iloilo City Prosecutor’s Office.
Those arrested could be part of an international syndicate engaged in fraud in which they met potential victims online and enticed them to invest in fictitious businesses, said NBI agent John Katipunan.
The NBI also believes that Nelson, who looked Caucasian in his online photo, is actually Malaysia-based Nigerian national Ogba Peter Amawhe.
Nelson (Amawhe) sent the five persons to personally collect the P8 million from Loida after money transfer companies refused to allow her to send more money because of the significant amount she had already sent.
"Their activities were compartmentalized. They were unaware that there were other persons sent to meet with Loida. That’s why they did not know that we already arrested them,"  he said.
Amadi and Ugwu denied the allegations.
"I came here to be with my wife. I did not know why she came here," Amadi told the INQUIRER at the NBI detention cell.
Ugwu said he was doing a favor to a fellow Nigerian who told him to get the money from Loida.
"I did not know that there was anything illegal with what I would be doing. Please help us," he said. 
Photos of the arrested suspects below...

24 comments:

VEEKEE FRESH said...

Hmmmm.... Dis is serious

Sarah said...

Too bad

SEE HOW THIS MAN HANDLED A LADY IN A CHURCH(VIDEO)

Why do we go out there to give Nigeria a bad image ehn? This is pathetic. Stealing from a widow. Hmmn.

Sarah said...

Eeyah

SEE HOW THIS MAN HANDLED A LADY IN A CHURCH(VIDEO)

obiora said...

Why won't America send us back even with valid visas. The name Nigeria is synonymous with crime. I weep for my country!

Nigerians and their penchant for crime and quick money is unrivalled globally

Haba! I was Wondering weda Igbo man no follow..lol

Criminals, kill them. They are all part of the game.

Quincy rex said...

Free my hommies dem!! Ngbada must pay..

These our boys in Malaysia and Thailand, enh. God deliver us from them. I have to change my name on my American passport, honestly.

hahaha

ngfineface said...

My husband asked me why I had to always go for visa when coming to Nigeria instead if using Naija passport since I have a dual citizenship, I jejely told him am always ashamed of Naija passport at the airport. The perception is always bad

Lol you can't change your Country of origin.

I tire my dear

2 bad, very greedy, he wanted 2 wreck d woman till death. They neva stop, even after several millions, he kept asking 4 more, thank God he got caught in d process

Ibo people!!!!! Criminal blood. That's why they won't be nigerian president

Before being nigerian... They are igbos first... Be corrected

She got selfish. Wants to get more online

My fellow Nigerians this is Ogba Peter Amawhe (AKBAR) 100S of people comment on this page based on the information provided... By the way have you guys manage to ask the media if they have investigated on this issues before posting my photos on here? I guess not...  Such is life... Everybody on the list or photos above are innocent of the allegation/crime. Myself and the 2 Malaysians have no strings attached to the crime. The Philippines NBI are full of shit. They did not carry out full investigation before they jump into conclusions. 

On 15th of February Mr. Stephen Desmond place an order to purchase hand made carpet through my USA company. One of my directors Dr. Frederic Moscow II follow up with the inquiry and close the deal. Fred called me up and forward the orders to me. An invoice was issued for payment direct to my company account in Malaysia. Mr. Stephen Claimed the banks are not letting his wife  transfer the funds to Malaysia. So I did provide him with 4 account from the below listed countries... 
Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong and the United States

All account are set up in my company name. Do you guys think I would provide bank accounts registered in my name for some cheap love scam? However, Mr. Stephen insisted he can't transfer the funds out of the country. As you may understand, every business man will try their best on customers satisfaction etc. Mr. Stephen ask if I could provide an account in the Philippines. I did called up to a money exchange company and explain the situation, they accept to receive the funds and pay the equivalent in Malaysia Riggit.
 I forward the money changer account to Mr. Stephen. Then he come up with another suggestion saying his wife is in her late 60s and she might not be able to move such funds to the money change bla bla bla. Mr. Stephen insisted he needed someone to accompany the wife to the bank or money changer. In this regard I appointed my staff Me. Siti Faridah and the mother to visit Mr. Stephens wife and accompany her to the bank etc. I sent a copy of the appointment delegates passport to Mr. Stephen to book their air-ticket
Mr. Stephen Purchased the ticket and email the ticket over to me on the 23 of February 2017

Ms. Siti Faridah and the mother left for the Philippines as scheduled. On 24tb February, 2017 I received a call from Ms siti and the mother; saying they have received the cash 5 million pesos USD 99,600.00  but it's to late to head to the bank/ money changer etc. 
I ask them to put up in a 5 star hotel till the next day. The next day no response from them I call to siti family to find out if they have returned. No news from both side. So I got on the flight to their city Johor Baru on reaching JB Ms siti younger brother accompany  me to the police station for a police report. Guys, do you think I would have approached the police station if I sent Ms siti over for some scam mission?

On 27th of February 2017 was the first time I called Mr Stephen to have his wife make a police report as the appointed delegates are missing. At this junction I noticed I was talking to a nigerian OMG. He responded saying his wife has pass the cash to my staff end of story. 

On the first of February I received a call from my singapore office that my photo name was on the headline news. That sounds funny but it's the fact.

Nevertheless, I get my company lawyer to fly to the Philippines.

I provided all the proof of my dealings with Mr. Steohen from the 15th of February till the first and last call to Mr. Stepben on the 27th February 2017. I have Maxis phone services pdividdd/ telecommunications company print out my statement both voice SMS and call list. I also Providd the emails, bank accounts  etc. 

I will have all posted on here shortly... Apparently, with the help of the Nigerian community in Malaysia. I was able to get the mastermind who took 42 million from the Philippines old lady. His name: Sunday Jereniah.

If you are interested in a more detailed story with all proof, kindly provide your email.

My people ona for just make me ona president at list I go fit provided ona with only constant light/ electricity. Hahahaha make ona continue with ona guessing and posting. God bless you all.

Once again my hands are clean ooo. I drive work and eat freely I even go clubbing and visit police station any time. Though This issues has affected my business and image. Above all God have his reason for everything.

Cheers to all once again.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

IBO people say they want Biafra.