Germany's Justice Minister Heiko Maas of the Social Democrats told the paper that compensation would "depend on concrete individual cases," taking sentence duration into consideration.
A draft law, set to be formally announced this month, will provide for "relatively uncomplicated" individual claims, Maas said. It also allows for collective compensation. Convicted homosexuals would also have their names cleared. The minister told "SZ" that he expects more than five thousand men to have a personal claim.
The infamous Paragraph 175, which was part of Germany's criminal code from 1871 to 1994, made homosexual acts between men a crime.
Over 140,000 men were convicted in total, with around 50,000 of them having been prosecuted since the end of World War II.
The anti-gay code was tightened during the Nazi era, which saw thousands of gay and bisexual men rounded up and taken to concentration camps. After the war, gay men were often arrested again. As well as being jailed, they often lost their jobs and homes and suffered social exclusion.
34 comments:
Good one..
Whatever!
Lord have mercy.....
Ihe nkaa self.
Ok o
Godtakeover
will that soon happen in Nigeria
So they even had a time they arrested gays? And basi alimi and the rest busy body didn't call them names. Bcos they now choose to celebrate gays now also mean nigeiria/fricans should follow them like cowards? No way. 14yrs is real here and will remain so.
I'll kill them
Hmmmmmmmm
What do I care??? Linda take note!
Ok nice
Post my comment
Can u imagine....
It's because gay rights activist have fought long and hard, that countries all over the world are now getting rid of their bigoted, barbaric, religiously hypocritical laws. It is people like Bisi, who will eventually see to the end of such laws, that encourage the persecution and irrational hatred of gay people, that promote the destruction of families and separation and ostracisation of people from their loved ones and families, within Nigeria.
It is because of gay activist, that the rest of the world is realising that love is the most human of emotions, that the desire to love and be loved by someone, is a right afforded to every human being, and that those who deny others this fundamental right, are infact the ones we should be concerned about.
Keep lying to yourself, any gay man that is harassed unfairly by anyone, will forever be on the conscience of the perpetrators, who will surely pay for their crimes against humanity.
For every gay man that is persecuted, a thousand will take their place! Homosexuality is a force of nature, no prison, harassment or victimisation can quell the human desire to self determination.
Trust, if you see a gay person, don't even make eye contact, we don't play.
We are done with the bullshit. You can't make your heterosexual relationships work, and you have the audacity to prescribe stupid obsolete values to those who are the most intelligent, creative and resourceful amongst you.
Na wa oh. Of all the ills bedevilling their country, gay ish was their headache.
Nice, naija can't do it
... Stop wasting money on
data. Get free browsing cheats on all
network @ W3HowTo.com
It will be in Nigeria's best interest not to make enemies of the Gays, even more so than they already have.
Already, Nigeria is looking like prime real estate for the Gay capital of World; The GGA (Global Gay Alliance) will make it our sacred Principality and it will be magnificent in our eyes.
Shut up, stupid illiterate, they're making progress, you're here with your recycled weave being bitter that they're doing the right thing.
You don't have to imagine, it's happening, the sooner you accept the New World Order, the better it will be for your peace of mind.
The repercussions of the atrocities against the gay people, our kind, our race, through out time, is the root of all upheaval in the world today, until those crimes are rectified and attitudes begin to evolve, you will still be running around like headless chickens, trying to figure out where you messed up.
Karma is a bitch, and he's a gay man.
Being so unique and powerful has sometimes made others afraid of us. They arrested and tortured and murdered us. We are still executed by governments and individuals today in societies where we were once accepted as important and equal members of society. They now tell us “homosexuality is un-African” and “there are no homosexuals in Nigeria.” You, and we, know that these defensive comments are not true—but they still hurt. So, when others gave us names like queer and fairies, we reclaimed them. When they said we were recruiting children, we said “I’m here to recruit you!” When they put pink and black triangles on our uniforms in the concentration camps, we made them pride symbols.
Those who challenge our unapologetic presence in today’s cultures, who try to deprive us of our rights, who make us targets of violence, remain ignorant of the fact that "they", not us, are the historical anomaly, that by harbouring hate within themselves, they are the broken ones.
For much of recorded history, persecuting individuals who transgressed their culture’s norms of gender and sexuality was frowned upon at worst and unheard of at best. Today, the people who continue to harass us attempt to justify their cruel campaigns by claiming that they are defending “traditional” values. But nothing could be further from the truth.
But now you know they are wrong. Just imagine the world without that first computer, fashion, art and modern architecture, or a huge part of the music you’ve ever heard from classical Appalachian Spring to classic YMCA (I mean, we write most of the music that makes the world go round. How much less colorful would the world be without us?
Be grateful that you’re here to help carry on our traditions. That because our people know no racial or cultural boundaries, we have brought people together, in ways no diplomats can achieve.
We are emissaries, ambassadors, Angels and a gift to this world, we are the heart beat of the world and the beauty of mankind.
We are love. #LoveWins
hmmm
Whatever!
THEIR BUSINESS
Wow! Thats great....
What is right? To be dogging someone's asshole? Hahahahahaha you all gay will perish I hell. A so glad y'all will never be accepted here. Why are u anonymous? Show urself and get hunted like an animal. Coward!!!
End time hahahahaha. May God have mercy on the lost souls
Why anonymous? Hunt all gays! Am ready when it starts in Nigeria will cut their dicks off and feed dogs...
If you weren't a dirty pig, you wouldn't be concerned with what other people do with their bodies. Why should I show myself, when my words are enough to make you have a panic attack? I don't really want to add to your problems. Lol
Zibah, why not show your face? Peasant!
Idiot...if you were that brave...pls show ur face.
You guys don't see it...Linda is part of the problem. I visit other news sites but Linda promotes gay LGBT stories the most. If she isn't gay ...I guess it's one of her convenants with the devil for her fame and money.
omo, some people sha! we no gree accept to do that kind thing for Naija but you carry dey type letter writing abi na lecture note we go call am. You must be a freaking asshole if you think we should what stupid new order, we belong to christ and as long as he came out from a woman named MARY means that's the only way to reproduction, how dem take born you. If we look deep, you might be a celebrity hiding behind anonymous, tracking device dey ooo.
GOOD FOR THEM
Fuck you and your Mary! I'm a Nigerian citizen, Jesus and Mary are not! don't you dare every presume to threaten me, you think I'm unaware of precog reports, I'll set forces onto you and destabilise your entire existence, you little piece of shit.
You have no choice, we are here to stay. Deal with it.
Linda, abeg thank you. You are a nice lady to be informing our people about LGBT. Gays are here to stay. It's wrong to persecute or prosecute gays. We are part of nature, have always been here and will always be here. Thank you, my sister. In future, that stupid anti-gay law of Jonathan's government will be one of the most disgraceful laws that ever entered our legal system. It reflects ignorance, stupidity and inhumanity. Gay is good. Gay is fun. Gay is classy.
Bring it on DOG