Nigerians react to Buhari's comment that his wife "belongs to the kitchen & bedroom" | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 14 October 2016

Nigerians react to Buhari's comment that his wife "belongs to the kitchen & bedroom"

Nigerians on Twitter have reacted to the statement President Buhari made about his wife Aisha, in the presence of the most powerful woman in the world - German Chancellor Angela Merkel. Reacting to Aisha's yet-to-be aired explosive interview with BBC Hausa, where she claims that his government has been hijacked by those who didn't campaign for him, Buhari laughed off her allegations, saying,
"I don't know which party my wife belongs to, but she belongs to my kitchen and my living room and the other room." - See more tweets after the cut.

56 comments:

Dats non of my business

Aisha dis is jus to show u dat u're an emotional coin on his palm dat any position he turns u u face..lol a big telly tubby..I laugh in greek

WeALTHY ChIC said...

Stupid Buhari.

hehe

Aisha dis is jus to show u dat u're an emotional coin on his palm dat any position he turns u u face..lol a big telly tubby..I laugh in greek

Buhari is just an old fool who has lost track of time.

I'm a working woman and I don't see anything wrong with what he said. He said his "wife". What obtains in your own home is your business. I feel sorry for us. No wonder divorce rate is hitting the roof. He obviously tried to make light of the whole thing. Several years after he married her is when she went off to school in the UK for her cosmetic course. Will a rigid man , who is much older than his wife allow that if he wasn't cool with a career. You people should get a life.

Na dem sabi

Lmao...isnt it a patriarchal setting... #SorryMam

I think this goes a long way to show how much of a fanatic buhari is.in this case, none of them was completely right for their actions based on the fact that our 'first lady', no matter what, is meant to stand by her husband and even if she wants to criticize him, it should be constructively and the president has just ruined the image of a nigerian man to outsiders leaving the impression that they treat thier women like modern day slaves...

The president said "My wife" not women..... in general

I think this goes a long way to show how much of a fanatic buhari is.in this case, none of them was completely right for their actions based on the fact that our 'first lady', no matter what, is meant to stand by her husband and even if she wants to criticize him, it should be constructively and the president has just ruined the image of a nigerian man to outsiders leaving the impression that they treat thier women like modern day slaves...

Haba! Aisha Buhari traversed the nooks and crannies of Nigeria canvassed and mobilized Nigerian women for PMB's election in 2015, it is most unfortunate that PMB mocked her with such a derogatory statement because of her sincerity. Mr President, where were your hijackers when she moved round with her team members? She's an integral part of your total being,With her complaints, it is a serious Indictement on your personality. Please have a rethink , amend where necessary and do the needful.
2019 is close by, Mr President , Nigerian Women stands by this great AMAZON ( Aisha Buhari).

Bcos he said it everybody is shouting. Which african man doesn't have dat thought at the back of their mind??? Linda take note!

Haba! Aisha Buhari traversed the nooks and crannies of Nigeria canvassed and mobilized Nigerian women for PMB's election in 2015, it is most unfortunate that PMB mocked her with such a derogatory statement because of her sincerity. Mr President, where were your hijackers when she moved round with her team members? She's an integral part of your total being,With her complaints, it is a serious Indictement on your personality. Please have a rethink , amend where necessary and do the needful.
2019 is close by, Mr President , Nigerian Women stands by this great AMAZON ( Aisha Buhari).

All I see are paid wailers👎🏾

Democracy at its finest.... PMB and Aisha are able to say their minds without fear or favour... This is what we need; openness, honesty.

Obama can and would never say this to michelle,and hey Mr president I thought that German Chancellor is a woman,what on earth where u thinking?this is very bad!this was the first country u disgrace urself after ur resumption in the office as a so called president and here u go again another bigger blow and embarrassment, Buhari u talks anyhow.

I can't comprehend mbok

As a girl who represents women as a whole, i kind of have to be engaged when our liberties are repeatedly threatened and dangled out in front of us like carrots by bigots! Buhari is mentally drained!! And he seriously needs help asap.

Mtcheeeeeeewwwwwwww...

Voting for dis govt was a big mistake ...dis is just another hitler

This makes d difference. Mama Peace may decided to say anything but trust me, his husband will never slap he back

i am having this feeling that she has been beaten to stuppor after that interview.......I trust this islamic fuckers with wife beaten because the quran says so.

quran 4:34

الرِّجَالُ قَوَّامُونَ عَلَى النِّسَاءِ بِمَا فَضَّلَ اللَّهُ بَعْضَهُمْ عَلَىٰ بَعْضٍ وَبِمَا أَنفَقُوا مِنْ أَمْوَالِهِمْ ۚ فَالصَّالِحَاتُ قَانِتَاتٌ حَافِظَاتٌ لِّلْغَيْبِ بِمَا حَفِظَ اللَّهُ ۚ وَاللَّاتِي تَخَافُونَ نُشُوزَهُنَّ فَعِظُوهُنَّ وَاهْجُرُوهُنَّ فِي الْمَضَاجِعِ وَاضْرِبُوهُنَّ ۖ فَإِنْ أَطَعْنَكُمْ فَلَا تَبْغُوا عَلَيْهِنَّ سَبِيلًا ۗ إِنَّ اللَّهَ كَانَ عَلِيًّا كَبِيرًا

Surah An-Nisa [4:34] - Al-Qur'an al-Kareem - القرآن الكريم

SAHIH INTERNATIONAL
Men are in charge of women by [right of] what Allah has given one over the other and what they spend [for maintenance] from their wealth. So righteous women are devoutly obedient, guarding in [the husband's] absence what Allah would have them guard. But those [wives] from whom you fear arrogance - [first] advise them; [then if they persist], forsake them in bed; and [finally], strike them. But if they obey you [once more], seek no means against them. Indeed, Allah is ever Exalted and Grand.

muhammed's child bride said... "I have not seen any woman suffering as much as the believing women (hadith....sahih Al bhukari volume 7 number 715. sunnah.com

Like the president would ever say such a thing. Pinch of salt!

Gosh, to think the GEnder equality bill just passed second reading yet we have a president with this archaic mentality! Am just in shock!

Long Live LIB

Africans keep showing themselves in a disgraceful way

At least mama Patience know how to protect her husband,Aisha just throw Muhammad to the wolves.

OBI LoVe said...

Is this a 21st century president???? OOH NIGEIRA see what APC has done to this country

Hahaha if u want buhari to fuck up just send him out of the country.
Signed
LibBadBoy

Gbenga Popoola said...

buhari is the man of the Year...when u start saying things not to be said in public. u belong to the kitchen.

Leave Hubby and Wife na, that's there kife

Doctor Having S*X With Patient Watch Full Video

Aboki the realest punk ass,can u now see your
misarable life,the game is changing too fast and i wish ur ass
copy

FRESH said...

Even igbo guys that treat women like furniture are forming horrified at PMB'S statement. Get a life guys.

Wondering how that statement sounds like a mockery...should the first priority of a wife not be to take care of a home? Must she be interested in politics cos his husband is into it? For the married men in here, how much does your wife know about your field? Does that make them less a woman? Just painful how many Nigerians can not decode message clearly. Nothing make sense to people once they are ready to criticize you. My wife belongs to my Kitchen and bedrooms yet she is currently an active director in one of the top company around!!!

Please, let's not misunderstand Mr. president!!!
In today's Social Media, MANY PEOPLE are frequently using SHORT FORMS.
In this CASE, it's "KITCKEN" instead of "KITCHEN CABINET"!!!

Nigerians na wetin!shez his wife anyway and to him that is where she belongs.get a life abeg.

Treasure said...

This is absolutely pathetic. Mr President missed it big time. His comments and description of his wife's position is indicative of the fact that he has no regard for women. Mrs AISHA Buhari should be properly guided and avoid interviews that could lead her to problem with her husband. God bless Nigeria and give our leaders the tongue of the learned... just set pass here ooo.... Mr Osas

I agree with you nwannem

Most Nigerians lack good sense of humour. Buhari was obviously joking. He even laughed when he said it. I am sure the Germans will understand the joke but Nigerians are too layed back to understand. It's a pity

Really Pity some Nigerians, Buhari has not said anything wrong as he Clearly Stated " I don't Know what Party ("My WIFE" belongs to, but What i Know is that my Wife belongs to "My Kitchen, My Living Room and any other Room in my HOME")= Family affair. Get a life People

Buhari was just teasing Aisha jokingly. I dont know why people cannot get the joke. Too many dull brains on social media

Sai baba

Anon said...

Tinubu well done o...may this backward retarded thing u brought upon Nigerians blow up in ur own face

This is only time the president took responsibility!

Yetty k said...

U r very correct

a true president would never cracking that useless joke to the press and in front of a female leader. Well Wat do we expect from him.... APC...lol, bunch of clowns

This is what happen's when you go and wake your ancestor and make him your president in a country full of young, intelligent , educated men.

doncollyno said...

Freeborn biko bia nu ooooo.

I've always suspected that you were either blind or deranged. Now i've confirmed the former. The latter confirmation loading.

And who is this boko Harman.

Frankarh said...

He sent her off to school so that he can have an educated wife of the president. He was already planning his come to power since then.

*Observing*

OKORO UPGRADED

the problem about us is that we dont mind our bussiness,its the president opinion about his wife (his wife).madam AISHAT BUAHRI be wise.

I don't really blame Mr. President becos the tribe which he came from don't have regard or respect for womanhood....... dat is why they do child marriage, dat why there women cover face like monkey....... despite him been a president he still don't know the value of a woman in the house..... fool like him