Read Washington Post's article on President Buhari's comment on Aisha belonging to his Kitchen‎ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 15 October 2016

Read Washington Post's article on President Buhari's comment on Aisha belonging to his Kitchen‎

Washington Post has written an article on President Buhari's recent comment that his wife, Aisha Buhari, belongs to his Kitchen. Read the article below...
If you think Donald Trump has problems, consider those of Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari. Elected last year as a no-nonsense candidate to clean up Africa's biggest democracy, his popularity has fallen amid various spiraling crises — a faltering economy, a deadly insurgency, a devastating famine. And now, even his wife is skeptical.

In an interview with the BBC's Hausa language service, Nigerian first lady Aisha Buhari suggested that she might not back her husband's potential reelection in 2019 if he didn't shake up his government. Without naming names, she said a whole host of people in senior ministerial posts didn't share her husband's values or the vision of the ruling party. The first lady's admission reinforces accusations made by critics that Buhari's government has been hijacked by a cabal operating behind the scenes.
“The president does not know 45 out of 50 of the people he appointed and I don't know them either, despite being his wife of 27 years,” she said. “Some people are sitting down in their homes folding their arms only for them to be called to come and head an agency or a ministerial position.”
According to the BBC, some in Nigeria speculate that the first lady went this route after her own chosen figures did not win the posts they desired in government. Whatever the case, it deepens the gloom around Buhari's presidency, which he won in part on a platform that promised an end to nepotism and cronyism in the country.

Then came Buhari's response. Speaking to reporters while on a trip to Germany, the Nigerian president offered up a tasteless jibe: “I don’t know which party my wife belongs to, but she belongs to my kitchen and my living room and the other room,” he said.
His remarks were made in front of German Chancellor Angela Merkel, who according to reports, glared and then, briefly, laughed.
Source: Washington Post

51 comments:

And some crazy wailers here will start making noise about pmb ..any person dats sayin gud about dis man is a pigmeat.

Over to apc wailers.The world are watching terrorist buhari and his worst government of clowns.I KEEP SAYING IT THAT THIS MAN IS NOT FIT TO BE GOVERNOR TALK MORE OF BEING A PRESIDENT.what we are seeing in Nigeria today is result of terrorist buhari presidential unqualification.
MAKE UNA STOP ALLOWING UNA PRESIDENT TO TRAVEL OUT OO ESPECIALLY GERMANY HE IS A DISGRACE.

Over to apc wailers.The world are watching terrorist buhari and his worst government of clowns.I KEEP SAYING IT THAT THIS MAN IS NOT FIT TO BE GOVERNOR TALK MORE OF BEING A PRESIDENT.what we are seeing in Nigeria today is result of terrorist buhari presidential unqualification.
MAKE UNA STOP ALLOWING UNA PRESIDENT TO TRAVEL OUT OO ESPECIALLY GERMANY HE IS A DISGRACE.

Omg...She couldn't have said it better!!! Buhariaonodu has just been skinned alive,his ignorance on some sensitive issues have been recognized by the world, quite a shame. #ApcShame

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

God has a way of paying people with their own coin.

USA supported buhari and manipulated him into power. Now God is going to pay them back by putting trump in power.

I dey tell u...baba don pour person oil

Buhari the fuck up man
Signed
LibBadBoy

Omg... Cldnt have said it better. Buharionodo's ignorance of sensitive issues have been recognized by the world and it's quite shameful! #ApcShame

Mr clueless, good for him.

Silence they say is golden........Buhari forgot that.

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB

They couldn't have summed it up any better....the old man made a douchebag outta himself. #sad

yuwa special said...

U r blessed

When you live in anger,in a HUT, on a Farm ,mad about the 1983 coup and Dasuki ,and you finally get a chance to express your self,at 73yrs old what we end up getting. A CANKEROUS OLD MAN.

Wah do u expect from an illiterate??
Literacy???

Incredible India

Buhari remains a jet age disgrace to this country

You're a dick.

You're an ignorant bitch yourself, so shut up.

sholetoga said...

Thank God the whole world can attest to the cluelessness and incompetence of this scam change evil government of Buhari. APC erred big time by foisting this visionless man on Nigerians

Days like this..Aboki d fool and Bonario's comment will be either found wanting or come in later unlike their other comments...bunch of shamless imbeciles...this President is indeed clueless and illiterate...civil war mentality is worrying the man..im sure he will be shouting PDP from sleep sef....d deaf ear and tins seems to be taking over his sanity

Dis is going too far

Like Buhari like Donald Trump. Buhari was alluding to the old adage, a cook in the kitchen, a lady in the living room, and a ho in the bedroom. The other room. Demeaning to his wife and to every Nigerian female. See Nigeria President see trouble.

Elivingstone chibuike na ur fada be pigmeat anuofia, God punish ur left yansh

It's obvious that God is at work here! What's the mission of the cabal that has turned Buhari to a mere ceremonial leader as though we run a monarchical kind of govt? Their mission to Islamize our dear country has so failed!

Sportcentre said...

The problem here is USA they can say whatever the want see how they propagate and made Nigeria loom like Somalia due respect to Somalia..." Elected last year as a no-nonsense candidate to clean up Africa's biggest democracy, his popularity has fallen amid various spiraling crises — a faltering economy, a deadly insurgency, a devastating famine"like the insurgency started with him and devastating famine that struck their nation not ours... All because he said his wife belongs in the kitchen so? I Dont know how they interpreted it but what he said is true belonging to the kitchen is one of the role of a wife so I dont know what the fuss is about and how it has got to do with our present situation....

Craze people dey rule us. Na craze world wey baba 70 sing about be this. What a shame.

Only God knows when this insult and disgrace will end!!!! Buhari is such a disgrace to Nigeria.

FRESH said...

Igbo people hating PMB since 1904.Make una "face una worki oh!"

FRESH said...

And I keep saying you are not fit to be posting comments here. Your comments appear as the ramblings of a lunatic.

FRESH said...

And I keep saying you are not fit to be posting comments here. Your comments appear as the ramblings of a lunatic. Stop smoking 🚬 weed

Exactly. I can remember how they laughed during our elections saying we were caught between the devil and deep blue sea. I hope everything is sealed up nicely by Trump wining. Mstchew.

*German Women raise against Nigerian Leader*

In a press conference with the German leader in Berlin, President Buhari in what might be perhaps his most stupid political blunder yesterday in Germany, in answering a reporters question on the role of his wife in his government, has this to say..." _my wife belongs in my Kitchen and in my living room and other room_"

... what a statement! That was politically incorrect.

The ill adviced President totally forgot that he is standing next to a woman who is a world leader.
Here in Germany as in the rest of Europe, the issue of women's right is a delicate one as women have come a long way fighting inequality in both society and at work place. Without warning, a visibly angry Mrs Merkel (the German Chancellor) quickly ended the press conference to save the President further embarrassment.
The emancipation of women in Europe is a civil rights issue, that is why feminist groups in Germany immediately reacted to his outing as a hate speech and demanded his exit from their territory. A German opposition leader called for his immediate expulsion from Germany, while a renowned German newspaper in its editorial, has this to say about our President.
_He is simply a dumb leader, hailed as the Messiah of Africa's most populous democracy after winning election in 2015 His agenda of fighting corruption which was given a blessing by the West, especially former colonial master, England is very unpopular in his country as citizens are more concerned about the economic hardship and joblessness to his fight for financial recovery_.

It went ahead to say,...

_when it comes to world issues, the former general has little knowledge of events of the moment and hardly articulates.The more you listen to him, the dumber you become_ -;

Hard words, but written with some elements of sincerity.
Germany has a woman as head of state. Germany has mother with eight children as defence minister, (comnander of a powerful millitary force) something unthinkable in most parts of the world especially, Africa. The notion here is that, girls can be everything including being President .

More Revelations to come....

SEE MUMU TINUBU WIFE NA SENATOR YOU COME SAY YOUR OWN NA KITCHEN BECAUSE SHE SEE MORE THAN YOU MUGU.
THOSE CABALS WILL DEAL WITH YOU WATCH OUT‎

Dis na etele gbagbue ejuna.or accordin to veteran nollyuwd actor chiwe agu" dundun yomyom, udene nyuo ahu egbe ebee nyanyanpu"

Even German president understood the joke and laughed. PDP wailers lack good sense of humour. It was obvious that Buhari was joking. Buhari even laughed before he said it and the German president laughed with him too. PDP has gone to washington to sell the news to washington newspapers but their plans have failed. They should try harder. How can you compare Donald Trump's calling all women prostitutes to Buhari referring to only his dear wife as being in his kitchen? Some people are so unintelligent. Smtcheew

Pigmeat ke! Them be Oloshi bros

Aisha Buhari does not understand the game politics. Buhari has been in this game for years and has also being in government for years. She probably wants her family members to be given appointments and Buhari refused. Aisha should remember that there are some people that campaigned for Buhari that are too old for appointments but instead, they will present candidates to Buhari and Buhari has to accept whether he knows the candidates or not. That is politics for you. For example, Tinunbu and Obasanjo campaigned heavily for Buhari but they do not have appointments. However, they have candidates for Buhari to appoint whether Buhari knows them or not. There are even some anonymous people that campaigned for Buhari on social media that Buhari doesnt even know and he did not give them appointments. What about the common man on the streets that voted for Buhari that he doesnt even know? Did he give them appointments? Buhari even gave some appointments to Igbos because the Igbos were mounting pressure on him that he is selective. Even though the Igbos didnt vote for Buhari, he had to still give them appointments to show that he is a leader no matter how painful it is. Aisha should go and sit down and allow her husband work.

You are a fool for supporting corruption and PDP looters. The man that said his wife belongs to his kitchen has already said it's a joke. What else do you people want? PDP wailers keep wailing.

That is your own thinking, if his not doing anything... senates have the power to get him out.... better double your hustle and lets stop using gov.t to cover up.. MY WORDS "IF EVERY NIGERIAN SHULD RULE THE COUNTRY ITS CAN NEVER BE BETTER"..

He has just shown to the whole world the kind of person he is by disgracing Nigeria since he became the President.

You don't say sometin as sensitive as that as a joke especially on air....everyone has diff opinions abt stuffs ok...

Gbam! What goes around comes around.

Anon 8:03, he only agrees it's a joke cause people got offended, if they hailed him, he won't say it's a joke. People do it, when people take offense, they claim it's a joke.

Gbenga Popoola said...

he will succeed with or without ya'll support

Lovelyn said...

Now we can clearly see that this man had no agenda for this country than to carry out revenge on those dat hurt him in 1983. *unforgivendarkheartedoldilleterate

Succeed at what exactly? You can't give what you don't have.