You wouldn't believe what this psychology professor's kid did when his dad gave him a 'moral' test (Photos/Video) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 September 2016

You wouldn't believe what this psychology professor's kid did when his dad gave him a 'moral' test (Photos/Video)

E. J. Masicampo, a psychology professor at Wake Forest University in North Carolina, saw his son Nicholas playing with a train set and decided to test his moral standing.

In the video, Nicholas sat next to his wooden train track, which is split into two forks, on one side lay one toy- person, while on the other there are five toy persons. E.J. can then be heard asking his son which way the train should go, whether it should kill one life or five lives, but no-one expected the little boy to answer like he did.

The kid removed the one toy on the left rail line and put it alongside the other five toys on the right rail line. Then ran the train over all of them.
On his Youtube account, the professor captioned his post;
'I'm teaching a moral psychology class this semester, and we spent part of the first day discussing the trolley problem, which is a frequently used ethical dilemma in discussions of morality. When I returned home that night and was playing trains with my son, I thought it would be interesting to see his response to the trolley problem.' 
' I recorded his response so that I could share and discuss it with my class, given especially that we also will be discussing moral development from birth onward. My wife and I are constantly talking with our son about how properly to treat others -- so this has been teachable moment both for my class and for our son!'
More photos...

51 comments:

That's a good one

baba said...

Cute

Amazing!

Good parenting is the key👌🏾
Lucky child.

Wow...apple doesnt fall far from its tree,awesome upbringing!!!

Just imagine the future generations... God help us

Awwww! That was amazing. The kid is quite ingenuous.

Ummmmmm... Scary?

Nna na wa o! Linda take note!

David Uche said...

this kid just displayed the kill em all attitude, he might grow up to be a serial killer, terrorist or a mass shooter... from this video, I can deduce he doesn't care about preserving lives...

so what is the logic behind this...why didn't he explain how wrong his son's approach is...maybe we all can learn a thing or two from them

foolish professor! the kid probably knows the right thing but he is like f@ck it let me mess up this guy by pretending to be a stupid kid because its allowed.

carloswilliams said...

Abokidawarriboy,ur comment here just show wht u re.You re a big illitrate who cannot read nd understand.I'm so disappointed at u for such a comment.Can u tell us wht is good parenting in the solution d kid gave to his dad? Or do u always like making a fool of urself. No wonder u call urself aboki. Next time try to read nd understand writeups b4 making ur useless,idiotic nd illitrate comments. Need I remind u that here is not for fools nd imbecciles lyk u ve shown to be.

wow

The first 7 or 8 people that commented on this particular post re all illitrates who could not read nd undetstand. Shame on u all for commending the kid.

Scary. He may grow up to become a mass shooter.

Most of the commenter are so dumb! The kid obviously failed the test. Instead of moving the 1 one out of the way he rammed into all five of them.. Yet you have people going .awww. ... Woow.... Amazing....like really?

Fulaniherdswoman said...

U this aboki,u are a big fool; always supporting evil. This is why muslems re killing people without any fear. Imagine a little boy behaving like that nd u call good parenting. Am a muslem but I will never support evil. What the kid did is bad. He ran over all the six,not even one. Killing all of them dats what he meant. Big FOOL.

Suicide bomber in the making

Did you even watch?!!!

No MB to watch!

Thats nice....

Lol, ISIS in the making.

Terror alert

People don't read my God! What is the meaning of good parenting? Apple don't fall far from the tree. Na wa o.

That boy just used his toy train to crash toy people!

Scary, Oga better roll up your sleeves and teach that boy the right way he should grow else he becomes a serial killer or something similar.

Wonder if people commending this and saying how cute, amazing and awesome this story is actually took time to read and understand the story.

Funny kid, he wud kno beta when his grown

Made me laugh

The kid is a psychopath... he has the mind of a serial killer

Serial killer alert

You know this explains your mental state and understanding of issues and intellectual discussions. With all due respect to good lawyers, havin a law degree doesn't in anyway depict ones understanding of intellectual discuss or writing. You just exposed yourself. I'm no longer annoyed with you over your stand of reasoning in various issues. Your intelligent quotient is still pretty shalow. I pray you grow up one day. All t best.

The culture of death is upon us!
The Video game generation clearly have their hands on the self-distraught button even from such an early stage!
Is this really the preferred future for humanity ?

H

Typical developed country mentality. Very evil people; no second thoughts about murder etc.

Beautiful Rina± said...

serial killer alert

Nigerians, did you read the story? Why ddnt the child remove the single person and take the clear side rather than deciding to kill all fibe? Ingenious lol using big grammar from an empty brain, what an irony!

Efe said...

humm. is it dat d stupid ass wigger of a psychology professor can detect his child's murderous tendencies? And y'all stupid ass nigerians r praising em. smh

Exactly, and most people are commending the kid. He's already displaying psychopathic tendencies, and would most likely grow up to be a dictator.

Exactly. Sociopathic people will kill 5 after finding out what contribution the one individual will make to society, if it's greater "in their opinion" than that of the 5.

Most people will choose reluctantly to save 5, as the needs of the many, often outweighs the needs of the few. Especially if there are children included, in the hopes that they may grow up to be something...

But Nigerians have less sense than dogs.

Actually didn't know there was a concept called, "moral test".I think we all should go through such test. Lol
Share knowledge of what you know on ProudlyElite.com.
You'll be surprised of how much of your ideas and thoughts you want sharing with the rest of the world.You could be taking someone out of their consternation or get an answer to that issue whether academic, work related or just everyday life. That which most disturbs you, get it on proudlyelite.com
Visit today

Thank goodness...for a minute I thought I didn't get it! Thanks anon 5.07

All you dumb heads that commented initially did u guys even watch the video??? Even u bonario nags
Shame Shame Shame Shame !!!!!!!!!!!

Please what moral is in this? must he give a child of this age a "killing moral test".
This is disgusting how can you ask your child to choose from either killing one person or five people?

The child now chose to killing all six has his respond to this yeye test and some stupid people here says "amazing" "good parenting"
After some years the boy will turn to serial killer

Retard. U so fking dumb. I hate ur stupidity

Dumbest butch alive. Pathetic

That is not funny @ all.....cause the moral that child is depicting in this video is totally atrocious! Professor of psychology needs to have redirected that child which is totally not found in the video. The ethical value to human life ought to be spelt out to the child as a concluding part of the video! And I observe some over grown adults hailing a 2 year old wrong thinking! Professor needs reevaluation of that child not being sensitive even to a toy human. Please the world is complicated enough to allow more moral decadency. And Linda post my comment o!

Quite disturbing. Banario or whats ur name doubt u read tru.

I think the logic is when several people are in danger nobody is spare out we are all in it together.

IBOLORD said...

That child must be a terrorist😅😅😅😅

I'm not surprised at your stupid response. Most libers like you are morons or half educated (not your fault, but the fault of our educational system). You have no clue about the experiment. There is nothing that has to do with ingenuity as regards the kids response. This is why we have corrupt leaders still holding this country to ransom: most of our youth are morons (bonario nags just showed he is one of them). Low IQ bonario.

Onyx Godwin might be a fag, but it seems he is intelligent. He gets the experiment. Unlike low IQ Bonario. I would rather discuss issues with an intelligent fag than with a low IQ straight man. Nigerian youths, please develop yourselves intellectually.