Naira falls to an all time low of N375 to $1 on the black market | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 July 2016

Naira falls to an all time low of N375 to $1 on the black market

Traders were left stunned on Thursday as the Nigerian naira traded weaker on the black market to 375 against the dollar. The Naira crossed 300 to the dollar for the first time on the inter-bank market after the Central Bank last month lifted its peg on the currency to allow it trade freely.

The inter-bank market traded a total of $7.27 million and after the market closed, a total of $7.10 million trades were done as low as 330.50 naira to the dollar.
The sharp depreciation was triggered by increased scarcity of the nation’s currency in the inter-bank market. The lack of dollar supply in the interbank market was aggravated by lack of intervention dollar sales by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) causing the naira depreciate by 12 in the market in the last ten days.

Traders who were expecting the Central Bank to intervene and ease dollar shortages were left in their wake as the Central Bank instead mopped up Naira liquidity.

According to the Central Bank's official website on Friday morning, Inflation is at 16.48 while U.S Dollar Exchange rate is at 292.4.

40 comments:

It's well

Infact am tired... God pls retire buhari... What is the meaning of this? Things are getting worst every day.... If buhari can do the job.. Let him quite....

........ Liber maniac.....

This is obviously a means to frustrate igbo traders, well we need to seriously start praying for Nigeria. It's getting out of hand.

NIGERIA OOOOOOO CHAII

Naira will always fall das d state of d country

Osas the Son of Idahosa said...

Why won't it fall when The Blind Nigerians voted for a Terrorist..

#I equals $1.. We're still hoping...

Nigeria is already a failed country..

With this development I GO FIT COMPLETE MY MANSION FOR NIGERIA WITH JUST 5K EURO.

LET IT FALL TO 1K I DON'T CARE...

#I Can't Fit Talk

We go survive. Linda BIKO..

Some good news for d pain

Oh

LWKM. Laugh at Nigeria's funniest pictures here

Imagine oo freeborn wept.
ONLY THIS CAN CAUSE SOME ONE HYPERTENSION.
THIS IS WHAT U GET WHEN U HAVE AN ILLITERATE AS PRESIDENT AND HIS ILLITERATE KINSMEN AS CABINET,MORE DOOM TO COME NIGERIAns

nawa

Oil prices fell and recovered, the pound fell and recovered, it is only the naira that just can recover in spite of Oil price recovery and stolen money recovery.It is looking like the Nigerian armed forces challenge of three years ago. It is getting bad by the day. Assure me it is not an inside job

samuel lawrence said...

KO NI DAFU BUHARI...#PMB# suck.... Nigeria is going down the drain

Chinedu said...

Change is here... Till 2019

God help us!

Buhari pls do something, 4 once prove me wrong dat I mistake for nt voting 4 u pls baba go slow

Don Smith said...

Buhari should just go and tender his resignation letter and vacate Aso Rock immediately. He has no agenda and doesn't have a clue on governance. Nigerians haven't even started suffering. Things will go from worse to worst until this man who calls himself Mr President vacates Aso Rock and goes back to his cattle range. Useless APC govt led administration.

From bad to wowor! Kolz

Thought becomes things said...

At this process in time, that we lacks economists, it's high time the government should look forward to that.

Slowly but surely. Linda take note!

He's fighting kworuption

Slowly going downhill? U use slowly but surely when theres progress. Slowly but surely is what we were experiencing under GEJ

bimpe said...

the side of the nigerian economy u fall into, will determine whether you are enjoying this fluctuation in Naira value to dollar exchange rate

May God bless Nigeria

Sai-Buhari, Baba change $1 to N1 we are waiting

Sai-baba, do you mean N1000 to $1? We just asking

Buhari is clueless and hopeless... The state of economy just went from frying pan (in the hands of Jonathan) to Fire (buhari) serial economy killer! Tufiakwa!

Where do these black market dealer get dollar from when it is difficult to get dollar from the bank? Why is black market still operating in Nigeria? Is that the FG is afraid of eradicating this black market or simply do not want to? What purpose do our banks serve interms of FX When we also have parallel markets? Are the benefits of the black marketers more important than the Nigeria economy? I really don't understand...

Baba go and die naa, #in Oshiomole's voice. Abeg die so that we can move forward not backward. Goodluck asked us "do you want to move forward or backward" foolish Nigerians chose backwards. Na how una dey?

God! Which way Nigeria?

Nigeria is going, but I pray for it not to be gone and forgotten.

To those that voted for CHANGE, how market? make una wait... una never see anything! Una go soon see the one wey senior Beatrice.

*Grachi Dynasty*

Oh lord please hear my prayers.... Call papa Buhari back home... Can he just die already because this man isn't ready to quite Asorock... Oh lord please take his life, call him back, make him answer ur glorious call to glory, lord I don't know how you will do it, accident ooo, ear problem oooo, kidney failure ooo, lord I don't know how you want to do but please lord do something, take him back now before he brings all of you... Amen

Our president refused to devalue the Naira but he was insulted that he is too stubborn and all that. I know in Nigeria immediately you allow things to float like that corruption will take over.

this is really sad

God will call you and ur family members first

We voted for a change in corrupt practises. Go and hang!

Celynkay please die first. You are too ugly to be alive. See your useless face

Ko ni da fun family e.

zucks said...

Who be this one again