Photo: See the email sent to Nigeria's Athletes asking them to pay for their tickets to Rio 2016 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 July 2016

Photo: See the email sent to Nigeria's Athletes asking them to pay for their tickets to Rio 2016

Veteran sports journalist, Colin Udoh shared this via Social Media. According to him, "This is the email from Nigeria Sports Ministry to athletes to pay their way to Rio when they're still being owed outstandings."

68 comments:

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

DAMN!! the country is just so fucked up.

H S C said...

Toh. If we cannot afford to go let us not now. What's all this public display of fuckedupness???

This is a joke, whoever brought this present govt to power should take them back plss, Shocking!!!

What is buhari doing with the monies recovered frm looters

But our senators are highest paid in the world with their allowances. The economy is bad in all areas except for the senators.

*********×*********hmmmmmmm***

This is wrong in every aspect, can't believe adequate preparations haven't really been made for Olympic for crying out loud! It's quite a shame,and the FG was blabbing few days ago about sponsoring only those that will be participating, not putting into consideration that aside the trophies, participation matters too. #Shame

sofreedomains said...

This is serious, hope it is not true.

Na wa oo,this is bad

Honest Nigerian said...

This is very sad. Worst still, is the grammar. This is supposed to be an official email from a Federal Ministry in a 21st Century country. How disgraceful.

Too bad. Dis change in our country sucks

Can you imagine, who abbreviates in an official letter/mail! " pls" this country is gone

WHAT ARE THEY THINKING? WE DON'T HAVE MONEY OR WHAT? NONSENSE.

I weep for my country! Our politicians acquire set of brand new SUVs from time to time and which costs millions of dollars yet they can't pay for the tickets of our athletes that are expected to win 100 gold medals?! Selfishness and Wickedness of the highest proportion! God is watching!

Shame on APC Government.

This can only happen in Nigeria

This is a joke right???? Chai! I'm embarrassed

Ladun Liadi said...

The shock of athletes paying their way is yet to pass now this? A government official wrote this???? Lord knows how many such people work in the country's diplomatic sphere.
Nigeria sinks to a new low.

LOL

Is this country serious at all?

Later they will start inviting promising youngsters abroad to come play for their country and when they chose another country other than Nigeria they start cursing that person...how will they come with such corruption in the NFF?

There's enough money for Buhari to travel to London with a plane load of Assistants to treat his ear infection but not enough to send our athletes to Rio. His wife flies all over Nigeria on taxpayers plane, and uses our plane as a private property. Yet there's no office of the First lady. Change indeed.

nija

And the Oga of Customs is flying First Class...Smh!!!!!

Kiki Africana said...

Change! Challenge! Chain! All you that voted Bugharia i know you're regretting what you have done.I don't hear Sai Baba anymore

Appalling to say the least

I'm more appalled by the bad grammar in this mail than anything else!!!!! My goodness! I'd have said its a fake if I'd read it anywhere else. How in God's name can this be an email from a government office?!! We talk and laugh about it everyday but this just goes to show the level of rot and decay in the system. I'd fire whoever wrote this in a second, I'm sorry. Gradually it's becoming normal for people to use"your" in place of "you're"!! Just like I read people writing "am" when they mean to say "I'm". Odiegwu!!!😢😢😢

Chai, what is that man with red beret doing abt all this shame...

RichyGame said...

Terribly worded...

Nigerians can now see clearly why our sports representatives fail because such information demoralizes someone

Are they going there for adventure or some sort of personal trip that they'll pay for their tickets? All these brainless animals we have in this country as our leaders.

Anon said...

Plus billions realised from the TSA

Anon said...

And the presidency/Executive

Anon said...

Ur president don't give a damn about sports/entertainment sector...or anything else aside chasing his enemies & advancing Islam

Anon said...

A country that calls some agencies "DISCOS"...Lol

And Buhari lead govt expect to come back with gold medals when thinking of ticket loan back home?

Ike agwu'm! Linda take note!

forreal said...

We don,t always prepare well for any competition yet we want the best,even if athletes go for Rio they will not be at their best because of all these challenges. NIGERIA we hail thee

I'm all about the horrible grammar and poor punctuation. Are we sure this is an official letter from a ministry?

Genny's Blog said...

Like seriously this is not funny biko!

Buhari govt is a failure and Nigerians entered one chance.

Whaooooo!!

Chinedu said...

Shame

Chi-squared said...

Biggest disgrace soo far

Gentle ask them ooo.. The grammatical errors are realy embarrasing, too bad.

sholetoga said...

This is the shame of a nation. With all the money they claim have been returned and 3 trillion Naira generated through the TSA, Buhari government can't pay for air tickets for our athletes. Everyone should understand by now that all those returning of money are just propaganda. We are indeed on a one chance bus.....SMH

Lube-section said...

Meanwhile Boko Haram suspects are paid in dollars! Buhari is an idiot

Pity

The language is poor. I find it hard to believe

Na wa o...... #Lindatakenote

APC change

Pathetic.

Fadeke Oniru said...

Sorry dear! It ain't fake anything, the civil service is a big joke! Peeps who are not qualified get put in positions due to their GodFathers....so what do u expect? U vent seen anything, go and bid for govt contract then u will know that this govt is SUPER CORRUPT!!

Alu ! . Abomination !

Okokobioko....another Nollywood thriller! Let me get my popcorn biko!

Nnoli Okoli said...

That email isn't fake anything. It is very real...d civil service is very decayed and it's even gettiing worse now, with favouritism intead of merit....peeps who ain't qualified are put in positions of authority. How can u win any medal when u are not even willing to buy ticket?? The other I saw Buhari talking about releasing all d money for Rio.....I just laughed and said to my self when will all these propaganda stop? How long will a govt use propaganda to deceive it's citizens? U can win an election with propaganda but u can never successfully govern with propaganda! NEVER! Ur aides lie every fucking minute to our faces. At least with Jonathan we knew what we were up against!

THey should use one of the president's jets to ferry them to Rio.

If this is true, then Nigeria is gone.

FRESH said...

Who noticed the question? if it's indeed real,the message asked IF they could pay their way? That is for those outside who could afford it.You guys don't seem to know the mess we are in with FOREX? If I was the President, I will cancel the Olympics participation outrightly!

FRESH said...

He should waste the recovered loot monies on Olympics? Just begin to slap yourself until your stupidity cures itself.

Something is wrong with our sport ministry. In fact the minister deny some activities of nfa etc. Like he's not aware.

On the final note am waiting for apc to denial this news.

This mail looks like 419. 'How much is the economy ticket from your based to Rio' definitely 419

The poor punctuation caught my eyes and I only have one thing in mind after seeing this.....why am I a Nigeria? Thunder fire devil bcos Nigeria is a complete mess. God pls scatter this mistake called Nigeria, it is not working and it won't work

Nigeria is a mistake that needs be disintegrated.
What a shame
Grammar blunders, punctuation blunders
Why am I a Nigerian? I regret ending up in Naija....tufia-kwa

The poor punctuation caught my eyes and I only have one thing in mind after seeing this.....why am I a Nigeria? Thunder fire devil bcos Nigeria is a complete mess. God pls scatter this mistake called Nigeria, it is not working and it won't work

http://Dollarnize.com/?share=37212

Change gaaan ni. Lol

Some truth.

But when it come to wasting tax payer money on hijab and food for fasting sharp sharp.
am laughing oh