FC Ifeanyi Ubah's players, coaches and fans attacked by Heartland FC's fans in Owerri after goalless draw | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 July 2016

FC Ifeanyi Ubah's players, coaches and fans attacked by Heartland FC's fans in Owerri after goalless draw

FC Ifeanyi Ubah's players, coaches and fans were this evening attacked by irate fans of Heartland FC's after both clubs played out a goalless draw in Owerri.

FC Ifeanyi Ubah players and fans who were navigating their way out of the stadium after the keenly contested match were met with violence by the enraged Heartland's fans who hurled stones and bottles at the team's bus.

The players and fans were then ambushed by the irate fans as they attempted to flee for safety on foot. Players and fans were beaten while others were taken away. FC Ifeanyi Ubah team's buses were destroyed as the windows were smashed and the tyres punctured to restrain movement of the vehicles.

An eye witness said
"I have never seen anything like this before. The level of hooliganism and thuggery shown by these people was beyond belief. Can you imagine that they were hurling stones at the girls? Young girls who just came to support their team. It was so sad to see"
At the time of reporting, about 30 people have been taken to different hospitals in Owerri for treatment while the whereabouts of others are unknown.

More photos below...

44 comments:

Bloody hooligans! Twah!

YOU CAN'T TAKE DEFEAT and u wan dey successful.How is that possible abeg. No successful person or team didn't pass through defeat. SHAME ON THEM.

Otunba Jayboy said...

Harrysong was involved in accident today.

What kind of senseless act is this by these Owerri touts??! They and their club will surely be punished to the fullest! I trust the NFF.. And they will pay for all the damages inquired

Jobless pipo

In a matter of days, heartland fc will sanctioned.

Hmmmmm dey should be fined nah what is all dis nah even been banned becos dis just a football game not a war zone

For fashion and lifestyle news, follow sally-hillz.blogspot.com

Crazy football fans

Genny's Blog said...

Na wa ooo.has it gotten to this extent.

Tomorrow they will start fightin 4 Biafra wen u r here attackin ur own brothers jst bcuz of football

Continue...

Nigerian league wen wil u grow?

Violence never solves any problems!

I schooled in Igboland. I live among Igbos. Very hostile. They are not accommodating yet other groups embrace them and sell lands for them. They will never have Biafra in Jesus name because they will oppress other minority groups. They are worse than ISIS

This is bad Niger na wa o

FRESH said...

Igbo kwenu!

Bad gang...

They don't have an idea what the game is all about and what it represents! #Sic

Are u sure that was how it happened? I mean they just started attacking them for no just course? Owerri people are not known for violence. I mean linda try and investigate this news cos this people might ve started something they cant finish i heard this ifeanyi uba's FC are very troublesome people

Stay out of Igbo people's affairs. Its ur own tribe better off. Inukwa nonsense talk! Who ask u where u resides

Hian! Thats sad

You mean the damages incurred.

starshine said...

Jobless people. I just they catch all of them

One of the reason why NPL is still backwards

OKORO UPGRADED

Don't mind dem. Dem chop Belle full. Dats why they're fighting over soccer.

If to say na Giwa FC, NFF for don take wicked action even whe is a mere verbal attack and not actually physical violence. Action against Giwa FC always comes immediately after d match but what do we see here. God punish Amaju Pinik and his likes.

Owerri/heartland fans that very foolish of you people to attack your own brothers in the name of what, if your sufferings have entered your medulla oblongata you people should vent it on your governor who has refused to release money to pay his workers while his family and friends are amassing wealth

Owerri heartland fans shame on all of you who participated in the heinous crime ara omega nnu

This is a glaring sign of frustration but shouldn't be taken out on a visiting football club but on the source of the frustration which is their state govt what a malady

This otunba Dan mad ...you have been shouting Harry song all this while ..na you wan kill am ?

I watched the match and the incident wasn't really a good sight but I must say that it had been a long time coming, the proprietor of the Nmewi club beat up the Heartland goalie in the first leg and many Heartland faithful's were ruff handled. My fear is that if not well managed it will definitely sow a bad seed among brothers.

ban heartland from playing in owerri.and they will play in empty stadium wt no fan

Amazing how your words are wisely chosen this time, I know you would have written a different kind of thing it was a team from
North or south west vs heartland. We are all human

Marvin said...

ViOlence every where. WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!

click naughty girls on display

Nawao sore losers!

This is very bad, the defeated club should be brought to book

.Normal phenomena is one would won while one will be defeated so why is the bitterness

They should be sanctioned ASAP...

You're right very hostile set of people and are not accommodating at all,arrogancy is. One of there undoing

This is wrong on so many levels

I expect NFL to deduct 25 points from heartland fc for this miserable act of holiganism

Unbelievable. My own Owerri. Whose thugs are these? Rochas or? It's okay, let the ban begin.

Offside: Linda that correction comment @ 1:27 belongs to you. Ndewo.