Feet Washing Ceremony: A beautiful idea for a Christian wedding. A sign of being humble, thoughtful, and willing to serve. Have a beautiful pitcher with just a little water in it, a bowl, and a sponge. The bride and groom take their shoes off, placed the sponge in the bowl, poured the water on top of the sponge, lightly washed each others feet with the sponge, the dried their feet off with a towel, and placed their shoes back on once they were done.You can get special monogrammed towels to go with it.
The only tribe that practice this culture in Nigeria are the Edos. But its usually the women's feet that get washed. Its a sign of new beginning for the bride as she embarks on her new journey. Just like washing away old yama yama as she starts a new chapter with her husband. This is the first time I'm seeing white people washing their feet. I guess we can file that under some of the things the whites have stolen from us!
It portray commitment, dedication, care, Ï„̲̅Ç¿ serve and most especially love as Christ humble Himself and wash ƬђΠfeet of His desciples Ï„̲̅Ç¿ show love. But is only wedding demostration Ãήϑ not a marraige activity. this days, is other way round.
If the significance of the foot washing is to indicate serving each other, isn't that what sharing the wedding cake means or should mean? He feeds her a bite and she feeds him. Considering that the cake thing has turned into smearing each other's face with it, I'd anticipate that the foot washing will sooner or later dissolve into a water fight. A water fight would be quite the sight on a wedding day. Deciding if it is meaningful way of showing you will serve your spouse could be a matter of opinion. But I am grateful for Jawgee's post. For the husband to symbolically show that he is prepared to self-sacrificially serve his wife in marriage by washing her feet at either a reception or wedding ceremony, is i think wonderful.
In John 13: 1-17, Jesus washed his disciples feet and instructed that we should do the same. Washing your wife’s / husband’s feet:
Says I love you. Shows that you honor and respect your spouse. Demonstrates a humility of heart and character, kneeling before your spouse. Communicates “I will be here for you through the muck and mud of life”. Places you in a position of prayer (on your knees) a great place to be in marriage. Having your feet washed:
Says you are loved Shows you can receive your spouses support, and won’t “go it alone” Communicates, “I will let you help me” Places you in a position of power, which we need to remember we hold, so we don’t abuse it!
It's a Christian ritual signifying ultimate love and commitment. In John 13: 1-17, Jesus washed his disciples feet and instructed that we should do the same.
Stupid question, sorry for my outburst, i'm usually not like this, this question was answered by your blog readers yesterday, do them the honour by reading their comments, not every one gain from your giveaways but your fans are still loyal to you. At least read their comments, we are not zombies.
We do that doing a traditional wedding ceremony in my mother country, well, watching away your pass and a new life begins for the couple what ever happened in your pass I will never hold it against you
Linda the foot washing signifies "Extra Unity Ceremony and Commitment" which to me it's not necessary because the marriage itself is enough UNITY & COMMITMENT. Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj
Linda, washing of another's feet is a millennia long Jewish tradition of sign of humility and selflessness. Slaves wash the feet of their masters. Jesus demonstrated this too when he stopped so low to wash the feet of his disciples. I believe you know all these because you're Catholic. Regards to your sister and mumsy.
Joyce Meyer did it to her husband during a sermon. A sign of submission, respect and humility by following the example of Jesus who washed the feet of his disciples. " Husbands, love your wives even as Jesus loved the Church"
It is a simple symbolic gesture of love and service often used at wedding ceremonies to teach the young couple that they should always be at the service of the other. Contrary to what many think about it being a ritual, it is not. It not about a woman being subservient to the man. Rather, it is about both the husband and wife being humble enough to be at the service of the other.
Linda you are a blogger, you should make use of Google sometimes. And if he read the comments on the previous post about feet washing, you will have an idea of what it signifies. ZeeZee
so all you higher than righteous Christians have not said anything??? Jesus washed feet, universal symbol or equality,humanity, the pope does it. Sad you should have to post and ask -MY VIEW_
It signifies humility. When a couple do it to each other it is an act of service. It is not meant to imply that the person doing the washing is "less" of any thing.
It signifies humility. When a couple do it to each other it is an act of service. It is not meant to imply that the person doing the washing is less of anything
hi linda, it's just a tradition in some communities around d world to wash d feet b4 moving into the husband's house.....some pple wash the husband's feet and some wash the wife's feet. in Nigeria some parts of edo state pple also bliv in washing the wife's feet b4 she enters her husband's house after the wedding ( sought of entering the house as a clean person with no stains...just the same way Muslims ll perform ablution before praying to wash off dirt from demslvs nd b clean.....some traditions even tell the bride to break a calabash filled with water...it's just reali all different blivs.
i have never seen where a feet is been washed in a wedding, its usually done when the bride is taken to the grooms house .it signifies full acceptance into the grooms family of which a prayer is said alongside by any blood relative of the groom.
Says I love you. Shows that you honor and respect your spouse. Demonstrates a humility of heart and character, kneeling before your spouse. Communicates “I will be here for you through the muck and mud of life”. Places you in a position of prayer (on your knees) a great place to be in marriage. Having your feet washed:
Says you are loved Shows you can receive your spouses support, and won’t “go it alone” Communicates, “I will let you help me” Places you in a position of power, which we need to remember we hold, so we don’t abuse it! This single act is so powerful. It communicates so many things on so many levels! I think that is why Jesus encouraged us to follow his example. I encourage each of you to take time to read Jesus’s words and take time live it out in your marriage. Will it be a bit awkward? Maybe, but I promise that it will boost your commitment to each other, and bring you to a new experience of one flesh commitment!
Before the Passover celebration, Jesus knew that his hour had come to leave this world and return to his Father. He had loved his disciples during his ministry on earth, and now he loved them to the very end. It was time for supper, and the devil had already prompted Judas, son of Simon Iscariot, to betray Jesus. Jesus knew that the Father had given him authority over everything and that he had come from God and would return to God. So he got up from the table, took off his robe, wrapped a towel around his waist, and poured water into a basin. Then he began to wash the disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel he had around him. When Jesus came to Simon Peter, Peter said to him, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet?” Jesus replied, “You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will.” “No,” Peter protested, “you will never ever wash my feet!”Jesus replied, “Unless I wash you, you won’t belong to me.”Simon Peter exclaimed, “Then wash my hands and head as well, Lord, not just my feet!” Jesus replied, “A person who has bathed all over does not need to wash, except for the feet, to be entirely clean. And you disciples are clean, but not all of you.” For Jesus knew who would betray him. That is what he meant when he said, “Not all of you are clean.” After washing their feet, he put on his robe again and sat down and asked, “Do you understand what I was doing? You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and you are right, because that’s what I am. And since I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you ought to wash each other’s feet. I have given you an example to follow. Do as I have done to you. I tell you the truth, slaves are not greater than their master. Nor is the messenger more important than the one who sends the message. Now that you know these things, God will bless you for doing them. (John 13: 1-17 NLT)
104 comments:
Sweet man.. I love this
Useless foreign tradition
Interesting...and romantic.
Research Shows That Most Women are Either Lesbians or Bisexual
Lmoa,it's not yet Holy Thursday people!
In What essence is that?
Will find out, was tld before but forgotten
It's getting interesting
Maybe to wash off the path back to her exes.. ?
Love
It's a jewish custom...google it
Goodluck
Ok...
No
signifies old tins HV pass away...now let new tins begin,as u step into my house,every good tins attached to married should come in.
Ermmm....i dunno...
May be na their culture!
No
Hmmm it signifies "always wash your feet to avoid smelly feet in my house"
I don't know what it means either. But I'll like to know too..
9ja will take over soon
It's a sign of respect, love and loyalty!
Duuuuh, Google is ur friend Linda!!!
it has been on with the Yoruba's ...a long time ago
Dnt knw
Lolz, I don't o
#iT wiLL oNLy geT beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise
Feet Washing Ceremony: A beautiful idea for a Christian wedding. A sign of being humble, thoughtful, and willing to serve. Have a beautiful pitcher with just a little water in it, a bowl, and a sponge. The bride and groom take their shoes off, placed the sponge in the bowl, poured the water on top of the sponge, lightly washed each others feet with the sponge, the dried their feet off with a towel, and placed their shoes back on once they were done.You can get special monogrammed towels to go with it.
Culture!!!
Signifies commitment, humility, love.
Peace and harmony
it signifies' carry clean leg (goodluck) enter my house '
The Bridal party don't seem too excited abourrit...
It symbolizes humility and serving one another. Jesus did for his diaciples
Good omen
The only tribe that practice this culture in Nigeria are the Edos. But its usually the women's feet that get washed. Its a sign of new beginning for the bride as she embarks on her new journey. Just like washing away old yama yama as she starts a new chapter with her husband. This is the first time I'm seeing white people washing their feet. I guess we can file that under some of the things the whites have stolen from us!
Linda you are funny so you are just coming out of mamas belle today.
Go ask Google or thienubu.
Don't bring dirty into the house
how much do u have linda?
pay me make I tell u
jokes apart lol
It's cool
respect
Nice...
As Jesu did to his desciples.
It portray commitment, dedication, care, Ï„̲̅Ç¿ serve and most especially love as Christ humble Himself and wash ƬђΠfeet of His desciples Ï„̲̅Ç¿ show love. But is only wedding demostration Ãήϑ not a marraige activity. this days, is other way round.
When he is not Jesus Christ. Linda take note!
If the significance of the foot washing is to indicate serving each other, isn't that what sharing the wedding cake means or should mean? He feeds her a bite and she feeds him.
Considering that the cake thing has turned into smearing each other's face with it, I'd anticipate that the foot washing will sooner or later dissolve into a water fight.
A water fight would be quite the sight on a wedding day.
Deciding if it is meaningful way of showing you will serve your spouse could be a matter of opinion.
But I am grateful for Jawgee's post. For the husband to symbolically show that he is prepared to self-sacrificially serve his wife in marriage by washing her feet at either a reception or wedding ceremony, is i think wonderful.
Feet washing Linda, feet washing!
N you can as heck Google the significance of it than asking us.
You should research sometimes, not just copying news and putting on your blog.
Na the new style wey come out be dis?
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Na valentine tynx
In John 13: 1-17, Jesus washed his disciples feet and instructed that we should do the same.
Washing your wife’s / husband’s feet:
Says I love you.
Shows that you honor and respect your spouse.
Demonstrates a humility of heart and character, kneeling before your spouse.
Communicates “I will be here for you through the muck and mud of life”.
Places you in a position of prayer (on your knees) a great place to be in marriage.
Having your feet washed:
Says you are loved
Shows you can receive your spouses support, and won’t “go it alone”
Communicates, “I will let you help me”
Places you in a position of power, which we need to remember we hold, so we don’t abuse it!
It's a Christian ritual signifying ultimate love and commitment. In John 13: 1-17, Jesus washed his disciples feet and instructed that we should do the same.
It is the display of His humility and His servanthood.
Stupid question, sorry for my outburst, i'm usually not like this, this question was answered by your blog readers yesterday, do them the honour by reading their comments, not every one gain from your giveaways but your fans are still loyal to you. At least read their comments, we are not zombies.
We do that doing a traditional wedding ceremony in my mother country, well, watching away your pass and a new life begins for the couple what ever happened in your pass I will never hold it against you
Huh!
Nah...
I don,t know.
Should I say its Humility??
Pls visitb my blog for free browsing and internet tips www.applygist.com
Linda the foot washing signifies "Extra Unity Ceremony and Commitment" which to me it's not necessary because the marriage itself is enough UNITY & COMMITMENT.
Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj
Is this the current trends now?
Hmmmmm,cnt understand sef
Linda, washing of another's feet is a millennia long Jewish tradition of sign of humility and selflessness. Slaves wash the feet of their masters. Jesus demonstrated this too when he stopped so low to wash the feet of his disciples. I believe you know all these because you're Catholic. Regards to your sister and mumsy.
It means the MAN IS WASHING AWAY ALL THE BAD LUCK FROM THE MEN THE WIFE HAS SLEPT WITH.
...#I LOVE INDOMINE#
Cleansing
Joyce Meyer did it to her husband during a sermon. A sign of submission, respect and humility by following the example of Jesus who washed the feet of his disciples. " Husbands, love your wives even as Jesus loved the Church"
Enter your comment...lmao...humility ai guess
it signifies love n respect, lol
It is a simple symbolic gesture of love and service often used at wedding ceremonies to teach the young couple that they should always be at the service of the other. Contrary to what many think about it being a ritual, it is not. It not about a woman being subservient to the man. Rather, it is about both the husband and wife being humble enough to be at the service of the other.
Linda you are a blogger, you should make use of Google sometimes. And if he read the comments on the previous post about feet washing, you will have an idea of what it signifies. ZeeZee
linda google it!!!! not everything is copy and paste
FA
Na idian dem b
so all you higher than righteous Christians have not said anything???
Jesus washed feet, universal symbol or equality,humanity, the pope does it.
Sad you should have to post and ask
-MY VIEW_
Nope
I don't know. It seems strange
For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.
Its nice,but should endeavor to continue that in the marriage
Enter your comment...if u ask me na who I go ask d mata wey we c so e heavy for mouth
Its biblical, except I was your feet, you don't have a part of me....John 13:1-10
Linda,pls send my comments naw
Jesus washed his disciples feet. It shows humility and service.
purity
It signifies humility. When a couple do it to each other it is an act of service. It is not meant to imply that the person doing the washing is "less" of any thing.
It signifies humility. When a couple do it to each other it is an act of service. It is not meant to imply that the person doing the washing is less of anything
They do it Yoruba land. It is a sign that 1) You will bring peace to my open and I will take care of you. I will serve you.
Covenant of Humility and servants to each other, I guess.
It signifies acceptance, Jesus did it to his disciples to signify they were a part oh Him
It signifies acceptance
Google is your friend
There's a Yoruba traditions..that someone has to wash the woman's feet
It's their culture
its an itsekiri tradition, welcoming the bride into the family. usually, it is done by young wives in the man's family.
It's a Jewish tradition
It signifies acceptance
Ask the indians Linda, they know exactly what it means
hi linda, it's just a tradition in some communities around d world to wash d feet b4 moving into the husband's house.....some pple wash the husband's feet and some wash the wife's feet. in Nigeria some parts of edo state pple also bliv in washing the wife's feet b4 she enters her husband's house after the wedding ( sought of entering the house as a clean person with no stains...just the same way Muslims ll perform ablution before praying to wash off dirt from demslvs nd b clean.....some traditions even tell the bride to break a calabash filled with water...it's just reali all different blivs.
It's Jewish traditional!!
Linda Benin people do it na,b4 d bride enters her husbands hse, her feet most b wasted
linda its not funny anymore,what do u always do with my comments?
hhhh he does it really
I married an EDO guy and my feet was washed. Still dont know the significance .
Washing your wife’s / husband’s feet:
Says I love you.
Shows that you honor and respect your spouse.
Demonstrates a humility of heart and character, kneeling before your spouse.
Communicates “I will be here for you through the muck and mud of life”.
Places you in a position of prayer (on your knees) a great place to be in marriage.
Having your feet washed:
Says you are loved
Shows you can receive your spouses support, and won’t “go it alone”
Communicates, “I will let you help me”
Places you in a position of power, which we need to remember we hold, so we don’t abuse it!
This single act is so powerful. It communicates so many things on so many levels! I think that is why Jesus encouraged us to follow his example. I encourage each of you to take time to read Jesus’s words and take time live it out in your marriage. Will it be a bit awkward? Maybe, but I promise that it will boost your commitment to each other, and bring you to a new experience of one flesh commitment!
Before the Passover celebration, Jesus knew that his hour had come to leave this world and return to his Father. He had loved his disciples during his ministry on earth, and now he loved them to the very end. It was time for supper, and the devil had already prompted Judas, son of Simon Iscariot, to betray Jesus. Jesus knew that the Father had given him authority over everything and that he had come from God and would return to God. So he got up from the table, took off his robe, wrapped a towel around his waist, and poured water into a basin. Then he began to wash the disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel he had around him. When Jesus came to Simon Peter, Peter said to him, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet?” Jesus replied, “You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will.” “No,” Peter protested, “you will never ever wash my feet!”Jesus replied, “Unless I wash you, you won’t belong to me.”Simon Peter exclaimed, “Then wash my hands and head as well, Lord, not just my feet!” Jesus replied, “A person who has bathed all over does not need to wash, except for the feet, to be entirely clean. And you disciples are clean, but not all of you.” For Jesus knew who would betray him. That is what he meant when he said, “Not all of you are clean.” After washing their feet, he put on his robe again and sat down and asked, “Do you understand what I was doing? You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and you are right, because that’s what I am. And since I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you ought to wash each other’s feet. I have given you an example to follow. Do as I have done to you. I tell you the truth, slaves are not greater than their master. Nor is the messenger more important than the one who sends the message. Now that you know these things, God will bless you for doing them. (John 13: 1-17 NLT)
it signifies humility