Increased electricity tariff : Fashola appeals to Nigerians, says it's a bitter pill we must swallow | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 8 February 2016

Increased electricity tariff : Fashola appeals to Nigerians, says it's a bitter pill we must swallow

Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, has appealed to Nigerians to accept the new increase in electricity tariff, saying it is a bitter pill we must swallow.

He made the appeal during the second monthly meeting with stakeholders in the power sector in Lagos‎ today February 8th
“Importantly, I understand that people who have been disappointed over a long time will feel a sense of concern that again tariffs have gone up. But the truth is that these tariffs ought to have been there from day one. I don’t know why the government of yesterday was not courageous enough to tell us this was the price. It is a painful pill that I must appeal that we swallow. It is like quinine and malaria. It’s painful; it’s not sweet, I know that, but I do it because we are not left with many choices. This is the first major decision in power that this administration has taken. There are other problems. I can only appeal for some understanding and some trust that we do this in the best interest of our country"he said.

88 comments:

We no want...strongly disagreed

Fashola please try and make the light available first.

A must watch - This sex video will blow your mind away

What pill? Which pill, its even a must, hell fire awaits u all

Nawaooo

There's no where on earth i'm gonna swallow a bitter pill cos am all for sweet things. Anyways, ppl can oppose but at the end it's their cross cos they voted for y'all.

He is a stupid man by saying that after collecting #50 from every deposit we made in d bank

You guys have succeeded in encouraging the importation of generating sets by 200%

Ok atigbo

A friend told me he bought 75units at #2000! That's very wicked fashola. Lets revert to the old payment..

So we should swallow pill wey no go give us anything better for body?
Where the light dey wey them wan increase tariff?

I'm not surprised, what hasnt gone high since you people took administration?

would you have agreed with the former minister of power if he was the one saying same???? jes asking Bcos I have #commonsense

Issokay o! God help us all. Linda take note!

What nonsense? He should take the bitter pills alone abeg.#Lindangwanu#

tosisochukwu said...

We are not accepting any rubbish

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Anon said...

The story would be different if u were in the opposition. Lagosians for wear customised T Shirts dey protest. Yeye dey smell

This man is a sycophant that always reap from the masses all he knows how to do is to Generate money from the poor..Linda observe carefully

There is a way a man talks to his people you begin to reason with him. But the problem is 5k salary remains 5k salary every month. I have metre but phc don't read it instead they flood us with estimates bills that's the problem. You don't have to tell Nigerians we are increasing bills even though it is our right to know because from day one nepa to phc has been a shame. I'm scared what my bills for next month will be honestly. Estimated bills plus increased tarrif God help us.

Change is here.
Hmmm had it being Jonathan government is doing this rubbish hausas and yorubas will commit suicide what a shame upon all the protest still it didn't change any thing.

Thunder should fire you people.....retards how much do you guys give back to D masses??

Thunder fire ur mouth there fahola..we don't want to understand...reverse the tariff...

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Akuko

All na change.

No light and u people are adding more sands to the garri.

acid man(linda's husband) said...

Let's see dis light 1st..

True to fact,the poor masses are on the receiving end,tell us what sacrices have you people made so far?

You as delutional as your boss..

Enter your comment...

Na u go swallow the bitter pill. Light no dey & when e come na to destroy my electronics wey I save moni buy! Gerrat of here men!

Can u imagine..
Bitter pill we must swallow..
Wat about d poor masses..
Is it Because u are ah minister

Oga fashola I use to respect u a lot, but with this statement I loose all the respect. If the formal government had increase the electricity tarrif is u and other apc members like lie lie Mohammed that would have criticize him like u all did during the subsidy stuff. Let's face the fact, the masses will be the one to suffer, what is the common man actually enjoying in this country nothing. The nepa should go down not up when the issue of light is settled then u can increase..

Ya a foolish person Sha. Una mujer loca. A tribalistic idiot, must everything boil down to tribes with u. God, ur moronic comments give me headache. Estúpida.

lord help this Nigeria oo.#praying for nigeria

Journey through life said...

A lot of us are educated but do not see where fashola is headed. If you are using a prepaid meter that means you only pay for what you use ( so if there is no light you're not paying) all of you complaining probably are still using old meters where you get outrageous bills . Secondly there is no country that light is cheap . If half of you go outside this country you will know that khaki no be leather

Ds is unacceptable. Gradually apc is loosin d trusts of d youths.

Linda's daughter aka Nwa Linda said...

Nawao God help Nigeria

Hmmmmmmm Lord help us...

May God almighty punish u fashola. U didn't even promise stable power supply after the increase in tarrif. All u r interested in is how to make money from the poor masses. This same idiot wants to reintroduce tollgate on federal roads.. lemme ask..where is all this money going to go?..private pockets or is it going to be adequately utilised for the common good of all nigerians.this is the more advanced, very corrupt and ruthless change nigerians voted for.

Imagine this stupid people.. Workers salaries have not being paid and u r increasing electricity tariffs..

Delusional and deceptive APC. NEXT Lai Lai will come and plead with us to accept the tariff. Meanwhile, everything is going up since they resumed office.

. Bliss n blossom 2016

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

We don hear. Seen.

These pple just push u to be RUDE to dem!. Pls use d N50 u collect every second and min of d day to sort ur govt wahala or better still u lot should start collecting 100k to 300k like normal Nigerians so u can swallow dis ur "bitter pill" with ur regular country pple. U bag 1m plus a month dats y u can yarn BS! Like dis...awon demons walking d earth in human form!!!

Oai

That yeye yoruba man dey talk non sence when there mouth no far from agbo.jedi and agbo iba pill. Is like na the iba dey worry am.

Kandy said...

The truth is,most of these top societal people don't pay electricity bill I bet you..I know of one ex-military personnel at Ikoyi who doesn't bother himself with such,all their houses/properties are actually invinsible to the so-called PHCN people..such callous thing to do!

Fashola owns Eko electricity DISCO by proxy

That is the change we voted for. Naira is turning into tissue paper.These politicians are shameless and feel we Nigerian are stupid. All the lai Lai they told us during campaign are all Lai Lai.

Very stupid girl with so much hatred for other tribe, may ur bitterness consume u. Bitch!

frank said...

You are a clown. Where have u been in your life. I use prepaid haven't u hear something about 900# service charge fool

Very stupid girl with so much hatred for other tribe, may ur bitterness consume u. Bitch!

He never even explain what he will be needing the extra cash for. No regards to the people they are governing. Clever explanation could have gone a long way.

Well, I'm not surprised. He did the same thing in lagos state before he became a minister. Whichever u analyse it, oga fashola; some of your policies are anti-masses. Bitter pill my foot

Dumbass

Tell them to provide meters

Guesstimating my bill

And what has Buhari said about it?

teej said...

Linda, I fink ds is d point where u click the refresh button. Sm of ds folks don't fink bf they pen down their thots abi na d pen rush dey worry dem. We 1ce paid 50bucks a min in d telecoms but now we pay as low as 15bucks per min with per second feature. Lets bear the pain now so that the gain may follow.

No be fashola I knw he luv tax like mad. We won't accept dat we Nigerians don't want dis type of change abeg...

Nonsense. Dats d change dey promised

I could remember Ƭђέ first tenure of Fashola as governor of Lagos state, he was referred τ̲̅ǿ as 'FASHORO' because of his strategies τ̲̅ǿ make Lagos state a better place and in Ƭђέ long-run, he was praised for his strategy. Fashola, please consider Ƭђέ poor masses, but continue with your strategies. Mind you Fashola, you will be reffered to as FASHORO2.

No light 💡 here oo

teej said...

Be patient, there is no change without sacrifice.

God have mercy on leaders without conscience.

You are the only rational person here .

Na wa bitter pill indeed

Mydear virtually every thing has

U re very stupid. Must u always support APC?

Educated man 75unit is 2000 now,so stop that ur rubish

change too has come increased tariff is change

Ayoola said...

Didn't your weakling GEJ and Igbo thief Sam Amadi increase the tariff twice in 2014 and 2015 ?

empress ojukwu said...

@my Yoruba brothers u never see anything Apc are all liars Rochas don pursue how many wokers,18k minimum wage APC Buhari osibanjo. Obasanjo lai mohammed,amechi una go fell woefully God don catch una

Amacastel said...

Wen I say I hate fashola cos he is an official task collector and ruthless tribalist they will say I don start youths let's march out for this wayo change all the ministry yourba pple are appointed into are ripping poor masses off from 50 stamp duty to increments to electricity tariff soon toll gate will come back den t fare will increase, yet salary remains the same. Goods are already high believe me this govt is worse than previous govt.

These politicians will learn to swallow these pills their self, the poor masses are already suffering from overdose of these bitter pills we have been swallowing these pills since IBB DAYS.

Oga educated, mind you that more people are billed on estimated billing, paying for what dey didn't use. If u have left the country u will know that they all use prepaid and don't pay for what they don't use. The govt shud ensure first that we all have prepaid meter before they increase it. If u dey pay bill u go understand

@ journey through life, Am surprised you are comparing us with the outside world. Even if theirs is higher than urs but their light is constant. Here we pay all the bills and we only have light 10 times a month. It's obvious this government is clueless and ain't gat no plans for us.

Do you guys know how much electricity cost in oda developed countries?

It just a shame to our govt especially the APC party

....& stay with the old ways..

God bless you..
Ignorance.

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha.

This is nonsense.

DO THE RIGHT THING

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

Alright

diana said...

Oga u dat has travelled b4 do nt compare us wit oda countries as our economy is nt d same 2:everything is expensive dollar is high dey re collectin #50 for every deposit nw elect bil is high,dere is also fuel subsidy pls we re sufferin wen d masses voted change dey were bankin on relief

please can u provide the water to swallow the pills o.....

Eze Okeke said...

"It's a bitter pill WE all must swallow" The lie is that Fashola pays no Electricity bill, this is borne by the government as one of the numerous perks of being a minister. He should therefore nor patronize us.

True,but when we were paying that,there was no economic crises nor was there such a crippling cash crunch. The govt asks us to be patient,that things will get better,my question is,how do we survive until then? The average Nig can barely afford the basics as we are,how do we accommodate the increase? Salaries are dwindling and in some cases has become non existent. They are up there in their ivory towers,secure in their cocoons with only a vague idea of how desperate things are for the masses right now.

Same Fashola has 531 million naira as traveling cost. Milking Nigeria an want us to pay more.

Bliss n blossom 2016

At least before u increase tarrif, we should enjoy d services first