Heartbreaking: Kenyan photographer shares touching images of his pregnant wife's final moments on earth | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 February 2016

Heartbreaking: Kenyan photographer shares touching images of his pregnant wife's final moments on earth

This will leave you in tears. A renowned Kenyan photographer, Joe Makeni shared heartbreaking moments in images leading up to his pregnant wife's death on Instagram.

Makeni said he shared the images so as to encourage people out there. According to him, his wife was unable to walk on January 20th and was taken to the hospital at Kijabe where she was admitted before she was later transferred to Nairobi.

Medical tests revealed that Njeri had hypocalcaemia, a health condition resulting from low serum calcium levels in the blood. Below are the photos with captions: 

Photo 1-January 20 at 4:4pm: "On this day @Njeriitho was unable to walk and so we went to the hospital to get it checked out. Actually she couldnt control any of her limbs"

Photo 2-January 27 5:55pm: "After 3 days in Kijabe we came back to a hospital in Narobi. She was sick but she was always so full of joy. Many of us always went home more encouraged by her."

Photo 3: Njeri in hospital just a day after the evaluation. We were so broken having lost the baby just two days prior but as always she was hiding behind a smile. PS: I did the make-up with instruction from @saitonne and @ngamau. Thank you so much Wangeci and Saitone for going out of your way."

Photo 4: "Making gang signs all the way...hypocalcemia for what?"

Photo 5: "Doctors and nurses makes a spirited attempt to save Njeri's life. There was no shortage of talent. I dont think I ve ever seen so much doctors attend to one person. This is the part where you pray before the procedure started."

Photo 5: February 10: "I stared at this monitor for like 30 mins hoping to see the blood pressure shoot up. It was at 49/20 for the longest time. That's the end of that story. Now to pick up the pieces and soldier on. Good bye Njeri. You 'll always be in my heart."

Paul Makeni...

107 comments:

So Sorry man!

Eyah so touching

AJ MAIN BOY...

Oh.so sad,rip dear

Eyahhh so sad!sorry bro take heart and RIP to ur wife

May her soul rest in peace. Amen

sad

meenah_wakil on instagram

Awwww,the baby died too! How sad!

May her soul rest in peace, Amen

trey said...

Cant stop crying... this is beautiful. So bitter sweet.

This is so, so emotional. RIP

Heart whelming.rip

Humm this is very touching, remain strong Paul Makeni.

Eyaah! May her soul rest in peace.Amen

jasmine said...

May her soul rest in peace

Eyea,RIP

Ligabolanasional.com said...

it's story make feeling so sad,,,and your article is inspiring for me, could you help me to review my site?, because i just register to google ads,but I don't got the google's replay yet until now. my site is still reviewed by google.here is my ste name www.ligabolanasional.com

Really touching. May her soul rip

Big Ass said...

Heartbreaking!! So touching. May her soul rest in perfect peace!

Joy wouldn't feel so good if it wasn't 4 pain. I won't sit down here and pretend I know how it feels cos I don't but I knw it must really hurt. May she RIP

#LibBadBoy

EMPEROR G. said...

Deep stuff. Take heart brother. I know how you feel

Touching indeed, dis left me in tears

JOYOUS said...

so sad....

keke driver said...

RIP MADAM

Eyah RIP.

Eyea sowie

Chai

Eyahhhh...sooo touching! R.I.P to her

Awww so touching.... He's strong and she was too...may her soul RIP

Tha Prettiest said...

Crying....this is not fair,why?

Such a sad & swtt story @ d same tym... May God gift him fortitude 2 bear d loss!

Awwwwwww...may her soul rest in peace

Tears dropping

Sorry dear. More Instagram followers for you

Ethel said...

Kai this is so painful! Rest on brave one!

Heartbreaking. Plz b consoled ok

chidi akachukwu said...

Oh my..RIP to her...Believe

DADDYSWIFE said...

Eyah.may her gentle soul rest in peace in Jesus name.amen!!!may the almighty God grant u the strength to carry on in Jesus name.amen!!!
#nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

Awww, so sad. May God give you the fortitude to bear this irreplaceable loss.

Awww RIP

Ur smiles are wonderful despite the fact that you are on the sick bed,rip,may God console ur husband

Ijeoma Linda said...

So sad n yet she had smiles despite her state

Death stings, is hard but God will give u the strength to bear the loss. Amin linda post

U-C-J said...

RIP to her.
Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

Choi!! Rest in peace njeri

Enter your comment...Rip to d dead, to heart man

miss slimberry in d building, for ur quality undies contact me on 08185400696

So touching, the man get mind, rest in peace to the lady! I believe she's in a better place now.

So sad may her soul R.I.P

OMIDAN ABBY said...

**driesTears!
So sad..
Even at the point of death, she's still smiling..
Oh ye death!...a debt we all owe and must def pay..
So pathetic!

Noted

RIP dear!

linda's bestie said...

Wow.tears rolling

God knows best

OKORO UPGRADED

Enter your comment...chai!....May God gv him d fortitude to bear d loss ooo

wow what a woman ,despite we know any thing can go wrong any time,but still is our joy to carry a baby inside us ,may God help all the pregnant women .rip real woman!

mycheezee.blogspot.com said...

Touching

duskkie said...

So sorry may her gentle soul rest in peace

May her soul rest in peace. Amen

strong lady. rest well with your creator be strong husband

So touching...... May her soul rest in peace

Awwww...may her soul rip

Jude Akinwole said...

Eyah, this is so sad. Lost the baby & lost the mother too... So very sad. Heaven open its gates to her...

Omg

Sad... RIP

Sad Rip

Sad news.. take heart
Man

Chaii, May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace...Amrn

sparkle said...

Ooh, so sorry. Such a happy couple. To think he stood till the end. Dnt take any pregnant woman for granted, u never know hidden illnesses. Some wicked nonsense men will be beating their pregnant wives anyhow. Yam for the wickedness u showed me during my pregnancy despit my love and kindness. God will judge u.

this breaks my heart. May her soul rest in peace with the Lord.

heartbreaking,R.I.P to her.

Touching

Take heart bros

Hmmm dis is so touching...

Oh dear,that's sad...

Awww! May her soul rest in peace

Dat Igbo boy said...

I cant control the tears!!! She lived and died happy...

Posh Queen said...

So touching! May she RIPP

Esther Dangana said...

Oh dear,it is really touching I feel your pain. May God comfort you and all her love ones. May her soul RIP.

Hmmmmm so sad

Precious Lord, pls grant dis family d gratitude to bear dis loss. RIP to her.

HYpoparathyroidism, oral treatment for what may arise low calcium <8.0. Treatment with calcium carbonate , ... Was a nurse in Africa they don't do follow lab values religiously.. This is a job of the nurse to monitor.. Sorry for your loss

God have mercy....

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Hoooooo no sorry for the lost R I P Death the end of all human-being

linkin8k said...

What a beautiful smile she had.

chommy said...

So touching. Rest in peace. Linda observe!

I couldn't cry bc the woman has talk me to smile no matter what.pls keep smiling as u meet ur lord.husband smile bc ur wife has find rest God will uphold pls keep smiling.
Linda huz gal

starshine said...

Really sad. Am sure she is in a better place

Adaobikamma said...

RIP may God console the husband.

Pregnant women should be treated gently.Very sad story bro,may she Rest in Peace.Be strong and courageous for our experiences in life make us who we are!

oh-G said...

Smiling all through it. What a lovely soil. God take her into your boss om.

Really sad....May her soul rest in peace....

Gold's place said...

This is so heartbreaking
Her smile is beautiful. **sniffs**. May she be at peace. Amen.

so much strength for one man, may she rest in peace.

Ouch so touching....rip

#spritual

Yea,n hypocalcemia can occur during pregnancy,dats y, calcium carbonate is one of the routine drugs in pregnancy,buh it is hardly given in most hospitals,mayb cos of the side effect which is kidney stone n our people hardly drink enough water.

Olusweets said...

What a pain!Rest in peace beautiful angels and stay strong soldier of love.

DashenDuch said...

God knows best
take heart man

Chuks Bruno said...

Mehn...my heart bleed for him. Imagine chronicling the death of one's spouses e no easy...😭😭😭😭

very touching

#true love

Allyk said...

It is well dear.
She's gone to rest

very touching, take heart, she's gone to rest