Falling oil price: Shell to sack 10,000 workers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 4 February 2016

Falling oil price: Shell to sack 10,000 workers

Following the downward slide of oil price in the International market, international oil firm, Royal Dutch Shell says it is cutting down on 10,000 jobs. Chief Executive of the company, Ben van Beurden, said this in a webcast on its 2015 fourth quarter and full year results early today Feb. 4th
“We are making substantial changes in the company, as we refocus Shell, and respond to lower oil prices. As we have previously indicated, this will include a reduction of some 10,000 staff and direct contractor positions in 2015-16 across both companies.” he said

87 comments:

This is bad #still that Imo boy

Instead of the present administration to provide jobs,they are relieving citizens of their jobs. It's so sad cos this wasn't wat they promised us.

Thats is one of the promise Buhari gave us..
This is his own way of solving unemployment issues....

http://micostarmall.blogspot.com.ng/

Lol, * it's well*

Oh my God!

CHANGE HAS COME.

YOUNGBUHARI said...

10,000 is much. They be using kerosene price as an excuse.

BUHARI KEEP IT UP! YOU ARE SMART AS A GOAT!

ah

pls ooo

meenah|_wakil on instagram

ah

pls ooo

meenah|_wakil on instagram

Serious problem ...

Jesus!what's happening? There's is serious lack of jobs nd now, more people are to be sack

Eh...! I hope my friend will be spared oh. Most companies including mine are retrenching. #LayoffTime

10,000 imagine well change is here.
Hmmm buhari government is raising a kidnapping that will never ever stop till his scam tenure end batch governo is crying for the terrorist that is about to emerge and buhari is about sack 10,000 hmmmmmm why buhari is there wasting Nigeria money on a jamboree travel that don't bring a result.
Nigeria must fall.
Were are those idiot bastards here supporting buhari may God punish u all.

10,000 imagine well change is here.
Hmmm buhari government is raising a kidnapping that will never ever stop till his scam tenure end batch governo is crying for the terrorist that is about to emerge and buhari is about sack 10,000 hmmmmmm why buhari is there wasting Nigeria money on a jamboree travel that don't bring a result.
Nigeria must fall.
Were are those idiot bastards here supporting buhari may God punish u all.

Jeez!!! 10000 more in the labor market, that's bad for this country...

Wahala dey

POPULAR LIB READER!

michael George (the Fulani Prince) said...

Hmm. I hope they gave backup plans.

JAYZSBOSS said...

Fuck

Wow

PEPSI ADDICT

This not good!

#commonsense

Oh NO!

Jesus Christ,10,000 what??anyway all na change.

It is to be expected nah. Linda take note!

Too bad,all na change.

acid man(linda's husband) said...

10,000?.....hmmmm dats too much oh..i hope it works..

Ladi said...

You are such a dumb ass! Royal Dutch Shell is downsizing globally. What has that got to do with Buhari's administration? Did you even read the article?

Golda Awosika said...

Chisox, ds re bad tyms mehn, wat will dos ppl do nw?

I guess u should read very well before you comment. Shell worldwide is cutting down 10k jobs. Not only in Nigeria.

Na woo

Mumu present administration are they shell.present administration are they the cause of oil fall mumu.
...nuel

Be careful what you wish for!!bevause u might just get it!!change is here.

Is Buhari owner of shell or Buhari the cause of oil fall.Our past leaders did not harvest for the future that is what we are suffering now....nuel

Buhari did us nothing.our past leaders didn't plan for future.Buhari is not the cause of oil fall or owner of shell....nuel

Go back and read the news again.Is Buhari owner of shell or the cause of oil fall.Mumu...nuel

Oh e,Don dey reach dt side. Hahahahaha God will help us all

People oh... it's a global job cutting not to only Shell workers in Nigeria. Their Nigerian staff strength is not up to 10,000.
Watch CNN. It is a global lay-off due to falling crude price as they recorded huge loss last year.
It will affect staffs in various countries.

Make una leave Buhari alone, him hand no dey there

Genesis said...

This is so sad if it happens. Society with very high unemployment ratio before. This isn't good news at all.

Snow white said...

Imaging 10000 workers is very bad

I am a neutral person in all this and am neither for APC or PDP party. This has nothing to do with Buhari. International oil prices have gone down and is affecting all oil producing nations. Oil companies are even sacking their staff in the United states.

Omo na entrepreneurship sure pass o! Cv go.Dey useless soon. I think dey should cancel jamb till 2020.

Positive change is Almost here, let us bear everything for now!

renieccc09@gmail said...

God dat much .....

And linda ain't bothered

So many gullible youths here. That's Shell international and its across all the countries shell has does exploration. What has Buhari got to do with this? Is Buhari the brain behind dwindling oil prices? Freeborn and his fellow Biafrans see beyond tribalism. The way and manner you pple hate this man, his pple n yorubas calls for concerns. Linda stop publishing their comments. This is so wrong. Abeg make Govt do give them Biafra sef so that we can live in peace.

Nawa!this is getting more serious by the day...

Zeesat said...

Obsessed Maggot

During the past administration, did companies and firms dnt lay off workers? Even when oil was on the high side, so what wrong with them if dey want to lay of some. Why must we blame the current administration of PMB

super fine said...

Black man's one serious problem. Reading ! Shell is cutting 10,000 jobs worldwide,how is it our Nigeria government's fault.?

.@Ndubuisi ,did Shell promise you a job ?

poshchynwe33 said...

I cover masef with d precious blood of jesus!

Popcorn time said...

U are ode this is a global thing is yahoo a naija company? Yahoo is down sizing 12 percent of it workforce anytime from now mumu think b4 u drop ur comments

Hate Iboman. Civil War end today?

Dan said...

Ye

Is Buhari not also a past leader? Was he not also in charge of ministry of petroleum. Come on guys Buhari is also part of the problem

Thank you Ladi. People don't read and comment.

Maxwell. Royal Dutch shell is cutting jobs globally not Nigeria alone. 10000 jobs cut is globally. It is also a private company and oil price has nothing to do with Buhari.

Shell global. Shell is not just a Nigerian company. People are not thinking globally sha

Na waoo!

Thank you as some people here are myopic

Is shell government owned? How dumb can u get? Or shud we also blame this administration for your dumbness?

Lmao!
Freeborn ti take over
Do your thang man!

Exxon already did

Pearlie said...

Oh my God!! They want to remove food from people 's table..*weeps*

God help us

Ok seen...

Sentiment apart guys let just allow this man.Our past leaders killed us.Nigeria problem got nothing with this 7months administration.Abeg I am not a politicians oh.... Nuel

No hating please,
He's just passing.......

Jude Akinwole said...

Mobil, Chevron, Agip & the likes will follow... With the dwindling oil prices? It's almost inevitable! #JustTheFacts

Shell should look inwards and stop downsizing.

Scary

Mamapapa said...

Na Africa dey be worst hit o, the scapegoats.

Mamapapa said...

Which one is 'Buhari, Buhari' ?This is Shell International talking globally! Haba!

Mamapapa said...

Does Shell Nigeria have 10,000 EMPLOYEES, people?

God help us. Chicaly49@gmail.com

Nawa o

Gat nothing to do with Buhari.
Used to think you're smarter.

Gat nothing to do with Buhari, used to think you are smarter

Seems like you lack understanding.

End time,only Jesus can save the world.

Haabaa, Nigerians and LIBers, must we abuse each other for making comments or what's the social media war all about? Our actions and reactions will definitely reflect in our lives. Just an advice.

Luciana Chinda said...

This is a very sad news.

get juicy news on events at dmplanners.blogspot.com

Too many Nigeran youths with superficial intelligence these days... too bad..... reading as a culture is dead... this "lol" generation shocks me.. that is y they are easily used to ferment trouble.. they don't read to acquire knowledge so that they ask intelligent questions... it's really sad...

I work with Shell... The downsizing of 10,000 workers isn't fully a Nigerian thing. It is world wide.. Plus it also cuts across Shell and the recently acquired BG group. Please we should learn to read and understand. Buhari and the Nigerian government has nothing to do with this. We should pray for our leaders.

-Dodoz

10,000 people is too much. The worst they can do is to reduce their salaries, then those that want to stay will stay & those that cannot will go.