A Nigerian migrant in Germany says he is being stopped by Police 'on every corner' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 February 2016

A Nigerian migrant in Germany says he is being stopped by Police 'on every corner'

Germans are worried about the number of asylum seekers who have been allowed into the country following incidents of sexual assaults and muggings in Cologne New Year's Eve and at the city's ongoing annual festival which were mostly blamed on migrants who "looked like they were from north Africa" .

22-year-old Nigerian Fidelis is among more than a million migrants who arrived in Germany in 2015. According to BBC, he fled fighting in Libya and travelled to Italy before making his way to Germany nine months ago.

Fidelis told the BBC Newsbeat that he was stopped "on every corner" on the opening night of Cologne's annual carnival.
"I am very worried. Police have been checking my papers. They've asked me Where are you from? Are you from Africa? Can I see you papers? I'm very embarrassed"

There were protests all over Cologne in January and German Chancellor Angela Merkel made it easier to make asylum seekers who commit crimes leave the country. Thirty-five suspects are being investigated over the attacks with two men - a Tunisian and a Moroccan - charged.

Fideleis who worked at a bar in Libya, says he loves living in Germany but when he heard what happened on New Year's Eve - he knew people would treat him differently.
"I was praying to my god. I watched it on the TV station. It was like something I couldn't expect was happening by some people who I don't know. I don't know who these people are."

He thinks people should be more open minded.

"Africans are all different. You see white [people] in Africa you see black [people]. People need to see this"

Source: BBC Newsbeat

68 comments:

Don't you know that GERMANY has high rate of racism. You should be aware of that even before going there. DO NOT COMPLAIN.

Biko he should come back home.

May GOD! Help u

With a face like that? Abeg why dem no go de stop u?

Ξ‘ΠΈ∂ worst is he doesn't know d road to Nigeria shey??? He shld stay there na

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Once beaten twice shy

Come back πŸ”™ home 🏑 na if you're feeling embarrassed 😳

why na?

meenah_wakil on instagram

why na?

meenah_wakil on instagram

Cone back home and I'll be as free as the birds flying in the sky

Donjazzycrush said...

is that why he kept his face like that huh?

Don~ jazzycrush

THEY ARE NOT SERIOUS

AUNTY LINDA....

GPD said...

God will surely help you....

EKIN ROYALE [LORD PLS PICK UP MY CALL] said...

Enter your comment...Eyah
You can't really blame them, they are only being proactive.

Linda I'm here o

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Man, come home to your father's land.

You don't have to live in Germany before you can make it, bro your life is important you need to be conscious of your security.

Na me said...

change your dressing, wanabe.then see if they wont stop.

how wont he be stopped by the police dressed like that!! with his face cap and a chain like that....when he is not a celebrity! see his head...

It's as expected na...#DealwithItguy

JAYZSBOSS said...

Na police country u dey so

Eya fide soryyy

baba said...

Enter your comment...NOTED BY DJ BANTI.fellow on IG@djbantiben or like my fbpage@djbanti

acid man(linda's husband) said...

Wat do u expect b4...

God will help them.Linda see to that case

Oza said...

When it is said that there is no place like home, you think its a joke?

Racial profiling?

Sweet sweet home, people no where can be like home unless God leads one out of home Himself, yet you will still be ill-treated but hen you will be able to conquer at the end, just like Isaac in the face of the people of the land of the Canaanites, who had to dig well for seven times before he could get water to use (Genesis 26:1-35) and its only God that blesses when He leads you there, else you will always be a fugitive.
We therefore need God.

U sure say u no carry white for that chaplet, officer pls search him properly, na Yoruba boy

Na wah oh

Jst come back home.

What happened on new year eve?

LINDA MY LINDA

Home misses u Son.
Jst Come back Home.

Germany remains No.1 racist country in the world... They're like a wolf in sheep cloven.... *sipping my Andre*

Andy sneh said...

Come back to Nigeria if u are as uncomfortable as you're saying.

Life for u...

AJ MAIN BOY...

Eyahhhh if they disturb u too much,just kukuma come back to ur father's land.

Sorry man shit happens....

I feel your pain brother...

No be lie. They treat us like a slave still we run they like a moron..Linda observe carefully

I live in Germany and I must say he's been stopped every now and then because of the cologne attacks which where carried out by people from north Africa and as you said he came from north Africa(libya)

Eayaaah I feel is pains

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Mehn. Don't wanna be in your shoes right now. I feel your pain bro. You'll overcome by God's grace.

Hmmmmmmm

#Linda'spal

Welcome to the West my friend.....Africans unfortunately do not know this and instead all rhey do is glorify everything white...designer this from oyibo, rubbish noodles if no nutritional value from oyibo, tv programs of oyibo, fake accent of oyibo, every travel to oyibo land, all the images of your God oyibo and yet oyibo hate you the black man...When will the black man especially our leaders understand that our God and power and strength is in our culture and identity...If we invest all our energy and resources in our culture and motherland, there will be no reason for any African wanting to slave or work in oyibo land let alone live....

*linda's Future Hubby*

Eyah you for kuku stay your country now...
I won't blame them

Wilheminna that boy is cute

Shape ur mouth

Bad belle people

Security in Nigeria? Aboki pls

Pearlie said...

Please, stay where you are, Nigeria aint better joor

don't you have a country?...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Confused

youngest billionaire said...

hmmmm bad belle is allowed

When he fled fighting in Libya he didnt flee to Nigeria abi? Instead he went to Europe. A beg they should deport him back here sharp sharp

Every country is fed up with africans...cant we develop africa and avoid this humiliation

Germans hate blacks. Blacks don't mind. Blacks live with them anyway, life goes on.

Notin to do here, better stay der n hustle lik others

Hmmmmmmmm hope he is not killed

He should come back home

Lol..pele

Germans re funking racist!!!!

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

Whatever

Innocentia Annie said...

shit happens
You gotta deal with it dude
Or you come back home
Hustle is still real here

Oga just learn to live with it jare....Many Men for igboro won dey ur shoes joor...

Germany has always been a very racially biased country...

I think better put, they're wolves in lion's skin

Make he kukuma come back