Etisalat sues MTN over Visafone acquisition | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 8 February 2016

Etisalat sues MTN over Visafone acquisition

Telecommunication company, Etisalat Nigeria has sued MTN Nigeria and Visafone Ltd, challenging MTN’s use of the 800megahertz (MHZ) spectrum following the acquisition of Visafone. MTN closed the deal acquiring Visafone in January this year.

A statement released by Etisalat says the suit was filed in order to prevent the use of the spectrum by MTN at this time, as it will entrench the dominance of MTN in the retail data services market.

The statement released by Etisalat's Head of Media, Chineze Amanfo reads in part;

"You will recall that MTN Nigeria was declared dominant by the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) in 2013 and remains dominant in the wholesale leased line and retail voice markets. The use of the 800MHz spectrum to deploy broadband services ahead of its competitors, particularly those who prior to MTNs purchase of Visafone, held similar spectrum bands as MTN, will further entrench MTN’s dominance in the Nigerian telecommunications sector”.

51 comments:

Ghen ghen

Akuko. More Instagram followers for you all

Hahahahaha,Mtn haff suffer o

Hmmmm Ok their cup of mokite

Healthy competition, we consumers benefit solely at d end..

MTN maintain oo..

Alright!

Let the battle begin

shuu..

hw that one take concern them na

meenah_wakil on instagram

MTN sharp pass nao...lolzzz

shuu..

hw that one take concern them na

meenah_wakil on instagram

Lol.

Na them sabi! * it's well*

Mtn haff suffer

PEPSI ADDICT

Gud for them

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Who's to blame. I see no sense in the suit. Its a business strategy

Nenyechi said...

Mtn again

Telecommunications drama, lol

in the UK,they are bodies that checkmate issues like this. issues that relate with company's dat try to suppress competition. the market should have a reasonable amount of competition and not monopolized. If this is resolved it will be fine.

#LibBadBoy

Make them digger am there
They are making too much money in this country

Mtn again

Hmmn

MTN doing in Nigeria what Glo wont be allowed to do in South Africa.
it's time their dominance of the Nigerian market is checked.

The war has begun.

Let d war begin...

Golda Awosika said...

dis one na Gbege! eazy guys.

I dont understand this post oooooo.......
Can sum1 plz kindly explain..

I don't understand.....thank you

Dem headache not mine
Am temporary out of service
Pls try again later
Linda dont take note!

Donjazzycrush said...

ok.

Don~ jazzycrush

Telecom's Drama. Hahahahah!#Lindangwanu#

nwogo david said...

www.konga.com?k_id=dave1614

HMMMM

Oya show ur power mtn

THAT'S a useless suit. A poor business excuse by Etisalat

Na who get money buy nah! How dat one take concern consumers??? Linda take note!

Shoroniyen

I don't even understand....

Luciana Chinda said...

Don't understand their stress.

It's not a useless suit, as some of you might think. Even Google has been sued several times by MSN, Ask, etc. due to their market share in search engine. So, it's left to the judiciary and NCC to decide if it is an unfair competition.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

How many times will Etisalat sue MTN? Na wa o.

MTN is more strengthen as they face challenges by the day. notin dey shake dem o. they remain big stron and reliable.(smiles) Eti go do ur home work well

nunulicious said...

in the rules of fair play etisalat is correct. can't have an organisation dominate a telecommunications industry. same with DSTV.

I DNT GET LOL

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

LOL JOBLESS

Oya! Sharp sharp.... Release the broadband. No time

Etisalat you should have stepped up your game and outbid Mtn for visa phone. It is just dawning on you guys what you lost.