BMX legend Dave Mirra commits suicide at age 41 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 8 February 2016

BMX legend Dave Mirra commits suicide at age 41

David Michael "Dave" Mirra was an American BMX rider who later competed at rallycross racing. He held the record for most X Games medals until being passed by Bob Burnquist in 2013. 

On Thursday February 4th, Dave took his own life by shooting himself in the head in an SUV while parked outside the home of his best friend, Scott Ashton in Greenville, North Carolina. This was just within days of his 10th wedding anniversary. He was just 41 years old. He left behind a wife and two daughters

With his wife and two daughters...

His last IG post before he committed suicide...

Shocked friends said the sportsman had shown no outward signs of depression. And just hours before his death he had also talked to the town's mayor about getting more children involved in cycling. But according to new reports from TMZ today, Dave had become depressed after his BMX riding career ended

From TMZ
Dave Mirra had a rough time finding purpose when his BMX career ended ... he tried filling the void by helping kids ... but it wasn't enough. 
Friends of Dave tell us ... in the months before his suicide, he spent his time introducing kids in the Greenville, North Carolina area to extreme sports, such as speed cycling and biking. 
Problem was ... the 41-year-old couldn't find anything in his life to even approximate the adrenaline rush he got from BMX. He knew working with kids was important, but the passion he felt while he competed just wasn't there, and it became a significant factor in his deep depression
We're told Dave tried to convince himself working with kids could be as satisfying as BMX, and from time to time his outlook would brighten. In fact, we're told just hours before he fatally shot himself, he saw someone at lunch and talked about plans to bring a speed cycling track to Greenville.
The friend with whom we spoke said the recurring theme from Dave was that he felt lost. 

57 comments:

Really....

JEZZZZZZZ NOT again

toh...

meenah_wakil on instagram

toh...

meenah_wakil on instagram

Gentle Jacob said...

Rip man. she grabs someone else' boyfriend's dick in the club & suck (Video)

Safe trip to hell........

#PEACEOUT

Praiz said...

God have mercy.

For any of your phone problems. Visit: Phone Geekz.

Rip

Nobody what, you should neva take ur life

Most beautiful gal on linda ikeji's blog

Praiz said...

God have mercy.

For any of your phone problems. Visit: Phone Geekz.

NnekaOchu Blog said...

what a waste of this swt life

Its a pity...

See depression,na waoh! Suicide isn't an option at all.

Jules blog said...

Such a waste.

Money is everything!!!

Sad

Too bad.may his soul RIP

Chai.. Mental illness is not good o! RIP

K. * it's well*

JohnJeanK said...

It is work of satan

Sad.
Bt, da fuck with folks killing themselves?

Eyaa so sad

Wonder what could have pushed him to take his own life. Linda take note!

Demmy said...

Winners dnt quit! Hw selfish n coward of him not to even think abt d wife n kids. RIP tho.

o'ben said...

Make them check well,he was murdered!!!

It a pity he had to die that way..Linda observe carefully

Big Ass said...

RIP Man!

Rip....but life is too sweet to commit suicide.....

Wasted soul. No peace for you in heaven.

LINDA'S HOUSEGIRL

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Suicide is never a last resort. So sad.

keke driver said...

How would those little girls ever forgive you? were they not enough to bring smiles to your face?

obidiedgreetings said...

Oga sorry ooo

RIP to him
Amaram ogechi

ogechi230@gmail.com

May his soul rest in peace.

HORRIBLE

HORRIBLE

Oyanu Rest In Peace Wherever You Find Your
self

Muna said...

Na wa ooo

JohnJeanK said...

It is work of satan

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

WHY NA...

Royal rumble

See Oyinbo madness! What will you tell God now?

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Safe journey to hell!

Too bad

You have a strong urge to help kids but because you felt you can't help them enough you had to kill your self.suicide is not an option.

Hmm

Nawa oo. Ngwa nu. More Instagram followers for you

ODE!

Self centered man who never considered his family before carrying out his stupid unforgivable act go and burn in hell

Rip

Drug is at work ,madnes

Dear Linda Ikeji readers,

As a doctor and Christian, I have to strongly object to such comments as "selfish man" and "burn in hell". These are very horrible things to say about the loss of someone who's situation we don't know or understand, and who's grieving family could be reading right now.

Firstly, depression- like other mental illnesses- is a real disease, just like cancer, hypertension, or heart disease. One out of every 4 human beings will experience some kind of mental illness in their lifetime- this is more common than almost every illness out there.

Like all diseases, it is caused by a mix of genetics, environment, and triggering factors. To call him "stupid" or "selfish" is the same as calling someone "stupid" for having cancer or "selfish" for dying in a car crash.

As for "burning in hell", there is no Biblical scripture that specifically describes suicide as a mortal sin punishable by death. More so, many great men of God were afflicted by suicidal thoughts- Moses, Elijah, Job, and Jonah being among them. That they survived their experience was due to the grace of God who provided for them in their hour of need.

We- if we are God's people- are tasked with "making disciples of all nations" and bringing the Good news of salvation to all mankind. Were any of us there to support him in his hour of need?

How about now, that his family are suffering such terrible loss? Are we providing comfort or help?

Dave Mirra, you are one of many who has been accused of atrocities while in the midst of suffering. I apologise on behalf of anyone who has said anything hurtful to you or your family at this time.

May you rest in peace, may your family find comfort, and may medicine- and community- bring an end to suicide.

A life without Christ is suicidal

This is way too much logic for these low IQ bastards. Someone finally understands.

Suicide is never an option.