Biko, what does this signboard say? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 February 2016

Biko, what does this signboard say?

A signboard seen on a road in the Akobo area of  Ibadan, Oyo State. It's written in Yoruba. I know the first part says 'drop your refuse...', what does the last part say?

132 comments:

Lol don't understand biko

Lol.. pure dirty there n be useless for life

Sweetheart said...

Dump refuse here and be wasted!
There are somethings I can't voice out in yoruba

Who the signboard don help??

build a house here and you will use jazz to cook...

lol

i tried

meenah_wakil on instagram

I only know the first part like u Linda...

If you don't know what it says, then why post it. Fastest fingers. ..

D sign post si GI SAA ikpu GI mmiri.... Nnukwa ajuju, abum onye ofe mmanu?

*Yawns* It should be don't drop your refuse here na Lol.

Linda, abeg if its your land dont try building on the property oo..

it a set up

meenah_wakil on instagram

Lol, drop refuse n be useless

And become useless! Linda take note!

dispose waste here and be wasted!

The sign basically means leave your rubbish and perish

It says "Da ile sibi, ki o sofo danu" meaning: Place your refuse here, and be wasted
or better still Place your refuse here; and die a wastefully.

halima said...

Lol....It means pour refuse here and be (ofo)means a curse like being wretched

lolllllll it says "throw trash here and become a nuisance 4 ever" ...... not sure any English translation will do real justice to d sentence oooooo....lolll

Na who i go ask?

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Over to the yoruba people, I know it involves emptiness, dropping refuse.

Only in ibanda.. They are lot of it in Ibadan..

seun said...

drop your refuse and get wasted

It means dump refuse here and become wasted. Its away of scaring people away from dumping refuse and also warning them. Lol

MOYO said...

DROP REFUSE HERE AND BECOME USELESS

..... and (offender) be miserable for eternity. Lol
😂😂😂😂😂😂

MOYO said...

DROP REFUSE HERE AND BECOME USELESS THATS THE TRANSLATION

BUT MAKA WHY said...

It says drop your refuse here and we will assist you with trashing it nicely....

Throw your refuse here and you won't succeed.

Lolz.....ibadan people chai

It means dump refuse here and become wasted. Its away of scaring people away from dumping refuse and also warning them. Lol

Konisewu linda#Oshamooo said...

The signboard translation in English is " if you dump refuse here you shall not prosper " it just a curse period.

Dump refuse here and become a waste or become useless

Na swear o...Linda hide your head.

deji said...

Drop your refuse here and perish!

Hehehehe

it means drop a refuse and waste your life

Ambassadorial signage

Drop refuse here and get 1million naira.

Dump refuse here and your life will end up being meaningless.

Hahahahaha,Ibadan pple dey vex ooo,it means drop ur refuse here and perish.
Abeg Aunty Linda post my comment

Dunno

It means... drop your refuse and waste ur life.

Mr. True Talk said...

linda use google translator now. anyway make i help u. it means "dump your waste here and become wasted yourself" the wasted in this context will mean to "die"

Drop refuse here and rot in life

the sign on the post says "throw dirt here and invite evil of the greatest heights into your life"

Ahhh! This is serious oh! It means Throw Dirt here so as to be miserable and loose your insernity

Its a curse oo.. haa haa ppl sha

Abass Rasheed said...

it says "dump your refuse here and be doomed."

Ojuo m

I no no an am also a Yoruba chai !!( Kabba though

"Ki o se ofo danu" means never to achieve anything meaningful in one's life..that's the meaning ..lolz

Yshoyinka@yahoo.com said...

Lol! its means "Dumb resfuse here and never do well in life"

drop your refuse here and lose everything you have/worked for

Experience auto-doom

Drop your refuse here and watch your life waste away

Drop dirt here and u will b miserable the rest of your life

Litter here and loss all in life

9ja Parrot said...

The second part is "and Perish"

Litter here and loss all in life

Drop your refuse here and perish! #cold lol 😂

Wale said...

The exact meaning is "drop your refuse and your life goes into ruins"

Na wa for ibadan people chai

Drop refuse and be come varnish

Olukofe mariam said...

Drop refuse here and your life gets wasted

hehehehe...

It means dump refuse here and waste your life.

Lolsss.

All my years in lagos and i can't even speak yoruba well..smh for me!

Lmao

Eyaf doo na...all of una wan talk

Don't know what it means, don't understand Yoruba

Hehehehehe, I understand only d first part just lyk Linda

"drop your refuse here and be wretched"

means pour your refuse here and be useless in life

Lmao#Lindangwanu#

Linda, if you ask me..na who I go ask?

"Dump your refuse here and be wasted for life."

Oh no the hateful dullard is back.

Posh Queen said...

Lmao. Throway dustbin here and be useless away

lol

Dump your refuse here and be doomed for life!

it means perish

A statement in a language with a deep meaning.
Well, Whatsoever it is such victim should steer clear
to avoid being infected by diabetes. Lol.
Speaking of diabetes of any type i have something to
share with everyone going through such pains.Check Here To Read More

Ibadan people has no chilling

Chuks Bruno said...

Dunno

It means dump your refuse here and u are on the route to total destruction....lmao

Drop your refuse here and live a miserable life. It a curse.

no idea.

Drop ur refuse here and have a dinner party with obama tomorrow..! Linda go drop first.

LMAO!!!! THROWBACKTHISDAY, FEB 11; Is Brandy's Birthday visit; www.throwbackthisday.blogspot.com for more.

I dnt understand too lol

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

pure dirty there n be useless for life... lol

Willie is back. You no go kill person ooo. Iju tara ya ajujua.

do you want to tell us that you dont know it? if not how did you
know the meaning of dale sibi(drop ur refuse)

gab2shoes said...

Let Ur anus learn....since it thinks faster for u than Ur Dickson....ara mmadu

The gods are not to blame
Gab2shoessaysso

..na wa ooo

It is "Dump your refuse here and die"

Choi Moses, u no well ooo....loool

LMAO! Jidekwa something.

U-C-J said...

Linda if you ask me naa who I go ask?
Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

Dump refuse here and be wasted for life
D.R.I.M.R.S

Dave said...

it says "may your days be long".

就哦预测 said...

Enter your comment...hahahaha if you ask me ?na who i go ask?

"NeVeR SaY NeVeR".

Arc. Adefila said...

dump refuse here (there) while u become a nonetity

Drop ur refuse hear u wld just be toking anyhow

Heheheeh...if you ask me na who I go ask

Lolllllll..... Wilheminna moses ur jus possesd wit a rotten mind.God hv mercy on u...

Throw away dirt
here and throw away your life

Urgh

Yeepa

Argh

This is too much

Bye

Epe Yoruba ni. O ni " Da Ile sibi ki o sofo" Is it that it's not legible enough? Or you are opening a Yoruba translation session on your blog? Do post information on your site free of charge? Pay me & you will receive solid and correct meaning.

The English language does not do justice to the translation of the sentence basically it is a curse placed but it is used as a deterrent to prevent people from dropping refuse.

FourthOfApril said...

@Anonymous 12:39 PM, hateful dullard gbaa ni ! To Linda, always transcribe into the English language the trash your bile-filled sister always yarn, remember, reasonable, rational, liberal, intelligent, mature awon omo Oodua read your blog. Also, stop forming 'I don't understand the beautiful Yoruba language', ko ba colour e mu! Peace!

seun said...

lmao... drop your refuse and rest in peace

Now am confused... wfh did you jez write now.

Drop your refuse and you'll waste away.

Throw trash here and you will become an empty waste of space...

Na Xo nw if Nt dey go turn to refuse dump pple fear juju pass God

DROP YOUR RUBBISH AND BE PERISHED

Hhhmmm..... Englishian..... #GhostInitiate

Enter your comment...drop ur refuse here n be wasted lol

kemisiwealth said...

Mbok! Yhu will b in Lagos ND see drop ur refuse here ND claim ur generational curse.lol u stil xpect to go to ibadan ND see such(ko si oun to jo rara) dey speak dia dialet too. Ko possible men!

Issorite

AJ MAIN BOY ...

It simply means litter this property and perish.
This is to wade off obstinate spoilers.

It was initially smoking is dangerous for your health for example, now it is smokers are liable to die young. Who knows, it might be smokers will die, in their next advert.

Linda, u claimed to be a Lagosian and u do not know that. Also, I thought u were born in Lagos. Then u shld know it.

Chai Willy don finish Linda.. Epic shading.. Lol

Yoruba ppl stuff