The union chastised the Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, for wanting to increase electric bill despite having unstable power supply.
President Goodluck Jonathan, had in 2013, privatised and handed over the assets of the defunct Power Holding Companies of Nigeria, PHCN, to new investors now known as Distribution Companies, DISCOs and Generation Companies, GENCOs.
At its 5th Quadrennial and 10th National Delegates Conference, taking place in Lafia, President of the union, Mr. Mansur Musa, said that since the privatization, the new investors in the power sector haven't added any improvement to the sector, but rather had been milking the citizenry dry.
He said:
“While the country still groans in darkness, lack of meters, dearth in power infrastructure and high tariff, the investors smile to the banks at the expense of the workers who have little or nothing to show for their hard work.
“Apart from the investment government made in the sector prior to privatization, investors do not consider it expedient to invest on the growth and development of Electric Power in the country. We strongly advocate for a review of the privatization exercise.”
Punch

18 comments:
Can't wait
Well.said.....
Gud.Morning.Libers
NUEE's call is timely.
***ECHOMASS***
Phew,, i hope ur request be granted...
The power sector is not looking like it has been privatized.
My own stand still remains dat dey should make prepaid meter available to all and electricity would automatically improve. Linda take note!
Something really needs To be done in that sector. Hope mr president acts fast.
#iT wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#It MuSt eNd iN praIse
True talk!
Not bad
# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
It's necessary biko
I understand the feelings of comrade Musa (though he wasn't addressed that way in the piece) but we can't afford to go back to the old days. The whole Nigeria can't be wrong. we know that labour can equally declare due dispute in the event of investors not doing what they are supposed to do in a bid to ensure they have conducive working clime and give us more power. So let NUEE leave that route because it leads to nowhere. Congrats on your successful NDC
You are dumb!I'm ashamed of you. The provision of meter will automatically produce electricity. Most of you Lib readers should go back to school. No wonder employers question your skills and intelligence.
As far as i am concerned, the request of this workers union is to there own advantage. It was same agitation from Nitel staff before we got to the milestone with telcos now. As far as i am concern, the government should do the needful to give us electricity. After all the unions are the same hands that has been there and no improvement all this while.
That's good
This is How Saint West Will Look Like in 7 Years Time
Anon 10:15...you are the stupid cretin and juliet is right.The provision of pre-paid metre would definitely boost electricity provision. The inflated estimated bills dis idiots levy on the masses is making them reap dividends that exceeds d value people r receiving but bcos its inflated/estimated bill and the masses wud be forced to pay anyway, these idiots dont care and neva bother about improving that sector but once pre-paid metres are made available, they would indirectly be forced to sit up as people wud only get billed according to d value dey using up which will automatically make dia revenue drop drastically.