Beyoncé, Jay Z, Rihanna, Kanye West, and Pharrell sue fashion brand for using their names without permission | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 9 October 2015

Beyoncé, Jay Z, Rihanna, Kanye West, and Pharrell sue fashion brand for using their names without permission

Five of the biggest names in music are taking legal action against a clothing retailer over claims that the brand did not seek their approval before using their names, lyrics, and photos on their products.
Beyoncé, her husband Jay Z, Rihanna, Kanye West, and Pharrell Williams have all filed a lawsuit against the French clothing company Eleven Paris, alleging that the trendy retailer unlawfully sold merchandise with their likeness or intellectual property.

The lawsuit, which was filed in New York on Tuesday, cites 58 alleged violations including a T-shirt that says Kanye is My Homie, a backpack that says RiRi and includes her birth year, and a shirt including Beyoncé's song lyrics: 'A diva is a female version of a hustler.'

The suit claims that the plaintiffs have even sent the brand written warnings, but they were still selling 'dozens of infringing merchandise' at their New York City store as of the day of filing.
One of the brand's most popular designs features pictures of celebrities - including Beyoncé, Rihanna, Kanye, and Pharrell - digitally altered to include fingers with mustaches drawn on them held in front of their faces.
The stars allege that these products do damage to their brands, and requests that Eleven Paris stop selling the offending products and pay damages.
While none of the plaintiffs have publicly worn the Eleven Paris' clothing in the past, the brand is a favorite among some celebrities - including a few of the suing stars' relatives.

39 comments:

C de clothes sef,God thnk u 4 awareness.....TOMJERRYSWIT

Hmmm! Not in 9ja. Aba boys go use your name and you go still dey thank them on top. Lol

tsalz c.e.o said...

Mke dem come naija nw.. dem go tire

Truthurts said...

Oooooh My Goodness dat brand is going bankrupt

That's wrong

OKORO UPGRADED

seyi crown said...

They need to come to 9ja and sue Igbo boys too lol

Seyilicious

the company better go n beg o

Aunty linda....

the company better go n beg o

Aunty linda....

KWEEN said...

They should come to Nigeria and see what Aba and Hausa boys are putting their faces on. Even boxers and hanky sef. Lool

Esther Okoro said...

They should have taken permission from them.

Dey'd pay from their asses

They will settle, this is minor

Ok is good

All of the sueing @ once. That will just cripple the company. Cuz they sure can't be sueing for peanuts

All of them sueing @ once. That will just cripple the company. Cuz they sure can't be sueing for peanuts

Make them come Aba come see American wonder
They don even give them sex tape for Aba

E don red.

Na overdo dey worry the company. Linda take note!

Lmao. If dey come to naija, our aba brothers r in trouble

Chosky said...

Hmmmmmmm

Lol.....all those Nigerian made clothes that have their pictures on them nko? Dem seek permission? Barbers' shop, salons, boutique, etc. Lol

dudette said...

Queen B na Beyoncé name?? Or she doesn't know what it means

Ghen ghen!

Don't see any rights infringement here. They don't sue magazines and Linda's blog sites for publishing their names and pictures, do they?

This is wrong and the company would pay. Lol

Lolz funny

Suing them for making them more popular and aligning wit their names. I pray they settle out of court.

Na wa. I remember the last time I shopped on rad.com wondering if this company had the right to use these images of celebs on their tees and sweats. They even have some of B.I.G. At least I got my own 'I woke up like this' before the lawsuit. *shines teeth*

It is a good thing to make a name. You go fear legal action na.

uche big dick said...

Adaobi igwe pls can we get ur price list we hear say u na terrific sex giver. Abeg open blog post ur price.u like big dick abi I am game

so if they come ti nigeria all them aba boys better be running .

Sue their asses. They won't dare next time.

Miriam David said...

Lwkmd! Make dem come naija na! Dem go sue taya.