Black medical student, Kim Ohaegbulam to sue NYC bar for barring him from using restroom because of skin colour | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 October 2015

Black medical student, Kim Ohaegbulam to sue NYC bar for barring him from using restroom because of skin colour

Kim Ohaegbulam, 28, claims that a manager at the historic Landmark Tavern in Hell’s Kitchen barred him from using the restroom because of the color of his skin, the Daily News reports.

The bar on W. 46th St. has been pouring drinks since 1868, but Kim Ohaegbulam said he thought he had stepped into a time machine taking him back to the 19th century during a recent visit.
"I’ve never experienced anything like this in my 28 years, I’ve never been denied the use of a bathroom anywhere," said Ohaegbulam, who grew up in Alabama and Florida.
Ohaegbulam, a student in the M.D. and Ph.D. program at Albert Einstein College of Medicine, ended up receiving a summons for disorderly conduct for making “unreasonable noise” after the manager called police.

He is planning to file a lawsuit against the Landmark Tavern alleging he was the victim of racial discrimination, and the city for false arrest. "I don’t like to play the race card, but it is what it was,” he said. "It was a blatant form of racial discrimination. I’ve got to make sure it doesn’t happen again at that establishment" "I’m a medical student but I'm also a black man. I felt like what happened to me is the same as what happened during the civil rights era and Jim Crow."

Ohaegbulam was celebrating the completion of a school project with two friends, a fellow medical student who is from India and a law student who is Asian, who were buying the drinks. His friends used the bathroom, but when Ohaegbulam got on the line, he said he was stopped by the night manager who told him it was only for paying customers.

Ohaegbulam insisted that he had been drinking there for 45 minutes, and was backed up by his friends and even the bar’s security guard, but the manager refused to budge. "I told Don (the manager) that I had checked his ID on the way in," the security guard, who requested anonymity, told The News.

"Don has the type of personality, what he says goes" Ohaegbulam demanded to speak to the owner, Michael Young, and waited outside. When five cops arrived, a sergeant told him he could make a complaint “to the Better Business Bureau,” but he had to leave the area.

After Ohaegbulam persisted in stating his complaint, he was handcuffed and taken to the precinct stationhouse, where he received the summons. "It’s very unfortunate but not surprising that persons of color, particularly black and Hispanic males, endure this sort of unlawful conduct on a regular basis," said Ohaebulam’s lawyer, Eric Sanders.

A lawyer for the bar insisted there was never an issue of Ohaegbulam using the bathroom, claiming the manager called police because Ohaegbulam was “inebriated” and “menacing.” The lawyer, Robert Ferrari, said the manager told him the bar “has many black customers” and was sticking by his claim that Ohaegbulam was “hanging out” at the bar but was not a customer.

Ferrari said the Landmark Tavern has a surveillance camera, but every two weeks it tapes over the previous recording, so he didn’t think there was a record to prove or disprove anymore whether Ohaegbulam was a customer. But Ohaegbulam said his witnesses, and the bar receipts, will prove he is telling the truth.

Ferrari said the Landmark Tavern has a surveillance camera, but every two weeks it tapes over the previous recording, so he didn’t think there was a record to prove or disprove anymore whether Ohaegbulam was a customer. But Ohaegbulam said his witnesses, and the bar receipts, will prove he is telling the truth. "This was blatant discrimination and it’s just wrong," he said

Source: Daily News

48 comments:

Racism is bad

This is heartbreaking

Bloody racists. Sue them joor.

Wht...?

In dis era we hav hav dis type of act taking place, wht a shame. He should win dis case so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

Sue their ass!
Bunch of racists!

Sulaz said...

"Ferrari said the Landmark Tavern has a surveillance camera, but every two weeks it tapes over the previous recording, so he didn’t think there was a record to prove or disprove"... Racist... they have wiped off evidence.

Imagine the nonsense, he should sue dem for every Penny dey are worth. Linda take note!

Uncalled for happenings in this 21st century. Shake my head. Matt 19:18

Why we keep hearing stuffs like this every day? I feel because we tend to sweep this cases under the carpet instead of dealing with them in a manner that curtail the menace. We should say no to racism now. The world belong to all of us regardless of where we come from and the colour of our skin.

Let d truth prevail

Blacks are suffering.
Blacks should go back to there place an develop it as they did to white mans place.

Blacks are suffering.
Blacks should go back to there place an develop it as they did to white mans place.

very good, this racism is becoming fucking much o

Aunty linda......

very good, this racism is becoming fucking much o

Aunty linda......

hrm paul ojeih said...

Racism is on d increase in america wat d hell am going there to do

Da-LadyBossChick said...

Racism will never end...as long as our skin colours are different from the Whites

Kim thanks for standing for who God created you to be one colour does not make one inferior to another person we are all the same with equal function abilities structure and capacity.

Racism is alive and well in America

He should sue their stupid asses, in this time and age. Infact b d time his done sueing the asshole even up to the boxers on the psycho's body shld be owned by him

Good luck to him in court.

Racism...will never die..just like tribalism... you can stop yourself from propagating it...

Those stupid racist.TIMILEYIN BLESSING

That's America for you. Never ending issues with racial discrimination. A bad country for a black man. Everyday, there is always a case of a white person disrespecting a black person. That's why I relocated back to Nigeria.

Fine accomplished boy like this. This is America in all its racist glory. All the money miss road misguided Nigerians raising entitled kids who can't do anything but command househelps watch porn and act bratty. When you get to Yankee it's a no man's land where they will chew u and spit u out.

Gboyega said...

It's vry disheartening wen u read dese kind of stories of racial discriminatn amongs blacks in a country who propagates equality b4 law nd rule of rule. America a country dat speaks and act 4rm both sides of dia mouth.

This racial segregation na bastard

Hmm..

Racial discrimination has become unbearable and a thing of concern.

marvellous said...

They are mad....racism everywia

He should just let it go na....

How is it people who are so incensed about racism in far away places somehow lose their momentum when it comes to tribalism right here in Nija? Shouldn't charity begin at home? QED@ATM

Pls come back to your father's land if u don't want such thing to happen to you...no place like home....kapish

Stupid comment, no place like home but the level of tribalism pass racism.

Is racism ever gonna stop?

IWP said...

Come back. To which faather land is nigeria s place?...look dis man can sue d bar...n end up rich but for naaija...notin like daat fit happen...I beg naija is hell tribaalism everywhere www.iwonpopular.com

Sue their Sorry Ass.

As in which father's land? Father's land of poverty. He is a student N is getting the highest quality education that father's land can't give him

This is what will continue to happen if we continue to plonder the nations resources, refused to build ouR country and develop her infastructure. My advice to the young man is, come back home and rebuild you country. Our leaders also have to do something about this.