Raven-Symoné says she'd never hire someone with 'black sounding' name | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 October 2015

Raven-Symoné says she'd never hire someone with 'black sounding' name

Former child actress Raven Symoné is catching heat from the black community after saying on The View that she wouldn't hire someone with an 'Africanized' name. The panel was talking about a
recent UCLA study which found that Americans make racist assumptions based on people's names.

"Just to bring it back, can we take back "racist" and say "discriminatory", because I think that's a better word. And I am very discriminatory against words like the ones they were saying in those names. I'm not about to hire you if your name is Watermelondrea. It's just not going to happen. I'm not going to hire you.'  she told her shocked co-hosts during Thursday's episode of the show. 
According to Raven, discriminating against Black people because of their names is OK, it's not racist.

59 comments:

MAKE SHE GO REST JARE......WHO SHE BE SEF?

The worst fool of the century....na the name go do the job...fat fool....

See how she be self

I see! No wonder she doesn't knw anyfin! Olodo otshi! Black discriminating blacks, very ignorant! I can't even blame her! Olodo rabata!

Ewu! Gay mmuo

It is the spirit of lesbianism in her that is making her talk rubbish. Ugly witch

So also I wil not work wit some one lik her wit backward mentality for she is no better and doesn't measure up 2d black.

Una wey dey bear woody and dark nko. Idiot

Well, na she sabi

Her f***ing business.

STFU u lesbian piece of sh*t!!

She's always in the news for the wrong reasons.

This pea brain, lesbian. Ur becoming a lesbian made u even more daft than u were b4. U black bitch look in d mirror, no matter the amount of bleaching cream u drink, u will always be black. I trust the black Americans to finish u

shes stupid thou

Aunty linda......

Diamond said...

Foolish grl

Can someone help me ask raven if she looks like a white. Cos from my observation she is neither white nor black so I think she has no race.

Discrimination from a black woman

Black Belle said...

She is confused

SMH!

Nomso said...

All this my Disney innocent children now going Gaga..well raven, whatever

Whats her own... .shebi she made her name by sitting on her ass all day long... all because her parents decided to call her Raven. God knows what that even means sef!

Raven is fucked up..

She's the biggest fool of all time, silly Illiterate that can not tell the difference between a Continent and a country.

She does not even know who she is, complete waste of space ....

Mcheeeeeeeeew, ndi ala! Linda take note!

Enough for this pussy licker!

Annoying bitch

Lira said...

People are taking this out of context. It is names like tanquraysa or ailze, little woopty, shanikwa she is talking about. Not real African names like chichi, adeola or Mohammed....well maybe I wouldn't hire a mohammed or any muslim names either. You never know with muslims these days. Come up in a business bombing or shooting my employees. I'll pass

2hell wit her we don give a damn she beta pass oprah or Tyra banks or omotal or jenevive name dem or our linda comon make she Piss off it is worst wen a black person discriminate his follow black.

What an idiot.

Raven I love u so much but u are mad.

So what do i do with AZUBUKO ryt nw.... #NowPlaying>> AUNTY: dj osas...

Who she don help? Who cares!

She wants to be noticed. Linda how do I email u

Dumb Fuck.
The hag sound Retarded.

Its not everybody that's privileged to be a star, that has sense....

Attention seeking continues
1st she is gay.
2nd she's not black or African- dunno which
Now she can't hire Watermelondrea.
These ppl cannot bear not being in the news. I think she's unraveling in her own l'l way.
These ppl who ride on the misfortune of the blk will reap their punishment sooner than they expect.
When u hear of Bill Cosby, what comes mind is now is Rape.

I've met them both in Europe and the state, they are almost all the same.

Kerry okoye said...

Lmao...

Obviously! she is olodo. No wonder she called South Africa a continent. Mumu oshi

The truth is that if your name is shaniqua or watermelondrea it will be hard to get a serious job anywhere 😂

Exactly, when you put a semi illiterate on the tube to try and talk like an intellectual, that's what happens. This girl is an Aunty Tom.

Like i always said. Blacks r d worst racists.

Biko, na who she help? Gerrarahere #singinavemaria

So if I'm named shanequa and I'm qualified and able to do the job you won't hire me? Some black people especially 2nd generation migrants are the meanest to their fellow black. You don't want a black sounding name you want a white sounding name. Are you white? That is racism even as I'm named Ada you can get discriminated. So yes people should be mad at her. It's her type that brings another black down

As in eh, quite daft. Watermrlon ko?

*watermelon

She is coloured

Emeka4life said...

Bitch think white people like her better because she supports them.
Fucked up Lesbians live with self hatred. Never had a dick before.
Run a dick train on the bitch and she'll wake up.

No, people are not taking this out of context, fool. I hope you realize that with people like her, every Nigerian with a non-western name is too ethnic to hire. She won't hire Chidiebee Chukwu even though she has a most befitting name for a bird like her Raven Symoné.

Hmmm this what I call pot calling kettle black you have just gone gaga silly raven.... What do you NW expect frm the whites what even make them think that they are better than us.....

All of you calling her names need to take several seats..you clearly do not live and work in the United States because if you did, you would know that no reputable business will hire a Shaniqua, Lashonda, Laquisha or whatever other fucked up name Akata ppl chose to name their children. Yes it's unfortunate but how many Shaniquas have you heard of being responsible functioning citizens? I'm guessing less than 1%..Shaniqua for president..lol..I laugh in Japanese.

Jay's spot said...

She's even very dumb....do u know Raven is a type of bird

@Anonymous12:36a
U r a big fool. D'u live in states? U d't live there, I'm pretty sure. U d't have a clue what u r talking about

Linda, you need to stop getting news from MTO or whatever. She didn't say it was OK, she said she would do it even though she knew it was wrong. Also, she never said "Africanized" names, that View segment was talking about "Ghetto" names. What is African about Shaniqua, Laquisha or Watermelondrea?

@ anon 2:04am..Bitter much? It's not my fault that your miserable, demented, frustrated, dejected ass is stuck in whatever ghetto you choose to call paradise..we are all entitled to our opinion and I stated mine. If you had a problem with my opinion you could have respectfully disagreed..You seem really angry, how many times has the embassy denied you visa..Is that the problem here, eya don't worry ehn God is still in the business of performing miracles..You too shall see the land of the free and the home of the brave one day if it's the will of God.. In the meantime, Humble thyself..Deuces!