Wait, make-up artists charge this much to make someone up? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 July 2015

Wait, make-up artists charge this much to make someone up?

Wait, people pay this much to have their face done? For real? And It doesn't end here....see more after the cut..(Found this on twitter)

220 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 220 of 220

BMpro collects 400k for make up that is not out of this world, very basic make up, nothing special. Shomya colleacts extra 50k on the 200k to come to the mainland and doesnt stay. one these people are done with your face they leave you for the rest of the day, no touch up or anything.Shomya charges differently on the island and mainland. Zainab azeez is another make up artist with a bad attitude and does very basic make up. They come to instagram to deceive us with photoshopped filtered pictures. It is well!

Really? An upcoming makeup artists who is just beginning the journey has products worth 200k..and u say tara' make up box is not upto? Really?

ALL U WOMEN BETTER ENTER UTUBE AND STARTED LEARNING FOR FREE B4 THEY STARTED TO CHARGING FOR WATCHING THEM FREE TUTORIALS...THOSE GIRLS OFFER ING U ALL FREE TUTORIALS ARE DOING US A FAVOR O

With the rate of US dollars now thus prices will increase, generally prices are going to increase in nigeria God almighty help us amen

Too many You Tube videos dedicated to doing makeup for me to waste my money with these ppl. The most important thing is to get good quality makeup and practice, practice, practice!

Hi all, I am a Makeup Artist and one with dignity, self respect and integrity. I believe everyone who has spoken here has a reason for what they have said. For my colleagues that charge high, kudos to them and congratulations to clients who partronise them, I am sure they know what they were going in for before they chose them. The irony is that the client's themselves are the ones making MUAS charge high in the sense that, when a MUA charges lower compared to the other that charges higher, they believe the higher one does a better job, that's why she/he is so expensive. So they go for the higher priced one.
I won't go without giving the right word to MUAs who over charge as well. I understand that it is with years of experience and lots training, master classes and certifications that we do our jobs and it is in this business we pay our bills, rent and go on vacation like our clients do etc, I will only advice that you should not let money be your master by charging a 'cut throat price' I also know MUAs have come up with terms like 'Charge what you are worth', but if your worth is majorly in Naira or any other currency you are being paid in, then I put it to you that you really worth low(hard truth).
The issue of treating clients right is the main point I want to talk on. The bible has said it all, "knowledge puffs up". If you 'think' you already know too much or that you are the best and most sought after, watch out! Because 'pride goth before a fall'. Many times, it is in those people's character already and character will always show, no matter how much you try to hide it.
The issue of photoshoped pictures is another one, since clients liked to be lied to, so the photoshop lies are the ones fetching the said category of MUAs their money. I advice clients to always ask to see unphotoshoped pictures, so you know exactly what you are in for.
Clients should also appreciate other MUAS who treat them well, stay for their touch ups and give other services for them even if not for free but at a reasonable amount, and sing their praises more, instead of kissing the asses of high paid MUAS that treat them bad just to famz them.
Lastly, Godliness with contentment is great gain and let everything be done decently and in order.

okoli chinemerem said...

hia! d makeup na foreva? wen dere are beta tns to do wit money.

okoli chinemerem said...

hia! d makeup na foreva? wen dere are beta tns to do wit money.

okoli chinemerem said...

hahahah its funi dat afta d event, u go wash face go slip.naso d moni go.

Haba!

Epic response @ newly built duplex. Didn't think of it that way. Oh dear. Looool

Linda u are losing it,don't run down people's legit business,many things in this country are a rip off,including you coz am sure u don't charge pennies for advert.

Well said,God bless you

How much does Kemi Kings charge

A makeup artist in Lekki, Lagos charges in POUNDS my people! This is nothing.

Anon 6:15
You are very correct....linda face your own business...our clients ain't complaining.

@usman, was about asking same. Don't mind that foolish person that is not even proud to show his/ her identity.

Linda, you can try that biz too n make sure you do it for free. Did you buy all your brand new cars n live life receiving adverts for free? Free dem joor!

you cut your coat according to your size. We still have some make-up artist that collect 10k & they do a perfect job.

Anonymous2016 said...

It's ignorant to assume that it's a waste for people to spend what they spend on looking good on the biggest day of their lives. Aren't makeup artists professionals as the dj photographers and co? Or is makeup artistry not intended to pay up bills. Let those who can afford it get the treatment they feel they deserve and let those of them who don't blog or get paid by politicians also make their money. Hate on nobody making money in a decent way.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 220 of 220   Newer› Newest»