Okonjo-Iweala responds to Oshiomhole's accusation that she spent N1bn of govt money on GEJ's re-elction | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 July 2015

Okonjo-Iweala responds to Oshiomhole's accusation that she spent N1bn of govt money on GEJ's re-elction

Oshiomhole accused the former minister of spending $1billion of government money for Jonathan's re-election. She has responded. Read the press statement below...
Another false, baseless allegation against Okonjo-Iweala by governor Oshiomhole
The allegation by Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State that former Minister of Finance Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala spent $1 billion out of the Excess Crude Account to fund the re-election bid of former President Jonathan is the kind of ludicrously false statement that has unfortunately become a trademark of the Governor in his public campaign of falsehood against Dr Okonjo-Iweala.

The statement is just another example of the numerical diarrhea that seems to have afflicted His Excellency in recent times in his effort to damage the reputation of the former Minister.

He has, within the last few months, asked Dr Okonjo-Iweala to explain all kinds of totally wild and unsubstantiated figures, ranging from $30 billion, $20 billion, $2.1 billion, N720 billion and now $1 billion.

To say the obvious, the accusations are totally lacking in credibility.

Governor Oshiomhole’s published comments also contain other falsehoods. For instance, he quoted Dr Okonjo-Iweala as saying that she and the Finance Commissioners of the 36 states approved the spending of $2.1 billion out of the Excess Crude Account, adding that the Commissioners had disowned the statement. This is also a complete distortion.

Dr Okonjo-Iweala never said the Federation Accounts Allocation Committee (FAAC) approved spending out of the ECA. Rather as the Commissioners themselves stated, the former Minister of State Finance informed them that former President Jonathan approved the expenditure to end the debilitating fuel queues across the country.

As Nigerians know, the Finance Ministry under Okonjo-Iweala regularly published details of revenue allocations from the ECA in national media. So Oshiomhole’s tortured “calculations” based on his “four figure tables” are mere political numbers conjured to achieve a political purpose. Nigerians can see through the elaborate antics.

Governor Oshiomhole’s latest statement, like earlier ones, labours to give the impression that the entire FAAC process which involves the Federal Government and the 36 states of the Federation is a personal monopoly of Dr Okonjo-Iweala.

This is, of course not true. FAAC is a long standing national platform for allocating revenues chaired by the Minister of State Finance. The governor’s insistence on pushing this clearly fictional narrative underscores his desperation.

It is instructive that Governor Oshiomhole is a key member of the committee set up by the National Economic Council to investigate the ECA spending. His continuing attacks against Dr Okonjo-Iweala seem to suggest that he has lost confidence in this platform which he deployed to make some of his initial false and baseless allegations. The Governor does not seem to appreciate that he is undermining the very credibility of the committee.

Once again, we ask: why are Oshiomhole and his cohorts so ready to sacrifice truth, precedent and decency in this political witch hunt against Dr Okonjo-Iweala?

We are confident that they will fail because truth will triumph.

Paul C Nwabuikwu
Media Adviser to Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

73 comments:

Okonjo which ever way u swallow some nigeria cash,so stop all this kachin kachin yarn.

Dani said...

This okonjo iweala is just a liar and a thief

Dis old Woman should go and die somewhere she Lie too much and I don't get it.

Please can nigeria divide already? Failed country.

This woman is a thief

Omo see note book abeg.....

Linda, which one should we believe now...your caption is saying N1billion and the body of your article is saying $1billion. I believe there is difference between the two figures.

Arsenal said...

I wasn't there when it all started. Anyone who embezzled government's fund should be answerable to that and return it, including you, Oshiomhole.

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face
◇◇◇◇◇◇

Where my chains @? My monkey just escaped its cage!

Nobody is witch hunting her, if she has stolen any money she should account for it, how can one person steal money made for the country, there is No Scared Cow, every past administration must be probed,

Someone should please advice madam to support her written and verbal defence with facts and figures before Nigerians. Enough of this essay writing

Can this two stop whining like kids?

oya confusion

Dn't knw wat to believe...

Dese two shld get a room abeg

All dis politicians shud find one corner nd sido...........all of them r lairs nd thieves so i dont understand y day always embarrass themselves

Baseless allegation indeed...Mr Adams, it's time for you to concentrate on ur state....leave this old woman alone or is it something personal?

You and your madam Okonjo don't have shame...hand is about to touch you both. Hope you know Lamido and son and others are currently in detention.

Your okonjo's time is close. If Oshiomole is speaking baselessly,I am sure you know his staTemta them are defamatory....sue him for. Hat after assassination or something.

Oh sorry, you can't sue him because he is spelling the facts. Like I said earlier, hand of law and justice is about to touch you okonjo real hard. Diezani be on stand by

k said...

You people commenting are distorting facts.the woman is explaining everything d way it is and you guys are busy blabbing.pls,ler her be.madam ur detractors must surely fail.

ITT (International Thief Thief) woman. I just don't understand how somebody can be so callous. Linda take note!

Sorry madam I don't buy these your defend tactics bcos he has made an accusation against you d questions are "did the money missing? Where's the money? Has d money served d purpose to benefit masses? Did you actually spent it on re-election of your boss? Pls we actually don't need notes before we understand it's as simple as here is the money in question..... Tnks God bless Nigeria

Pls. Don't mind oshemole, he is suffering from over happiness gotten from over night play with his new bride.

You all should shut your trap. How dare you insult her? Una dey follow Oshiomole wey never know wetin dey worry am. Dr NOI will continue to correctly debunk all the lies coming out of Oshiomoles gutter that he calls mouth.

Old gist dat tells how tins fell apart. Biko they should forget dis old gist.

This woman is such a terrible liar, she says something today and refutes the comments she earlier made even though with one click of the button you can confirm she lied. First it was FAAC and now it's Jonathan all in the space of one week... my own sha from the head to the toe whoever stole should face the wrath of the law. They burn pple for stealing goats and cellphones what should we do to someone who stole billions of dollars? I'm so happy Jonathan did not win, by now we would have become mini Zimbabwe.

I wonder what the EFCC is waiting for to arrest and probe this woman and her annoying head tie mtewww!!!

Innocentia Annie said...

Blah Blah Blah
from all angle
They all lie from A-Z
No one to believe at all

Grace n Truth said...

Your mother is a thief too because has gave birth to you and you know a thief.

You are the liar.

Go and die is actually quoting Oshiomole donut so clear that you have the kindred spirit of Oshiomole- lying callous deceitful useless people who should better have been sent to Afghanistan.

Oshiomole shld kip shut.is he not a thief also?which one good?

You are a the real thief. It is clearvthatbyou have no home training calling a woman old enough to be your mother names without proof.

Anyone who is stupid enough to believ the pedophile governor Oshiomole is clearly on drugs. You are clearly on drugs.

Even this wretched fool aboki follow de talk? Smh

Not until you die and rot 6fit. Bastardized ape!

Same as u but only difference is DAT u steal fish from mama's pot. Cow!

Plzz get the chain, I'll personally catch monkey oshimole and cage him back. Lmao

Truth b told some people r just looking for scape goat to hang for d cause of financial mess dat Nigeria went thru under GEJ govt.

Yes, she should account for it if she stole it but Governor Oshiomole should undoubtedly prove to the populace that he's right. All these unsubstantiated and flippant accusations can only draw us backward. Figures as crippling as #1 trillion was peddled in the past as being used for Dr Goodluck Jonathan's campaign, but alas! It has changed now and I bet that in the nearest future, a different figure will be thrown up. Why am not partucular about prosecuting past political office-holders is because about 60% of them are now in APC. If they have to return looted funds, those in APC should also be charged to return theirs too, and not just the few that are left in PDP. QED

Okonjo should just return some cash stolen Abeg. Can she swear by ogun and his padi amadioha that she didn't steal any miney while serving as a minister???

Yeye people wey no dey shame

Shocked, he is advertising Edo state for all the wrong reasons. Now Oshiomole is APC spokesman when it comes to kabukabu Claims. He has run out of ideas on way forward for Edo people. Hope Edo people will Vote for a more cultured person next time and stay away from lousy politicians..

Osho has lost his credibility. It's becoming clear that labour activism is not governance. Face ur pathetic state. Edo state is worse with ur leadership! No improvement! No good roads! Shady repairs of existing structures! Sleeping with girls ur daughters age!!!!! Pls mind ur state! Deliver dividends of democracy!! A big disgrace to the etsako ppl and weppa whano race. Pls shut d hell up osho!!!!! Sick old man!!!

Abeg make all dese bad belle pple free this woman, Osho baba ur a bloody criminal. So shataaaap dere with ur coaltar skin

sweetie said...

This woman is a thief, she suppose b in jail by now

Unfortunately, from the comments of a number of people on the platform, there is no doubt that we have lost our sense of reasoning in Nigeria. The governor accuses the former minister, the former minister debunks the accusations, which is simply a he said, she said story. Necessity is placed on both of them to prove their side of the story with facts, while our own part should be to judge based on facts and not emotions. Nigerians wake up!!!!

Oshiomole did you chase the former Finance Minister, Okonjo Iweala, and she refused because all this is sounding personal now. If so, kindly leave her alone since you have a beautiful, young wife to occupy your bed now.

Back to you and your parents. Shebi they are old too? Nonsense.

The lady has published the accounts and you are steal asking for facts and figures. I am not surprised the APC keeps on dishing out their propaganda because people like you will believe it.

$1 billion or N1 billion?... Linda am confused..!

Meanwhile can somebody tell this Oshiomole guy to free my woman for me... She's not the only criminal in Nigeria.. Even Oshiomole himself is a criminal..!

It's only in Nigeria that kettle is always so quick to call pot black.. Forgetting that all of them are "Ndi Oshii"...!

Aboki, don't mind her, she think that they'll remain in power with GEJ during election period, she did nt know that thins will turn around for good for Nigeria. Shame on u Ngozi Okon Iwe, ole thief. Don't worry wen time come we the Nigeria citizen will no.

hocee said...

Choi.....catch am....tyre,,petrol,,,nd match box go roll out.....

This Oshi ma ole man has gone nuts. Stupid man without respect. May ur wife be insulted the way u re insulting Mrs okonju-iweala

Kettle calling pot black

Osho baba should pls shut his mouth and stop disgracing Edo people. He doesn't even have have his primary six certificate and his wants to exchange words with a Dr? Especially when it has to do with figures and the economy. Abeg Osho just find your level abeg and let those who are qualified to tackle Ngozi do.

You are obviously a daft person. The woman has made a publication of all the income gotten under her watch and how it was spent. What else do you want from her? Oshomole should rather publish how he spent the billions given to him.

@irabo rubbish. Did I heare u say we Nigerians? Pls ask ur moda very well who ur real father was. @iwuno. U re just a jealous pig without root. Dis av always told u cos ur 10th generation will not meet up to d feat of Iweala. @aboki. We shall soon see ur end in LIB. Cos trust me by d end of dis year dia shall be no LIB fon or extra cash for u.
IG

Seconded. You get better sense, well, well.

umoh Linda said...

So dis oshiomole will not go n rest abi? Did he also squander his state funds? Scheww pot callin kettle black..

This is same woman whom Obasanjo persecuted for her uprightness viz a viz looting, third term agenda etc. where was oshiomole then. a woman with international reputation. do you people think she will corrupt and sacrifice her int'l rep/image for a pot of porridge called Nigerian state?, I don't think so. Oshiomole save your self this embarrassment and tell the truth please.

Osho free her Old man . Let her be

I dont care what gov Adams is saying all dat will give me JOY is seeing OKONJO IWUALA GO TO 7YEARS JAILLLLLLLL.

Yes face ur state cos it's obvious u want to destroy her reputation . Usless old man with face like ape

The same governors that refused to pay salaries, claiming that the govt.at the centre refused to release money for them after spending it on the campaign of the last election and marrying foreign wives are the same people shouting. naija we hail thee.

Its amazing how Nigerians jump at the slightest opportunity to condemn our leaders even without proven facts. Any way, I guess its a manifestation of our frustrated with governance. I am not vindicating OKONJO IWEALA but I also think that there is more of politics than facts in all these noise from OSHO. Labor economics is different from financial economics.

I trust Comrade Adams, he won't let her be until she returns all the stolen money and please, someone should start telling that demonic and criminal Diezani to start gathering all she embezzled also including the immediate past minister of FCT that spends N1billion on traffic light in his last days in office.