President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has directed that the #Bring Back Jonathan 2015 signs and banners around Abuja which he and many Nigerians find offensive and repugnant be brought down immediately.
President Jonathan wholly shares the widely expressed view that the signs which were put up without his knowledge or approval are a highly insensitive parody of the #Bring Back Our Girls hash tag.
While President Jonathan
appreciates the enthusiastic show of support for his administration by a broad range of stakeholders, he condemns
the #Bring Back Jonathan 2015 signs which appear to make light of the very
serious national and global concern for the abducted Chibok girls.
The President assures
all Nigerians and the international community that his administration remains
fully engaged with efforts to rescue the abducted girls and that he will not
knowingly promote any actions that will fly in the face of the seriousness of
their plight and the anguish of their families.
Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the
President
(Media & Publicity)
September 10, 2014
114 comments:
Naija poltics shaaa.. na wa
I Must Marry This Year! From Desire To Desperation ( A must read for every woman )
All is well.. With or without the removal of the signs! What will be will be! The answers to 2015 election is in God's hands. 2tim 2:1-2. BishopDammy#
Oshe
Mr president, please be much more proactive. If the international community did not frown at this, you wouldnt have bothered to even react at all. I respect you a lot but you really should be much more alert and sensitive!
Thats beter o,he shud suspend d campaing for nw til he sorts tings out
Broad range of supporters indeed. This statement should have been released days ago when the signs first came up. Medicine after death.
Well said My Presido.....GEJ for President 2015....
That damn thing has been there since last week.Is it now that GEJ is seeing it?why is the order for the removal coming after condemnation from America and well meaning Nigerians? Who exactly is deceiving who here? Mtcheww
Abeg shut up..idiotic man..so dis pple really want to ban kpomo hmmmm.............................#KingOfKings
Nice move by him,its quite unfortunate the length desperate apologists and sycophants can go.
Thought our president had sense...its clear he has no idea of what he is doing. #smdfh#
Thumbs up Mr. President. The journey of a thousand miles begins with a step. May this b the beginning of good, better, best things to come. May God reveal ur true and honest friends and do away with the greedy, 2faced,Selifish,devilish sycophants from around you in Jesus Name. Amen!
Ok we have heard.. GEJ for 2015.!!
wait for it HE CONDEMNS.... And we all know when he condemns it means he supports or is as usual clueless
Actually I also find the #bringbackjonathan2015 as highly repugnant and appalling
Story! It took him over a week to respond. Na today him dey see the poster...Boko Haram kidnapping you is your portion Oga Jonah. Esi ewu goat
Lool!! Abeg passing by fast
Better late than never.
If peoople didn't react to it, oga. Jona wud u have ordered them to remove it?
so the man don get sense
nna nawaohh.
Who cares #bright bravo#
All is well with us
Glory be to God
BORN TO SHINE!!!!
Better. The whole 'bring back our girls' campaign was really a fad anyway...just something a lot of people participated in 'world-over' cos it made them feel cool...like they were up to date on what was trending on Twitter.
Are You A One Minute Man?
... Hmmm, 'm not gonna say anyfin...
OMG what is Goodluck trying to tell us. that we are dumb or what, that the so called group campaigning for him are also faceless like the Boko harams, that even his press men (Ruben & co) don't know about it. He suddenly became aware when International and local people started lambasting him. He should go and hide his shameless face.
Idiot
Story story...jona keep feigning ignorance
Funny he didnt find them offensive before the Washington post..............
Yimu!
They shouldn't have put it up in the first place.
Please click on my name , read and comment . Thanks
Good 4 him. #####QUEENMAYA#####
#BringBackGoodluck2015# kor #BringBackBadluck2019# ni... senseless people!!!
Is beta 4 him oooo 2. Go n rest inside toilet make anoda person rule us d man. 2 weak abeg
What is your effort sir?u no pple behind boko haram and u kept quit,becos u wanted to avoid trouble maybe the pple behind the sect are powerful more than u..
U download soilders into the bursh,even many of them have been killed by this heartless beast,they were to obey the last comand becos of d vows to protect there country...
Nigerian are counting min,days,weeks and now months hoping to see the girls back safety...
For u to forget ur promise and vow to protect us with all ur strength...U ARE A COWARD
But y wil someone wt sense use such hashtag 4 campagne...its so insensitive of such pple.....do av a beautiful day Libers...
The president assures all nigerians and the international community that his administration remains fully engaged with effort to fully rescue the abducted girls and THAT HE WILL NOT KNOWINGLY PROMOTE ANY ACTIONS THAT WILL FLY IN THE FACE OF THE SERIOUSNESS OF THEIR PLIGHT AND THE ANGUISH OF THEIR FAMILIES.
Nice move by him
Nice one but na WHO send dem........chinor2gud@gmail.com
Very funny after how many weeks? Pls grow up and stop playing games!
Then they should put it off.
So he had to wait for washington post to. Condemn it before doing the 'needful'? SMH
Story for the gods.....obama for nigerian president 2015
If the international community had not condemned it. would they have removed it? I pity this slow and clueless government
Story!!!!! A whole president doesn't know that these kind of signs are being put up in the FCT.
Oya fire the minister who approved it to show how offended you are. Mtseeeeeeeeew!!!!!!
that nigga should shut the fuck up, who is he fooling, I ain't even voting him.
Nice man and listening president. No shaking come 2015.
mumu,selfish,self centred n insensitive president.after ow many days?is he jus seeing them?so if there had nt been criticisms frm home n abroad,he wont order their removal?diaris God o
Belated! Belated!! Belated!!!
This singular action depicts the calibre & mental state of people who surround you as supporters or whatever Mr President. Your supporters act before they think. What a shame! They are only interested in the crumbles that fall from your dinning table. HUNGRY LIONS AT THE CORRIDOR OF POWER. National interest has remain a language our politicians will NEVER grasp or internalize. May God help us!!!
Rubbish!!!!after Washington post slammed him abi?*bighissssss*...this country is a joke!when the news and Nigerian blogs carried it,he didn't see any reason to condemn the act buh now that Washington post slammed him,he saw it fit to condemn the campaign poster!may God help us in this country.
Another season film right
Thank God, Linda u don dey do a bit balanced news reporting. I have always seen you as anti-GEJ. laffs
Orapro
Hnmm. They will nt kill us in dis country(politicians)
shitheads.
For a whole week this ad has been running so Reuben Abati u want to tell me that you're just seeing it right? I'm sure it was the write up on Washington post that promted you to come up with this mediocre disclaimer. The thunder wey go fire all of una dey do press ups!
He's a liar,he's lieing i can swear on anything that he was fully aware nd being d dumb fuck he is he didnt tink it wud get dis kinda response,the truth is dat he doesn't care about d girls or d pple dieing in borno or other Nigerians,all he wants to do is 2 come back and steal more money.Please once bitten twice shy,wev seen wot he has done this first time lets nt allow dis torture to continue,our country deserves better.
I said it, why would they put such up.in my words "its a mockery of the bring back our gals.".........
Abi ooooo,na those political armed robber dey do that to decieve you bcos of what they are eating now they have no future .Pres.jonathan please better don't follow their call for your re-election in 2015 bcos if you do I assure you sir you can't 5 states.God bless u sir.
k
medicine after death
Yeah Right!!!!
Doyin Okupe posted the hashtag on his twitter so GEJ should stop acting like it was done by a group without his permission or that of his team
Abegi...which efforts una don take rescue the gals. Look at them like that my aboki Wey them dey call Linus
Nice move...but Oga Jona you still need to bring back those girls o.
He should punish the person behind it....sure the person will be a big gun, he should punish them if he is man enough
Reaction to Washington post editorial?
Rueben you are a very stupid and useless senseless man. idiot pikin
So, Mr. President would have found it nice to have a tragic hashtag for his campaign if Washington Post hadn't slammed him.Chai! This president is an embarrassment!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jonathan is very senseless.Now over a hundred days and He is still talking about rescuing the Chibok girls.Probably He plans to rescue them by the end of this century.Many of those girls are no longer human beings.Many are already dead and half dead.Some have already died having become suicide bombers.Jonathan does not deserve a second term.When his four years expires,He should return to Uniport.
Doyin Okupe posted the campaign on his twitter so GEJ should stop trying to deny that his team knew about it.
U nor c am before? Acting cos you've been criticised
Lol, I hail naija my country.. But mr president yu waited too long to react...
GEJ,just a joker,who cares if he asks them to bring the banners down?
Hahahaha, I dey laugh this Man called him self number citizen in Nigeria.
⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥
ooh, Am happy they didnt blame it on APC..so now this Jonathan can see he is being guided by fools
A bit too late. It already made front tweet on *Femi Oke* meaning several peeps across the world have an idea of the Nigerian Govt's attitude towards the kidnapped Chibok Girls = a joke. My heart goes out to these girls and their parents. '(
Hmmm...Format!
Bollocks!!! coming from the special adviser on media.He failed to tell the people behind this to stop.
Good one GEJ, don't mind the over forward , over zealous, senseless and mindless campaigners.God bless my president
GOOD ONE.. I FOR ONE HAS BEEN SO DISTURBED ABOUT THAT AND EACH TIME I DRIVE PAST TRANSCORP BY ZENITH, I FEEL BAD BECAUSE THE 2 GROUPS ARE ON THE SAME SPOT, ONE FOR BRING BACK OUR GIRLS AND THE OTHER FOR BRING BACK GOODLUCK JOHNATHAN.
Yimu
Where was he when they were posting it b4? A beggi make I hear word.
Power of media...Okay
Let's be Clear No-One can put up banners those big and Strategic in Abuja if they did not have "Presidential" approval. They signed it off and deployed them. So this is already a PR sham,gross level of insensitivity and a show of the Vision-less nature of the GEJ administration. Has anyone Noticed that GEJ is the ONLY presidential candidate campaigning and based on what? The missing girls, The Crime rate, The Insurgency , the Maddening corruption, lack of Infrastructural planning ? what is GEJ campaigning for....? Shameless/Plan-less/Vision-less Twits in high places !!
This GEJ is funny and clueless. He mean to say he just saw the advert yesterday? He should ban whoever put up that sign from campaigning for him. Yeye dey smell!
Dats nice
Ok gud to knw.... But am sure uncle jonah is aware of the banner no doubt.....
Idiat oshi we have as president.if you like be the president come 2020 all of us we face it 2gether.neva seen a president like Jonathan b4.your administration is worse than useless. Mchewwww
"While President Jonathan appreciates the enthusiastic show of support for his administration by a broad range of stakeholders"... That's the line right there , who are they , this Broad range of Idiots, based on what do they support his administration.... Let us ask Reuben Abati. Based on what ?!!! Tired Liars... U think those posters/Banners just found thier way there? who are they fooling?, Of course we all know the Presidency paid for it either Directly or Indirectly...we know ! Such SENSELESS STUPIDITY !
He's playing politics with us. He still won't win with these mind games. Amen
Supporters indeed.... Did he just see the it????
What he sould have done since.
Good he has ordered it to be removed.
What he should hv done since.
Good he ordered it to be removed.
Fake Man. So u dey even chop Kpomo?! Billionaire's son. U too dey fake.,
He wants it removed now cos the international body has criticized it, right? 9ja we hail thee!!!!
Princessiphy@gmail.com
Why does he always in denials when he goofed? What fool does he take Nigerians for? How on earth can he say he finds it offensive and did nothing about it for days until Washington post picked it? Omg!
Nice Step
The game plan is manifesting little by little, don't ask me how but discover it by adding two nd two to arrive at four. Gbam
As though he didnt know they were there in the first place.
#ILOVEGEJ
U shud know it's neva gonna be a welcome idea to anyone. Maybe cos US gave negative remark about it tho.
GOD will save ur from dis plitican .
#sheko on point#
FOR THE PRESIDENT TO ORDER THE REMOVAL OF THOSE POSTERS GOES TO SHOW THAT HE IS HUMANE AND KIND. GEJ FOR 2015.
Naija politics
Ur very correct
Ur right
ok. make i go chop i de come
cos Michelle Obama has condemned it, abi! if it was APC, it would have been ignored! naija for sure
ACCOUNTABILITY SIR
Now that we know it was done without your "knowledge and approval" what do you intend to do? About those your special and not so special aids who do and say things that embarass us and our country without " your knowledge and approval" Sir?
- AE
ACCOUNTABILITY SIR
Now that we know it was done without your "knowledge and approval" what do you intend to do? About those your special and not so special aides who do and say things that embarass us and our country without " your knowledge and approval" Sir?
- AE
Jona, Jona, Jonathan, how many times I call u? There'is God oh. (I am single, living in d U.S, any single lady in U.S interested in a relationship?) My email thankulord2014@gmail.com.)
Okay good
Mschew!
Guys, Do you want a 'serious' relationship? Try
BV HookUps
Very 9iz move, so where are those idiots that were supporting d slogan .....?? They are no more commenting .. Blind people