Video: Gay rights activist Bisi Alimi speaks to CNN's Amanpour | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 January 2014

Video: Gay rights activist Bisi Alimi speaks to CNN's Amanpour

CNN's Christiane Amanpour speaks with Nigerian gay rights activist Bisi Alimi about the recently passed Nigerian anti-gay law. Watch the video...

231 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 231 of 231

why am i even commenting on this post?
But what the hell…. honestly most LIbers are an uneducated bunch. no offence Linda. but i can't stand it sometimes, and i probably wouldn't push enter to post this, but if i do, then here goes.
fucking stupid illiterate Nigerians…. na ur yansh den they fuck? abi ur not so sure of ur sexuality that u vehemently refuse another person to do their will.
do u like your oppression filled government? should these even be a matter? any educated or serious nigerian will totally brush this aside as a meaningless ploy to deceive. what is ungodly, that u all are not already doing? abeg, abet abeg, ur youths where out of school 4 six frigging months and u all turned a blind eye…. wen will nigerians learn abeg? uyou all are up in arms against a small minority of people who have done nothing, who have not harmed you, who have not hurt anyone you know, who are struggling for their daily bread like every1 else. Abeg Nigerians, when una go learn? Y'all aresheeps that are led to slaughter everyday, by these ur leaders that cos strife and poverty within ourselves, make u fight against each other and ur issue is homosexuality???? pls deal with what is important, rather who is fucking who.

Linda na lesbian na.

People make me laugh . So you think that developed countries like the uk and USA sit down in conferences thinking about how to turn Africa GAY. And you think that this LAW is you making a stance against the west. Like someone has stated , the developed countries do not care about your sexuality. As for your pathetic stance against the west well, if ur brain was not saturated with hate maybe, you will be able to see, how your very stupidity benefits the west.
1. You are ignorant
2 the west has sold u technology. E.G mobile phones that u all scramble to get, disregarding ur basic needs, in the process most of u indulge in risky behaviour the end result been a natural cull of dumb ass Africa's.
3 the same west have introduced birth control and the use of condoms to halt the spread of disease , most Nigerians don't use them
All the west have to do is sit back and watch u kill yourselves. U guys are well equips with enough ignorance to wipe out the continent by yourselves without any outsiders help. Your problem is yourselves period . You talk about Morals as if the average nigerian has any? . Your stance against the west should be, getting a solid sound education
2 tackling the real problems of poverty, infant and maternal mortality
Stop buying up any technology they throw at u
Become more creative, stay in your villages and creat something don't run to the city to form
Stop imitating the west by your hair styles and dressing.
Stop queuing up for visas. Stay in your country and change it for good
Get rid of bad leadership. They are leading us no were good.
Stop with the hypocrisy and start solving real issues.
When we have done all this, the west will be truly embarrassed . Right now they laugh at your stupidity.

Linda is a lesbian, so she can't marry you

Shut up, dirty fag.

Amanpour is a closet lesbian na.

Shut up. Dirty faggot

See this stupid fag, what does bleaching have to do with gayism. Shior

Yorubas do not support gays, you stupid faggot

Shut up, you dis dirty faggot

Linda na fag, end of story

Shut up, closet fag

I'm so tired of all these fags making noise on this blog, I guess it's cos linda is a lez thst she's allowing all such nonsense

They say they r gay animals guess wt! Dts y dey r animals I get y we dnt unstandard it,we don't think or compare ourselves to animals. This is just common sense this had to do with d mind nd is treatable only if we say some pple r born mudererd nd shld be allowed to do wt dey want cos it's deir life..makes no no sense

Stupid is wt u r.

Exactly there's still more to come from dem I trust the never stop.

Nd if nt for them we won't b talkin bt this crap mumu

U r d ignorant one so where did the eggs nd sperm come frm he shld hv gotten the egg from his partner nd produce a child...it's impossible cos it's nt meant to be

If homos were not askn for recognition am sure GEJ wouldnt hv been concerned about passing a law,U say Nigerians shouldnt worry themselves over what two consenting adults choose to do in the privacy of their bedrooms,fine agreed, our president only asked dem not to rub their acts of shame on our faces by gettn married and shown affection in public! No one is stoppn them from been gay its jet age,all we saying is limit it to ur bedrooms nd closets only. we know its their lives nd its their bodies,bt dnt forget d law exists to also curtail mankinds excesses,we cnt legalise all deviant behaviours jst cos some people fink its ok,dt ws why law came in existence in d first place we shouldnt celebrate abnormal behaviour! hw many of you will support 'whore rights' freedom to sell sex for money. we know prostitutes exists bt we dnt c people introducn demselves as sex workers! is it not their lives and their bodies aswell? its unfortunate gay act werent pronounced wen societies, law nd govt were formed probably dts y its hard to jst accept U guys,U gotta pardon Nigerians for that. agreed there are pressn issues for GEJ to worry about but dis very one threatens humanity. when our kids grow up to discover been gay is an accepted option i dnt want to imagine wt will happen its nt dis generation we should worry abt its d nxt! gay community pls pardon us for refusing to give u rights to marry.

I reading most of the comments here I see Nigeria is well represented . I thought I should share a story . In 2004 my kid was diagnosed with heart faliure and needed a transplant. He was operated upon by a wonderful god lead team of experts in the cardiac field in the UK. My kid recovered very well and is doing well now.
Anyway after the operation I went round with little gifts of Ankara materials and sweets to say thank you. I remember being shown into the office of the lead consultant cardiologist . He had a grand office with pictures of members of his family all over his table. On his office wall there were picture of cardiac patients he had operated on with lovely messages from families. I remember asking him if the person standing with him in one of the pictures on his table was his brother. He told me that was his partner for the pass 16 yrs. notting about this man told me he was homosexual.
. I think the point I am trying to make is that a persons sexuality can not be used to define them. If this man was nigerian and put in jail , he would not have been able to use his gift of healing on others.
Before this incident I use to be homophobic but what happened opened my eyes to the truth. There is notting abnormal or weird about homosexuals. It is weird and abnormal how people think about homosexuals and their brains go straight to sex. Love is much more than sex.
I thank God every day that this homosexual consultant was on ground to do this operation, I thank God that nobody mentioned before the operation that he was homo, becos I would not have wanted him to do the operation. I thank God for enlightenment.

I pardon you for your ignorance. You are a nigerian as you have pointed out, you shouldn't have bothered with that obvious fact,Anyway the west have recognised Gay rights for a long time now, but some how there civilisation has not fallen apart in fact they continue to develop in leaps and bounds. Meanwhile in Nigeria we don't even have a cure for simple malaria, the rate of HIV continous to escalate even more than the countries that accept homosexuals. The point is , homosexuals will not lead to the disintegration of the nigerian society, however if we we have a government that keeps students at home, Donot invest in health care and other basic amenities the mortality rate will continue to increase in Nigeria .
Did you know the average life expectancy for a nigerian is 52 years it's the 17th lowest globally which coincides with the average IQ of 67 the 4th lowest globally. You can google and link these scientific facts with gross capital GDP.
I know as a nigerian you don't know these facts but some how you know about Anal bunging . It goes to show science is indeed fact. Your a dumb ass.

I pardon you for your ignorance. You are a nigerian as you have pointed out, you shouldn't have bothered with that obvious fact,Anyway the west have recognised Gay rights for a long time now, but some how there civilisation has not fallen apart in fact they continue to develop in leaps and bounds. Meanwhile in Nigeria we don't even have a cure for simple malaria, the rate of HIV continous to escalate even more than the countries that accept homosexuals. The point is , homosexuals will not lead to the disintegration of the nigerian society, however if we we have a government that keeps students at home, Donot invest in health care and other basic amenities the mortality rate will continue to increase in Nigeria .
Did you know the average life expectancy for a nigerian is 52 years it's the 17th lowest globally which coincides with the average IQ of 67 the 4th lowest globally. You can google and link these scientific facts with gross capital GDP.
I know as a nigerian you don't know these facts but some how you know about Anal bunging . It goes to show science is indeed fact. Your a dumb ass.

Linda u kept reporting this gay tinz r u gay???

Linda, Thank you for keeping this topic alive. It will help to educate our people. Some people are gay and have been since the beginning of time. Throughout the mammalian world, from lions to smaller species, gays exist. Nature is not totally straight. What would be abnormal is a totally straight world. A thought I just had is:'If there were no gays, there would be many, many more incidents of men raping or molesting weak women.' Another thought is that the world's problem today is over-population and gays might be part of nature's solution to the problem, which we are too thick to appreciate. Besides, being gay is special, it's pleasurable, I believe it is a higher form of love than being straight, and I wouldn't change it for anything. When I think of some of my fellow men I've been with, I pity men who can only love women.

One thing Bisi Alimi failed to explain to us in this interview is the importance of gay marriage to the society. He clearly stated that Nigerians are ignorant of the effect of banning gay marriage and in truth I agree with him, simply because we as Nigerians are oblivious of the benefits of gayism.
I think gayism is ridiculous, I think the thought of gay marriage is outrightly obnoxious and I "may" consider a change in view if the benefits of gayism can be clearly spelt out...in the absence of this, I think this case should be rested the way it is.

Yes its true the bible says "flee from immorality" but its the choice of people to decide if they want to flee or not. It should not be imposed on gay people who are not hurting others. How about people who have children out of wedlock should we arrest them? how about polygamists, fornicators, exam cheats etc should we jail them too? "He without sin should cast the first stone". And I hate this hypocrisy about not wanting European culture, how many Africans stay true to their culture? If you don't want another culture why not worship Sango instead of Jesus or Allah? Why not wear agbada instead of jeans, why not eat eba instead of spaghetti, why not watch only nollywod movies instead of Hollywood, When you are sick, Why not go to Herbalist instead of doctor? If you really don't want whiteman's culture like you claim. Nonsense!

reading the comments is as interesting as reading the post. The law has been passed, Kudos to Mr President.... anybody that is gay in this country can always relocate to the US, Canada or even South Africa.
This Alimi guy looks sick ooo.his getting skinnier by the day.

Fearless! said...

This Bisi guy is clueless, i truly dont give a toss about gay people, its just so disgusting.
That said, i feel the bill would make gay people feel like strangers in their own country.

the simple thing would be not to legalise gay marriage but let everybody be free to express their sexuality, na them sabi.

But this Bisi Alimi guy is silly for saying that Nigeria cares about this rubbish!

forming accent there i no blame you...rubbish. big fat shame

Hmmmm.....

Chi, could you please sincerely answer this question? Would you allow your children turn Gay when they are ripe enough to control their sexuality? Please answer.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 231 of 231   Newer› Newest»