Vanity Fair accused of lightening Lupita Nyong'o's skin color | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 January 2014

Vanity Fair accused of lightening Lupita Nyong'o's skin color

Vanity Fair yesterday announced that 30 year old Oscar nominee Lupita Nyong'o was one of the faces photographed for the Vanities Section of its February issue and tweeted the pic on the right. And while the Kenyan beauty looks great in the pic, some people were quick to point out that she looks way lighter in the pic than she really is. Compare and contrast the pics above. Black is beautiful Vanity Fair! Continue...

102 comments:

Eugenia Ekeji said...

She's fair on the other pic. I would have loved her being black. Black is beautiful.

AnnMarie said...

I think its the picture

na wah dem wan bleach her skin by force. Lupita is a black beauty from Kenya and she is proud of her skin color unlike many Nigerian girls who love to bleach a.k.a Dencia

who cares if they lightened it ?! hahaha oh lord people shaaaaa, acting like they set off an atomic bomb urgh!

Black is beautiful yet you and your sister bleach. You will call yours toning. Same thing.

Probably the lights used...that will make u lighter.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Maybe she wanted it too

IkwerreBoy said...

common blacks should get over racism.

4 God sake is d flash....does evrytyn hv 2 b cream na wa oooO

this one na bleaching nyere mu aka....pls black is beautiful....Linda post my comment am a first timer...

They should know that studio pictures has flash of light and is different from outdoor normal pix.what's wrong with plp.

James said...

Haha! What's new? These people make models appear thinner, remove blemishes from people's faces and make them look flawless among other things. It's how it works in Hollywood.

ladyp said...

linda i read in Genevieve maz that one of d popular nollywood actress was nap in a hotel in vi, by d wife of her sugar dad, they said d actress is short, fare, above 30 ve won more than two awards dis year, and ve won best dressed actress on may award, from eastern part of dis country, pls bring d full gist here

Mumu people,can't they see the pic is fotoshopped

And so? Please let her win the Oscar first. Who send ththis twitter guy msg? Don't they also lighten/darken Caucasians?

I think it has more to do with the lighting of the photo studio. People should rest joor.

Everybody hates black people and their skin colour and nigeria is making matters worse, increasing the hate people have for us even more with this gay bill. Rain insults don't give a shit

What if it's d photo shop, maybe it was edited, people just like unnecessary iranu. Either ways she looks good.
Tweet

And so?
~Ð great anonymous!

They do that to all, u think they don't do it to Beyonce ciara, no matter how light they are

It's not like she is as fair as Dencia, she still looks too black...so y d fuss over nothing...

Rily..tbh,shez fyner in d bleached version jor.....but black is beutiful sha...lol...vinny

Black is indeed beautiful

African queen lol #bright bravo#

slimzyose said...

She's beautiful

Maris said...

She too dark joor, see her neck.

Why is it I don't hear people say , " white is beautiful"? She looks better fair than black jor. Are u blind? Most men like it fair toned than black. Well I do.

Maris said...

Too dark joor

Sometimes the lighting for those pics makes the person look lighter. Either way its not a jarring difference. Its more like an instagram filter.

Black is beautiful

I find dis post funny, is d lightened lady complaining,

success igbinoba said...

SoRry is it my phone screen or something? I think the girl is definitely good lookin but I don't see me and my guyz lookin back twice just to look @ her or leaving our drinks nd goin to toast her. Nywayz u good lookin dear... #NOhyping2014 #blackwomanskinsmooth #willzsayso

wemimo said...

It's no big deal..could be d camera lights..now that editor abi na animator is in trouble...lolz

I sweae like seriously ppl jst look for issues where there's none.

Dorcasdaduchess said...

Na photo-shop jor make we hear word.*hiss*

Black is really beautiful,African Queen!

I'm freaking tired to the word 'bleach' don't u guys take pics or what is ur probs. I look brighter in all of ma pics cos of the flash. Also d pics whr she looks brighter r photoshoped. Linda na everybody they bleach don't make silly commentors irritate reasonable ppl from ur blog

War on bleaching! Say no to bleaching! Say no to fair girls.......... Lmao.

Pple must talk! Smh
@UA

But is she really 30?

SUNSHINE said...

Africans love making issues outta nothing.
What happened to studio lights and all the lighting equipments?

yes, dats mere light effect

Asinnnn! Gosh! Wen will we jst STOP all d hypocrisy n jst ENJOY dis EARTH while we still cn. Arghhh! D black nation stressing all d time abt color, abt racism, abt global marginalisation; we sound like we hv complex issues! We hv our freedom nw. Lupita ddnt complain. Obama is still president. Wat do u fcking blck ppl want?!! Arrgghh!

Naa †ђξ picture colour change her luk.black Į̸̸̨§ beautiful.

Lisa London said...

It is the flash. Just like in some editorials they even make her darker

CAn it be undone?

They sure did, black is beautiful.

Really black is beautiful. Haba vanityfair

Soul said...

They gave her online bleaching.

D girl is rily beautiful. Lightened or not

Hahaha! I tell u! Ppl will make a big deal out of anything,and turn d simplest issues into "a revolution"!
Unrelated: has anyone noticed that prince charming doesn't comment anymore? Dat 100k wey linda no give am,really pain d dude,lol.seiously sha,I wonder why linda didn't give him some of d money.d guys was as consistent and annoying as bonario(if not more so sef),so I wonder why linda didn't reward him just like she did bonario.it's not quite fair sha;I don't blame him for feeling hurt and slighted. #OkBye

Oponu ppl...igba yen nko

U guys plz giv me a break , think before you comment that's just a phoro edit. Common guyz

Am sure is the picture they lightened up and not Lupita herself.

You people should just shut up, even normal moisturiser lightens up d skin, dat girl did not bleach, believe me I kn when someone bleaching, most u people leave dirty comments, Linda abeg how u dey sleep for night with all dis dirty comment, all this usless monitoring spirit, some people live on Linda ikeji blog, low lifers, degenerated fools. Abeg joor, some people need make Dem wash their mouth with canoe soap, yeye people if una like abuse me. Later Dem go say Dem no get job, make Linda dey look for job for una, jobless bloggers monitoring demons

Gosh *pls free d babe *

And this is news because ? Learn to focus on the positivesss.

candygirl said...

Eish humans though!wtf is wrong with people?everything they complain about..shake my head,I really can't deal.

Guess the pics was edited...!

I laugh in German. For your information, Dencia is Cameroonian and not Nigerian. Jealousy!

People are fools! There are things used for lighting in the studio. Even if she's lighter sef, is it your body? Humans disgust me sometimes.

ok i think we are getting ahead of ourselves here, it's the lightening they used for the photo shoot.. She is dark and beautiful and we know nobody can take that away

They hav 2 manage d toning cos they can neva b light-skinned. Fair is more beautiful...

She is pretty, especially in the third pic. Btw, no bleaching is done on that lovely skin..call it edited , filtered, or wat eva. No big deal though. {Lovetheskinthatyou're in}

Yawning...! Nothing can erase her lovely dark skin. Ppl should cut the bull! Even lightened she's still very dark.

Buhahahaha. Anon11:36. Gud observation. Even rough diamond is hardly hia dis days. Hahahahaha.

If you can not photoshop then what is the use of the technology! We all know she is black why all the hassle? Hilary Obiorah

Nw vanity re-edit d picture
Black is beautiful

miss Sparxz said...

Na wah for ppl oh! It's just a pic and she still looks like a BLACK lady in d pic and No one is gonna confuse her for being WHITE so take a chill pill ppl and jst relax. Whenever a model takes a pic, she could be made to look darker or lighter.....na picture abeg! Or did u guys want her so dark she would b invisible in d pic? Ppl wit too much time and too little to do...come use the time wash my cloths abeg!

fungi said...

lool.. it's photoshop

Haba,no b everytin wey eye see mouth dey tlk. Pple sabi tlk jare. Abeg mk una free d babe, it cud b d pic

She looks better in the lightened pix abeg. Stop all these hypocrisy people.

~~Success Has No Limitation~~

Mctewwwwwww

Dem wan sell dia magazine quick na......dey dnt want darkness cover jare bt Black is stil nd wil alwayz b d BEST

victor u said...

Photo effect.

victor u said...

Photo effect I guess

Saw her on GG red carpet on sun/ Mon n she is as black as black itself, shiny ebony. When did she bleach her skin? Abeg people shld shut up n grow up. Dat pix jus got so much lighting effect, she is nt bleached at all.

Amarachukwu said...

Is obvious,she looks fairer but still beautiful.

Nneka said...

All dis sum up is pointing to one person.(Rita) Are u scared of calling names???
Ujo ana atu gi??

Nneka said...

Nne biko gwa ha ooooo.
Haba.

There are better things to worry about than people bleaching their own skin, relaxing their own hair, adding extensions to their own hair, piercing their own body,tattooing their own skin. Haba, enough of the spiteful attacks. Mind ur own filthy biz. It ain't ur headache 'perfect judgmental people'. Haba!!!

It's called Photoshop people .

dhobiz said...

Editing error

Adetola said...

People and their wahala sha, Its the picture nah..

Jeeez lupita is 30 ke? I could swear she was 18

It's an issue because the message is she isn't fine as she is. Altering her skin makes her better. Bravo to those ladies for calling out Vanity Fair on its BS. Lupita became famous woman as a dark skinned woman. That's how she should stay.

Uloma said...

Everytin na story sha! I see nufin significantly wrong wif d pix abeg!

geezz people give it a brek aint nuttin fair abt this pic na wa for una o

mtcheeew...I hiss in french! The gal only got a good bath jare...the type that cleans u up after pepper don rest well!

she is 30?????wow

Actually Princecharming stopped commenting sometime in september last year,wonder where the dude went to.

Its photoshop jare.......

Adorable Jewel said...

And how is dis news??? ***flips perovian and walks away***

She is okay

I guess I'll ave to keep on threatening Linda dat I'll stop posting any comment bfor she publish all my comments o! Cos wen I told her I'll stop commenting, she publised it, bt afterwards she stopped, y nah? Anyways, here's my view abt d pix, d lighter pix is photo shop get it. Shikena! Toyin Kakulu

ZeeZee said...

its good lighting... somebody tell the idiots

JustPorsh said...

It comes with photo editing which makes the picture more professional. Online bleaching ko! People can like to tlk sha.

Btw, Anty Linda, is she 26 or 30?

duuuuh its called vanity FAIR isn't it?So...

Lmao! Linda. There is nothing we won't see on this ur blog. Bwahahaha!