President Jonathan's official photographer shot by unknown gunmen | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 January 2014

President Jonathan's official photographer shot by unknown gunmen

Callistus Ewelike, a photojournalist with the News Agency of Nigeria & current official photographer of President Jonathan was reportedly shot at close range in front of his house in the Nyanya area of Abuja around 10pm on Monday January 13th.

Callistus, who is attached to the State House, Abuja, was said to be on his way home from work when he was attacked. Sources in the area where it happened said two men, one on a bike and another standing were noticed in front of his house waiting for him. As Callistus made his way into his compound, the man standing by his gate walked up to him and shot him at close range on the neck. Both men fled the scene immediately after the shooting. Callistus was rushed to the National Hospital where he is currently receiving treatment.

This is the second time the NAN photographer and father or two would be attacked. Gunmen forced their way into his home late last year where they took his camera, laptop and other work tools.

113 comments:

Let's kill and imprison all the gays so this violence will stop.

Oh mine!God pls save him frm dying.

Omg! That's crazy! Pls o dey shud attach security detail to my friend dat is wit dem o. I cnt cry

No security in this naija.we have pressing issues to attend to instead of this rubbish gay bill.they are trying to distract us and we are buying it

Na wa o. Collateral damage

Thank God for his life.
I pray no political undertone would be attached to it.

Najia..
I'd say they should look for his attackers from within..or his competition. E.g who would benefit from his demise?? just saying...
SMH

Hey God protect us for this country ooo! May his soul rest in peace

Your comment. Will be visible after approval

Soul said...

He has snapped a picture he's not supposed to.

Ameriestyle said...

Wow. Thank God he's alive

Jeeeeeeeez but this is so unfair, but na the same people...

¤¤This Be Yo Man STELCH¤¤

Nneka said...

And he is still living there!!!
Be like he no like him life. He should already know that sm1 wants him dead.haba. Will they kill him first for him to know, den maybe he will attack from d grave.

Pls my brother resign ooo before they kill u thinking ur GEJ's chief accountant ooo ur only a photographer pls ..........my comment will be made.... After I wed sexy lindodo

Maybe he leaked some secret infos or agendas about the presidency and he was paid with his life for it. We can't trust people this days

@kayjavu

Jeeeeeeeez this is so unfair, glad he's still alive sha.. (Na the same people)

¤¤This Be Yo Man STELCH¤¤

Politics things

APPLELIPX said...

TANK GOD HE'S NOT DEAD

ITS WELL

Jazz of life. That kind work no easy @ all if u r not well "insured"

Hope Emeghara said...

Good lord!..bless God hez alıve though'
#HappyBırthday 2mııııııı :)

Yusuf Olowo said...

Such a Cruel world, doing Everything to bring #GEJ down.

HATERS-SLAYER said...

2nd grace,his lucky.

May God save his life Amen!!!!!

Igor said...

GEJ it is obvius that people hate this man because he took your portrait.Please provide alternative accomodations in the Villa for him.

If its d job, biko give dem wat they want let dem leave U̶̲̥̅̊,,,ur life is important Ï„̲̅õ̸̳͡ ur family.

His assailants are looking for information over money. What secret do they feel he holds?

Sad! Best advice;quit ur job...wen dere is life dere is hope!

Lepa shandy said...

Linda if you know him,pls tell him to resign.
I think some one eyeing his post is after his life,but they won't get him in Jesus name. Wicked world

Fuck your opinion said...

Na wa... Wonder what ppl gain in taken lifes.

kunle said...

Why can't Jona provide security aide for him or he doesn't take his work important.

Doing a sensitve work and living in unsecured place. hmmmm

God hope his ook,nigeria is turning into war zone

May God protect us 4rm attackers in dis country, its gettin out of hands

Watin em do O°˚˚˚° ?? Y dem wan kill am na?? This ppl Я̩̥̊e̶̲̥̅̊ just hrtless O°˚˚˚°

Why can't pple jst hustle for their own place in d society instead dey wants sm1 else job. Clearly a case of " I want His job"

Bold Kid said...

It has begun...political bruhaha...RIPP

Nawa ooo, Thank God 4 his life. I'm sure he has some pictures, stories or Info dat must not be exposed! In 9ja the culprits wld never be found. SMH

Wetin concern photographer nw 4 dia hanky panky politics,,.u beta run 4 ur life man.

God have mercy ooo

Mr calistus please be careful with your pictures. I hope you are not stepping on peoples toes and avoid staying out late

may god keep him alive and safe...

KENNY HANDSOME

OMG!WOMAN said...

Nawa o the currupt ppl fight Jonathan, he's occupying a sensitive position, there's an urgent need for security or guards, if the family loves him the should do something o, this is how it starts, threats, threats, and some more threat and then one day he's executed,then he's gone, unless you are hungry for the great beyond, but if want to be here with the living do something o oga. A life dock is stronger than a dead lion.

Only God can save one in dis country of ours o. It is now unknown gunmen attacking d innocent

All dese political fotografas, una no go dey careful abi?? If dey kill U, Jonathan lives on oo, jst a minutes silence for U... Ur kids nd wife na dem go suffer am... Wish him speedy recovery tho

Boko haram things.

he had better move out of nyanya oooo

Heya

Hmmm tha is sure political mata. Wish him quick recovery.

Perhaps he was mistaken for a gay man...??...

Really sad. I guess hez swimming in troubled waters. Wishing him quick recovery

Ghen ghen...nollywood movie....

Hmmmmmm, nobesmalltin.com

AnnMarie said...

Politics is really getting bloody in Nigeria

Na wa ooooooooo
To snap president 2 na WAR. Get well soon oo...jare

Linda I beg u with god name u no dey like post my comment,change ooo is not good oh

God has not finish is work in his life so u wicked stop wasting ur tym in his life. Ewelike u ll not die until his plan in ur life his fulfil IJN

Hmm he shd b kiaful.D 3rd attempt may earned him d title "Late".

MISSPERFECT said...

Politics in d making,d just wasted dis young dude's life God is watching!

MISSPERFECT said...

I Pray for quick healing asap

Politics z very dangerous

Photographer goes to Nigerian hospital and looses his life, our senator has been flown abroad and he is responding to treatment. The same gun shot. The Nigeria of dreams.

MISSPERFECT said...

Politics in d making,d just wasted dis young dude's life God is watching!

Really baad...but seriously,if gunmen dey attack photographer...abi Na Bcos him b Jonathan's photographer...
MAPUTOHQ™

Linda also give us update on the Onitsha saga, learned an Hausa killed an Ibo man, Pls ff up

DIVABEE said...

The cat with the nine lives? Abeg must you still be in that job where you keep getting attacked? May God heal you

Thk God 4 is life. Mr -melvin- say so

2014/2015 may God see us through...cos political killings will killing will be high

He is GEJ's personal photographer and yet he cannot provide him with enough security. Naija we hail thee

niger 4 life

Just like in d movies, I fink he's in possession of something dis pple wants! Pray he gets well. .... #VectorManiac

success igbinoba said...

Na wa ooo d president should do sometin about dis issue

Mr• U no go resign? Yo too young to die O

get well soon

Stephen Ikiyei said...

ummmm... could this also be a 2015 tin... get well soon bro

Hmmmm niger in troble dis time w pray so dat God go mk tins batter.

Chinyere Ok. said...

This is serious!

Dee Tee said...

Hmmm. Nawa ooo | #NewsBlist

Well, may his soul RIP. In my opinion. There are two sides to this coin. He either has something incriminating in his possession which makes dis an in-camp plot or someone is playing a game so they'll think its d opposition dat did it.. In which case it'l b funny cuz if d opposition needed to make a point, killing an innocent photographer would be meaningless, they'd rather go for his aides. So something is off abt dis. I repeat IN MY OPINION before some senseless illitrates start making irritatingly stupid replies. Linda post my comment o!

nawa o

Hope his is not dead,god pls safe his life

Sha Ω̴̩̩̩̥o kill Mr president.....

IT IS WELL

Quick recovery

Don Peror Francis said...

That's wat u get wen u work 4 a gay......Sorry Bro

Na waooo

Bookiegold

Don Peror Francis said...

That's wat u get wen u work 4 a gay......get well soon n get more......#walksaway

haba dis is iksome,pls run 4 ur lyf oooooooooo b4 dem go kill u oooooo

olori said...

May God continue 2 save him o,he's a cat with 9 lives,he's holdin onto smt cos dis isn't normal

Nd he is stil workin dia abi?em no jst like em life so I dnt ve sowi fr em.

President's driver n he doesn't even own a car and lives in Nyanya of all places. They should make life better for him abeg

He better resign oh! Cos someone has it in for him.

his God is surely alive

Lol. Ure a funny one.

Hrm paul ojeih said...

this man no value im life ooo instead of am to vamoose dash Jonathan the camera im still dey there they work abi na opposition party wan kpai d guy ok ooo he should get out becos he mite not survive the next attempt am just saying o

@anon trying to be sarcastic right.there are far more important things like security and phcn.etc than this gay bill mata.

@anon so now they are imprisoning gay people for no good reason has PHCN brought light,I know your answer is NO.nigerians are useless.

Are Ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ø̲̣̣̥u̶̲̥̅̊ blind???
Wat are u commenting about? N̶̲̥̅̊A̷̷̴̐͠Ñ’ waho, so Ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ø̲̣̣̥u̶̲̥̅̊ don't even read d newz b4 commenting. Empty head

Just as your own soul is resting in peace. Willie willie

halliday said...

Tnk God u survived..

Daddy's Girl said...

Bia Chikezie, e be like say na u shoot am dat gun. Which one is may his soul rest in peace, he's nt dead yet naa haba!. Take ur time. Quick recovery sir

dhobiz said...

So upon say him dey live for nyanya e neva do dem they still want to take away his life,why are people this wicked?

He's not the president's driver,u fool. He's his personal photographer. U fool.
Poppy

For ur info,he's not dead,you dumbass. And he hasn't got anything incriminating in his possession. He's not that type of guy.

Swaggs isimemen said...

They should leave d pohtographer alone jor he just a pohtographer hmmm nawaooo

Swaggs isimemen said...

They should leave d pohtographer alone jor he just a pohtographer hmmm nawaooo I wish him quick recovery in jesus name amen

Swaggs isimemen said...

They should leave him alone ooo he just a pohtographer kai nawaooo naija 4 awhole abj no police 2 apprehend them I wish him quick recovery in jesus name amen

I concur

PAVOUR said...

Watin d wrong with him abi e wify dey slightly sleep, resign n do something else I beg. U dont value your life. God iw given u last warning. Anyway god love am see protection

Amarachukwu said...

God pls heal him for the sake of the family.

And the gays are protesting!!!! Heheheheh!!!

CU said...

I wish him speedy recovery. Time for him to relocate!

Them gay ppl are after him lol na laugh I dey laugh oh

Mugu chikezie u de wish him dead,repent ooh dis na new year ooh