Another Nigerian student arrested during sham marriage in the UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 November 2013

Another Nigerian student arrested during sham marriage in the UK

28year old Nigerian student Louis Esene and his 22 year old 'bride' were caught during their bogus wedding when the registrar noticed they were uncomfortable with each other.

From UK Daily Mail
A bogus bride was caught out because she 'flinched' when her phoney husband-to-be touched her knee in a register office. Emilia Ginova, 22, was jailed today for posing as a blushing bride ready to walk up the aisle with her groom.
But a court heard Ginova had only first seen Nigerian student Louis Esene on the day of the service - and was being paid £3,000 to take part in the sham marriage. She was caught out by an eagle-eyed registrar who spotted her shocked reaction when Esene, 28, reached out to touch her leg.
Registration officer Donna Davies said: 'The groom tried to touch the bride’s knee but she looked very uncomfortable. She flinched and there was no interaction at all. I knew it was a scam.'

The marriage was stopped - and the pair were both arrested at the register office in Pontypridd, South Wales.

It was later revealed that Esene wanted to stay in Britain because his visa had run out.
The court was told a friend recruited Ginova - who is a Slovakian-born Roma - and was four months pregnant by another man at the time of the wedding.

Esene and Ginova pleaded guilty to conspiracy to facilitate a breach of immigration law.

119 comments:

Ds is sad!

And the beat goes on!!!!!!!!!! The Nigerian government please take note. This is as a result of your neglect of your citizens, citizens that would rather risk arrest than go back to their own country!! SMH!

My gawd! What's This rubbish, can't you just come back home? Instead of you coming back home peacefully you're gonna go to Jail.

Jumyk said...

Ohhhhhhh!! Why are dis' people giving υs more issues?!!

Na waooooo God pls oooo

Another 9jirian ke

I must stay in the UK oooo. When will Nigerians learn?

Lol... Abeg e concern me?...#alinko

loooolz the lady looks like Ekuke.
Anything to stay abroad.

~BONARIO~says via NOKIA3310

All these sham marriages, well man must survive, if Nigeria was more conducive for living, all these would not happen

Na wa!

Linda, stop giving the impression Nigerians are the only ones involved, Daily Mail is just making a big deal out of NOTHING, a good number of foreigners in Europe, Canada and the United Sates got their resident permit through bogus marriage. Living abroad with 'papers' is hell. They are not criminals, they just want to survive. Who nor go, nor know.

Bros no wan come back Nija I no blame am wen d jonathans don finish all our resources notin remain u na want make him come back kum suffer. Don't worry bro d next tin u wil see as soon as u finish your studies is welcome to muritala(d home of hussling)

Thank God say na only leg e touch...

Fucked up peeps denting our name.

Linda this is no news jare ....u will as well be of help preaching good governance in Nigeria,boys must survive.

Sigh! #badluck from villa. Oya come home....

Well done.Dem go catch plenty more.Oyinbo no dey chop mugu again oo

Hiss some people are so dull. With the rate at which these arrangY marriages are been found out these days I really don't get how these desperadoes can't just plan these things well. Why can't they meet days before and hang out to get comfortable and just act a lovey dovy scene for just a few mins in the registry. If you can't get it done dont do it at all. Idiots.

Linda baby. Am I 1st to comment?? Kiissssesss. I love U linda.

hmmm ________power of naija!!! dix niggaz are'nt tired at ol.. the last time I chk someone was killed and nw  dix??? life na hustle anyway••Potter••

Nigeria and Nigerian we will never change! It is in our blood! Always in the news for nagetive and diety things.

Who would respect us? We are the Architect of our problem so if anything happen to any Nigerian anywhere in the world we should have ourselves to blame.

HATERS-SLAYER said...

nawa! Nija make una take am easy.

D guy is so unlucky, well am sorry 4 dem both

Dull girl! Wetin even dey UK sef? Wen dem dey do arrange marriage for!!! Chio

Fools!!!

Dull girl! Wetin even dey UK sef? Wen dem dey do arrange marriage for!!! Chio

Awwwww!

I feel for the brother , see this drunkie woman no wonder he got caught.

Rushel

Na wa ooooo...

That's d dividend of corruption in our dear country where youth unemployment reigns supreme. Lady

Imagine,dat was too bad,they went 2 far,scam marriage

That's d dividend of corruption in our dear country where youth unemployment reigns supreme. Lady

APPLELIPX said...

LOL
DAT GEH IS 22?

D GEH SEF LOOKS TOO LOCAL, CAN'T EVEN FORM PDA
SEE WAT BROKENESS CAN COS.... POOR GIRL

D GUY WAS DAMN TOO FAST. I DOUBT HE cAN EVEN PRONOUCE HER NAME WELL
SERVS HIM RIGHT

h.e.i bishop said...

funny dude n funny fellow.... i dy pity d guy,c d grl face sef

Ewoooooo!wonders my guy hope d 3,000 Pounds is refundable cos u on ur way home boo.lol

Igor said...

Why pose a pikey as a bride ?.They are the most insane people to deal with.Mr Esene,to stay for Jand is not everything.If they deport you,come back to Naija where you are celebrated

Na by force? Nauja sweet oooooooooooo.

They are both fools. If he has 3000pounds to pay for a sham marriage why not comeback to nigeria and reapply for a visa. Is it an achievement to leave in the UK. And didn't the girl know she was dealing with a black dude before collecting the money. She now blew up the sham with her reaction

The guy should just come bck home in shame after the jail term. Do people still do these things??? Just wondering

They are both fools. If he has 3000pounds to pay for a sham marriage why not comeback to nigeria and reapply for a visa. Is it an achievement to leave in the UK. And didn't the girl know she was dealing with a black dude before collecting the money. She now blew up the sham with her reaction

Nigerians and crime!! Mtcheew.

Dis gul no sharp jare.if na 9ja gul dem no fit code

Abegy na today..

is quite unfortunate

The lot re stupid. They shld ve met 4 2wiks consecutively, learn a little abt demselves b4 goin on. Like common, u go all d way 2 a british court no be nig court sef. U guys re stupid, mscheeeeeeew!!!! Waka

What a life!

for the umpteenth time this shows how bad Nigeria has gone.

See this olodo o. Collect 3k come still dey form mugu. Enjoy ya jail time jor metcewwww....

Na WA o, naija go better. Hope him collect him money back from the oyinbo sha? *flourish

The UK govt is really making it hard for foreigners to settle permanently hence people will always resort to desperate measures.

Ugba! But wetin carry am go touch oyibo laps for front of registrar?!

Mekus

Gud for him let him face d wrath of judgement ...

More

Lol. I'm laughing so hard at this comment. True true wetin carry am go touch oyibo laps? Arangee for that matter. Lol

This Naija bobo was not smart at all! You no for touch your chic for the knee first time round. Anyway, better luck next time!

Princess Dee said...

Nigerians in the UK,please stop this act.Once you conclude your masters,come back home.The UK is already filled with too many immigrants than the system can accommodate.Stop disgracing yourselves and family members please.
As for other Nigerians planning to travel abroad to further their education ,look towards other countries not the UK especially if you intend to stay back.My two cents...

Wats good for him?if u don't ЂΛƔ£ anytin to say just shut up ur loser mouth...mumu wey nor get sense

Niger guys na wa o!
But the chic no try sha.

Dis gal fuckup,mumu..insteadof her to do well!ontop 3k pounds,nw she don fall d boi hand

This Esene guy na real olodo Wetin concern you concern the girl lap or knee when you dey rub na that one dem send you make you go do.Moral of the story-STAY FOCUSED ON WHATEVER PLAN YOU HAVE GOING

Ur mates are in naija making millions u re there breaking immigration laws..come home friend, we have too much money in this country.

Hehehehehehe
You are very funny anon 10:30
Hahaha am still laughing oooo
The guy no try sha

S.H.A.M.E!!!

Emike Nemaro said...

When they are aboard they can marry even a monkey just to have their pappers!long hiss!

That's serious oooooooo. More news at http://www.newsinigeria.blogspot.com

fresh swag said...

Niger no dey smile @all, money must be made weather legal or illegal

And become a citizen by jail lol

Iswear,fuck dis country!,God dy

Laffin @ wetin concern am wt d gal laps... Really funny

Not just going to jail, but will be deported to Nigeria when he is released. Shame!

wow!! no jokes here..i know dis dude, we used to see at our regular eve kick abouts in d uk back then...wow!!.. and na correct calm guy oh, wt no qualms!..sad

Nlng, Mobil, ptdf all send graduates to the UK for postgraduate studies. After the program,they still come back to naija to hunt for jobs. The stay of the country is so pathetic and here is the result.

gbemi said...

Lol ' wrath of judgement' dunno hw ppl are able to sit around and judge. Others.

King's Kingdom said...

Gbaguan@musa.Negative not the other way

Thanks Anonymous 8.40

Fuck you, fool! Wetin dey Nigeria? Beggar!

Cute j said...

Omg why person nor fit slap idiots online na, I got don scatter this goat called Elena face wit confirm slap. u meet person dat same day, u wan touch fresh knee..I go old for jail fool

Cute j said...

The guy resemble wizkid ooo
Them dey control am for him village with saga pad

Cute jay said...

Na very big scale ewu u be oo. Watin concern naija govt concern dis oga Pablo way wan touch lap for court?? Na naija govt send am message? Abeg uk pls deport this guy by sea in cargo container then transfer to kirikiri on arrival thank u

Shame on Nigeria for not making Nigeria a pleasant place for the average person to want to live.

Lol......The guy has a funny face....LMAO

Sge be gypsy na. That's why she looks like ekuke

SIMPLYCOCK said...

LMFAO!!!!!
Naija no dey carry last for dis kain tinz!!!
The babe fear fear when she see d nigga!!!
Na flinch or na say she nearly throw up wen d nigga touch her???!!!

What name do you have you d*** head?nigeria...means all the terrible things in the world right now...so shut up check your fb

Damn!!!! Dat bitch is fugly

Thunder fire anybody wey comment nonsense comment here..idiots..who no go no know...what is in naija?nonsense...stupidcountry....better luck nextime bro...WFK

I meant to say living without 'papers' is hell.

Na wa!!!! The guy has over £5,000 to spend on illegal marriage but he can't take that £5,000 come back to Nigeria and try to use that degree he just earned to help himself. He just wasted his parents money and his brains on this crap. Oh well, maybe jail time ωïll help him be innovative. I'm sure with all the quiet time he'll have, apart from the time he'll be watching his a$$ to prevent himself from being someone else's b*#ch ωïll help him reflect on the stupid decision he just made. #nopityforthesucka

The bride sef sha no fine! But that's typical of naija men in the UK, marrying anything, even a bat just to stay there and work at Mc Donalds. Mschewwwwwwwww *smh

ivy said...

Plus ur bad english......smh

Na d tin wey dey follow am from village push his hand go touch her lap abi na kneel. Mugucally no ni

The girl fucked up big time. She collected money but couldn't act along just for few mins. Some pple here asked why the guy touched her laps?? Its obvious they don't know certains things about court marriage. In some cases you are meant to kiss ur wife because she is ur wife. Touching of lap is nuttin. U will hug and kiss her and exchange rings. The girl was just foolish. Also its not only nigerians that do these biko. White pple do same too to stay in better countries like australia and canada. Am tired of reading on this blog that nigerians are bad pple, white pple are more bad and corrupt. You need to travel out to see the kind of crimes white pple comit. Nigerians should stop talking bad about their country white pple are more corrupt than u are. Stop all these neo colonial mentality.

wht a pity this was. I wish the guy luck as the case continue. make anybody no come here com form innocent if u didn't do this to get uk stay ur dad or mum has done it for u to buy u your future thr so nobody holy pass

Hmmm! May be he wantd them to knw dey r really inlove. Yeye guy

Yeye racist girl,so u can't wait to be far from him yet you want his money!

Bad market!!! Why must everything about Nigeria be haphazard? Soon countries would stop us even visiting their shores.

The daily mail is the most racist newspaper in the UK also it targets Nigerians even when there are many polish migrants, russian migrants, american migrants etc who are doing the exact same thing and worse things as well. The russian mob in the UK is involved in drugs, prostitution, guns etc. Rather than talk about such vices the daily mail keeps hating on Nigerians.

*sh*t happen!*

@ annonymous 10:44 Please where is the money o.have been seeking for employment for the past 1yr now :( show me the way abeg

Bad market for the guy

this gitupid walahi.....she was going to be paid and they must have told her what to expect....idiot, she wants 3k.....am sure she was just nervous......those who are abusing the guy should just shut up....some people actually do have a better life when they go ouside naija and nothing wrong in trying but things always have to be done the proper way..

swaggs isimemen said...

Dat is tru anonymous 8:40 who nor go nor no, don't blame dat guy is our bad leaders dat is making nigerian 2 go tru all dose pain.

You guys should stop making stupid comments. The guy was just trying to use a 'legitmate' means to get himself settled. He is not a CRIMINAL!

Yes, Its like hell on earth, destinies ar different, you have to make your happen.

Ofcourse i don't support what this guy has done but white people cover up their shit,Black people open up their wide mouth and spit nonsense. White people do more shits than this,EVEN THE PAKI'S are experts when it comes to bogus marriages. Why do you keep on denting your country all the time. You shout Nigeria and make it look like a stormy place,foreigners travels to Nigeria to steal and eat the fats in Nigeria and end up denting your country.They publish articles to world about Nigeria and the whole world starts to dent Nigeria again.There is no better place in the world even Britain is f**kd so the rest of the world.Even the govt of Nigeria makes it worse,while the poor suffers.I bet they can't even bad mouth China,paki's or indians like that,they would give it back to them in full force.But Nigerians are super weak, Nigeria Gov are super weak they are waste just like wee and poo. You all know Nigerians are on the Top list for daily mail,Daily mail is ready to finish that country,they don't like blacks especially Nigerians,so you should know now.

Yes! Every country in this world is absolutely corrupt. What would you say about the music industry and the western culture selling sex and promoting sexual disturbing pictures on the national TV (Xfactor) Miley cyrus, thicke(blurr lines),Riri and co Pretending it's cool to our kids.kIDS ARE NO MORE KIDS THIS DAYS,We listen to fuck, bitch,swag,sucking all sorts on the national Tv and all these are cool? Come on!!! But the silly Daily mail are so quick to publish an irrelevant article that everyone is so familiar with all in the name of destroying a country's name.They should go and fix the knife culture and gun crimes.Everywhere is corrupt. It's high time we stop the silly western culture. Maybe it's time God takes over,Maybe? I see sense in religion now.

@cute jay. You Are such cow.

chioma said...

Nigeria again,ah ah,or all the blacks in the uk,when ever they commit a CRIME they pose to be Nigerians.even white people from other countries do this but they have never published them when caught,i dont know what UK have with Nija seriously.

@ cute jay ure such a morron...God pass u sha

I dont blame Nigeria who do desperate things to live abroad, our RULERS not Leaders should be ashamed of themselves.I only love Nigeria because it is my country. What is in Nigeria for one to be proud of? A country where there is no free and fair elections, where politicians loot recklessly, where lectures trade sex with female students for good grade, where armed robbers operate with impunity, where people kill and get killed and the killers are never caught, where suspects are beaten and burnt to death in the streets, where suspects are paraded on television, where the police carry out extrajudicial killings. A country of mediocres, where nothing is done on merit. A rich country with a frightening rate of unemployment, no good roads. No pipe-borne water supply. Public health care is virtually nil. There is no government in Nigeria. It is a couutry of self survival.

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Arranging sham marriage is not that difficult Nigerians are screwing it up serious moni is involved all they need to do is practice with each other interact hang out for like two months to get a sort of chemistry going then approach the marriage registrar and do ur thing. this is simply business just like acting a movie and getting emotional with ur cast mate how hard is it

omo na the girl fuck up. after 3k him no fit touch ordinary knee abi na wetin? na d girl i blame

You r a bigger fool. What kind of visa will you apply for again after d expiration of a student visa?? Another student visa? To study what and what will it cost?? On what grounds will you be allowed to live there? Calculate all that and maybe it will make sense to you why he went for d £3k
Btw "leave" and "live" cannot be used interchangeably. Mumu!!!

Where did you mean to say it?

shut up fool! If you wanna be analytic, then pretend you r smart whilst doing it. So you think with £5000 he's made in Naija. Let's say he uses £600 out of that amount to buy a ticket. A one her apartment in reasonable places in Abuja cost just about that balance left of the money! How about feeding? Transportation and probably "settling" people that r likely to assist him in getting a job? How about contingencies? Will he not buy suits and clothes to look presentable? So my dear, don't calculate that 5k like that. It can only afford rent! Of course he is wrong. But where is life much easier? Naija? Where poor people have no say? Abeg. Run your race and allow others run theirs.

I know this guy those days, too bad he is in the news like this.

U are mad.big fool.....fuck off.if u no no waiting u go say.shut are fuck up.