Akon & Wizkid under fire in Ghana for requesting light-skinned girls for music video | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 17 November 2013

Akon & Wizkid under fire in Ghana for requesting light-skinned girls for music video

Found this on US gossip site - bossip.com. They jacked it from FashionGhana.com. Read the report below...
Ahead of the upcoming concert that will see the likes of Akon, Wizkid, Sarkodie and more in Ghana, controversy sparks! In a recent video shoot for an up and coming Akon and Wizkid video, some Ghanaian models and girls were called upon to participate by the directors a few days ahead of the shoot. Presumably prior to Akon and Wizkid's arrival in Ghana.
A model reported on the day of the shoot some girls were turned away as the agent (or the man responsible for calling them) informed them that “they now want half cast girls”. A term used to describe girls with mixed heritage, usually ones with white blood in them.

“THEY”, most likely referring to Wizkid, Akon and/or his music video producer, turning away a fleet of arrivals originally requested to attend by the model scout. In fact, the agent requested if the girls could help him seek light skinned girls because ‘THEY’ were so adamant on this request even on late notice.

Nigeria, where WizKid is from, and Senegal where Akon is from, are countries both flooded with girls bleaching their skin simply because of such discrimination and being made to feel ugly if dark. Not just in media and modelling, but general favours in life. Whilst there are good people in both countries trying to reverse the self esteem damage of such activities such as Adama Paris who banned skinned bleach models from the Senegalese national fashion week, Akon and Wizkid’s team are trying to further such acts internationally.

If this is the intentions Akon and the arrogant side kick Wizkid wish to introduce to Ghana, then we will be more than glad to uninvite them. Unfortunately for these bigots, Ghana has never been a land where girls are discriminated for skin tone in any field. In such matters, it is obvious they will pass the blame onto an employee to maintain their reputation. But for any such behavior, both these artists should be boycotted until their position is clarified.

It’s a shame that grown men who might be an inspiration to some still hover the Earth will a very small minded approach when it comes to reality. It might come across as simply music video request, but it’s a habit existing in our countries born out of colonial rule, that unfortunately is also birth of skin colour discrimination and self esteem damage.

Thank God Sarkodie did not sign to Akon’s label Konvict. All I can say is I am looking forward to the departure of Akon and Wizkid from Ghana. That would be great news. In fact we would be very glad if any model continues to report any such activities going on in Africa (with remits) so we can name and shame the real perpetrators behind the skin bleaching epidemic.

162 comments:

E Don tey since Africans get inferiority complex, no b today, n to think a healthy black skin is medically better than a fair skin

Na so we hear am o,linda so na now u dey hear this gist.

JDY said...

nawaaaooooo.black is beautifully. black is natural. winks#

Akon and nigeria rapper wizkid...lolzzz.is wizzy a rapper. But 2 be candid,light skinned girls are good 4 music video.

TBLAZE said...

What is wrong with them requesting white girls,please we africans should know when to respect people's wishes,these guys have been using dark skin models in most of their videos,so why dis noise now from just one video,we blacks are becoming more racist than the whites,because this outcry is simply "racist".

Kofi Oppong Kyekyeku said...

They are not serious

No wonder bleachin z bcmin a popular trend..n i used to wonder y der r no black girls in videos. In anoda news, first to comment..
A.S

Wow. We need to learn 'Black is beautiful' . White doesn't always mean beautiful.

jaybeenet.blogspot.com said...

This is absolutely bad for these guy s,for God sake why should they discriminate when they are original black nigga...
Am sure by now they will be regretting their actions..

Check out this blog

C Gobe!

Rex David said...

Irony of life! While so many of them out here can't wait for sunshine and many even go as far as tanning their skin to get just a little bit of what these shallow minds have, majority low self-esteemed African girls opt for mediocrity, fake and artificial life of skin bleaching. Really pathetic! What a shame! I'm Nigerian by the way and nothing like an Ebony skin. Girls of Color are the best. The best "piece" of a woman's body looks great in black not pink!

Na wa o not good

ogaooo! so they are the ones encouraging sisters to bleach brighter than their future.
Its not fairoo.

davido said...

Do ˚°º‎​‎​U̶̲̥̅̊º° even post my comment at all. Well Ghana should be happy of havin Akon n Wizkid in dere show

Aphrodite said...

They are both sick in d head, dey are d reason y we av Bleached out SheDiats all around, so dey're trying to tell us dt d Light skinned gurls are beta? Den dey must e as retarded as d Light Skinned gurls dt fink coz dey are fair, dey are God's gift to men! As in luk at d Chic in Reminisce's "If Only" video, dt gurl is GORGEOUS! WizKID nd Akon are big fools, DICKHEADS!

I don't know why such nonsense should be heard of in Africa, am so disappointed to hear this. imagine Akon and Wizkid of yesterday. mtchw

Abeg Linda happy sunday

Best news ever,say no to bleach skin girls/models,even nigeria politicians turn down dark skin girls,d pay bleached skin more.deir dad#teamdarksin4life#

Lol its their music video so they can use anyone they want,na their money. Am black and proud any day,any time. Am wonderfully made!

Gud 4dem.#teamdarkskin4life#

I don't know why such thing should be heard of in Africa, imagine ugly Akon and short Wizkid of yesterday.

Abeg Linda Happy sunday.

Really disgusting when we discriminate against ourselves! Later we'll say whites are racist, I'm always ashamed when Nigerian music videos use white girls, Latinos and mixed race girls. shameful.

Phatymarh said...

See discrimination! Na wa oo

I can't believe this.I mean why won't ppl use handy andy and hypo to bleach....dz is just stupidity wat do dy want us with black skin to do,is Akon not darker dan lucifer himself smh,,anya miri juru anyam #didi

APPLELIPX said...

LMFAO....!!!!!!
GHANA GEHS BE LIKE "EVEN OUR HEAVY ASS CAN'T MK WAY FOR US"

MENHHHHHH....
DIS IS SO TRUE

IT HAS CONTRIBUTED TO DA ALARMIN RATE OF BLEACHING UNTILL SA NOW HAVE TO USE HOUSE SCRUBS ON EMM SKIN

IF IT WERE A WHITE DAT DID THIS, WE WILL BE SO FAST TO CALL DEM RACIST

WE ARE OUR OWN PROB..
AKON I XPECTED MORE FRM U; YOU KNW WAT IT FEELS LIKE TO BE TREATED UNJUSTLI COS OF UR COLOUR

D DESCRIMINATION IS JUST TOO MUCH AMONGST US

Lovely article revolting against colorism. I'm in full support. Akon is becoming a blight on the world. He promotes nothing but ignorance.

abi oooo

Watevs..I'm #teamlightskinned lol, itz SOoº° obvious wizkid's not in2(luks dwn on) dark skinned gals jus take a look at hs half caste of albino galfriend or ex..whicheva

Smart said...

Well I don't find anything wrong with choosing the kind of girls you want to appear in your video, it's your money and your choice. Beside Wizkid has featured a lot of black models in his previous videos and nobody complained, why now?...everyone is beautiful as created by God, so anygirl that chooses to alter that cos of money should have herself to blame not Akon and Wizkid. #Reality

Wizkid in particular is very stupid i kW he made dat décision himself cause He's d 1 fearuring akon,Nigerian artiste Shuld learn to appreciate their women rubbish! Black is Beautiful

Freda said...

Tbh, its thier video. They are allowed to do whatever they like in it. They only messed up coz they could have specifically requested for the "half cast" girls from the start so everyone else saves time n money.

akon n wiz r so myopic n bigottic in nature ,dem tink sey na by half cast chics in der videos dt wil solidify n upgrade it 2d standard de want ...haba akon is such a dissapointment n wiz is retarted young fuck dat tinks he gonna reign 4eva wit no legacy 2 leave behind .arrogant idiotic artist lookin 4 cheap models 2 slip after d video shoot...SHIRORO 4rm mende-maryland

Yea yea.....so loving dis, as Black as Akon is tho....dude's never dated a light skin girl, so y dos he want 'em on his video? Nt tryna reason wif 'em bt Mayb just Mayb it has something 2 do wid d msg d music wanna pass along #iknwijustwrotebullshithere# smh

I LOVE THIS ARTICLE. GOD BLESS THE WRITER. Imagine if women were to only go for light skin men, BLACK MEN STAY BEING SHALLOW AS FUCK. I WONDER IF ITS HER SKIN COLOUR THT WOULD PROVIDE A GREAT HOME FOR YOU IN THE FUTURE. Ewus. AND NO IM NOT BITTER. I'm actually light. BUT I'VE SEEN WOMEN WHO RISK THEIR HEATH BECAUSE OF THIS NONSENCE AND MEN WHO THINK ITS OK TO UTTER SUCH BULLSHIT IN PUBLIC.

People should be loved whether they are dark or light skinned. It make me sad when guys, especially guys ascribe fairness(complexion) to beauty.

Written by a hurt dark skinned person

stupid akon, dumb wizkid.

ericabrandy blog said...

Akon wizkid na waiting

This video is for akon wizkid and banky, what i dont understand is why they went all the way to ghana to shoot the video while they are from senegal and nigeria respectively. Are nigerian girls or maybe senegal girls not enough?

But They said they needed light-skinned girls now n not bleached up girls...it is what they want in their video...how is dix supposed to be a problem...na wa o

Ignorant Jealous ghainains just because they are they are the blackest in the world, they hating on fair pple!! An average ghanain want's to bleach but their skin just can't bleach because their skin can never lighten, awon Mofos

Abeg akon are u white at all ?. U dat can measure in blackness with all dis shoe shiners in Nigeria. Wizzy I gat no words 4 u cos ur a hypocrite following akons footsteps onli leads u 2 doom. Small tym u will start ur own polygamous family if not yet started. Mtchew

sweetie said...

Don't judge book by d cover.it depend on type of d music dey wanted to sing,videos av to b well organise. remember dey ll spending money on it.der ar some musicians dat requested 4 big ass & rejected d small ones,dey av reason of doing dat. it depend on d song lyrics.I could remembered wen I watched dis old school video call (omo pupa) all d ladies der were yellow.I believe dey av der reason 4 requested yellow chicks.if d video is not well organise is dis same people dat ll condemn it.leave dem alone. dey av reason 4 der action.

akon na typical example of money miss road...

Na to start bleaching na,what else?

The truth is Ghana girls are not dark skinned they are black, really black. So on this one I support wizkid. They won't show on tv or film even with all the lighting, they need women that are a little fair complexioned. This is a practical business decision.

Black don't crack. . Na only people wey never pass naija they jealos oyibo. Just maintain fresh smooth skin. Akon and Wiz are ignorant and superficial people if they are actually the culprits behind this insolence

See gbege!!!... No wonder u can hardly see dark complexion gurls in recent videos!

Una c say no b toke & co fault...they r jus trying to keep up with d market!
Abeg black is beautiful

Them neve ready ooooo

Hmmm. have they both forgotten that they are both black??? HMM, When you read this type of Nigeria scandals You will not want to be black anymore

Beverly Osu @therealbeverlyosu said...

Msheew akon that's as black as fuck what's wrong with using dark skinned girls!!! Wizkid should park well abeg! Because he's fair Tania isn't pretty at all she's only fair n attractive!!! Rubbish

Oluwadamilola said...

Thank you oo Lauren..dem don dey do am tipe tipe..

Oluwadamilola said...

How many dark skinned girls do you. See in their videos? Dark skinned girl like sisi Caro abi?

Americans are just stupid, hypocritical bastards! Same country where its fashion industry promotes 0 size girls. Did they even investigate this rubbish before they published it? Where in Nigeria do we promote white skinned girls? Abi na make them just dey run mouth.

Don't mind dah arrogant whizkid, dah's ow he did a fun video in d bush! Nd sucks his lips for rosy pink luk.........idiot

Low self esteem and inferiority complex..

I pray dat get deported for that, "Black is beautiful" #song by Flavour#. Am proud to be a black woman. #BlackMiya says so#

Don't mind dah arrogant whizkid, dah's ow he did a fun video in d bush! Nd sucks his lips for rosy pink luk.........idiot

ojimsclaxic said...

Exactly my thoughts!

Idiots have now christened Wizkid a rapper! Wonder what that makes Ice prince?

I dont understand africans ooo...saying u wont give white skin galz is complete racism...2 b candid sef dey r beta in music videos...imagine if caro n sis caro were black skin pple...

Mtchwwww.... black z beautiful!!! only inferiority causes such *onyxgodwin *

Dende said...

Even Akon who's a mix between shadow n charcoal?I tire

Story story.

Yo! What are you Saying? Making No meaning to me!!! Is that last statement a complete or half baked satement??? Every1 one wanna write...

Miii said...

Are the girls fools? Those foolish ones that bleach their skin for attention from guys know this:
1. Skin cancer is real,don't go looking for it.
2. Men don't know what they want most of the time. You might be popular with them but they turn around and marry dark skinned ladies.
3. Bottom line,be yourself! Exfoliate and moisturize your skin and you will bring out d best from your skin whether dark or light skinned.

IjeUSA said...

I hope this is not a Ghanian writer, what do they mean by they don't discriminate based on color? Watch their movies - once u r light skinned u get the role even when they clearly can not act.
Look at Juliet Ibrahim, Nadia Buari & Van Vicker. None of them can act to save their lives - they r where they are becos Ghanians want to dispel that notion that Ghanians are dark.
I'm not in support of what Akon did but let Ghana not be hypocritical here!

With dark skin girls, u will need so much lightening for the video.

BURNT Akon and Dwarf Wizkid requesting for light skinned girls in Ghana?! They're crazy!!!

Littel wounder oue African women feel d need to bleach their skin. Even u all that uses, skin tonning, skin lighting and skin whiting cream are all guilty of breaching ur skin I dnt care how u twist it. I dnt dare buy any cream that has such rubbish attached to it. I am chocolate in colour and I will nt change that for any thing. Love urself the way u are black or fair all that matters is how u see urself.

LIES! Ghana plays that ish to the max. Thier movie industry is getting filled up with biracial kids who can't act to save their lives... from Van Vicker, Nadia Buari down to Juliet Ibrahim and co. The only biracial who is talented to the core in "Ghallywood" is Michel Majid. The rest are undoubtedly famous because of their complexion. You have dark skinned stars like Ecow Asante Smith, Jackie, etc who are marvelous but their success is no match for that of their fair skinned colleagues (most who are quite new to the industry). So don't pose like bleaching, white is right mentality and all that sad stuff ain't rampant in ghana

Sorry you are not first

delicious_v said...

Y won't gals go to any lenght to bleach?mtchewwww!wareva

bykes said...

Most ppl don't think b4 dey strt commenting on certain issues. For d vry fact dat ur telling a black man to use only black girls in his video is racism itself. So some ppl shud stop being so shallow mined. Think b4 u let sh*t craw out of ur mouth.

This is not new in our musical video...where a Davido is singing to white 'I'll take you oversees'...only a Fela and the Egypt '80 band wld make an African video with dark skinned girls

--SOD--

This is not new in our musical video...where a Davido is singing to white 'I'll take you oversees'...only a Fela and the Egypt '80 band wld make an African video with dark skinned girls

--SOD--

Linda, ask those oyibos we dey alwys lie down under sun for beach & swiminimg pools wetin dem dey do there,you would be amazed. Infact make i break the little secret, they are deliberatly darkening their skin. It is called "Tanning."(google and confirm). No,not bcos they enjoy the hot sun,Not atall,they just wanna appear dark ,western supermarkets are alway flooded with tanning cream for people who want to get tanned artificially. It is a big time biz most of dem engage in.

The whole irony is while blacks are applying bleaching cream,oyibos are busy sun bathing &applying tanning cream,all to tone the skin

They are not critiecing or dicriminating Blacks skin, it just that what they repuest is what suet the music video they want to shut,so let stop critizing them.but to be truthfull I don't support racialism act,it is a sin aginst humanity

These people are just plain stupid..Why are they making an issue out of Nothing? Most African musicians @ one point or the other have used a light skinned girl or half caste for music videos..Sounds more like they're the ones with inferiority complex and security issues..Am caramel in complexion and am comfortable in my skin..Av met guys who say they prefer fair girls and i've also met the ones who prefer dark skinned girls,infact i have a cousin who can't stand a light skinned girl..my point is this,its a matter of preference. There's no need to descriminate on a person's complexion/race...,whether fair,dark or white...if they request for light skinned girls,let them have what they want,don't see any reason why any one is mad about it,its just stupid to me

PRETTY GIRL

SIMPLYCOCK said...

I, SIMPLYCOCK, unashamedly prefer light-skinned girls to dark-skinned babes...
I prefer busty women to tiny titties girls...
I prefer fairly tall girls like Linda to short ones...
I prefer full, buxom, voluptuous girls to skinny, tinny-winy babes...
I prefer fine-faced girls to ducklings....
I prefer black ladies to Caucasian women...
I prefer brunette to blonde...
Honestly speaking...
Wizkid and Akon are entitled to their preferences respecting the type of women they want to feature in their music video...
It is beyond just a matter of colonial mentality...
People must be bold and unabashed about their choices...
Another name for it is authentic existence!!!
So, to hell with the Ghanaians, their low lives, and the fucked-up writer of the article!!!!

Ritana2 said...

Black is beautiful

I SUPPORT THE BANNING OF BLEACHED SKIN MODELS IN GHANA and i also think it should be ADOPTED BY NIGERIANS!
In other news i think it's just the concept of d video! My opinion tho'!#doctorbobby

I'm black, I'm beautiful, the white men in Nigeria wants to taste me, so I have no reason to wanna be white,even the light skin guys are tripping, but if u gals desire to be white! Go soak ur selves in bleach.

Pls before you crucify anybody, Linda you should know better...what if the concept of their video demands a light skinned girl?...pls let's be reasonable I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ our condemnations!...these gossip blots Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ destroying peoples career, families, marriages!...pls let's be fearful I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ our judgement of others!...you haven't heard the other side of the story α̲̅πϑ you Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ judging!...May God help your souls!

EbonyAma said...

Long story.

Shut d gutter in ur face u call mouth! Re u tryin to say dark skinned grls aren't gud enuf for music videos? I cn c u re as dumb as u luk..Its ur type dat encourage bleachin..I'm beginning to undastnd y most pipo fink beverly is ugly..if she was light skinned am sure u'd say she's rily pretty..continue to be a slave to d whites..mtchew!

Well said my dear, well said! I support u.

Racism alert. Blacks are beauties. They need half-caste girls!!!!!!!!!!!

Stupid article whoever wrote dis must be a serious hater. Don't even believe d story by the way. It sounds fabricated. Den again let's not 4get dat dese singers also use dark skinned gals in deir videos. So if now dey want light skinned gals den get dem d light skinned gals. Period

But this is not a new thing..........everybody does it. Do you see charcoal babes in Psquares videos? Na.....didnt think so.

The problem is that most guys wud say black is beautiful n still follow bleached or light skin girls , well Ghanians shud not insult Nigerians since some Nigerians are naturally light skinned

Pls free Akon and the other boy Jare, they are just promoting what sells, if people prefer to watch premier league at ur pub, pls don't show naija league, else u will close shop very soon.

Genevieve, kate henshaw, uche jombo, stephanie okereke, oluchi, agbani, tiwa, toolz, etc etc etc are not light skinned......

Pls free Akon and the other boy Jare, they are just promoting what sells, if people prefer to watch premier league at ur pub, pls don't show naija league, else u will close shop very soon, PEOPLE POWER......

Absolutely nonsense.. How can Akon envolve himself in such. Black girls are the best.

See see abeg evrybody shud stop rantin plss, ahn ahn! Undafire for wat? For requestin for wat dey want? Dey needed light skinned girls so? Dats wat dey want for dia video! Doesn't mean dark skinned girls ar useless or dnt stand a chance in anythin, dis is nt discrimination plss! Dis is jst simple preference! D same way som movies wll cast light skinned actors/actresses for a role wc is clearly accordin to d demands of d character/movie script, so y ar y'all screamin, its nt lyk we hav jst one color. In nigeria here and oda parts of africa we hav both dark n light skinned girls so wu says only dark girls shud b used for evry modellin job? Whr does dat leave d lyt girls? Infact ds one sef is d real discrimination, wen yu protest cos yu were nt given a job cos yu ar dark means yu ar evn discriminatin d lyt ones, dats racist, wu says d job is meant for yu or shud b given to only yu cos yu ar dark?! A director or an artist knws wat he/she wants for reasons best knwn to him/her. The problem here is just complex! Simple! We've allowed ourselves to plunge in2 d pool of inferiority complex wc is bad! Black is beautiful doznt mean white isn't too, we ar all beautiful as we hav bn created by d same God! So wu says one shud benefit more dan d oda alwys cos skin color? Its nt lyk Akon/wizkid hav nt bn usin black models b4, so nw jst ds once dey ask for light skinned models or halfcast and evrybody shouts foul. Its rubbish abeg. If we continue lyk dis, we wud allow dis africa to b riddled wth inferiority complex evrytym, let's stop abeg! Besyds dey own dia money too, let's stop all dis sentiments pls. #EnuffSaid

Everyone is so quick to judge, no one asked if the title of the song is my half-caste girl'. They did not ask of light skinned girls but for half caste or na molato. Anyways! MsCas

Still can't see my comment! *beefingModeActivated*#doctorbobby

Breaching?u are from anambra state i guess!*shrugs*#doctorbobby

Ahahahah.....but dis is SOoº° true tho

I see you bleached face dear, so am not surprised.

Light skin girls look me attractive nd catch pple's attention more Dan dark skinned girls,dats y.my frnd nd I do ushering jobs,u knw,to keep body nd soul 2geda,she is prettier and taller dan me,she even hz mad hips,im jst light skinned wit bigger ass,yet I get more jobs dan she does,infact she doesn't get any @all.Dey always request 4 light skinned girls. So not fair.

Of all places, na Ghana Akon and Wizkid go find light skinned girls?
Dem never ready for the video sef

valentine said...

You guys shud just kip shut! I'm sorry buh think about it...nothing concerns akon wiv the shoot..he just appeared on wizzy's request...and abt the colour ish"do u know how many vids beverly osu has appeared in? So if they decide what they want it is the method the foolish director or whatver passed the message across...dont.just conclude pls. -starts smokin igbo....yes mum! No! E neva done..i neva fry the beans!

Igor said...

So no be only for Naija we sabi yab.Even Ghana people get mouth.Infact Ghanians I hail una.No mind dem.See pot,(Akon)calling kettle black.And Ojuelegba half adult,(Wizkid) dey find lightskinned girls.Yeye people.#starts to view Peter Okoye's wedding pics

Crux! said...

Linda u don press P too much on this issue matter oooO. Everybody have taste and choice, In my case I am Proud to be Black African, #proudlyNIG

Crux! said...

Linda u don press P too much on this issue matter oooO. Everybody have taste and choice, In my case I am Proud to be Black African, #proudlyNIG

Are you kidding me? Please proof read before posting your jargons!

photo blogger said...

To view the photo's of the black skinned girls as they were asked to leave the video shoot simply goto www.instagram.com/asap_dude_ or follow me on instagram and view the pictures.
The girls weren't that black though.

Are you surprised? Wizkid dissed his baby mama for a half caste talentless chic na

Lady G said...

Oh my gosh! Why do foreign reporters keep making it seem like people in naija bleach their skin because Nigeria as a society discriminates against women of a darker complexion? That is not true! They bleach their skin because they are obsessed with what they watch on tv and they want the foreign "beauty". It is 109% insecurity on the lady's side. I'm sick of these false no substance reports. I am a dark complexioned lady and I have not once ever been discriminated against. My people are obsessed with my skin and call me their black beauty.

Wat do u mean by dat?????? Its d truth ,not a Vendatta by a dark person.wanting "Oyibo" coloured models is their choice but sending girls away cos they r dark skinned is so VERY WRONG.....so think b4 u comment next time

All you guys talking about maybe the concept required light skinned girls are just trying to hide behind one finger and maybe y'all like light skinned chicks no biggie with that, but the topic of discussion her is music videos in Nigeria this has been going on for long and we all know it's not right, it's only the upcoming musicians in Nigeria that use natural complexion models in their videos and once they make money u will not spot a single dark girl in the video, e.g dbang's first video had dark girls with nice both that's what brought him out now tell me what do u see in his videos?????? Imagine terry g see grove, very African song that was naming everywhere had white girls who couldn't even move a feet to the beat, timaya's latest ukuw with Nigeria concept had a non Nigeria girl with fake butt in the video, the list goes on and on the fact is these artistes are making a mockery of the African colour and Africa it's self writing songs only us understands and flooding d videos with white girls who just stand there like stick.

I like ghanians joor black and proud naoja gal might av gone to bleach na.
Naso linda we dey togeda...

Check out intrestingly related infos @ www.meecoe.blogspot.com

Discrimination is only known as "video concept" or "personal preference" in the minds of some LIBers then. In some parts of the world, the reports of women being blatantly turned away on the basis of their skin color would have resulted in lawsuits against the venue and artists and millions in damages for the victims. The artists don't get carte blanche to break laws that protect citizens against discrimination because they're spending coins on a music video.

sorri to say this but most nigerians are fools and job less, well main fact still remains that while you are here complaining of black and none black girls,he is there making/shooting more vedios,thus making his money,to be frank people have choises ,yourss might be diffrent from another persons own,well little blam pepz on this blog beacause this is a gossip blog,while you gossip them they become more popular. Imangine 88 comments just becaise wizkid say's he needed whote girls for his vedio permite me to ask where did you get the storry from,oh well i saw i saw the source link,is it that you posting rumours from other sites?well little business of mine

best opinion said...

ABEGY,NA TODAY.WHAT ARE THEY UPSET FOR. GOLLYWOOD THRIVES ON MIXED RACE ACTORS WHO CANNOT ACT TO SAVE THEIR LIVES EG VAN VICKER,NADIA,JULIET IBRAHIM,EVEN YVONNE NELSON STARTED OUT BLACK AND IS NOW HALF CASTE.EXCEpTION ON MAJID WHO CAN ACTUALLY ACT. GET ME RIGHT IM NOT CRITICIZING I ACTUALLY ADORE HALF CASTEs.ALL MUSIC VIDEOS NAIJA AND RaPPERS ABROAD USE EM ONLY EVEN KANYE ACKNOWLEDGED THIS.AND WHO ARE THE VIDEOS FOR.?YOU U IDIOT.COS THATS WHAT WE FUCKEN ADMIRE OR LIKE TO SEE.PUBLIC DEMAND.THEN U GO BEHIND UR COM9UTER TO ACT ALL CRITIC STFU.U WISH U WERE HALF CASTE TOO

ec said...

Oh all yall pls shut up. Go into ur bathroom now and tell me u dont have papaya,fair and white soap,carrot soaps etc.what are they for breskfast? Bloody hypocrites.i dare one of u to say u dont hv a toning soap at home.i hv never visted a female frnd in the last year and saw joy soap or premiere.all that has gone extinct yet u still lie to ur fucking faces u fucking hypocrites.FOH

best opinion said...

AND WHO IS ANON 3.45 BREAKING A LIL SECRET TO.WHO TOLD U ITS A SECRET OR aRe u JUST SLOW?

THEY CANT GET SO MANY FAIR
GHANIAN LADIES.DEM BLACK 4
THAT SIDE.

ZeeZee said...

As a dark skinned (caramel) beautiful young lady what I say is I don't mind it, if it's their preference so be it - I understand why people are upset but some people don't mind dark skinned like I like my fellas dark :) some people light (actually many people I guess)..

ZeeZee said...

As a dark skinned (caramel) beautiful young lady what I say is I don't mind it, if it's their preference so be it - I understand why people are upset but some people don't mind dark skinned like I like my fellas dark :) some people light (actually many people I guess)..

Thank Ghana for standing up to scum bags like these African men. One thing I admire about Ghanaians is that most of them arent ashamed to be very dark skinned. They are more comfortable in it than Nigerians (on average) and it probably has to do with the fact that their men aren't crazy about light skinned women vs some Nigerian men that lust after light skinned Igbos/Niger Deltans constantly.
I wish such a thing can happen in Nigeria because this bleaching thing is getting out of hand. Girls are dry, ashy, and discolored due to this bleaching bullshit. If (Nigerian) society didn't put this kind of pressure on women to be fair, would the majority of women even feel the need to bleach? I doubt it.
BIG UPS TO GHANA!

I always maintain that a black woman's worst enemy is the black man. How many onyibo rock and pop videos do you see featuring black women but black men feel that the only way to show you have achieved is to flaunt a white or mixed race women. Lol

Nigga, you are stupid as hell. Why turn away girls because they aren't mixed or light skinned? Is it not Ghana we're talking about? A BLACK AFRICAN COUNTRY! Fuck outta here.

EXACTLY! I don't support those color-stuck niggas either. Only black men will glorify women of every other race before their own. ONLY BLACK MEN.

Bitch please. I'm fair skinned and these things irritate the hell out of me as it shows how inferior black people feel about themselves. It's a big shame and disgrace!

Idiot

True. I have to agree with that. Besides Majid Michel and maybe Frank Artus, the rest of those light skinned mixed ghanaian actors are there for "eye candy" and nothing else. Their acting is horrible. Especially Van Vicker and Juliet Ibrahim. Terrible, just terrible!

Fammie said...

To each his own, light skin, dark skin, They bring it on always

Google Play Store Not Coming To BlackBerry

Tblaze aka booda ode. Mtshewwww

Let's nt b too racist here truely, am a very black guy n often proud of my complexion until I travelled abroad n without usin any cream I started becomin white. Now d tin is I wonder if deep black is my real color or its d effect of d sun. Sumtyms stayin in AC cn giv u light skin. Besides y is a black baby yellow at birth, y r sum of hw cuzins born dere fairer? Just sayin sha, stand a chance to b corrected though

Kylie said...

You are a fool, ever met anyone from sudan? Even akon himself is darker than an average Ghanaian! This is nonsense you are just a hood rat nigerian who has never travelled before. akon considering that you have lived abroad and seen varieties of women in different shades I expected more from you. Mentally enslaved people by the way I am by no means a dark person.

Kylie said...

Remember it is not the decision of Ghanaians to use those actors and actresses, rather the retarded producers and directors who before their career began have never traveled. Once you stay in a different country with lots of white people you appreciate black skin that is the more reason I pity Akon, as for wizkid you cant blame hi, he never saw the wings of a plane until he became famous so you can't blame a local champion who worships these halfcos most of which don't even know their fathers.

Nigga you are one ugly motherfucker. I'd be the last one to talk if I were you. Is your mama fair skinned?

@Anonymous 4:19 I thought the same thing a while ago. Beverly has nice full lips and big beautiful eyes but most people immediately dismiss her as ugly because of her very dark complexion. Even saying she can't hold a candle to Candice (who looks very average with heavy makeup) but has very fair skin. The average Nigerian suffers from inferiority complex, based on my encounters with many and the way they "reason"
SMH, so sad.

So because everyone jumps off the bridge, you should also jump off the bridge? How foolish

WELL BLACK MEN DO HAVE THE LOWEST SELF ESTEEM IN THE WORLD, SO THIS IS NOT A SURPRISE

milah said...

I agree with this... And I wonder why ghanians feature more half caste in their movies than normal blacks that they are

swaggs isimemen said...

Wizkid nd akon is mad they re fool 4 saying dat word big fool idiot dat is what they re, I so much respect nd tank d ghanian stars sarkodie nd may God bless u 4 dat kudos 4 u sarkodie I want 2 use dis opportunity 2 tel all girls out there don't let they use material tins disceived u as far u re frm africa God no y he created us black dis way don't be ashamed if u re black maintain ur skin color as black if u re fair maintain ur fairness nd rainmen blessed in JESUS mighty name Amen, peace out. Via swaggs isimemen say so frm d heart beat b/city edo state Nigeria.

@millah
there are more non - mixed ghanaian actresses and actors that mixed ones. joselyn dumas, jackie appiah, yvonne nelson, lydia forson, john dumelo, yvonne okoro, james gardner,naa ashorkor, just to mention a few, are all full ghanaian. as far as i know there only four or five mixed raced ghanaian actors just because nigerian producers decided to work with mostly the mixed ones doesn't mean that all we have. last time i checked you nigerians have also featured mixed raced people in your movies too so y'all need to get off ghana's back ok.

LOL. The black man has been emasculated, so they are steadily trying to prove something to society,

Even bracket, thr own worse! Smh

Ayee...gals dem ma put mind for linda ikeji

Atuma Dubem said...

This story looks fake/schemed. Why are they exonerating Sarkodie?
P.S. Ghana girls also bleach.

@G-ebony you are just a fool. "Staying in AC can give you light skin". It's because of stupidity like yours that Nigeria is moving backwards. Who give you visa tah travel. Mungus

You must have very low intellect if you do not see the rippling effect of people of such large influence making such a statement. Idiot

I do not see anything particularly wrong with the requesting a light skinned/mixed race model or actress. That is the requirement of the role they're trying to fill, no biggie! However, they should have spared some girls the embarrassment by posting that on the casting advert before having all sorts of colours come through the door. It screams unprofessionalism.

The bleaching thing and light is better than dark argument is a whole different ball game. Quite frankly I think it is pathetic.

Dear fase, u never say anything intelligent on this blog. Spend ur money on more education. Intelligence is beauty, not just red lipstick.

You should call yourself TCRAZE ....idiot

Lol G-EBONY bushman...who dash monkey banana

We're talking about the ratio of mixed to non mixed ones. Besides Ramsey Noah & Lillian Bach and Caroline Ekanem (who no longer act) who are the mixed race ones?

Idiot! Because sey ASUU don dey strike. Nah for blog you wan come dey practice essay. Ok nah since teacher dey for Strike make I mark you:
Grammar 0
Spelling 0
Reasoning 2
Conclusion 4

Menh this is not looking good. Come to my office with N60000 and that skirt you wore on Friday then we can discuss how to better your grade

P.S invite Amaka as well hers are just as bad

Abeg cool down

THIS IS FOR THEIR BUSINESS TO GROW SO OR SELL BETTER PEOPLPE SHOULD STOP TAKING THINGS TOO SERIOUS.

Lmao I love my country

femicavan said...

It is just their taste, they both like light or white skin pussy or lap to touch

WHAT IS SO DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND? WHY ARE WE MAKING THINGS LOOK DIFFICULT AND UNFAIR TO THE EYES OF THE PEOPLE. WHAT HE NEEDS FOR THIS PARTICULAR VIDEO IS LIGHT SKINNED GIRLS AND I SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH HIS CHOICE OF GIRLS FOR HIS VIDEO. THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH DISCRIMINATION BIKO. U GUYS SHOULD GIVE HIM A BREAK.

Music And Movie said...

We need to learn 'Black is beautiful' . White doesn't always mean beautiful