Chaos on Ajah Road in Lagos as trailer kills five school children | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 18 November 2013

Chaos on Ajah Road in Lagos as trailer kills five school children

There's serious pandemonium on Ajah Road in Lagos as you read this. Area boys and passers-by are clashing with policemen after a trailer crushed five students as they were crossing the road. The sad incident happened close to Ikota Primary School and the dead pupils are believed to be making their way to the school when they were killed. The tanker driver abandoned his truck and escaped.

The people protesting are insisting they won't leave the area until Governor Fashola shows up. They are blaming the gruesome accident on the lack of a pedestrian bridge in the area. The two express lanes have been blocked by the angry protesters which has caused heavy traffic in the area. There's heavy police presence in the are. Will keep y'all updated.

167 comments:

Why do we have people who lack sense living in Nigeria? Causing chaos might lead to more deaths.

Sad

xptony said...

RIP! My sincere sympathy to their family members. Signs of 'Mber' tragedy. It is well.

Twista said...

OMG!!! this is soo bad. abeg there should also fix overhead bridge o at marwa--lekki so that i will not be running like a thief on the road...

Irene said...

As in! Just in front of my estate! Been stuck since couldn't get out to go to work! Police and agberos fighting! Gunshots in the air, tear gass and all! May the souls of the young kids RiP. And we really need the pedestrian bridge! It's unfair cos them useless car owners even turn on their goddamn full lights wen u jst wanna cross!

OMG, d driver must b heartless *crying bitterly* may der soul rest in peace

blood of jesus.lord pls console their parents.

Oooo GOD...helpless soul!...5 children!OMG!!

*star* said...

God!

All these tanker drivers think they are above the law,they never slow down always speeding. That driver should be caught and face the law...RIP girls.

OMG,dis is sad.May der souls rest in peace.Amen!

OMG! may God rest their souls...but these area boys will just be causing unnecessary havoc..gov fashola should create a pedestrian bridge oo

*screams**cries*.Ohh God!!! Y start d day wt sad news?May God console their families.such young lives!!

So true and sad .. a baby was shot on her mother's back in front of ikota Estate...

Oh my God, what a terrible news, May the souls of the young one rest in peace.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Heya. Poor innocent kids. RIP tho'

awwww! may their souls rest in peace.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Seems like Fashola Has caused more harm than good to lagosians

Vivian Love said...

Omg!! Lord ve mercy.

This is so sad. I can't imagine what their parents would go through. .. the protesters should at lesst let cars move. They can have a peaceful demonstration without disturbing anyone going to work.

diamondblinqz said...

O my God! Its sad. Choi

this is a bad omen.. May deir soulz RIP

Oh God! What an unfortunate incident! May their souls rest in peace.

God shebi is someone's children, may God give their family the strenght to bear the lose

just hope justice prevails, may their soul rest in peace

Innocent souls God have mercy

amystin said...

Kai what a loss!so sad

God dis is bad

Yorubas r just hatless killin innocent children 4 no reason. Dir blood will b upon ur heads

I live in that area, pls we need pedestrain bridge on that road, the road is too wide 4 people to be crosing. Too too wide, and the way people drive with full speed Hmmmm. May GOD help us. Everyday people die like chicken on that road while crossing the road. The other day infront of me a jeep killed a young man on a sunday evening. Pls we seriously need that bridge pls, Fashola I know you've tried but pls we need this.

Jesus christ,ve mercy,dose reckless tanker re sometin else on dat road. Gov fashola shuld pls tell slow-tech 2 mak a bridge also 4 us @ ajah is very difficult 2 cross d road @ nt oo. God will punish d tanker driver dat ran away ooo.

queeneth said...

Soo sad.:(

Mich said...

Sad tale!
Innocent kids just had their lives shortened by some waste of a trailer driver.
Comfort to the bereaved.
Peace to the dead.

Lord have mercy..so sad.

Na wa o..may deir souls RIP,amen.God knws best.Lilybabe

Linda it was 4 children... don't dash one extra soul away to the devil. The painful thing is police men came and RAN AWAY... YES RAN AWAY at that point people had no hope but to abandon their cars to area boys who came to loot and maim people. God help us in this country. When the policemen came back am sure they started arresting innocent people. RUBBISH!!

May God bless their souls

Yes o i second ur motion...to cross dat marwa busstop is crazy..God pls save urchildren

God pls console deir parents...RIP little ones.

hapii said...

Devil is a liar

jmethel said...

What an incident,may there soul rest in peace,in any case when children are crossing a road an someone matured have to guide them

Josh said...

That road is too prone to accident and it needs urgent attention,this government is just not it at all,my God save us all,RIP to the kids and I heard they are 6 kids and not 5,so sad!

so sad. God have mercy on ur people. And may their sool rest in peace. Amen

So sad,may there soul rest in pp

rose said...

Crying can't stop cryin# rip little children

3 of d children ve bin confirmed dead,2 of dem re of d same parents. Dis is so sad,lord pls console dis family.

Habaaa Linda, it was only 3 children that was killed by a tanker. 2children with the same parents. it was hell for to trek from ajah to chevron.

Nkechi Domnic said...

God may dere souls RIP in Jesus Name

Nooo, it was 3children that was kill by a tanker.2 children with the same parents. the driver ran away. the traffic was so hectic that i had to trek from ajah to chevron. i really pity the parents of those kids.

So sad. May there soul rest in perfect peace. Innocent children.

I stay and work on this road. At least two people are killed everyday on this road by moving vehicles. We need more pedestrians on this road and net fence to block out the middle divider so people wont be able to cross d express

baby cute said...

Linda have been in the traffic since 8am I tried to walk down but the police was throwing teargas and shooting, people had to start running back, its really serious oh!

Nd you think u have made sense, why bring tribe into dis

Therealozar said...

You who have sense living in the world, what would you suggest they do? Let the issue go uncovered? You need more brains????

SUNSHINE said...

Its a lie jor.
Even with the presence of pedestrian bridges, they still cross the roads like thieves.
Go to Oshodi, 5STAR to confirm this.

baby cute said...

Its really sad,these tanker drivers are do recklace, well these wasnt funny on me today,had to start trekking from vgc got to megachicken and saw people running because the police wss shooting and the area boys were protesting.

wumzie said...

May GOD be wit their families. LORD pls watch over us as d year is going to an end. Five(5) Leaders of tomorrow av been killed. So pathetic *tears*

So sad. May God receive their innocent little souls Amen
Miya

Rubbish. This is so annoying. Those roads are death traps. Lcc and hitech are busy collecting tolls left right and centre. Its so difficult to cross the roads at chevron , new road, ikota, igbo efun. Absolute nightmare!! No provision for pedestrian bridges and I've always wondered why.

May God have mercy on you for this stupid comment!

Really sad, Lord please comfort their families. when, anonymous fellow, where do yorubas come in oh, they said tanker driver killed them, wetin consign yoruba now. tribalistic nonsense.

nicholas said...

Eeya!them should take it easy shall ....may their soul rest in peace

Gosh!!! May dere soul RIP

lord have mercy and comfort their families. Ehen, oga anonymous, abeg how do yorubas come in oh??? they said tanker driver killed them, what now consign yoruba there now????? tribalistic nonsense.

Really sad, Lord please comfort their families. when, anonymous fellow, where do yorubas come in oh, they said tanker driver killed them, wetin consign yoruba now. tribalistic nonsense.

You are a sick tribalistic Igbo goat. What do Yoruba people have to do with this issue, do you even know the tribe of the driver and who tells you the poor children aren't even Yoruba. God will judge you for tribalising such a sad incidence. Linda you need to stop posting stupid tribalistic comments except you are also a bigot.

la effizy said...

It took the grace of God in me not to call you stupid. Was there n overhead bridge before he became governor? Abi he ws d tanker abi trailer driver??? Think before u comment o

Linda, where is Prince Charming hiding OR has he changed his alias?
RIP kiddo's...........so so sad!

I don't know how to praise God,cos my sister daughter was also among but thx God he only sustain injuries

3 died instantly and 2 wia rushd 2 a hospital,d driver has bin caught as wel

Lmao @ like a thief

So sad,dis nation sha,y pedestrian go dey wey fashola n tinubu dey build toll gate to make moni,foolish pple

*Sad* R.I.P

Mumu like u! How can u say Fashola has caused more harm than good? If u don't know what to say pls shut ur mouth.

If na ur pikin die, u go think of going to work. Heartless fellow

U r mad for ds comment. They shouldn't stop till fashola comes. I drive on that road every morning n night and in a week I see minimum of 1 hit and run. Some1 hit me from behind once I was trying not to hit a pedestrian. I couldn't even blame d old woman who was trying to cross. Really there are no enough pedestrian bridges and d govt makes billions everyday from that road. I would sleep in my car or sleep at work I don't mind as far as d govtment gets d message. RIP to d innocent kids that where lost.

Very Sad.

U r an idiot!...Fashola has done more good dan harm...pple like u never know wats called civilization,u prefer to be stuck in ur goddam mud house village...we all know and pray for a bridge der,not dis rubbish u feel its a suggestion! Am a proud lagosian and am glad to have Fashola as my gov....wldnt mind for presidency!

LMAO @ thief

Bonario stop sayin aww lyk a bush man...most tyms U̶̲̥̅̊ use it wn inappropriate just lyk nw,its meant 4 not SOoº° sad events unlyk ds one dats very sad

So sad....may God console the parents, and may their beautiful souls RIP

Yea, I agree. He shouldn't have abandoned the truck nah. He should have stayed at the scene at least. Heartless Governor

May their souls rest in peace. This is just sad, must Nigerians continue to die before the government will act, now that this have happened Fashola will do a pedestrian bridge on that road

This accident happens all the time around that area the road is just too wide and this people say everytime this things happens they always listen to the police and go home but its getting too much and they are saying everyone should come to their aid, police came in today and were shooting but they are determined to let this get the governors attention..its so bad the road is completely blocked...God help us

Omg. Who knows painful there feel b4 they give up

Omg! How?

U are too stupid to be on the internet posting comments. It's just not fair!!!

Tanker drivers and trailer drivers are blood suckers. Most of them are demonic. May the blood of these young souls torment their killers.

linda its official now, u don't post my comment, I corrected u on the number of kids crushed by the trailer cos iwas there u didn't post my comment. the fight is on wait for me

Eyib Jesus!! 5kids?!! sick news 2 wake up 2, i had 2 stop my humming while reading dis. dis is soooo sadd!! Sai!!

See this gbefu..... Shebi them say na aboki the driver be? Wetin Yoruba get to do with this now?
Thunder go fire ya useless mouth and cripple the fingers you use in typing. Oloooooooshi!!!!

@ anony 12:20, ppl are talkin abt sth serious u open dt ur large mouth to say. Yorubas are just killin innocent ppl. Is it abt being tribalistic. Big Fool. Children RIP jare...

Hmmm, so pathetic wahala dey ooooo

says so via See me see trouble

SLEEKREEK said...

I'll agree wit u if dis tragedy has affected ur brain hence u cant think straight.......was it Fashola dat drove that tanker???what has Fashola got to do wit d accident??i agree if residents of dat area are requesting for pedestrian bridge to avoid such occurence but tell me which past governor of Lagos state has been active like Fashola...pls think well.....
RIP little ones......may God console their parents.....

SLEEKREEK said...

U are just plain stupid......what has tribe go to do with dis???

Occupy nijja said...

Fellow Nigerians doing nothing will not bring about change . The people you call area boys are fellow Nigerians who have lost all sense of hope because of the "one man takes all" approach to wealth distribution . Please leave them alone your contribution is to comment *sigh*

pls gov. fashola do something about the bridge at ikota even at marwa and F bus stop ppls die every blessed day there pls.

OMG,wats all dis?#sad#

 hope they children are not from same parents.. Chaiiii!! How Ðœ̣̣̇Æ” heart bleeds over this. The driver ran away ß̣̥u̶̲̥̅̊Ñ’ can't run from Æ“♡D. For he sees everything. Sleep in the Lord young warlocks. #sadmood#

pls gov. fashola help us oo, we need bridge in that ikota and marwa and F bus stop pple die every blessed day there pls. may this children soul rest in peace. oh God.

@anon 11:55 u r d senselessone pls be realistic let's pretend u hav a brain in nigeria how do u think they will get his attention do u knw for how long der hav bn pleas ongoin bout a bridge constructed not sayin this is right buh can't totally rule dem out

MBER Month, May God have mercy on us all. May der gentle souls rest in peace. Amin

What has Yoruba's got to do with this accident now, coz u just dey open your mouth like trouser wey him zip don spoil...ode oshi..RIP to the lost souls, may God comfort their parents..Now I see why Dangote is employing PHD holders as drivers, it not an insult, but educated people won't drive like illietrate

Linda it was terrible.gunshots everywhere.Chaos n bullets.may the soul of the children RIP.
-mabino

And who r u fatty bum bum? He jus expresd him/herself. Get your fat ass up nd hit the gym already. Iburibu

Do you have the zeal to join a magazine team and become a media personality... Ping 21AC1B31 asap

no pedestrian bridge, no traffic light at any of the roundabouts on that expressway....meanwhile people are establishing markets at each roundabout...and while all this madness is going on toll is being collected - what a shame..fashols organized oshodi and created the monster called lekki - epe expressway....what a clown..

Nomsy said...

*ppl who lack Sense*no no

@Anonymous 12:07.. which law??

Rip

Hw is it related to d story? Kai
EsterDean

This is my prayer to the whole LIB readers.......God in his mercy will protect us and our household against any form of calamity all through the rest of the year and always.....RIP to the young ones that died.

Oh shutup, pEeps will think ur igbo now not knowin ur also yoruba who z tryna cause unnecessary conflict here.. Mayb ur brother was d driver dt escaped ba? Dawadawa oshi. Ur plan no go work.

Halima

Hmmm...its so so sad!! Please God save us from the hands of the evil ones..R.I.P little ones

It's not the fault of the driver. Trust me, lekki epe express is a death trap for pedestrians. My heart always skips for people crossing that road on daily basis...

Hmmm...its so so sad!! Please God save us from the hands of the evil ones..R.I.P little ones

Panel of judges, if you don't know a thing don't judge. If you live anywhere near ajah, you would know that the road is a death trap for pedestrians. I declined a job I got close to Chevron simply because I can't see myself crossing that wide express every evening. The driver must have fled in confusion and fear. There used to be a traffic warden at that point helping school children cross the road. Whatever happened?

a very sad news...May God' s protection be upon us

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Bad news...
May their gentle souls find peaceful repose in the Lord's bossom...

bennysexy love said...

Dat road na broad way 2 hell,t wide,i live at co_perative villa,with out driving me am nt going out.just go 2 church redeem'+pillar of truth,down my street,if him don pass thier i no dey commot.rip little one.

Sexyboi said...

Omg! This is so sad and hardhearted:(

Sexyboi said...

Omg! This is so sad and hardhearted:(

Ah! May dia souls rest in peace.

Oloriburuku ni e. What has dis got to do with tribes? Linds stop posting comments from tribalistic fools.

Come back home and give us your sense.

u are a fool...juz pray ur family,wil neva get involved in an accident...sayin rubbish...u nor go shut up ur smellin mouth....

Nomsy said...

AntyLinda,whr is ma comment nah???I wonder oo

@ st kizito, your stupidity is very hilarious, what has fashola got to do with dis? Its ok for the people living in that area to want a pedestrian bridge there, but the question is, those so called island big boys and men and women that live on the island, how have they given back to the society, must the governor do everything? Can't they come together and make a difference? Believe me, if they input half of the money they spend on themselves in giving back to the community, we won't be hearing such stories as this. Not to be buying private jets and owning 6 range rovers and 4 bentleys. #just saying

And may God punish u 4 dat statement... Who told u it ws a yoruba man dat killed dem... Omo ale oshi!

Less I 4get, its heartless nt hatless.. Mumu

This is no Oga Fashola's fault. I blame the LCC 4 they've got more work to do on those roads than they've done already. I stay around Ajah, Its actually 3 pupils not 5.

Koni Dafuwon said...

@le effizy,u'r an unadulterated fool.Were there toll gates on dat road b4?Fasola or fasole is a loser n dat was why he was booed out of pa omojuwa's burial with chants of ole,ole

sad

how many of u do slow down when u see schl children waitin to cross, now u open your dirty fregene sayin Fashola dat fashola dis.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

I recite my prayers, ask for forgiveness of all sins before I cross daily...

i was there @ the scene it was really terrible,the area boys aimed big stones and broke peoples screen,our nigerian police in deir usual manner opend fire and those tatafo people who wouldnt run wen odas were running gat hit by the bullet...a woman who was with her child instead of running as i and odas did she went with the child to go and hear and see and in the process dat innocent child gat killed....terrible! people were injured as every1 was running for his or her life after the tear gas and gunshot was unbearable...i only gat bruised on ma palm buh thank GOD for life...pls and pls dat road needs a foot bridge so also new road bustop after chevron,crossing that road isnt childs play,i work there so i know exactly wat am talking about....God help us.

Justus Abode said...

I dreamt of this crushing last night and I never prayed about it... So sad... I never knew it will happen this morning... God forgive me and have mercy on the children.. May their soul rest in the Lord Jesus! Amen!

The Yorubas hate the Ibos so much that whenever they see a negative comment about them, they quickly attack the ibos. In other words, there are only two tribes on this blog: if you are not Yoruba, then you are IBO.

Fammie said...

May the soul of the dead rest in peace

Samsung is World's highest handset seller

Whenever someone says anything bad about Yoruba peeps some idiots just conclude that the person is Igbo.now can you tell me who's tribalistic.if you hate igbos kindly hang yourselves because the feeling is mutual

huy said...

God bless u for this! Dey drive with sooo much speed like fools #judge urself b4 u blame d government

oh God so pathetic rest in peace.poor kids

Dayo Babalola said...

Readers of this blog jez abuse themselves anyhow, like it counts, y'all don't know who it is u're calling an idiot, evryborri has his/her own opinion let em talk, talk ur own......., bush ppl

My mum told me about the accident this morning and telling me that three of the pupils is from her school complex and two died instantly while the other is at hospital. She lamented that so many children has lost their lives on trying to cross the road, that they need a pedestrian bridge . So sad RIP kids.

It's called an express road, so no one is supposed to cross it. Better still go to the nearest bus stop and take a bus to the other side. Its cheaper to do that than what has just happened now. The pedestrian bridge near oniru, I don't see people on it, nigerians believe the bridge isn't meant for them. Abuse me all you want but I just stated a fact

KAI INI, THIS IS REALLY SAD BUT THANK GOD YOU ARE OKAY. MAY THE SOULS OF THOSE WE LOST YESTERDAY REST IN PEACE. HM! UNEASY IS THE HEAD THAT WEARS THE CROWN. GOD BE WITH US ALL!

MAY THEIR SOULS RIP!!!

Princess Dee said...

Almost everythg is upside down in Nig.May God have mercy on our dear nation n may the souls of the pupils rest in peace.

SLEEKREEK said...

@Annon 2:14pm.........i should say u are stupid but d fact dat i think ur eyez betrayed u wont make me say dat.......d pix u are seeing is a mother of 2 with size UK 12......i dont which angle ur bad eyes are viewing from......pls upload ur pix...am sure u are worst dan chewing stick with ketch-up bottle neck and u want everyone to be like u.......instead of u to comment based on d issue on ground...u're running ur mouth/fingers like tap talking rubbish........

Hello. To be sincere, five student were not crushed but three and 1 injured but later died in d hospital. I waz inside my skul bus when d incident occured.

Morlard said...

Loool! @ better still go to the nearest bustop and enter a bus to the other side !!! So me now that stays at ikota villa will come outta the gate! Then walk miles to 1st gate and pick a bus to where? that will turn at where? Before going to work Abi? Smh! I no blame you! TALK IS CHEAP!

la effizy said...

Koni dafuwon... Put a pic up there and I will have time to give u a befittting reply... Now run along child.

@Teju,may the good Lord always lead you by the hand as you cross.Amen

Lack of pedestrian bridge ke? Even with the bridge, right underneath it they will still cross the lanes, they would ignore the safety of the bridge!!! Rip to the lil ones!!!

We don't have a government.

emmanuel said...

You who said,they have no sense,I'm sure you aren't a human being,and I'm sure,there'd be no sense of remorse for u,what the people are fighting for È‹̝̊̅§ called citizens right,so be careful @ur reply

i just pray dis souls are not from same mother.......May their
soul rest in peace.Amen

I just hope this children are not from same folks......May their soul rest in peace

Golden Crescent said...

i love ur tinkin,very constructiv reasonin.

@anon 7:26 PM,
You are so right, you are the only one that has made a constructive remark. It is an express road, areas without a footbridge shouldn't be crossed, Even though it might take more time and stress, you have roundabouts, use a BUS.

Let us try to remove emotions from whats right and wrong.

In ivory coast and Ghana, you hardly see a foot bridge and hardly also see people crossing the express road.

RIP to the Kids!

#viewFrom10thFloor.

I don't blame u guyz cause u don't knw wat those people dere re facin everydai people die on dat road especially ikota 1st gate

Pls d govt needs to build more bridge DAT road is scary. Very scary. At least d fashoka word listen now. How can dey collect money from toll gate Nd don't build bridge na waa ooooo

Hmmm! Sad Story. Just One kid died on the spot. The water tanker driver hit 11 kids on the middle covert as they crossed the first express and were about to cross the express, a traffic warden was there to stop the cars buh as the tanker wanted he swerved to whr d kids were. Yestreday was the schools's interhouse sport and the kid that died was one of d junior sprint runner. 2kids are still in the hospital and let's pray for their recovery. The school has been closed down by the community saying it won't be opened until a pedestrain bridge is constructed for the kids to cross the road. The police were shooting sporadically into the air to stop area boys which was stupid and 3 pple were shot, 2 are dead and one is receiving treatment. The policemen just added to the death toll.

Pls ask them,will they use the bridge???cos I see lots of bridge especially on ikorodu road and jst few ppl tend to use them..i think nigerians need to b enlightened. Even with the traffic lights,cos pedestrians only seem to cross when the signal is on green for vehicles...I just don't get this ignorance.. Fashola shldnt jst b constructing things,he should create an enlightment programme...Its time to construct the bridge,lets see if accident rates will reduce.. most nigerians like to be forced to adhere to instructions...at ojota,they have to arrest many of them cos the government is trying to save their lives..And pls stop being tribalistic here..The person that started it,is jst a sick fellow..and y wouldn't yoruba's think the person was ibo?its bcos they are d ones who detest yoruba's soo much.Shikenah!

buy retin buy retin a micro gel .1 - retin a micro during pregnancy

Wher dyu sell this? And dyu have the ordinary retin a gel 0.025 or 0.05?