INEC Declares Anambra State Governorship Election Inconclusive | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 18 November 2013

INEC Declares Anambra State Governorship Election Inconclusive

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Anambra Governorship election that held on Saturday November 16th inconclusive.

The commission declared the election inconclusive due to the significant number of votes it voided during counting. It said the total number of votes cancelled is much more than the difference between the candidate with the highest number of votes and the runner up.

The results declared by the commission showed that Chief Willie Obiano of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) polled 174, 710; Comrade Tony Nwoye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 94, 354, while Senator Chris Ngige of the All Progressive Congress (APC) polled 92, 300 votes. Continue...

The APC, PDP, and Labour Party candidates had in a joint statement on Sunday called for the cancellation of the election citing irregularities.

The Chairman of the commission, Professor Attahiru Jega, had also in an interview with a local television station admitted that the election was flawed, especially in Idemili North local government, where he said the electoral officer connived with outside interests to sabotage and subvert the electoral process.

INEC to conduct supplementary elections in areas where elections were cancelled or did not hold.

Source: The Will Nigeria
- See more at: http://thewillnigeria.com/news/inec-declares-anambra-governorship-election-inconclusive/#sthash.PPRIZOLT.dpuf

80 comments:

This is a new one. We were just looking forward to the runner up taking the winner to court. But this....fresh idea!

McQ said...

Now the politicians have to go back to the drawing boards.

Bcos peter obi hv decided to manipulate D election at ngige stronghold.hijackin electoral materials dat ar Suposd to b used Der.even my uncle dat is apga candidate campaign official,told me dat dey manipulated it bcos ngige did it to dem in 2003. Der can neva b free nd fair election in nigeria till God knows wen

Anambra state always setting the pace.
Kamana ife osolu fa mee,onwa ejebego,anyi eli go okuko ndi APGA ubochi uka galu aga.

chocolata said...

K

Hmmm. Actually i am less interested in this lets talk about peter and paul latest pls.
wtf? couple caught doing it like seriously inside a car in a club

signs of things to come in 2015... Inec can not cobduct credible elections with these set of powermonger politicians we have.

That's their way mtchewww! Peter ONI knw what he did

Dancing galala hahaha first τ̲̅ǿ yan linda abeg send d card sharplii

the election was poorly conducted, peter did all this is favour of HIM.
to accomplish his quest of being the next richest in Africa.
Imagine Tony Nwoye could not vote because his name and that of his family members were not found.
peter obi and his deadly crew are all blood suckers.
i pray justice prevails.

What is the problem with Nigeria? What is the problem with INEC? Why is it so impossible for us as a country to come out successful in things we do? Why must there be issues with everything we try to do as a Nation? Small time when oyinbo try to praise Nijaks level of coruption, you will all say they are wrong, when we can't even succesfully conduct just a state's election..shame on INEC, woe betide atairu or Mutairu Jega abi wetin be him name.

Stori

Peter Obi is a foolish man! Why do these politicians think we are idiots? If he knew Willie Obiano was the right candidate for Anambra state, why rig and disrupt the elections. Why disenfranchise majority of the electorates of his rivals. The election should be canceled.

diamondblinqz said...

Nigeria I hail thee. I knew dat dat election won't b conducted once since d mallams in dis coountry hv decided 2go down dere 2monitor it demselves. Pdp n d oda parties teLlin stories since it wasn't in dere favour. Mtchew

diamondblinqz said...

Nigeria I hail thee. I knew dat dat election won't b conducted once since d mallams in dis coountry hv decided 2go down dere 2monitor it demselves. Pdp n d oda parties teLlin stories since it wasn't in dere favour. Mtchew

What a disaster.

All this is peter Obi's plan just for Willi Obiano to win....A man who is retired from the banking industry what exactly does he know about puiblic administration....imagine a whole idemili north not voting at all...its just better they re-do the election while peter obi's tricks are exposed!!! Wili obiano indeed.....Bikonu #NgigeforGovernor!!!

There are all bunch of money wasters.

Pls stop ranting go somewhere and lick ur wound, had it been that is apc now u won't b talking this nonsense. Ur uncle is apga my foot, who we go ask

Are u from anambra state, why don't u mind ur business, we will use una broom to sweep ur pple out of anambra

Am frm idemili south alor..ngige town.....alot of shits happened der seriously, inec dint arrive early der. And dy dey dint evn come to some town in idemili south(ngiges stronghold)+idemili north (ngiges stronghold) did not vote atal.... The election wasnt free and fair......(sad) my frnds @ nkpor couldnt evn find der names..#smhw... God help Nigeria

In 2003, Chris Uba a.k.a. Eselu Uga helped Dr. Chris Ngige to rig the election with the aid of Tony Nwoye, while he was a student of Unnec. Tony Nwoye rigged the 2003 governorship election for Ngige with aid of some bsts from Unn, Unizik, Esut, Delsu & Ebsu under the master supervision of Eselu. The rigging ushered Ngige into the government house, and he governed Anambra for 33months illegally. it took the supreme court to kick him out of the government house which made him the first democratic sitting governor to be removed by the court of law in Nigeria.

Chris Uba (Eselu) and his elder brother, senator Andy Uba used Tony Nwoye to fought Ngige when he failed to hand overthe state purse to them as he vowed under okija shrine. Tony Nwoye and his gangs kidnapped Ngige then while he was still a sitting governor, demolished and burnt the state properties like Anambra State Broadcasting Service ABS then .

Today, Ngige, Tony Nwoye & his formal master senator Andy Uba are in desperate need of the governorship post of Anambra state, but unfortunately karma is at work.

The election has come and gone, Ngige has been crying on ait since yesterday accusing INEC of working with APGA to disenfranchised some voters in his stronghold, while Tony Nwoye keeps accusing prof. Jega of incompetence and intolerance, for not reading nor replying his mails.

Tony Nwoye won his ex-master senator Andy Uba at the supreme court few weeks to the election and picked the PDP flag, and contested. It happened that Tony Nwoye & his family members couldn't find their names in the voters register in his hometown Nsugbe ward1 yesterday which disenfranchised the family of Nwoye.

Now, the election is over, senator Andy Uba is the chairman senate committee on INEC, which means that neither Tony Nwoye nor Ngige can approach INEC without writing to the house of assembly (senate) first.

Reputation is precious, but character is priceless.
He who fetched ant-infested firewood should be ready to dine with lizards.

One thing I have to say is that karma is a bitch?

I suspected this kind of story,ife ndi Anambra a na apukano iche,mtcheeeeeew!

Lady Stelusy said...

That one is their own cup of tea, not interested in politics.

The Lagosian Anambrarian said...

I'm from Idemili-North LGA, which also happens to be Chris Ngige's LGA. 100% (yes, 100) of those in that area would've voted Chris Ngige. There were no elections there, almost everyone was disenfranchised. Idemili-North comprises of Alor (Ngige's village), Ideani, Uke, Abatete, Nnobi, Ojoto and so many more villages. The election was rigged.

Onwa is the people's choice!!!

Guy isi gbaliri gi o! Anyi ka ga eli okuko ndi Apga dat we left behind for them to continue moving their party with.

Jaybeeblog said...

This is the wrost election I have with ness as anambrain...finally obi succeeded in manipulating the election and see how low inec have cheap their self to obi bcis I don't see any reason why someone that have voters card couldnt find his name in inec register yet it is d same inec that did d registration.. Idemiri north and south hijacked..... One poll 2 days voting still no result yet

Dats deir biz!!!Elections hv neva bin fair.all dis hocus pocus abt inconclusiv election is jst anoda grammar 2mek INEC luk credible.Anyways lik I said na dem sabi!

Election in nigeria can't change so many irregularities,very funny seeing the opposition parties coming together and saying they want a re-run. Even if they do another election Willi Willi will still win #FiNEWiNe

Daddy's Girl said...

Not interested

FUCK OBi..FUCK APGA!!!!
I ran away from Anambra bcuz Anambra is in a mess... D slowest interms of devt. upon its IGR is d 2nd highest in Nigeria.
Ngige will do better...say NO to Obi's "3rd tenure"... & INEC better do d right tin or..........

bonario u just know how to provide excellent comic relief. I just had to laugh hard at your comment.

But sometimes I have to ask,where and how did we get it all so wrong? why have we become such a shameless people? there is no dignity or integrity in the land. how long can we survive like this? This isn't living. IAI

lol ikenna nwandu and the family go dey shake , after all the bragging

You pple didn't cry in 2003 wen una so called onwa rigged his way in, many year later una dey cry. God will hear una prayer continue

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

They have already manipulated the election. We all Know that there is no way Tony Nwoye will top ngige. Even obiano. Well, Nigeria for you

I knew its gonna happen dis way!

When is Nigeria going to have sense? As d saying goes, DOING D SAME THING OVER AND OVER AGAIN AND EXPECTING A DIFFERENT RESULT IS CLEAR SIGN OF INSANITY. The Country is INSANE.D only solution to INEC DISASTER is d OPEN BALLOT SYSTEM.U count PEOPLE, not PAPERS. A Word is Enough for Wise. NIGERIA WAKE UP

Anambrain state people are not serious to say no to corruptions....can't they see how imolite did during OHAKIM election and ROCHAS...after all d money spent...the spirit of Imo state rejected OHAKIM totally. It is fasting and prayers they used to pushed him out..

Just one State and INEC couldn't conduct a Free and Fair Election...is there any need for Elections in 2015 ?

But ifeanyi ubah, spent the most money for his campaign, how come he did not get close to other candidates? Na wah for politics o

Manymen said...

It is disheartening to note that the umpire(INEC) can not conduct a free and fair election in just one state of the federation. Is there any hope for a fair contest in 2015?. Prof. Jega and his crew bowed to the wishes of some characters to rig the election and subvert the will of the people.
If the election was not rigged why did voting not hold in certain places, why did election materials get to polling stations late, as in late?, why was an election meant for Saturday postponed till Sunday, when you know clearly that many people will not come out on Sunday to vote, after wasting there time on Saturday.
INEC had more than enough time to prepare for this election, but they still choose to dance naked in the market square.
Regardless of Prof. Jega's good intentions, there are still some unscrupulous elements in the system who will do anything to disrupt a free and fair election.
I ask why can't INEC conduct a free and fair election in just one state? What will then happen in 2015.
INEC took a step forward in 2011, and as of today, they've taken several steps backward.
The Anambra election was systematically rigged, and cleverly manipulated. The best option left for the umpire is to cancel the entire election and conduct a fresh election.

Gud one! Thumbs up!

My dear u have said it all letz everybody go and sit down afterall if the ngige winz it won add pounds to our pocket #unicjane

Uhmmmmmmmmmm! I Saulte this writer, ve learnt one or two things from this write ups...God bless you.......uhmmmmm what goes arounD comes around.

on this issue again my comment is missing. linda ji sie ike but believe I wont stop correcting when come with ur fake unconfirmed stories. mind u and you all ngige`s supporter, it was in only idemili north that the election was not held on sat but yesterday INEC conducted a fresh in that area but ngige and his supports boycotted the election. now they are running their dirty mouth. I just wish ngige will be given a chance a rule and lets all see how he will preform wonders. and how tinubu and co will colonize the state.

My brother your head dey there, am from anmbra and you just said it the way it is.Now peter is doing the same thing accused Ngige of doing in 2003 (rigging) SMH for Nigerian politicians S.O

I can see all of you are supporters of Ngige. APC will never and can never rule in Igbo land. let him admit his failure.His is dwelling in his past glory. He is aclose chapter as far as politics is concern

APGA are the Winner know 2 ways about it. APC ,PDP and LP should stop disturbing people.

All of you should go and sit down.APC as a party will not and can never survive in Igboland. Manipulated or not manipulated Ngige have nothing to offer again. let him admit he is a loser that' all.

Igor said...

APGA all the way

Uc said...

Trust me Anambra is not a place where politic will ever be free and fair to the defeated politician go an lick ur wounds because a re run will be putting salt to an open wound............I am Anambra and i know what my people can do Even Ngige ubah etc are not free of election malpratice

100% it be cancelled,Like u said if Obiano was d pples choice,why rigging?make it free n fair let our pple decide.as an incumbent,u lead by example,one man one vote

Being one of the presiding officer on saturday made me see a different sides of Anambra people. Am not from Anambra no interest on who wins or loose but I heard people even teachers and market people saying dat APGA is igbo people party not ACP and some say yes they love Ngige but Perter obi did well so many talk going on but at the end of the day people voted for APGA,my corper friend was posted to that idimili were vote did not take place which he said it was due to material arriving late.but other than that I spoke with so many corppers in different polling unit they all said the same thing in some place Ngige won and some PDP but most APGA.all am trying to say is that from wat I saw on saturday and heard from voters most of them changed mind after that stanpid that happened and the talk about APGA being IGBO party really changed peoples mind about Ngige and seeing wat Peter Obi did in Anambra made it Difficult for Ngige.the election from wat I saw did not go the way I tot too cos I tot Ngige will win but hearing what the voters were saying made it clear that they changed they mind.even if INEC re-run the election APGA will still win again that is just the truth

Same thing onwa did in 2003, why didn't u pple complain then

Shut your trap, don't say what u don't knw

Apc suppoters I dey see una, cry me a river

Anon 2:19, as in eh but one thing I will keep on saying is this, all parties rig but the master rigger wins

If INEC cannot conduct an election in one state,wat will then happen in 2015 elections?

Ordinary one state....INEC

Shut up there!! Ewu! You have been bought abi?

Adadavid said...

@ legosian anambranian I guess u dnt come bk to ur state dats y u dnt knw dat Ojoto is in idemili south LGA.get ur facts straight b4 commenting and decieving pple on dis blog.

Yes ooooooooo willi all d way #unicjane

My dear u have said it all letz everybody go and sit down afterall if the ngige winz it won add pounds to our pocket #unicjane

Anon 7:25 why insult the poster, e dey pain una abi, cry me a river. Mark my word ngige can never and will never win election in anambra state. U pple should just go somewhere u lick una sorry ass. Ewu of the highest order mumu

Lol. He was campaigning in South Africa and other foreign countries while d real voter's are in Anambra. Ewu Gambia like him. A fool and his money (abi our money) are soon parted

We cannot let Apc rule us in this state... Apga all d way, even if they ve a re-run 100 times APGA will win 100 times better! Face d fact u liars.. Linda if u like dnt post dis comment

Listen guyz there is kw need to run about on this issue, just tell Mr obiano,his godfather peter obi and their members to start taking chairs at the supreme court room, if they dared criticize the cancellation of this cheat and cheat election they did.

I agree with u,no body evn no whom tony Nwoye is,talk more of him being in d second position,evn ds obiano.de shuld beta nt win over ngige

My fellow brother, who is among of governorship aspirant is good. Voting christ ngege will be worst governor in the west africa. Apc is a party god fatherising held by tinubu and his people. We should all abga to continue rulling. Is a one man party. Chist ngege is a thief.

nothing mega so sharrap there!ngige je lalu ula biko ka afucha godi ndi kwu oto ofo ndi makpu amakpu

Are Elections ever conclusive in naija.....

I just want want my chris 2 win cos he knws xup of d state

God declared Ngige the governor of Anambra State. No matter what happens, His words are final. Who He elected will govern the state.

Anosike Emeka said...

weda u like it or not Apga must rule..onweghi ihe emele uwa odi ha mma.

U have said it all very loud and clear. Thumbs up.

NGIGIE should go and sleep for all i care, OBIANO must rule Anamber state

DONCHUKZY said...

Many people drop comments because they see others drop. Many keep making baseless and unfound allegations. Have u taking time to ask urself what acrimonious and barbaric intentions and agenda the APC candidate Ngige and his cohorts have by importing thugs and machineries from Osun and IMO states if not to mastermind the disruption of peaceful election processes in Anambra state by carting away ballot boxes all in favour of ngige. Because he didn't achieve that he started raising unnecessary dust making useless and unfounded allegations. Ngige is yet to come to terms with the fact that many people who call "ONWA" don't have voters' card ( noise makers). Ngige is also in the wrong party APC made up of CPC - Boko Haram party ( Buhari), ACN- Tinubu ( agboro, touts) and ANPP( boko haram party again). Is there any IGBO relevance in this so called APC. It high time IGBOS told themselves the truth

Why some Anambrians talk like fools, all u idemili ppls should open ur eyes, Ngige has expired, take it or not no room for Ngige in governor of anambra state again, Obiano is freech breeze lets try him, only trying will convinced u,is it only him in anambra state? Beside u ppl shoul advice to change party becos no way for APC in anambra state,, is undoerable

Get out..wt ur uncle...i cn c how do manipulate n gossip wt ur unle's neme..idiot

Wow,Anambra arise and pray pray n pray.Only in it,yes in prayers alone we can confidently dat its well.